Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Model: MFCJ5910DW / 5910
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 176
(out of 176 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (176 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
41
3 stars
23
2 stars
15
1 star
19
128 of 176(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:June 22, 2014

Jam, Jam, Jam

Pros: good software
Cons: virtually useless.
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"This printer can't print 3 pages without jamming. Customer support has nothing but the same solutions each time you call.
An extremely unreliable product. When it occasionally does print, color printing is poor.
"
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:February 12, 2014

Does Work Well with Windows 7

Pros: none
Cons: is not fully functional as an all in one, will not scan in window 7
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"After trying and trying to install this printer using my windows 7 desktop, I finally gave up and returned the printer to Costco. I spent well over an hour with Brother support staff and they did not have a solution for me. The issue is that the printer claims to be an all in one, but the scan feature will not work if you are using Windows 7. If you want an all in one, try a different brand."
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Occupied California
Date:February 6, 2014

Does not scan 11x17!!!!

Cons: does not scan 11x17!!!
"The mid scale rating is more for Costco than for this printer. Took the printer out of the box, saw that while it prints tabloid sized paper, it does not scan tabloid size paper... so back in the box and back to Costco. You would never know it by the the description. Bought the Brother Business Smart™ Pro Series MFC-J6520DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer instead. Now if Costco would just carry Brother ink in their warehouses we would be really happy."
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013

Pending

Pros: print and copier out put quality: vvg. speed: fast, esthetics: nice. scan quality & ease of use: vvg, wireless setup: very very easy
Cons: nothing yet.
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"I like it this product a lot (so far). But, I've only had the printer/fax/copier/scan for just a little over a week; and am, therefore, rating it only 4 Stars (subject to further use). Accordingly, I cannot, at this time, give a 'recommend to a friend.' But, I'll follow up in a couple of months and let you know how it is going."
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:August 9, 2013

Returned Because Too Big

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: sooo big
"Product is awesome...but so large...needed separate table"
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:August 9, 2013

Great product for the price

Pros: saves on ink
Cons: it's very big
Model Number: Brother MFC J5910
"I bought this product, because Brother ink cartridges are a lot cheaper than HP ink cartridges. This printer also takes XXL cartridges, so you save even more money in the long run. Think about it, ink for printers today is the most expensive commodity out there. This printer is not that loud, either. It's a pleasure to use this printer. There are so many features. You can print double sided and you can print on larger paper, too. Just remember when you choose a printer, choose one where you can save on ink and this is the best for that. Good luck in your decision when it comes to buying a printer. I lucked out and found this one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 15, 2013

Brother printer

Model Number: MFC5910DW
"Sad to say it started out fine and worked great, then it died right after warranty expired."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster PA
Date:July 3, 2013

Easy Set Up, Great Printer

Pros: easy!!!
Cons: huge!
"I ordered this on Monday, received it on Tuesday and started using it Tuesday night. It was super easy to set up using the USB. Did not try wireless yet. It is huge but it prints beautifully. I homeschool so I need to have a good quality printer/copier. Have not had an issue with jams. I did what the manual said and fanned the paper before I put it in the tray. Great product, very pleased!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 21, 2012

Worst Printer I have ever owned

Pros: none
Cons: noisy constant paper jams
Model Number: MFCJ5910DW
"This printer is extremely noisy. Everytime it prints, it sounds like it is going to explode. It is constantly experiencing paper jams. I am very disappointed about this printer. It is going back to Costco."
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:December 14, 2012

Works good - very fast with copies

Pros: fast makes good prints, led screen is bright and readable
Cons: doesn't print if any color ink is gone
Model Number: MFC-5910 DW
"I was looking for a printer that would print ledger size paper. Also, my HP Photosmart doesn't print 8.5x11 photos, so I did not want another HP. Overall, it works great and makes good prints. I found 1 problem, when you run out of any color of ink, you cannot print at all - even black and white. Turns itself off when not used for a few minutes."
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:October 31, 2012

Be sure this printer meets your needs

Pros: quiet, prints to ledger-sized paper
Cons: duplex printing to ledger-sized paper problematic, software updates difficult and time-consuming, booklet printing mode shrinks image size a lot
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"When I purchased this printer, I was not aware of several things, several of which are buried in the fine print on the Brother website and are not indicated at all in Costco's description. One is that the scanning/copying area is only approximately 9x12, NOT 11x17. Second, duplex printing of ledger-sized paper requires a margin on the narrow ends of .86". I had to reduce my image size to 95% for it to print within the margins. I also had difficulty with printing in booklet format on ledger paper - the images were reduced to about 65% of normal size (and Brother tech support confirmed that booklet mode would reduce the image size substantially). Regular duplex printing of 2-up pages did not change the image size. Set-up is also something of a pain - once you've installed the software, you need to go to the Brother website for updates, but it's difficult to tell which ones you need. I have two other smaller Brother printers (one laser, one inkjet) that work very reliably and haven't given me any surprises. This model, though, is not such a good deal if you need to print regularly to ledger-sized paper especially in duplex mode."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:arlington, TX
Date:October 29, 2012

great printer

Pros: easy set up
Cons: it is huge!
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"this printer was super easy to set up. it was done in only a few minutes to set up on 2 macks, windows vista, xp and tablets and phones. truly easy color quality is really good and it is fast."
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:October 26, 2012

Good Printer, Easy Install

Pros: 11 x17 print is a plus
Cons: a bit larger than typical home office printer
Model Number: Brother MFC-J5910DW
"Printer delivered promptly, in good packaging. Installation is easy. Good printer outputs and all functions working right."
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 26, 2012

Right on the Money

Pros: price ease of setup cost per page quality
Cons: none
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"I couldn't pass this up when I saw it on sale for $99. 11x17 print capability for that price with the Brother super capacity ink cartridges can't be beat. I also purchased (2) each of the C/M/Y/K cartridges. Total cost delivered to my door $297.41. Factored out that is 6 cents a page B/W and 12 cents color to operate. Scanner also works great with Bluetooth. Setup was unbelievably easy."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2012

great printer

"great deal with the coupon! excellent wireless features and all around good multi-function"
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:October 18, 2012

Very large

Cons: large cable not included
Model Number: Brother MFC-J5910DW
"This is a very large printer it is 1.5 times the size of the printer I bought 7 years ago. The only difference between the two is it is wireless, can print on both sides and has a touch screen. It does not come with the USB cable needed to connect to the computer, which is needed to set up the wireless. Luckily I had one which was provided from my old printer."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:October 15, 2012

Oh Brother, what a Lemon!

Pros: none
Cons: huge, hard to load paper, scanner lid gets stuck on it's "kick stand", impossible to connect to network, long wait for customer support, rude customer support
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"I cannot understand the decent reviews for this printer! Because of them I ordered it and I am SO disappointed.
#1-It's a BEAST. Seriously, it's like the Buick of printers. I haven't seen a personal use printer this large since 1998.
It's not large because it's got all these great features, it's just large.
#2-I could not get it to link up to my network to wirelessly print.
I spent the entire weekend on and off trying new things.
When I called on Monday for support I waited 20 minutes for help and when I was connected, I was connected to the RUDEST young man (I sound like I'm 80-I'm really only 35, but he sounded young).
He kept cutting me off and saying things like, "Wow Thanks for THAT information."
He mumbled so when I would say, Can you repeat that? He'd yell at me and say, "I told you to go to the printer now!"
After 45 minutes of doing this and that he declares it's not an issue with the printer but with my network provider. When I tell him I had no issue with my other printer, he said, "well you have it now!"
So with all that hassle I just decided to return it to Costco and walked away with an HP printer which is 1/3 of the size and set up the wireless network on it's own! I pressed one button and it found it. I can also print from anywhere using an email address they provide. It's a million times better. I will NEVER purchase a Brother printer again."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:October 4, 2012

Endless paper jams & so-so print quality

Model Number: MFCJ5910DW
"I own a similar Brother purchased 2 years ago and am very happy with it. It was cheaper but has worked from day 1. This new printer was not easy to set up, required me to buy a cord (don't have the time to set up wireless) and paper jams every time I print. I am sure it has to do with the weight of paper I use (I hate the cheap paper) but there are no instructions as to what the max weight is. Paper jams, combined with a print quality that doesn't compare with my older Brother leads me to return this one and look for another."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NE Alabama
Date:September 11, 2012

Great Printer..but they raised the price

Pros: easy wireless print and airprint connection, wireless scanning with choice of which computer, very reasonable price when i bought it
Cons: raised price $50 since i purchased 3 weeks ago, no other cons yet.
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"I love my new MFC-J5910DW all in one printer so much I decided to buy a second one for a new business I am starting...only to find the price had jumped up $50 from when I purchased it about 3 weeks ago.
Things I love very easy set up...even the wireless was easy to set up and the Airprint capability is really cool. My phone found the printer easily. I scanned something and it wirelesssly scanned it to my laptop and gave me the choice if I wanted it to go to my laptop or my desktop....too cool. Need another one... DROP the price back down and I will buy another one today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J5910DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:August 3, 2012

Great All-In-One

Pros: outstanding value
Model Number: MFC-J5910DW
"The is the best all-in-one machine that I have ever owned. It was easy to set up and delivers great prints. When using the scan feature, it interacted with my computer and automatically copied a multi-page document into one in a pdf format. The duplex feature is fast and works like a charm with one button on my computer. I couldn't be happier."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>