Customer Reviews for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle

This item may currently be in stock at your local warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Product details have been supplied by the Manufacturer, and are hosted by a third party. Nikon COOLPIX AW100 You live to be "in the moment," so anything that brings back the rush is worth it. The Nikon COOLPIX AW100 is water-proof, shock-proof and freeze-proof, so you can take it on all of your extreme adventures. It packs a 5x Zoom-NIKKOR ED glass lens and a 16.0-MP CMOS sensor to record low-light and fast-action photos and Full HD (1080p) movies. Life on the road deserves GPS + e-Compass, so the AW100's got these too. Add a 3-inch monitor, our new Action Control for easily adjusting settings when wearing gloves plus a range of in-camera special effects, and you've got a camera as rugged as you. Start saving those action-packed memories—every view and heartbeat. Ready for extreme adventures Water-proof, shock-proof and freeze-proof. The AW100 can handle all that Mother Nature can throw at it. Take it diving to depths of up to 33-feet. Shoot at temperatures as cold as 14° F. And don't sweat drops of up to 5-feet. Whether it's in your hand, mounted to a surfboard, clipped on a backpack or attached to a scuba tank, every twist, splash, dive and crash can be recorded in both still and Full HD (1080p) movie. Plus, Nikon's new Action Control brings fast and easy operation to gloved hands. The AW100 lets you capture every thrilling moment from inside the action—not the sidelines. Shoot in extreme low light 16.0-MP CMOS sensor. Adventure doesn't always happen during perfect photo-taking conditions. Imagine sharp images produced 33-feet underwater, photos and movies captured while you explore a dark cave or get in one last run as the sun is setting. What does it take to get these and more? A 16.0-MP CMOS sensor that blazes through low light, fast action and challenging shooting conditions to capture high-impact photos with exceptional image quality and low noise. Shoot 3 shots in about one second, plus one-touch control for Full HD (1080p) movies combine to ensure not a single moment of your action-packed lifestyle is missed. Star in your own viral movies Full HD (1080p) movies with stereo sound. Don't just share some photos with friends, put them inside the action with you. Imagine reliving the downhill snowboarding rush, the incredible view as you hang glide down a 4,000-foot peak or showing your friends exactly what you experienced "shooting the tube" in Hawaii. Attach the AW100 to your gear, and with a single touch of the control you're creating an in-the-action Full HD (1080p) movie with stereo sound. You'll capture all of life's adventures from a whole new perspective—your own. See where you're going, mark where you've been Built-in GPS, mapping and e-Compass. Imagine you and a friend are white water rafting down an unfamiliar route. The AW100's rugged waterproof build can take the pounding action while you record photos and movies of this incredible adventure, and it's built-in GPS can track your progress with Nikon View NX2 software, Nikon's mypicturetown photo sharing site or Google Earth™. Its built-in maps let you view your path, and its electronic compass is an extra safety measure that can even help you ascertain which branch to take if there's a fork in the stream. Your GPS travelogue will give you bragging rights as you share the adventure with your friends. Creative control even in gloves A handy Action Control feature. More creativity at your fingertips—even if your fingertips are enclosed in ski gloves! The AW100's handy Action Control feature makes it easy to adjust specific camera settings. Wrapped up in the action with no time to adjust? The AW100 automatically adjusts camera settings. And if you're looking to add creativity, select in-camera effects such as black and white, or selective color. There's even an underwater mode to keep images colorful and properly exposed. Steady even when you're not The AW100's five advanced VR image stabilizing features automatically reduce the streaky images associated with shaky cameras. Sharper objects in motion To ward off motion blur, the AW100's motion detector automatically tracks moving subjects and adjusts the camera's settings to keep them in focus. Specifications: Effective Pixels: 16MP 1/2.3” CMOS Sensor Lens Specifications: 5x Optical zoom lens (28-140mm) 4x Digital zoom (20x total zoom) LCD Monitor: 3.0” TFT LCD (460,000 dot) Motion Video Quality: 1080p Video at 30fps Image Stabilization: Lens-Shift Vibration Reduction ISO Sensitivity: Auto, ISO 125-3200 Images Per Battery Charge: Approx. 250 shots based on CIPA standards Storage Media: SD / SDHC / SDXC Dimensions: W 4.4” x H 2.6” x D 0.9” Weight: Approx. 6.3 oz. What’s Included: Coolpix AW100 Digital Camera Rechargeable Battery Battery Charger Filter Adapter Neck Strap Audio/Video Cable USB Cable Software Suite CD-ROM Bonus Kit 4 GB SDHC Memory Card Nikon Fabric Case Model: AW100 / 11733481
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
(out of 100 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
14
1 star
21
66 of 100(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Review 1 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:July 1, 2012

Beware!!

Model Number: AW100
"Bought this camera in January. Took normal photos (not underwater) on a couple of trips and they were fine. Went to Hawaii in May and took it underwater for first time and noticed fogging on LCD. Camera was taking in water. Somewhat ruined vacation because couldn't take any photo worth keeping at that point. Took it back to Costco after the trip but was beyond 90 days so only option was to resolve through Nikon tech support. Stated my case, that camera was basically new (only a few months old) and was using underwater for 1st time and how it had ruined vacation, so they should cover for all mailing costs. They refused. I also refuse to pay another dime on this piece of junk, so I'll just not use it underwater. Luckily, I still have my old waterproof Canon D10, which has worked like a champ. Canon wins, Nikon loses. Lessons learned? 1) Always check everything out right away after you buy!! 2) Avoid Nikon tech support. They're useless!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:November 12, 2012

Good All Purpose Camera

Pros: all in one versatile camera
Cons: little pricey but worth it
Model Number: AW100
"Some have reported issues. But I've not encountered any, shutter speed is fast (way faster than the low priced Fuji alternative). Pictures are clear. I took this to Hawaii and it was fine for in and out of the water, both video and pics. Sound quality was good on video too. Great all around camera for families going on vacation."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:June 19, 2012

Disappointed

Model Number: Nikon Coolpix AW100 Waterproof camera
"Loved the camera initially. Bought it for a scuba/snorkeling holiday and for my daughter who was going on a marine bio program afterwards. The camera just stopped after 3 days. The screen turned black. The battery was still working, it charged and the light came on on the camera, but no picture in the viewfinder. It had been working fine. Took the SD card out to download photos. Put it back in the camera, and it wasn't working. Hadn't dropped it or anything. We had used it underwater although the most recent shots had been on land. The photos we had taken up until then had been wonderful. I had taken another camera (not underwater) so we used that for a while - but we had to buy a camera at a Duty Free store for my daughter to take on her scuba trip. It wasn't the best and we had to pay more than we would have - there simply weren't the stores to select from on the island we were visiting.
If it had worked, I'd have been thrilled with the camera - based on the pictures we have. But very disappointed with the whole experience and returned it when we got home from vacation.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:May 22, 2012

Great, versatile point & shoot, action camera

Pros: waterproof shockproof small and rugged., shutter response is fast., well designed layout easy to use.
Cons: would like a faster lens..., ...but i understand that adds size and weight.
Model Number: Nikon AW100
"As a semi-professional photog, I needed a small PAS camera that I could slip into swim trunks or biking shorts to take anywhere, and not have to take the big lenses. We bought the Nikon AW100 for a Hawaii trip, and it performed well for portraits, close-ups, scenery, panoramas, and especially underwater. With a small, relatively slow lens, I didn't think it would produce images like my DSLRs, but it came through creating images with more detail and clarity than I expected. The shutter responds fast, capturing the moment, and the controls are easy and well designed, while still retaining the Nikon software that I was already familiar with. What is the best camera? It's the one that you have with you! The AW100 will go places that my larger cameras can't, and therefore, will probably end up being my "best" camera many times more than I can imagine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:michigan
Date:December 30, 2012

waterproof / shockproof good for nothing rock

"I didn't have a chance to test the shockproof or waterproof qualities, but after taking just 30 pictures and noticing that almost half were blurry or washed out ... I decided to take it back. Also fyi it that the menu system on this camera is a little confusing"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2012

Awesome Camera!

Pros: locking compartment for sd card and battery., portable
Model Number: AW100
"Bought this camera before going on a cruise. Compared to the Fujifilm. This was, by far, much better picture clarity. Also love the way it locks in the sd card and battery so I am sure it is locked, unlike the Fujifilm which I had trouble locking. Not something you want to worry about when snorkeling underwater. Takes great underwater pics and video. Have used on two snorkeling trips. Plan on buying one as a Christmas gift."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Marcos, CA
Date:October 17, 2012

Worst Camera Ever!

Pros: none whatsoever
Cons: blurry photos
Model Number: Nikon COOLPIX AW100
"All my life I've heard how wonderful Nikon cameras are. I bought this one for my wife's birthday in early October. We took a total of 17 photos. Each one of them had a blurry edge on them. No matter what setting I used. I even used a tripod.
I was so excited when I bought this camera. With 16mp, and all the other features including video, I thought it would be great. I mean, according to the romance copy, it does everything and almost turns into a roast beef sandwich and a six-pack at midnight! However, it just won't take good photos! In fact, my old, 1999 Canon PowerShot 50 with 5mp takes photos better than this camera. I just couldn't believe it. I had to port the photo's into Photoshop and reduce their size, use a sharpen filter and adjust the shadows, highlight, contrast and brightness to get them to look halfway decent.
I'm returning it tomorrow to Costco. I'll go with Canon or Samsung. I'm done with Nikon. Oh, and Olympus treated me no better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:April 20, 2012

Nikon Coolpix AW100

Pros: panorama shot, video stability
Cons: quality of photos, did not last long
Model Number: AW100
"I give this product 2 stars. It's description is suppose to be waterproof, shockproof, and freeze-proof as the highlights. Unfortunately, I could not test any of those highlights because it could no longer take pictures after day 5 of purchasing the camera. The photo quality was okay when it worked well. I could review my photo but could no longer take photos because the screen permanently turned black after taking over 500 shots (No, I did not drop the camera). I searched other reviews online for troubleshoot and found this problem to be common. Good thing I had an old Sony backup camera which took so much better pictures anyways than the Nikon AW100. I would not recommend this product if you are going on vacation. Please bring a backup camera on your trip if you are taking the risk of purchasing this camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Auburn, CA
Date:March 29, 2012

Didn't Live up to Expectations

Pros: excellent still picture quality even in low light, gps was accurate and helpful
Cons: not shockproof, video stabilization
Model Number: AW100
"I had high hopes that this camera would suit my needs while adventure cycling in Death Valley. Yes, it takes great pictures... if you're not moving. But the stabilization is not capable of handling the motion of riding activities, even on smooth pavement. Seems that the frames would skip between segments in a contorted effort to smooth the picture. Worst thing was the side panel (opposite the battery hinged door) fell off with no apparent cause. Sure, had I dropped a non-"shockproof" camera I would expect this, but this camera is "shockproof" and was mounted to a tripod on the bike with some level of vibration dampening. It was never exposed to wind, dust, or any other extreme, so it doesn't make sense. Maybe one more version will get it even better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Draper, UT
Date:November 10, 2011

Great Camera for Waterproof...

Pros: waterproof, image quality, 1080 hd video capture, optical image stabilization
Model Number: AW100
"Had an 2 Olympus waterproofs for 2 years... They both stopped working within a week of each other. Thank goodness for Amex, we were able to get service!
I did a TON of research on waterproof cameras. Waited anxiously for Costco to get this camera, and I purchased it within the first few days they had it. We immediately took it on a beach trip.
I cannot say enough good about this camera! The HD video is AWESOME! The photo quality of the images in GREAT! The GPS feature is pretty nifty with its integration into iPhoto.
The reviewer who is not happy with the photo quality obviously has no idea how to take a picture. This is a $350 fixed lens camera in a waterproof case. The camera simply won't take pictures with the same quality as a DSLR. DUH!
For what this camera is... PHENOMENAL!!! Image quality is awesome. I love it, and can hardly wait to take it on more vacations where we can use it under water again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2012

Power cord

Model Number: AW100
"The battery charger requires a cord instead of the the flip out style charger. Traveling with this extra component is a pain."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011

Worst picture quality

Pros: waterproof
Cons: terrible photo quality
"This camera takes TERRIBLE photos! As a mom of 4, I carry my camera eveywhere and take many shots. Very few photos came out crisp. Took almost a hundred shots in various environments - no consistency in quality. Need to take it back quick!!!"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Killingworth, CT
Date:October 29, 2012

Broken right out of the box

Model Number: Nicon Coolpix aw100
"I bought this camera hoping for a great camera. Boy was I wrong. It was broken right out of the box. Go with a different camera."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 8, 2011

runlikeamutha...

Pros: water proof freeze proof and shock proof
Cons: fixed lens gives it limited light
"...needs camera buying help 101. This camera has a fixed lens, they will have the poorest quality vs a moveable lens, it's not the camera, it's the buyer and user."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Miami
Date:January 14, 2013

Water leak, washed out color

"Quality of the pictures was not what I expected. Colors appear washed out and pics out of focus. Water leaked the first trip to the beach. Returned to store within 15 days."
Review 16 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA.
Date:December 29, 2012

Nikon AW100

Pros: picture clarity, ease of use, gps
Cons: not waterproof, inconsistent focus
Model Number: AW100
"We bought the AW100 for our December Caribbean vacation. The waterproof portion was essential. We narrowed down the search to the Nikon and the Panasonic. Previously we had the cheap Fuji which filled up with water half way through the vacation. The AW100 worked flawlessly for the first 4 days and then the lens started fogging up anytime it was in the sun. Then the screen started to do the same thing. We kept the camera in an airtight bag (w/moisture absorbing packs) every night but that did not help.
The camera requires you focus on every shot otherwise the picture is blurry. Great pictures when focused but you can never just pull the camera out and take a quick picture.
Other than the focus, the pictures are great. The video feature is awesome and takes great videos. The GPS feature is something I did not think we would ever use but now I don't know how I would live without it.
I returned the one we took on vacation and replaced it with the same model. Other than the water leak I love the camera."
Review 17 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:November 7, 2012

Produces blurry imagery, slow, poor camera!

Pros: supplied neck strap
Cons: blurry images, slow shutter lag, easily fogged up, water stays on outer glass element, back lcd looks oily, poor lens placement - hand in shots, odd button / software layout, battery is very poor - doesn't hold a charge
Model Number: AW100
"While this may be an underwater camera, perhaps its only plus, it has a bad problem of persistantly taking out of focus images. Anything in the distance is out of focus in or out of the water. Also the lens is way to close to the left side of the body, and with a wide lens your left hand is sure to be in the shot when taking photos or video. Also the lens fogged up on the inside element when I was using in the water.
Also this has a ridiculously long shutter lag.
Of one interesting thing this camera comes with a neck strap, not a wrist strap.. something I thought I wouldn't like, however after using in the water I found it very nice feature for this little camera. That's about the only positive.
Compared to my 3 year old underwater panasonic Lumix, this thing is junk!"
Review 18 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:rockville MD
Date:August 27, 2012

Pictures not clear

Pros: great features
Cons: blury fuzzy pictures
Model Number: Coolpix AW100
"I'm not satisfied with the consistency of quality shots I'm getting. With kids and a lot of outdoor activity, I need a camera I can whip out of my shirt pocket and grab a shot in a moment, under various conditions.
I previously had a Lumix, which I loved, but dropped off a boat on a fishing trip. This camera does not perform as well on the fly. I'm going back to another Lumix"
Review 19 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, Ca
Date:August 18, 2012

Excellent Camera!

Model Number: AW100
"I took this camera to Australia. The underwater pictures and video from the Great Barrier Reef were outstanding. I had no problems with flooding or clouding of the screen. The pictures taken by this camera just before sunrise in the Outback turned out the better than my friends' pictures. This camera rivals the SLR camera that one of my friends brought."
Review 20 for Nikon COOLPIX AW100 Digital Camera Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:June 23, 2012

Excellent Design

Model Number: AW100
"I purchased this camera for a sailing adventure with my son to the Bahamas. It performed spectacularly. After reading many reviews before purchasing, I decided to read most of the manual and familiarized myself with how to work the features. The shooting modes work great. Underwater picures and video came out way better than expected. I put the pics and video on my 50" plasma tv and the quality at that size was extremely sharp and clear. I had no problems with underwater shooting, and was able to change modes and settings while underwater. It pays to know how to work all the features of this camera and your pictures will show it. Everyone on my trip was amazed at the panoramic feature which works so simply.
The only drawback I have with the camera is that you cannot charge the battery while in the camera. It has an extenal charger. Was not an issue on this trip. I will work with it on backpack trips because the quality of the camera is so good.
"
1 2 next>>