Customer Reviews for TV Ears TV Speakers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

TV Ears TV Speakers

The TV Ears TV Speaker is a wireless television speaker that is tuned to deliver the perfect blend of movie-like sound and voice-enhanced dialogue to you. Bring the TV audio close - by so you won't need to turn up the volume as much to hear your favorite programs - your entire family will enjoy the lower over-all room noise! The speaker's volume operates independently from the television's volume, allowing the user to turn the television's volume down or completely off. Voice Clarifying Circuitry™ is a proprietary technology contained in every TV Ears product. This technology automatically manipulates the audio curve to increase the clarity of television dialog and decrease the volume of background sounds such as music and sound effects. Suddenly whispers, foreign accents, and other hard to hear words are much easier to hear. The words seem to jump out of the soundtrack, making even whispers and accents understandable. Speed of Light Transmission - The TV Ears TV Speaker transmits sound at the speed of light with its 2.3 million cycles per second infrared technology which assures lag-free, interference-free voice clarified television audio. Unlike other wireless speaker technologies, such as radio frequency and Bluetooth, the TV Ears Infrared transmission technology is completely safe and easy to use. It will not interfere with your wireless telephone and will not need adjustment or pairing like Bluetooth. Installation is very easy because you won't need to purchase an amplifier, control console, or even pay for installation. Instead, the transmitter simply plugs into the analog or digital audio-out ports of your television, cable, or satellite box and sends audio via infrared light up to 50 feet to the wireless speaker. The low-profile design will fit on a shelf near your television or on a side table near your couch and provides 90 Hz-18,000 Hz frequency response and up to 90dB of volume to accommodate any hearing requirement. Need even more clarity or to listen in private? Simply plug in a headset to the jacks located on the front of the speaker. Want to play your music? Plug your music device or smartphone into the music port located on the back of the speaker. Specifications:      Dimensions: 11" L x 6-1/2" W x 4-1/4" H; Product Weight: 3.15 lbs. Features: Works with any brand of television   Speed of light transmission is lag-free and interference-free   Sleek and stylish design with a large easy-to-use volume dial   Voice Clarifying Circuitry makes television dialogue easy to understand   90Hz-18,000Hz frequency response with 90dB of volume output   Headset jack located on front of speaker accommodates any standard headset   Two powerful speakers, two main drivers, and two reflex bass ports built in   Connection for music player or smartphone System Includes: Wireless TV Ears TV Speaker   Speaker AC Adapter   TV Ears Transmitter   Transmitter AC Adapter   10 ft. Analog (RCA) Audio Cord   10 ft. Digital Optical Audio Cord   3 ft. Auxiliary Music Cord Model: 11280
Average Customer Rating:
4.107 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
21 of 28(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears TV Speakers
Review 1 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:March 31, 2012

Excellent product

"I am glad I ordered a TV Ears TV Speaker. It is a wonderful hearing helper exceeding my expectations. It makes watching TV enjoyable again. I will definitely recommend it to people with hearing loss like me. The installation guide is clear and easy to follow. I set the transmitter inside a component cabinet above my Visio TV set, and placed the TV Speaker on a small light stand next to my chair, about 12’ away from the transmitter. I noticed that any objects within the direct line of sight between the two, such as the glass door of the cabinet or someone standing in front of the speaker, does not block sound transmission or affect sound quality. My Visio speaker and the TV Speaker can be both turned-on at the same time, and volume adjusted independently of each other. I also noticed that when I plug an earphone in a headphone jack on the front of the speaker, it mutes the speaker. However, if I plug the earphone halfway in, instead of all the way in, the speaker remains on to allow others to listen from the speaker. There seem to be many options to suit multiple listening situations."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County California
Date:March 1, 2012

I Don't Miss the Evening News

Pros: doesn't take up much counter space.
Model Number: 11280
"Our kitchen and family room are combined in one room with the big TV at the farthest wall from the kitchen. I could see the screen fine but couldn't hear it unless the volume was too loud for everyone in the family room.
My husband set the TV Ears speaker up within minutes of its arrival yesterday afternoon, which was just as the evening news came on. I put the speaker on the kitchen counter and could hear very well with the burners on and the exhaust fan on! All this noise would have cancelled out the TV audio even with the volume turned way up.
I am thrilled with this device and wish I'd known about it earlier."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central PA
Date:November 8, 2012

Just what we needed!

Pros: clear sound wherever you want it in the room
Cons: no remote; can only "mute" it by turning down dial
"This has been a blessing for our family. We can now use the TV Ears to listen to the TV that sits across the room. It's wonderful not to have the TV blasting all over the house. The sound is fine for us, very clear. No, it's not like surround sound, but we didn't expect it to be, so no disappointment there. It also works well with plugging in earbuds if desired...then nobody else has to listen to TV at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Port Orange, FL
Date:April 12, 2012

Limited usefulness

Pros: good sound quality
Cons: limited usefulness
Model Number: SN#1201002374
"Fraction of a second delay between what comes out of the TV Cable Box and the TV Ears speaker. Tech support said try different wiring set-up or call cable company like it was their fault. Tried different set-up, still same result, did not call cable co.
Use it when wife goes to bed, turn down TV and just listen with TV Ear speaker, that works well
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2012

Underwhelming

Model Number: TV Ears TV Speaker
"May work as advertised for other people, but for me it had the sound quality of an early 1960's AM table radio at about 15 times the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McDonough, GA
Date:July 4, 2012

Great Purchase

"The speaker has a great sound. I use the digital audio connection and it works great. I also enjoy the speaker output for earphones. The speaker of earphones are a either or option. They do not work simultaneously."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rancho Murieta, CA
Date:July 27, 2012

TV Ears

Pros: really great product
Cons: make sure you've got enough audio in jacks on your, dvd player or tv
"Bought it to hear dialog when watching movies. Works get for regular cable tv but I've got to get a new dvd player with appropriate jacks for it to work while watching movies. Otherwise I love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio TX.
Date:July 5, 2012

TV Ears

Pros: well built
Cons: tiney sound
Model Number: TV Ears
"Was not impressed with the sound quality so I returned. The sound had plenty volume but the dynamic of the sound was centralized to the speaker."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:simi valley , ca
Date:June 23, 2012

does exactly what it claims.

Pros: simple & versatile, sound is better than tvs.
Model Number: TV EARS & SPEAKER
"I bought this for my 92 year old mother, who has a hard time with ear phones, even the tv ears' ones. Consequently she turns the tv up extremely loud. This solved the problem. I put it about 1 foot from her head, in her easy chair, She now keeps it, at what the rest of us considers, low to normal. She also uses the ear phone jack late at night, which is much simpler to use, than the other ear phone configurations. which had to have a digital to analog converter, and a pain to charge the ear phones all the time."
Review 10 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:March 13, 2013

Glad we got it

Pros: allows us to hear voices on tv
Model Number: 6928822280
"Hearing voices on the TV is often a problem, with so many programs whose background music drowns out the voices. The TV ears enable us to hear, and I really like the fact I can also use it to plug my iPod into it for a portable speaker. Highly recommend. Good price as compared with the really expensive choices."
Review 11 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:July 5, 2012

Worth every PENNY!

Pros: great with or without headphones
Cons: none
"I was so pleased with my first TV Ears that I have purchased 5 more. I have given 4 of them as gifts to other family members. I've been told that they might be the best marital aid a couple ever have! LOL! Not only do they keep from having to listen to a BLARING TV, it makes the "verbage" being spoken on the shows so much clearer to understand. Due to medical problems I'm awake off & on all night. Now I can stay in bed and plug in the head phones w/out waking my husband up while I watch TV!"
Review 12 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Turlock , California
Date:March 14, 2012

Solved our problem

Pros: small powerful and protable
Cons: if you use a cable box or direct tv box be sure y
Model Number: TV ears speaker system
"So glad I stumbled upon this product at Costco.com. We are not hard of hearing but have a small flat screen TV mounted in our kitchen. Although the picture is perfect, even with the audio turned all the way up it was sometimes hard to hear especially while cooking with the vent on. Enter the TV ears speaker system and my problem is solved. The speaker system is across the room from the TV and puts out way more than enough volume. For a small price our problem is solved. Thank you Costco and TV Ears."
Review 13 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 3, 2012

Now He Can Hear!

Pros: easy to hook up nice volume knob. compact unit.
Model Number: Item # 629164
"My hubby has been enjoying this TV Speaker with his own headphone connected to it. It seems to be sturdy, compact with good sound adjustments and seems well made.
He said this is the best set yet so I gave this product 4 not 5 stars because we've only been using it for about 1 month. This is the most expensive model we've had thus far, so we'll see how durable it is compared to the cheaper models that only lasted a few months before it. So far so very good.
"
Review 14 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 9, 2012

Pretty Cool!

"Just what my husband needed! He usually turns the TV up so loud above all the normal family house noises. It blasts right into the kitchen and the game room. But, now he can have his own speaker set up right next to his ear and it doesn't blast thru the house. Very clear.
The directions were a little confusing as to where you connect the speaker...to the tv or cable box, but we figured it out by trial and error.
"
Review 15 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2012

Love that Ears speaker

Pros: crystal clear sound, easy to set up
Cons: haven't found any yet.
Model Number: TV Ears TV Speaker
"We have our treadmill not too far from the TV and when I walked on the treadmill, I used to turn up the volume so high that it drove everyone crazy. Now the TV Ears speaker is right next to treadmill, I can hear the crystal clear sound from the TV and everyone else is much happier. It is a great purchase for us."
Review 16 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:July 20, 2012

TV Ears

Pros: totally free of equipment on your body!!
Cons: a little spendy but well worth it.
"I bought two of these. One for upstairs and one downstairs. Easy to set up and easy to use. We like them because anyone can use them, even if you aren't hard of hearing. Just sit in your chair and turn it on. Everyone in our house loves them. Friends and family are amazed and plan to buy one for themselves."
Review 17 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 8, 2012

Thank you TV Ears TV SPeakers

Pros: earphones are optional
Cons: wish it were smaller in size, a remote control would be nice, needs a volume indicator
"My husband wears hearing aids but still had difficulty when watching TV, particularly movies. He set it up on the corner table next to his chair and is able to hear and understand the dialogue on the TV. He was particularly pleased that he could hear the actors in a movie, where previously he could not."
Review 18 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bothell, WA.
Date:March 27, 2012

Finally Enjoying an Evening of TV

Pros: small footprint & great reception
Cons: no bass or treble control
"I found that quite often while watching TV, I would ask my wife "what did they say?", or miss a key word and therefore not understand the plot. Since purchasing the TV Ears I can understand all of the conversations no matter what the voice frequency is. This just puts the fun back into an evening of TV watching!!"
Review 19 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:rancho cucamonga, california
Date:June 30, 2012

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!!!

Pros: dialog is crisp & clear!!
Cons: none
Model Number: 629164
"WOW!!! THIS SPEAKER IS GREAT!!! I AM NOW ABLE TO UNDERSTAND EVERY WORD SPOKEN ON MY TV. I CAN KEEP THE VOLUME VERY LOW AND STILL HEAR ALL OF THE DIALOG CLEARLY. ALSO VERY EASY TO SET UP-I DID MINE IN ABOUT 5 MINUTES. I LOVE THIS SPEAKER AND I THINK YOU WILL TOO!!!"
Review 20 for TV Ears TV Speakers
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale Az.
Date:June 25, 2012

Not What Expected

Pros: enhances sound
Cons: not as great as advertised
"Thought it would clarify words more clearly than it does for us who have difficulty understanding some words. T.V. ears should have been inclued in the package with the amplifier rather than making it a separate purchase."
1 2 next>>