Customer Reviews for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS

Spoken Street Names Free Lifetime Maps AAA Tourbook
Average Customer Rating:
1.5 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
10
2 of 14(14%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Review 1 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wellington, FL
Date:January 28, 2013

Do NOT PURCHASE!!!

Pros: none
Cons: slow/lag time
Model Number: 2145T-LM
"Unit works fine out of the box; If you upgrade the maps and firmware the unit slows down and it takes forever to load destinations or recognize key strokes. Do not purchase as you will end up returning."
Review 2 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:idaho
Date:January 13, 2013

worst gps

Pros: cheap
Cons: slow, unreliable, car charger stopped working after two weeks
"problems will continue to pile up for this gps. It is slow after a three hour update. The system finally locked up on me and I could no longer use it. But if it did not lock up I would have still returned it because of it being so slow after the update. If you do no do the update it runs smooth but you may not have new roads on the system."
Review 3 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2013

So slow so frustrating so disappointed

Pros: light weight easy to navigate., visible screen at full daylight and at night.
Cons: slow interface., touchscreen needs hard presses to register.
Model Number: 2145T-LM 4.3" Portable GPS
"GPS's interface is easy to navigate, except when ENTERING DESTINATION. It takes 5 seconds for any character to register to the system."
Review 4 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2012

Next to Worthless

Pros: none
Cons: many
Model Number: 2145T-LM
"This unit is considerably worse than a Magellan unit I have from 5 years ago. It's slow, the maps are not up-to-date even when updated, it crashes and it doesn't display zip codes; I could go on. If you have a smart phone, use the much-superior Google GPS app."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:December 21, 2012

Something wrong with this model

Pros: easy to use
Cons: something wrong with the system
Model Number: Magellan RoadMate 2145T-LM
"I tried this model for about a week. It seems fine as my old model.
Then I went to Magellan's website updated the software and map. Just like many other reviewers observed, the unit became extremely slow and hesitate to response.
I have one more thing to mention. Do not trust vendor’s guarantee. I tried to update the map of my one-year-old old model, an error message “PDN needs to be updated” pop up and I am going nowhere to get help.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2012

Worst

Cons: cannot find poi - hangs up - reboots, takes forever to find satellites
Model Number: RoadMate 2145T-LM 4.3" Portable GPS
"Bought this item because I had an older model that was wonderful! This newer model is awful! Unit hung and rebooted frequently ~ tried looking for POI without success (endless spinning compass). Map updates delayed and unit seemed to pause. Just purchased the Garmin and it’s GREAT! Ordered 2 more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 11, 2012

Good GPS, Do not update to firmware 4.93

Pros: can enter/edit addresses via content manager on pc, east to update maps and firmware
Cons: firmware 4.93 appeared to make my gps very slow
Model Number: Roadmate 2145T-LM
"I am a technologist.
Have been using another Magellan GPS for many year and love the chime it makes when you are on the right path and about to make turns.
Tons of AAA info including places that gives AAA discounts, car repair shops, hotels etc.
This GPS works great out of the box. However after performing firmware upgrade from 4.85 to 4.93 it became very slow. It seems like you can not upgrade the maps without the firmware to the device. I emailed Magellan, hoping they'll have a fix for the issue."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose CA
Date:February 17, 2012

Power Management Issues

Model Number: Magellan 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
"It was ok when I started using it. It lasted for about 4 trips I took using this GPS unit. After that the powering of the unit took a life of its own turning on and off my unit while driving. In the end I was not able to turn the unit on at all. Really bad product. How can one rely on a product like that. Useless if you ask me.
I returned it to Costco in 2 months after purchase. It was my first and the last Magellan.
"
Review 9 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Beaver, PA
Date:February 14, 2012

Poor product

Cons: map updates make the product not work
Model Number: Roadmate 2120T-LM
"I was excited to buy another Magellan. I have had my first for about 6 years. As soon as I got this one home and updated the maps it would not work. I returned it and got another one. The same thing happended again. Magellan Tech Support said they would get back to me in a week to fix the issue. It has been almost two and still no word. I am returning it and buying a Garmin."
Review 10 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Troy, MI
Date:February 12, 2012

Map Update Issues

Model Number: 2120T
"Purchased this unit and it was woking fine until I updated the map through the Magellan Content Manager. Once updated unit would lock up whenever a point of interest was selected. Magellan support indicated the unit need to be returned."
Review 11 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2012

Very Dissappointed

"Have already returned this product for a refund. Out of the box it didn't work right. After each spoken message there would be burst of static. Did software update from Magellan website and that solved the problem. However, then it was way too slow. Typing in an address required waiting 3-5 seconds per letter. Also, found that the maps were very poor. Addresses that have been in existence for many years were not in the map. Unbelievable but there is no way to enter a location by lat/long!"
Review 12 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 28, 2012

Bad GPS Product

Model Number: 2120T
"I thought Magellan made good GPS products. This is my second one and I am bringing to Costco to return it. My first one failed the same way. They were great for the
first couple of months, but it went bad after that period. I lost the maps in my neighborhood. And the 2nd even lost the night time display brightness. Not going to get another Magellan. The system would not let me put down zero star.
"
Review 13 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:January 25, 2012

Good quality but....

Pros: cheap with good features
Cons: lagging after map update
Model Number: Magellan RoadMate 2120T-LM
"I bought it for my next generation GPS. It was very good working unit with lots features untill upgrading map.
it comes with lifttime map update option. Once it download and install into GPS, You will see the lagging seriously. I am returning it to Costco now. As long as using as it is without updating the map. It should be O.K, I would say good choice."
Review 14 for Magellan RoadMate 2120T 4.3" Touchscreen GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:December 27, 2011

Fine GPS but...

Pros: lots of features for the price
Cons: pc/mac connection problems prevents upgrades
Model Number: 2120T-LM
"I cannot connect it to my PC or Mac to do updates. While the GPS says the unit is connected ('UPS connected'), the Magellan software on the PC or Mac (the Mac Connection Manager software is just out and available on the Magellan web site) does not detect the unit. This issue makes the free lifetime maps and software updates useless. While bugs with the just-out Mac version are to be expected, the PC Connection Manager software has been out a long time!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.