Customer Reviews for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System

ASSEMBLY TO A WATERLINE IS REQUIRED FOR AUTOMATIC SELF-FILLING FEATURE. Designed to fit in your life, the revolutionary design of the Brew Express blends performance, contemporary style and convenience into an easy-to-use appliance that makes brewing coffee and hot beverages a pleasure instead of a burden. Brew Express easily connects to your waterline just like your icemaker so you can enjoy a fool-proof and convenient brewing experience, all without spilling a drop of water.    Benefits & Features: Auto-Fill: it’s self-filling so there is no more water mess!   Hot Water on Demand: means continuous brewing with no recovery time issues. Just keep brewing, there's no wait time for the water to heat up.   Easy Connection to Water Supply: Our quick connector makes it a snap to install, just like the water line for your freezer’s ice maker! Just the push of a button, no complicated water line to disconnect.   Adjustable Cup Selector: Let’s you decide how much or how little coffee you want to brew. Select from a single mug or a full carafe. By using the single cup brew basket (supplied) you can enjoy your favorite hot beverages such as coffee, tea or hot chocolate one cup at a time.   Small Size and Pleasing Design: Only 12.25" W x 7" L x 13.5" H and comes in an attractive design that compliments any environment.   10-cup Thermal Carafe: Easy to clean, functional and beautiful, keeping beverages hot.   Quality Coffee: Designed to meet the Specialty Coffee Association of America standards for brewing the highest quality coffee, our Brew Trak™ system ensures consistent brewing temperature regardless of incoming water temperature or voltage variation.   Reliable: Designed to last for years. Tested for several thousand cycles, and certified for commercial & residential use gives you long lasting reliability.   Energy Efficient: No water reservoir to keep up to temp and no warmer plate to waste power so it costs less to run.   Pause and Brew: No need to wait for the carafe to finish filling.   Built in Clock & Timer: your coffee will be ready when you are.   Digital Display: Large, bright and easy to read display.   Accent Lights: Great looking blue LED light that glows at night.   Safety: The carafe detect sensor prevents brewer from running with out a cup or carafe present. Water Requirements: ¼” water supply line (copper or poly) 30-psi to 90-psi   Potable cold water is required (If water is not available a 5-gallon dispensing jug can be used with a pump - not supplied) Specifications: Capacity: 1.5-liter (50-oz.) carafe, 25-oz. half carafe, or 8-oz. option   Quick Brew Time: 6 minutes (50-oz.), 3 minutes (25-oz.), 70 seconds (8-oz.)    Power requirements: 120 vac, 60 hz   Unit requires 12.9-amps for 1400w   UL Listed   Dimensions: 12.25 “ W x 13.5” H x 7” D   Weight: 18 lbs.   1 year limited warranty   Made in China For more product information please contact Brew Express toll free at 1-866-268-5953. Model: BEC-110
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
38 of 43(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Review 1 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2011

it doesn't

"Before I purchased this machine I called the manufacturer to inquire about what it had for brew temperature. I was told between 195 to 200 which is exactly what I was looking for. I tried drawing water several ways and never got close to those temperatures. Be aware that an inline filter is needed to "coat" calcium in the water as you can't clean this one out like you do other models. The carafe is very hard to get open, you have to twist and then pull up to get it off - I almost had to call tech support, but figured it out myself as they were closed when I called. I will be taking back to Costco this weekend - wondering how that will go, never returned an online purchase before. The brew amounts is ill conceived - I would have to run a half pot and then do 2 cups to get the amount I want. There is a way to fudge the amounts, but I think you have to do it every time and its more than I cared to wrestle with every morning.
Love Costco!
:)>>"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:June 13, 2011

works great, well made

Pros: brew temp / extraction time, well made, convenient
Model Number: BEC-110
"So far it's exceeded my expectations. Water temperature is right on the money -- I measure 200F coming out of the brew head which is ideal. Coffee maker is very well made. It's very heavy and fit / finish is tight. Installation was easy once I decided to work the tubing in the direction I wanted (I had to drill a hole in my counter -- not that big of a deal but I wanted the coiled hose to be relaxed). It's quiet and quick brewing, and coffee is as good as I ever. I'm coming from pour over brewing so was very intersted in brew temperature and extraction time -- both are just what I was looking for. Company website sells lots of parts for reasonable cost (ie extra brew baskets, seals, etc.)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, CA
Date:July 17, 2013

Best Coffee Maker I've had yet!

Pros: fast brew!, shallow profile = more counter space!
Cons: 2 different baskets are a storage inconvenience
Model Number: BEC-110
"My last brewer was a Bunn BTX/B. They're a bit ugly and take up an ample amount of counter space. Not so with the Brew Express! It's low-profile along with its contemporary design make it a much better countertop appliance than its poorer-designed counterparts.
The single-cup hot water option is a great add-on - even though they could have put a little bit more thought into creating a single basket instead of 2 separate baskets to serve carafe and single cup functions.
The piped in water supply (I added my own in-line filter) is such a blessing! No more filling the tank manually!
It also save more electricity than the Bunn - which maintains a heat internal tank of water 24/7 (unless you turn it off, of course). The Brew Express heats water only on demand, so it's off right after it's done brewing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Columbus, OH
Date:April 13, 2011

Design not ideal

"Concept and price point are great, brews good tasting coffee. Unfortunately design is somewhat lacking.
Brew selections are limited to 2 cups, ½ and full pot. I studied this before buying and reviewed the online instructions explaining how these selections could be adjusted. I planned to adjust to about ¾ of a pot, which is how much we use every day. After setting up the unit, I realized they limited the adjustability to slight fine tuning from these selections only, so we either have to drink less, or throw a 1/4 pot away every day, very wasteful.
The brew into cup also is a nice feature, but you have to use a separate filter basket and a cone style filter, which is more trouble that it is worth.
Fine tuning of quantities, clock and timer are also not persistent if the power flickers off.
Still considering returning to Costco. The manufacture did not respond to my concerns over the quantity selections."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:February 5, 2011

Great unit

Pros: never need to add water, great tasting coffee, fast brewing, takes up less counter space
Cons: brew time adjustment for half pot limited., i forget to add water to the coffee maker at work, no rear plug wire slot for flush placement
"I have used a Capresso coffee maker for the last 6 to 7 years which produced a great cup of coffee. A relay in my Capresso failed. I was going to purchase another Capresso but I always check Costco when I purchase items due to the great pricing and return policy if the consumer is not satisfied. I saw this unit and researched it. The main difference is the water supply line, this is a great feature due to not having to fill the coffee maker every morning having to pull the maker out from under the cabinet every time to fill it, dripping water and such. This would for my placement require a hole drilled in my cabinet near the back wood panel for the water line and a new filter installed behind my refrigerator, which for myself is not a problem to install. Anyone who considers purchasing this item should look at how the water line will be run to the Coffee maker from the source. Also we have a whole house water softener due to the very hard water in our area which is also important for all coffee makers to prevent buildup of hard water scale in the unit. I installed the coffee maker and filter, following all installation instructions. I ran 2 full Brew cycles of just water as instructed to insure a clean unit. The following morning we had our first pot of coffee, BETTER THAN OUR CAPRESSO. Same coffee beans, which we grind were used for comparison. Of course this wasn't a side by side comparison due to our Capresso unit no longer working but after years of drinking coffee from it we could tell the difference. Our biggest concern was switching filter styles, cone filter to the basket style, our concerns were negated with our first cup. The single cup option is also a great feature for tea, hot chocolate or any reason someone my want a hot cup of water quickly.
I gave this unit 5 stars because it deserves it, but there are a couple of nit-picky things I noticed. The lack of a slot for the power cord to tuck into the back of the unit like the water line so the maker can sit flush against the wall, this must have been an oops for the manufacturer. I could make my own modifications, maybe after warranty. There is a limit when adjusting the half pot water level. I would have liked the adjustment not limited so I could set it to make a 3/4 pot of coffee. I see no reason for such a limit in the adjustment for brew duration, it would just give consumers additional customization for their needs. Costco's price was the best I found, and for the price I don't think you can find a better coffee maker.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:January 12, 2011

Nice Coffee Maker

Pros: don't need to fill it up with water
Cons: limited to 46 ounces of coffee per brew cycle.
"The best feature of this coffee maker is the fact that you don't have to fill it with water. That is a nice convenience. The plumbing fittings are high quality and it is easy to install. The construction and appearance are what I would expect from this price range. There are three different quantity selections at the touch of a button. The lower two quantities can be increased by multiple pushes of a couple of buttons. It is easy to forget the sequence if you don't use that part frequently. A full caraffe of coffee is 46 ounces, which is the same as the Starbucks Barista Aroma that we used for 14 years. It would be kind of nice to be able to brew more coffee than that, but I'm sure it is adequate for most people. The buttons are a little hard to see since they are down at the bottom. Overall this is a great coffee maker. It is very nice not to have to fill a water tank up every time."
Review 7 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Bend, WA
Date:May 12, 2011

Best Investment

Pros: self-filling
Model Number: BEC-110
"Absolutely love this coffee maker, super simple to install - very easy to use. Love it!! I don't think I'll ever own another coffee maker that doesn't have the self filling option. This was our first thermal carafe style maker, takes a little getting accustomed to. If I'm not going to get to drink a full pot in an hour and a half I will only make a half pot, and make a fresh half pot when I want it.
Sounds a bit like a really quiet dishwasher while it's brewing but not obtrusive. It also gives a nice little beep when it's finished brewing, love that feature - we used to stand there looking at the pot to see if the old maker was done brewing or not.
I've brewed single cups of tea too, gives me 9.5 oz.
I'm currently monitoring the water temperature, I don't think it's hot enough - I don't recall noticing this the first week we owned it. I'll update my review if something changes.
Don't let your husband talk you into installing it in-line with your ice maker - put it before the line into the fridge (don't ask). The only thing that took some getting used to is the carafe is very solidly built, can be quite heavy."
Review 8 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 30, 2012

Great Product

Pros: ease of use, costco product, makes tea/soup etc.
Cons: water temperature not hot enough, no gold basket included
Model Number: BEC-110
"This is a dream come true for the person who hates shlepping water to the coffee maker every morning. I hooked my up to the rear of our refrigerator and added a filter, brilliant idea, and tucked it in our pantry that's right aside of the fridge.
From my experience the water in this maker only reaches aprox. 185 to 190 degrees. Not the recommended temperature and it only comes with paper filters. For the price, a gold filter should be included. But for me the ease of use out ways the few cons.
Also because Costco offered it was one big reason I tried it. Costco is the best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:May 7, 2012

Good Coffee But...

Pros: coffee is great
Cons: carafe is not adequately insulated
Model Number: Brew Express BEC 110
"My apartment happened to be one of those that had a refrigerator connection which fit none of the parts provided. For me the hookup turned into a nealy all day task including the time to find all the parts I needed. Before purchase, I noticed a common complaint that the coffee out of the carafe was not hot enough---believe it. The waterline is a good idea, but when you consider the vendor recommends heating the carafe with hot water prior to brewing, that is just as troblesoime as pouring a pot of water in the top. The coffee is great but frequently requires microwave heating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:March 25, 2012

AWESOME! Coffee brewer & Costco ROCKS!

Model Number: BEC-110
"We decided to purchase the BEC-110 because our vacuum brewer that we absolutely LOVED started having problems. After reading thru it's reviews, really liking the idea of plumbing a water line to it, and knowing we could return it to Costco with no problems, we ordered one.
So far, we have NO REGRETS. We ordered it at 6am Monday and it was sitting on our counter by 11am the next day! We live in Alaska. If I didn't have another project going, I could have had it installed before bedtime. As it was, I had it in and working perfectly by the next afternoon. I think the key to NOT seeing the "dreaded EEEE" is following the instruction for the brewer and the water filter. I filled a 5 gallon bucket before hooking the water ine up to the brewer.
Anyway, we are HAPPY! We do not miss the vacuum brewer coffee at all!! VERY SATISFYING purchase!"
Review 11 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:February 8, 2012

Works Great!

Pros: no more water mess
Model Number: BEC-110
"I want tell everyone we love our Brew Express. I noticed the last review and was compelled to tell you it is a great product. We also had initial water connections issues (EEEE), but it was our issue. After reviewing the manual and calling for information, Brew Express helped get us connected properly. The last review is should not even be on this site as it is the user problem. I beleive Brew Express has great customer service as they helped us resolve our problem. We love this product because it is problem free of adding water."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2011

Not a recommended product

Model Number: BEC+110
"Twice this coffee unit overflowed making a coffee mess of the counter top, inside the lower drawers, behind the refrigerator and worse of all across the tile floor darkening the tile grouting. Costco, of course, took the product back but I was still out the filtering system for the coffee maker. I most certainly would not recommend this unit. Instead consider something else. The coffee urn was empty when it overflowed. On the second occasion it was set to only brew 5 cups. The coffee urn was filled and the overflow began coming from the filter container. The unit would not shut off until the water was turned off. The unit had been used for a couple of months and in this time period overflowed twice. I did not want to go thru this a third time and returned it to Costco."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland
Date:February 18, 2012

Super.......But ~

Pros: wham bam coffees done
Cons: settings complicated
Model Number: This one BCC-110
"We hooked up to water supply no problem (in old home) luv it but .........there is No settings back up so if power goes or unplugged all settings need resetting, and they are bit complicated and time (very) comsuming in my opinion. Other wise lllllove it we make 3-5 pots a day (Costcos decafe the best we've ever had never found a drinkable decafe til Costco's)
In this wild world this..............
........................makes on thing simple ~
Peace to YOU and OUR World!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:March 6, 2012

Brew Express 110

Pros: handsome unit easy to use, solid feel well made carafe
Cons: coffee not hot enough, constant slow-dripping water
Model Number: BEC-110
"The idea to have the unit connected directly to the water supply is absolutely great. And it is doable with relative ease. My issue is with the temperature of the coffee: I'ts a little better than warm. I did everything the owners manual says to do. Then I called the company, and while they were very polite on the phone, they were not able to get the BEC-110 to make a hot cup of coffee. The second issue is that water is always dripping into the filter basket."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 8, 2012

Best Coffee Maker Ever

Pros: elegant design, stationary - never have to move it, no burner, never have to add water
Cons: coffee can get cold after 2 hours
"It was difficult to justify paying that much money for a coffee maker but we took the leap and plunked down ~$200. No regrets now! This thing rocks. Easy to use, simple design, easy to hook up. And it makes great coffee.
It uses standard coffee filters - nothing proprietary or expensive - a big plus. The filter rests perfectly seated, unlike other filter holders which can skew the filter sometimes.
The instant hot water feature is cool too. No more microwaving water for tea or hot chocolate. This does it for you.
But the big plus is never having to add water... ever. Not having to add water means never having to move the unit.
The unit has no burner or warming element to burn drips, fingers, sponges, etc. Really elegant design too. Everything works perfectly. I'm surprised Apple didn't design this. :)"
Review 16 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:December 15, 2010

Easy to install and easy to use

Pros: easy to install, easy to use, makes a great cup of coffee every time., stainless finish works well in most kitchens
"Coffee maker took me about 1/2 hour to install and get running. I have had it installed now for a couple of months and use it every day.
Makes a great cup of coffee every time without having the burnt taste of a hot plate to keep it warm. Carafe works great and keeps coffee warm for a couple of hours.
Traded in my pod coffee maker and will not go back. This is the best coffee maker I have every had."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:May 14, 2011

Great Coffee Maker

Pros: great tasting coffee, easy to install, best of all no need to fill water reservoir
Cons: only 10 cup capacity
Model Number: BEC1 10
"Watching the product demo is all you really need to do if you are connecting to your ice maker line - it really was that easy and surprise, it didn't leak. Even though we used the same coffee (Costco's SF Bay French Roast) that we used in our regular coffee maker, it tasted MUCH richer. Since filling the water reservoir is the biggest hassle to making coffee, now brewing coffee is a snap. We love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castle Rock, WA
Date:December 13, 2010

Excellent all-around product!

Model Number: BE-110
"I have owned a Brew Express coffee and instant-hot brewer for going on five years now! I couldn't wait to get one for my office as well. With the countertop model I won't need to install it into the wall like the one I have at home! Yea! The programmable unit allows me to dial in just how much coffee I want, and it is very fast and the temp is perfect! Highly recommended!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, Oregon
Date:February 15, 2011

Great coffeemaker

Model Number: BEC 110
"We make 3 pots a day and go thru a pour through coffee maker ever year. The makes good coffee with much less mess and is very fast, about 6 minutes. I had a little trouble setting it up but the online video was better than the instruction book. I added a inline filter because of our well water. I hope it lasts."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:February 2, 2012

BEC-110 - Very disappointed.

Model Number: BEC-110
"Installed according to the instructions including purge of water lines. It brewed one pot of water and when we tried to brew a second pot all we got was 4 flashing "E"s and beeping. The troubleshooting guide said this indicated a restriction in the water supply so we checked the line for flow and tried again with same result. Either the quick disconnect fitting is bad or the water tank fill valve failed. We expected much better for this price. At least we bought it from Costco so returning it will be simple. We really wanted this thing to work so we may try re-purchasing the same model."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>