Customer Reviews for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver

Audio Features: 80 Watts x 7 Direct Energy Amplification   Digital Core Engine with Texas Instruments Aureus® DSP   Dolby® TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby ProLogic IIz, DTS HD® Master Audio   Auto MCACC Room Calibration   192 kHz / 24-Bit DAC (106 dB S/N)   96 kHz / 24-Bit ADC (102 dB S/N)   Phase Control Bass Management    Advanced 2-Channel Sound Retriever    Advanced Surround Sound (9+1 Mode DSP)   Sound Retriever AIR   Front Stage Surround Advance (Focus, Wide)   Headphone Surround    Video Features: HDMI® Features    3D Ready   Audio Return Channel   Deep Color and x.v.Color Video Conversion to HDMI   Anchor Bay®  1080 Video Scaler Connectivity: Made for iPod®, iPhone® ,iPad®    Charges iPhone®, iPad®, iPod®   Combination USB/Composite Video Cable Supplied   iPhone®, iPad®, iPod Stored and Streaming Audio and Video Memory Audio Playback (MP3/WMA/AAC)   HDMI Inputs (4 In/ 1 Out)   Front USB and Composite A/V Inputs   Digital Inputs (1Coaxial, 2 Optical)   Analog AV Inputs (5 AV, 2 Audio)   Sirius XM Radio Ready   Subwoofer Pre-Out   Large Speaker Terminals (7 Channels) Custom: Zone 2 Audio Pre-Out   Speaker A/B   9 Channel Assignable Speaker Terminals    Surround Back/ Front Height   Surround Back/ Speaker B 12v Trigger   IR In/Out   HDMI Standby Through   Auto Power Down   Preset Remote Control Model: VSX-40
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
9 of 12(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Review 1 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Torrance, California
Date:July 1, 2012

Sound Quality is Good BUT....

Model Number: Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1
"Set-up was easy, Sound quality was good, could not get ipod video to play, ipod text quality on screen(TV) was poor,..... and unit stopped working after 5 months, will return to Costco. Now reviewing other units/brand Costco carries - any recommendations?"
Review 2 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Clara, California
Date:October 29, 2012

Good Buy....

Cons: costco should "double" pack the unit into another, box... the unit could have been better delivered.
Model Number: VSX - 40
"Nice unit. Well laid out. It replaced another Pioneer Unit I had bought the year before... It "Quit" on me. Turns out that unit was defective from the get go. This new unit, Elite has a better Power Transformer. The unit is heavier and better built. I like the way it is "Smarter" than the user."
Review 3 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, Wa.
Date:February 15, 2012

Best Value Ever

Pros: great price, great sound
Cons: none for this price
Model Number: VSX 40 Elite
"For $299 on Costco.com, this can't be beat.. Crisp clean sound, and dozens of options. A little complex, but once you learn how to shape the sound to your preferences,its worth it.. The reciever is lightweight which is not necessarily a good thing. Possibly means Pioneer skimped on transformer bulk, which may result in reduced life. Maybe not, we,ll see."
Review 4 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:October 15, 2012

Great Audio

Pros: great sound features ipod cable
Cons: setup.
"I bought this drive energy take classic5.1 speaker set. Setup was bit confusing with so many buttons. After I figureout how to get to setup menu, it was a breeze. The Audio is clean and drive the speakers effortlessly. The auto setup seems to be doing decent job, but needs manual tweaks to make it bit better. Overall, great receiver for the price. Difficult to go wrong with a purchase from Costco."
Review 5 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Broadway, VA
Date:November 27, 2012

Great addition to the A/V System

Pros: great price for all of the features.
Cons: takes time to set up because of all the capability
Model Number: VSX-40
"Very nice and flexible box which can serve as the hub of your A/V system. The ability to connect it to your TV with a single HDMI link, allowing the VSX-40 to do both audio and video switching, simplifies the whole system. Control over inputs is extensive."
Review 6 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 7, 2012

Not such a good purchase after all

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: cheap, laccking features, not well made
Model Number: VSX-40
"I expected more from Pioneer Elite since they make one of the best HD TV's on the market. It seemed light, which means the power supply isn't made so well, cheap. One of the main features that I bought it for, and the feature was listed int he add, doesn't not work. I called Pioneer and they said the feature isn't in this receiver. In order to get the feature I would have to step up to 2 models higher. I returned it to Costco 2 days after receiving it. I just wish I didn't spend the 4 hours hooking it all up."
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2012

Very complex

Pros: good return policy
Cons: poor documentation
"Poor documentation to start with. Secondly this device was not HDMI compatible with the Optoma project that I had purchased.
Glad I purchased this at Costco due to their return policy."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2012

Not such a good deal....

Pros: a/b switching nice fit and finish on cabinet
Cons: relatively poor sound quality across the spectrum
Model Number: VSX-40 Elite
"....unless you don't have an ear for music. Mid-tones are noticeably absent, as is the ability to increase the bass substantially. The overall sound quality (with music) is too sharp and there is little transparency of sound and musical instruments. The Pioneer tech rep told me over the phone that the Elite VSX 40, the bottom-of-the-line entry Elite model, is merely a re-badged second-from-the-bottom-of-the-line non-Elite model, but with two years of warranty rather than one year and a prettier cabinet."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange, California
Date:January 2, 2012

Excellent Receiver

Model Number: Pioneer VSX-30
"Had to get a new receiver to work with my new Sharp TV. The Elite series from Pioneer has been rated very good by many professionals.
Setup was easy, sound with my Bose 5.1 speakers is awesome, no complaints.
Price is excellent, a great value."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:monterey, ca
Date:June 15, 2012

very nice...but

Cons: owners manual and onlne support.
"ok, i have had this for a few days now and the sound is exceptional, Very happy with the purchase. But here are few things to be aware of.
First the owner manual is confusing and not user friendly. Although this is considered a plug and play device, I too had issues with the pass through application, but i am stubborn so on to the internet for solutions, turns out the HDMI settings on my TV needed to be tweaked, (HDMI.ORG) good site.
If the tv is wall mounted and more than six to ten feet away, don't skimp on cables, GET high speed and good quality cables.Color and sound vastly improve.
The tuner picks up stations that are clear as a bell, that my other receiver was unable to get a clear channel on.
Speaker set up is a snap, with plenty of power to drive my Klipsch speakers, to window rattling levels, with no distortion, that the human ear can detect. My neighbors have a new appreciation for Led Zeppelin.
ipod connection is seamless, but the TV GUI is basic. but does the job.
Over all very satisfied, just remember to have all of your manuals for the other components available, and be ready to research.
Attached to:
Panasonic 50' tv , 5 disc DVD changer and a blueray DVD with versa link controls.
Wii, playstation, and comcast DVR, and Klipsch speakers..
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Watertown, MN
Date:January 17, 2012

Exellent Product thus Far

Pros: upconversion, nice looking exterior, runs cool, mcacc makes setup easy, lots of features, 2 year manufacturer warranty, simple on screen display, great price
Cons: screen display is not elegant, volume is not in db, no network connection
Model Number: vsx-40
"So far I have been very pleased with this product. I purchased this product a couple weeks ago and have been very impressed. The mcacc works amazing and is decently accurate. It has plenty of power to fill the room. It runs cool and mated to a blu-ray player produces excellent 5.1 and 7.1 reproduction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pioneer Elite VSX-40 7.1 Channel Elite A/V Receiver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:January 19, 2012

So far so good

Model Number: VSX-40
"The main reason I got this was it was recommended by a pro Home Theater installer and because it converts from all types of inputs into 1 single HDMI output. Other receivers like the 1 I had just bought and had to sell do not convert from RCA jacks, like my DVD player or kids game system, to HDMI."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.