Customer Reviews for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System

ASSEMBLY TO A WATERLINE IS REQUIRED FOR AUTOMATIC SELF-FILLING FEATURE. Designed to fit in your life, the revolutionary design of the Brew Express blends performance, contemporary style and convenience into an easy-to-use appliance that makes brewing coffee and hot beverages a pleasure instead of a burden. Brew Express easily connects to your waterline just like your icemaker so you can enjoy a fool-proof and convenient brewing experience, all without spilling a drop of water.    Benefits & Features: Auto-Fill: it’s self-filling so there is no more water mess!   Hot Water on Demand: means continuous brewing with no recovery time issues. Just keep brewing, there's no wait time for the water to heat up.   Easy Connection to Water Supply: Our quick connector makes it a snap to install, just like the water line for your freezer’s ice maker! Just the push of a button, no complicated water line to disconnect.   Adjustable Cup Selector: Let’s you decide how much or how little coffee you want to brew. Select from a single mug or a full carafe. By using the single cup brew basket (supplied) you can enjoy your favorite hot beverages such as coffee, tea or hot chocolate one cup at a time.   Small Size and Pleasing Design: Only 12.25" W x 7" L x 13.5" H and comes in an attractive design that compliments any environment.   10-cup Thermal Carafe: Easy to clean, functional and beautiful, keeping beverages hot.   Quality Coffee: Designed to meet the Specialty Coffee Association of America standards for brewing the highest quality coffee, our Brew Trak™ system ensures consistent brewing temperature regardless of incoming water temperature or voltage variation.   Reliable: Designed to last for years. Tested for several thousand cycles, and certified for commercial & residential use gives you long lasting reliability.   Energy Efficient: No water reservoir to keep up to temp and no warmer plate to waste power so it costs less to run.   Pause and Brew: No need to wait for the carafe to finish filling.   Built in Clock & Timer: your coffee will be ready when you are.   Digital Display: Large, bright and easy to read display.   Accent Lights: Great looking blue LED light that glows at night.   Safety: The carafe detect sensor prevents brewer from running with out a cup or carafe present. Water Requirements: ¼” water supply line (copper or poly) 30-psi to 90-psi   Potable cold water is required (If water is not available a 5-gallon dispensing jug can be used with a pump - not supplied) Specifications: Capacity: 1.5-liter (50-oz.) carafe, 25-oz. half carafe, or 8-oz. option   Quick Brew Time: 6 minutes (50-oz.), 3 minutes (25-oz.), 70 seconds (8-oz.)    Power requirements: 120 vac, 60 hz   Unit requires 12.9-amps for 1400w   UL Listed   Dimensions: 12.25 “ W x 13.5” H x 7” D   Weight: 18 lbs.   1 year limited warranty   Made in China For more product information please contact Brew Express toll free at 1-866-268-5953. Model: BEC-110
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
38 of 43(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Review 1 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Petaluma, CA
Date:July 17, 2013

Best Coffee Maker I've had yet!

Pros: fast brew!, shallow profile = more counter space!
Cons: 2 different baskets are a storage inconvenience
Model Number: BEC-110
"My last brewer was a Bunn BTX/B. They're a bit ugly and take up an ample amount of counter space. Not so with the Brew Express! It's low-profile along with its contemporary design make it a much better countertop appliance than its poorer-designed counterparts.
The single-cup hot water option is a great add-on - even though they could have put a little bit more thought into creating a single basket instead of 2 separate baskets to serve carafe and single cup functions.
The piped in water supply (I added my own in-line filter) is such a blessing! No more filling the tank manually!
It also save more electricity than the Bunn - which maintains a heat internal tank of water 24/7 (unless you turn it off, of course). The Brew Express heats water only on demand, so it's off right after it's done brewing.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 30, 2012

Great Product

Pros: ease of use, costco product, makes tea/soup etc.
Cons: water temperature not hot enough, no gold basket included
Model Number: BEC-110
"This is a dream come true for the person who hates shlepping water to the coffee maker every morning. I hooked my up to the rear of our refrigerator and added a filter, brilliant idea, and tucked it in our pantry that's right aside of the fridge.
From my experience the water in this maker only reaches aprox. 185 to 190 degrees. Not the recommended temperature and it only comes with paper filters. For the price, a gold filter should be included. But for me the ease of use out ways the few cons.
Also because Costco offered it was one big reason I tried it. Costco is the best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2012

BrewExpress BEC-110 Counter Top Coffee System

"Suffice it to say a 5 star is not nearly enough it is way better than that! Easy set up after we bought a filter to attach to the water line, hot great tasting coffee every single time and it stays hot. It is a great design can be hooked up from under the sink water line but we decided to hook up to our refrigerator. What can I say they nailed it BadaBing! :)"
Review 4 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:May 7, 2012

Good Coffee But...

Pros: coffee is great
Cons: carafe is not adequately insulated
Model Number: Brew Express BEC 110
"My apartment happened to be one of those that had a refrigerator connection which fit none of the parts provided. For me the hookup turned into a nealy all day task including the time to find all the parts I needed. Before purchase, I noticed a common complaint that the coffee out of the carafe was not hot enough---believe it. The waterline is a good idea, but when you consider the vendor recommends heating the carafe with hot water prior to brewing, that is just as troblesoime as pouring a pot of water in the top. The coffee is great but frequently requires microwave heating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:March 25, 2012

AWESOME! Coffee brewer & Costco ROCKS!

Model Number: BEC-110
"We decided to purchase the BEC-110 because our vacuum brewer that we absolutely LOVED started having problems. After reading thru it's reviews, really liking the idea of plumbing a water line to it, and knowing we could return it to Costco with no problems, we ordered one.
So far, we have NO REGRETS. We ordered it at 6am Monday and it was sitting on our counter by 11am the next day! We live in Alaska. If I didn't have another project going, I could have had it installed before bedtime. As it was, I had it in and working perfectly by the next afternoon. I think the key to NOT seeing the "dreaded EEEE" is following the instruction for the brewer and the water filter. I filled a 5 gallon bucket before hooking the water ine up to the brewer.
Anyway, we are HAPPY! We do not miss the vacuum brewer coffee at all!! VERY SATISFYING purchase!"
Review 6 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:March 6, 2012

Brew Express 110

Pros: handsome unit easy to use, solid feel well made carafe
Cons: coffee not hot enough, constant slow-dripping water
Model Number: BEC-110
"The idea to have the unit connected directly to the water supply is absolutely great. And it is doable with relative ease. My issue is with the temperature of the coffee: I'ts a little better than warm. I did everything the owners manual says to do. Then I called the company, and while they were very polite on the phone, they were not able to get the BEC-110 to make a hot cup of coffee. The second issue is that water is always dripping into the filter basket."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:February 24, 2012

Brew Express BEC-110

Pros: ease of use
Cons: not hot enough for tea
"After connecting I too got the dreaded EEEE message. Disconnected the water line to the machine, noticed water was available at the end of the line. Made sure it was clear, and then reconnected line giving a little extra pressure to make sure it was seated, and it worked.
One other thing that I noticed with my machine is the water starts and stops about a dozen times while making just a 5 cup half pot. Other than that, and the fact that the water is not hot enough to my wife's liking for tea the machine is great.
"
Review 8 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland
Date:February 18, 2012

Super.......But ~

Pros: wham bam coffees done
Cons: settings complicated
Model Number: This one BCC-110
"We hooked up to water supply no problem (in old home) luv it but .........there is No settings back up so if power goes or unplugged all settings need resetting, and they are bit complicated and time (very) comsuming in my opinion. Other wise lllllove it we make 3-5 pots a day (Costcos decafe the best we've ever had never found a drinkable decafe til Costco's)
In this wild world this..............
........................makes on thing simple ~
Peace to YOU and OUR World!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:February 18, 2012

Best coffee maker

Pros: not having to pour water
Cons: no reusable coffee filter
"This is a great coffee maker and takes up very little space. My only complaint is the carafe does not keep the coffee as warm as my old one, but still does a good job. We did have a slight problem hooking it up. There was lots of steam and it would not make the proper amount. We tried adjusting the settings, but it did not work. We called the company and they were great at troubleshooting. They were going to send us out a new one when my husband figured out the problem. When we pushed the refrigerator back it had kinked the water line causing low water pressure. Once we fixed that the coffee maker did a flawless job. We use it every day for a pot of coffee and every night for a cup of tea. So happy with our purchase."
Review 10 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:February 8, 2012

Works Great!

Pros: no more water mess
Model Number: BEC-110
"I want tell everyone we love our Brew Express. I noticed the last review and was compelled to tell you it is a great product. We also had initial water connections issues (EEEE), but it was our issue. After reviewing the manual and calling for information, Brew Express helped get us connected properly. The last review is should not even be on this site as it is the user problem. I beleive Brew Express has great customer service as they helped us resolve our problem. We love this product because it is problem free of adding water."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 8, 2012

Best Coffee Maker Ever

Pros: elegant design, stationary - never have to move it, no burner, never have to add water
Cons: coffee can get cold after 2 hours
"It was difficult to justify paying that much money for a coffee maker but we took the leap and plunked down ~$200. No regrets now! This thing rocks. Easy to use, simple design, easy to hook up. And it makes great coffee.
It uses standard coffee filters - nothing proprietary or expensive - a big plus. The filter rests perfectly seated, unlike other filter holders which can skew the filter sometimes.
The instant hot water feature is cool too. No more microwaving water for tea or hot chocolate. This does it for you.
But the big plus is never having to add water... ever. Not having to add water means never having to move the unit.
The unit has no burner or warming element to burn drips, fingers, sponges, etc. Really elegant design too. Everything works perfectly. I'm surprised Apple didn't design this. :)"
Review 12 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:February 2, 2012

BEC-110 - Very disappointed.

Model Number: BEC-110
"Installed according to the instructions including purge of water lines. It brewed one pot of water and when we tried to brew a second pot all we got was 4 flashing "E"s and beeping. The troubleshooting guide said this indicated a restriction in the water supply so we checked the line for flow and tried again with same result. Either the quick disconnect fitting is bad or the water tank fill valve failed. We expected much better for this price. At least we bought it from Costco so returning it will be simple. We really wanted this thing to work so we may try re-purchasing the same model."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:January 3, 2012

The best coffee maker

"Bought the coffee maker for my husband, who drinks a pot of coffee a day, and after a trip to the local "hardware" store for the right valve.......it has been a dream!!! Not to have to fill and pour the water into the machine has made making coffee a breeze! Love it!"
Review 14 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:December 19, 2011

The Best Coffeemaker Ever

Pros: quick and easy, neat looking, not a lot of parts, great taste
Cons: two baskets
"This was bought as a treat for myself. I absolutely love it! It is so easy to install and use. The coffee is brewed-not instant. The taste is much better than a Keurig with expensive cups. Filling pots with water is not hard to do, but it takes time and the amount is not always precise-love the ease of making perfect coffee each time. I grind beans for four cups and pour it into the coffee filter with the pot on 1/2. I love to hear the water filling while I do something else-true luxury! Next to the frig is a more handy place than by my sink. Very pleased with carafe, install, ease, speed, and taste."
Review 15 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Metro Atlanta
Date:December 8, 2011

Love, Love, Love It!!!

"We drink a lot of coffee, and we've used a Bunn coffee pot for years because of how quickly the coffee brews. When the burner on our last one started dying, we decided to try something with a thermal carafe and chose the Brew Express because of the great reviews. We love the smaller size (less obtrusive on the counter); we love that we don't have to fool around with filling it with water; we love that we can make one cup, or half a pot, or a full pot with ease. The coffee tastes great and, with a thermal carafe instead of a burner, the taste is "good to the last drop." No more dumping the last cup down the drain because it got burned."
Review 16 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San diego
Date:October 10, 2011

Love this coffee maker!

Pros: coffee stay hot in carafe., space saving design., worth the little extra money for the auto water
Cons: power switch is not necessary.
"It now takes so little effort to make a pot of coffee with the automatic water. Hook up was very easy, even adding an inline filter.
The single cup design is perfect for hot chocolate, tea or hot water for dry soup mixes. I highly recommend this machine!
"
Review 17 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:September 13, 2011

BY FAR THE BEST COFFEE MAKER EVER!

Pros: making coffee is a snap!
Cons: setting the timer
"THIS COFFEE MAKER IS EASY TO HOOK UP, EASY TO USE. THE PRICE IS VERY GOOD! IF ANYONE ELS HAS HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT THEY DID NOT READ THE DIRECTIONS!"
Review 18 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:July 26, 2011

Wonderful Coffee Maker

"Love this coffee maker and the customer service is wonderful too. When ours arrived it would not fill. I called customer service and within minutes they had diagnosed the problem and said they would have a new unit on its way that day with a return authorization as well. We have had the replacement about two months now and love it. Looks great, easy to connect to the ice maker water line and makes a great cup of coffee. The thermal carafe is perfect. Well worth the price."
Review 19 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2011

No fuss daily coffee

"We are really enjoying this coffee maker. The 1/2pot setting is perfect for both my husband and I to have a large cup on the weekdays. If I want another cup, couldn't be easier. We make an entire pot on the weekends and it has made our mornings no fuss. The plumbed line is so cool!
It took my hubby about 30min to install on fridge line. No trouble.
I love my new coffee maker!!
"
Review 20 for Brew Express® Counter Top Self-Filling Coffee System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:July 10, 2011

Best coffee pot EVER

Pros: wonderful tasting coffee
Cons: a little pricey - but worth it
"Over the last 50 years of marriage, we have had a multitude of coffee pots and this is the only one I felt compelled to review. We installed next to the refrigerator (using the same water line as the icemaker) and put a small water filter in the line which is completely hidden behind the fridge and easy to change. From the first pot of coffee, we knew we had a winner! Coffee stays hot in the thermal pot (I rinse with hot water from the kitchen sink first)."
1 2 3 next>>