Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras

Key Features:   8 Channel DVR   500 GB Hard Drive   MAC & PC enabled, Internet Viewing   Smartphone enabled   8 High-Resolution Indoor/Outdoor Cameras   120' Nightvision   60' Camera Cables included Just because you've left for the day, it doesn't mean that your security needs have ended as well. Whether you're out for a few hours or for an extended vacation, Q-See's 8-Camera Surveillance Bundle lets you remotely monitor your home or business with confidence. Check in on your family or employees, keep an eye on your property and deter theft with this complete package. This bundle includes an 8-channel security DVR with a pre-installed 500GB hard drive for extended recording times. The included eight color cameras provide clear video day or night with up to 120 feet of night vision. Each camera is pre-equipped with flexible mounting brackets for ease of placement and positioning. You'll also get all the required cables and cords needed to get you up and running straight out of the box. Whether you're at home, in the office or on vacation, you'll be able to monitor and control your system 24/7 using a Mac OSX 10.6 & 10.7 or a Windows PC computer, or any of the supported smartphones. Plus, your system can alert you about motion activity through instant e-mail notifications so you'll never miss a thing. With Q-See, surveillance can be handled remotely worldwide. Remote Monitoring & FREE Smartphone Applications    iPhone and iPad users may download the FREE Supercam app from iTunes.   Android users may download the FREE Supercam app from the Android market. Download the FREE Supercam application when you connect the following smartphones to your DVR: BlackBerry OS 5, 6 & 7, Windows Mobile Pro 6/6.5, Win 7 Mobile and Symbian operating system.   Compatible Operating Systems: Mac OS X 10.6 & 10.7, Microsoft Windows XP/Vista/ 7   Compatible Internet Browsers: Internet Explorer (6-9), Chrome Plus, Mozilla Firefox (with IE Plug-In), and Safari.   Using high-speed Internet worldwide, you can remotely monitor 24/7.   Q-See's FREE Dynamic DNS Service (DDNS) give you consistent remote access to your DVR. Save by adding the additional cost to switch from a Dynamic IP to a Static IP in order to remotely monitor your   DVR with Q-Sees FREE DDNS service @ myq-see.com.   Receive instant email alerts and snapshot images when motion is detected, the hard drive is full, or when video loss has occurred.   Up to 10 users can remotely log into the DVR at the same time and dual-stream technology allows for easier internet access with lower bandwidths.   QT-series DVRs allow you to select individual cameras that you can view remotely.   Universal Plug and Play (UPnP): UPnP, is a new network protocol that is designed to allow easier connections of networked devices such as computers, mobile devices and network-capable security DVRs. Q-See has incorporated UPnP technology into this DVR to allow them to automatically and seamlessly interact with other devices on the network - without the need for special software or time-consuming configuration routines. If your router is UPnP-capable, Q-Sees DVRs are ready to go to work! DVR Recording and Playback Features:     CIF/D1 Recording Resolution (Image Quality and Frames per Second): Select your Q-See QT428 DVR to record on CIF or D1 depending on your preference.    CIF provides real-time recording and smooth, continuous video playback [30 frames per second per channel (240 frames per second total) / Playback resolution: 352x240].   D1 records at a non-continuous, slower frame per second, but allows a larger video image size, which can be useful for the recognition and identification of people and objects [(60 frames per second total) / Playback resolution: 704x480].   Choose any combination of CIF and D1 to customize each camera to capture video that is best suited to your needs.   Pre-installed 500GB Hard Drive: Record and store video footage. This DVR can support an upgrade of up to 2 Terabytes (SATA)   Advanced Motion Detection: The advanced motion detection setting allows you to easily capture when someone or something moves through your cameras field of view, thus minimizing false alarms   Four Recording Modes: Advanced motion detection, time, alarm, manual.   Three Viewing Modes:    Single Cam: Display 1 camera at a time   2, 4, or 8 Cam-View: Display up to all 8 cameras at once on a split screen   Timed Auto-Sequence: Rotates through all cameras one at a time   Search Options: Search by Time, Alarm or Motion Detection Event   Zoom in up to 2X when viewing live or playback footage   Multiplex Multi-Tasking Functionality: You can simultaneously record, view live or recorded footage, play back footage, back-up files and remotely monitor and manage your DVR on your computer network or the Internet.   Back-up and retain video files to a PC, Flash Drive or USB Hard Drive   H.264 Compression: Superior H.264 video compression minimizes file size and maximizes recording time.   Connect Monitor: Display on any TV or 19 or larger VGA PC Monitor   System supports multiple VGA resolution settings: 800x600, 1024x768, and 1280x1024   Navigating Menus: The user-friendly interface, along with the accompanying mouse and remote control, make moving through the program menus a breeze.   DVR supports various cameras including pan-tilt-zoom to expand your surveillance High-Resolution Camera Features:   Premium Resolution: 600 TV Line High-Resolution   1/3 enhanced infrared cut sensors: Allows for a higher quality picture, accurate colors, and better image quality than most standard surveillance cameras.   Night Vision: Up to 120 Ft. in the dark with 40 infrared LEDs (night vision appears in B&W, day viewing in color)   Weatherproof Cameras: Suitable for both indoor and outdoor use.   Cables: 60 Ft. cable included with each camera (Extensions available if needed.)   Lens: 5.0mm lens providing a 50-55 radius of field of view   Theft-Deterrent Mounting Brackets: Flexible 3-Axis brackets allow for more precise positioning of the cameras, while guiding the cables directly through the camera brackets to reduce the threat of vandalism to the cameras. FREE Q-See Exclusive Central Management Software (CMS)   Thinking of expanding your security system or needing to monitor a separate location? Q-See offers its FREE Centralized Management System (CMS) software for its QT-series DVRs.   Monitor multiple QT-series DVRs from a single computer using just one, simple log-in. Control each DVR just as if you were sitting at it!   Select cameras from each DVR to view in single screen or split screen mode   Connect up to 256 individual cameras at once from up to 100 different Q-See QT Series DVRs.   QT-series DVRs models: QT474, QT454, QT504, QT428, QT426, QT446, QT528, QT526, QT536, QT4332, QT4532   Additional System Specifications:   DVR supports RS-485 compliant Pan-Tilt-Zoom cameras (not included) with 128 presets and 8 cruise settings   DVR supports four channels of audio (audio cameras or microphones not included)   DVR Inputs/Outputs:   Video: 8 BNC inputs /1 BNC, 1 BNC spot, 1 VGA output Audio: 4 inputs / 1 output (Audio mic/cameras not included)   Two USB 2.0 ports for USB mouse and USB back-up drive connectivity   External Alarm 8 inputs / 1 output   DVR Power Supply: 12V output   DVR Operating Temperature: 50-104F   Camera Power Supply: 12V output   Camera Operating Temperatures: 14-122F at 95% humidity   Resolution and Frame Rate:    Live Display Resolution and Frame Rate: 704x480, 30 FPS per camera real-time   CIF Playback Resolution: 352x240   CIF Recording Frame Rate: 240 FPS Total Real-time (30 FPS per channel x 8 cams)   D1 Playback Resolution: 704x480   D1 Recording Frame Rate: 60 FPS Total (7.5 FPS per channel x 8 cams) What's Included:    8-Channel H.264 Real-Time DVR (QT428-5)   Pre-installed 500GB Hard Drive   (8) High-Resolution 600 TVL Cameras with 3-Axis Brackets (QM6006B)   (8) 60 Ft Cable for flexible installation   One 8-way or two 4-way camera power adapters for efficient installation   USB Mouse and Remote Control   CD-Rom with Remote Viewing Software and Manuals   Power supply for DVR   RJ-45 Ethernet Cable   BNC to RCA adapter Questions?   Sales Questions: CostcoSales@dpsi-usa.com   Support: 24/7 Technical Resources available at www.q-see.com/support Model: QT428-841-5
Average Customer Rating:
3.471 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
(out of 17 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
14 of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Review 1 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:January 12, 2012

Best System-Low price

Pros: great versatility
"Purchased 5 of these for resale in my store, ran out of stock. They are the best system around."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san diego, ca
Date:January 11, 2012
"Cameras look very nice HD quality picture.
very easy to set up. easy to understand and use. very pleased.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New york
Date:February 12, 2012

Q-See review

Pros: good quality easy to setup and operate, camera's good quality, good motion detection
Cons: cables have connectors already
Model Number: QT428-5
"I found the surveillance system to be of excellent quality. It was received packaged professionally with initial operating & installation quick start instructions. It took me just 30 minutes to set up a couple of camera's and begin viewing them on my Android smart phone.
The menu software is very straight forward and intuitive to set up.
The camera's are impressive in daylight and night viewing.
The only issue, and it is no surprise, is that it will take a lot of work to install since the supplied cables have connectors on both ends so snaking them through walls will require splicing.
I would recommend this set."
Review 4 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2011

great value

"I have one of these and I actually was able to stop a burglary in progress at a vacation home. I had just purchased the system a few months prior to the break in. I has eating breakfast when I got an email from the dvr. I noticed the camera that was triggered the email was inside the house. When I opened the email I saw a picture of the criminal running up the stairs. I alerted the police, forwarded the picture in my email and gave them access to my dvr via the internet. The detective said it was the easiest system he had ever used. When they arrested the criminal he denied breaking into my house but after two hours of interrogation they showed him the video from my q-see. Seeing it, he said yes that was me. He went back to jail. He was only out 9 days on parole for burglary before he broke into my house. He had also broken into several other houses in the area before mine. I highly recommend this product."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:January 23, 2012

Great Camera's at a Great Price

Pros: higher end camer's/nice dvr/good lenght camera wir
Cons: adjusting camera angle set screw
Model Number: QT428-841-5A Costco Item # 623450
"I am not sure what they are talking about, when some of the other reviews are bad. This system is pretty nice. I picked it over the Swaan Camera System and they had great reviews. First off, for the price, it gives nicer picture quality. Night time IR's very very nice and bright. I like the fact that you can upgrade the Hard Drive. I have not set up the Networking part of it. I am very excited that once I have it set up, I can see my home from anywhere. The only thing I can say it's flaw is the camera's set screws(both) to adjust the angle of the camera. They should have designed it better. The screw is threaded through the plastic outer shell and stops at the metal on the inside. They should have made it to where the screws, screwed into the metal. So if you try to tighten it, it will strip out on the plastic outer shell. The fix is very easy. I went to the hardware store and bought self threading screws slightly larger size. I screwed out the original screw, drilled it out with a 1/16 drill bit and screwed in the new screw. Works Awesome! It cost me less than $4.00 for the fix. If you can do that, this is one heck of a good system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers Florida
Date:January 27, 2012

Excellent bang for the buck

Pros: 600 tvl, good night vision.
Cons: mounting/aiming bracket
Model Number: QT428 Costco Item # 623450
"Night vision is just what they say it is. If you have less then you are most likely pointing the camera to far down and losing the led cone of IR light. We have a boat lift/boat at 117 feet from the camera and have no problem with the night vision. We use CAT 5 cable with video baluns and two cameras over 800 feet from the DVR work great. We can not comment on the included cable as we did not use them. Web portion works great on the smart phone (DroidX with SuperCam) and just as nice with IE on the laptop/desktop. All in all looks as good or better then systems we have seen going for 3 times the cost."
Review 7 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:January 9, 2012

Works great for me

Pros: unbeatable price for everything you get
Cons: need qt528 dvr instead to record d1 x8 @ 30fps.
Model Number: QT428-841-5a
"No issues with the little tiny screws for me, but then I know to just snug them not tighten with more than inch pounds at most.
Setup of internet viewing was a little frustrating but finally got it all working on remote pc's, and iphone.
Too bad this isnt the qt528 dvr that records D1 at 30 fps x 8 in the bundle.
The 428 only does D1 at 7.5 fps x8.
I will eventually upgrade the dvr for that reason. I was able to get 10 fps x 6 cameras which is ok, but CIF is useless for identification of perps or plates. Change all the settings to highest for best results. Remember what you see live is only half the quality of the recording if you use D1, so it looks better on the recording.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:January 10, 2012

Works Great!

Pros: 600tvl cameras, motion sensor in cameras, e-mails with images when motion sensor is trigger, now accessible via mac os 10.7 (lion), accessible via iphone 4s
Cons: q-see customer service is not helpful, had one cable that didn't work.
Model Number: QT428-841-5
"This Surveillance system works as advertised and is great for the price. It's relatively easy to set-up and configure. However, a few key points not noted in the manual are: 1) if you have a router you've had for a while it helps to reset it to factory settings first to prevent port forwarding conflicts and problems. 2) if your IP provider uses DNS Assist (000.000.000.00) you may need to check your IP Provider's DNS Server settings via the Internet rather than in your router as noted in the manual (this was true for me)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 11, 2012

i-view

Pros: can zoom in and replay in slow motion
Cons: can't adjust for more coverage
Model Number: 8-Channel H.264 DVR
"Ease of installation and setup on the processor. Cameras come with pregrimped BNC and power plug (60ft). You can simply use your VGA port to view setup or replay on your LCD monitor or use RCA port to view setup or replay on your TV. It is real time recording, since this is new to me I am not sure if the recording recycles or will notify me when it reached the hard drive capacity. It has been recording for two weeks now...still going."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont
Date:January 13, 2012

Good product

Model Number: Q-See 8 Channel Surveillance System with 8 High-Resolution 600TVL Cameras & 500 GB HDD
"Had it connected and tested out the same day, all worked fine. The quick setup guides came handy. Was able to get remote access working. One area that Q-see needs to work on is getting the web interface working on a MAC. It works on PC but not on mac. However I was able to get it working on the iphone and the pictures are clear and all functionality is provided.
Installation of cameras is the main work however the single cable makes it easier to install. Cameras are clear and have good results at night. Bugs do fly in and keep ticking off the motion detector once in a while.
Overall great product and recommended at the current price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance.ca
Date:January 14, 2012

excellent &fast customer email communication

Pros: picture was nice., price, fast online customer service
Cons: easy camera malfuction, remote view only wifi at same home., can'nt see by starbulk & mc donald
Model Number: QT428
"Purchased one year ago!(12/28/11)
Installed next day.
One camera malfuction by same day and email reported.
They are lighting on online respond.
Camera was replace by 4days.
Wow!! The fastst customer serviced.
But, return camera was picture quality not so good.
anyway use for it.
"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 16, 2012

Good and bad make this an Average product

Pros: easy to set up, good price, clear picture
Cons: 2 cameras have flickering images, network setup is slow, night vision leds have a small field of view, lenses have a small field of view
"I needed an entry level security system for my home. I decided to get this from Costco because of their good customer service and excellent return policy.
This unit was on sale from Costco so I decided it was worth the $300 off to try these out. The DVR system is pretty straight forward to use, but its pretty annoying to use only a mouse to do everything, especially typing. The quick start guides are pretty easy to follow and straight forward. Network setup was a little harder, but not totally impossible. Saw suggestions to use the online network GUI to do the rest of the set up. The network connection is pretty slow and just as annoying as using only the mouse, so its your choice of how you'd like to be annoyed.
The system overall is decent. The cameras are clear and see in the dark very well. The infrared LEDs have a very small angle that they shoot out at and provide a very bright spot in the middle of the video image and dark area around it. If you want to see more at night, you will need extra lighting to get the whole picture. I received 2 cameras that when the IR LEDs are on too long they start to over heat the cameras causing flickering picture. One camera that is mounted inside the house was fixed by taking off the front housing and letting it "breath" to prevent it from over heating. The second one is outside so I'm not able to do this as it will get moisture and fail prematurely. I just live with the flickering image, but the flicker does set off the motion detection. The viewing angle from the cameras is not wide enough for close shots and the cameras must be mounted at least 5-10 feet away from what you want to see. The camera I have at my front door will need to be replaced with a extra wide lens of 75+ degrees to get a good view of the whole area. These cameras come with a 50 degree field of view."
Review 13 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

Night Vision not what is claimed

Pros: great price, 600 tv line high-resolution
Cons: night vision, not the qt528
Model Number: QT428
"I have an older QT428 that I brought from Costco. That system came with 420 TV lines resolution CCD Color Cameras and 40 ft. night vision. I thought I would get this system for the 600 TV Line High-Resolution Cameras and their Night Vision of 120 feet in the dark.
The Camera resolution is better, but the night vision is nowhere close to 120 feet. In fact, the older cameras with 40 feet of night vision can “see” a lot further into the night than the new one’s with Night Vision of 120 feet!
I gave the rating of 3 stars because of the night vision..."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Date:December 31, 2011

Horrible Tech support

Pros: ease of installation and setup
Cons: no wireless option to share data over wifi to inte, technical support horrible
"I sent emails. Received no reply.
I tried chat. Never an agent available.
I left phone messages that went unanswered.
Finally, I chose the wrong options on the telephone menu and talked to a knowledgeable and pleasant agent who was very courteous in telling me that they could not offer a simple solution to my simple problem.
The agent was nice. The technical support system is abysmal, horrible, and ineffective."
12 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:January 3, 2012
"As I was installing the cameras, six out of the eight cameras had at least one of the two adjustment screw threads broken, these are very flimsy for the weight of the cameras. The adjustment screws are too small and the threads break as soon as you start tightening them. This is a very poor design, do not buy this product.
I also did not notice any improvement in picture quality comparing to the 480 tv lines model.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 6, 2012

Q-See 8 channel Surveillance System with 8 High-Re

Pros: good price
Cons: quality is not good. contact q-see to ship replac
Model Number: QT428 8 cameras system
"Issue with cameras angle screw. Same as previous review. 3 out of the eight cameras had at least one of the two adjustment screw threads broken, these are very flimsy for the weight of the cameras. The adjustment screws are too small and the threads break as soon as you start tightening them. Spoke with Q-see and verified confirmation of correct screws. "OMG". Q-see shipped out the wrong screws. I am using tape to hold the cameras up at an angle. I also have a lorex system at another property past 3 years. No issues compare to Q-See.
This is a very poor design, do not buy this product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Q-See 8 Channel Security System with 500GB Hard Drive and 8 High Resolution Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nampa,Id
Date:April 13, 2012

Horrible customer service

"I purchased these in Jan to watch the outside of my house. First off needed to order more parts, when I needed to return them it was a nightmare , finally had to contact the sales dept and inform them that I was going to tell Costco to stop selling items, finally got a rma to return them. now I have a camera that has lost all it's color. notified them on april 1 and all i get is a runaround. they tell me contact rma dept and fill out form and attach receipt, did this then they send me an email telling me that since i had not responded within 48 hours they were closing case. Responded back to them that i had done as advised and sent in rma, then they responded okay we see that they are working on it. direct all inquiries to them from now on. WELLL that dept flat does not respond to emails. I have contacted support two more times and get the same response, contact rma dept...
System is fine but I would never recommend this to anyone because of the horrible customer service. By the time someone responds to me my warranty will probably be over !
Qsee nees to get it together.
"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.