Customer Reviews for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint

HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint

This item may be available at your local Costco for a cash and carry price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(286 Reviews) 286
(out of 286 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (286 reviews)
5 stars
165
4 stars
40
3 stars
22
2 stars
21
1 star
38
218 of 286(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Review 1 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 11, 2013

Poor Design

Pros: easy setup
Cons: cannot print just a single envelope, touch screen behaves erratically, drops printer results on the floor
Model Number: 8600 Plus
"I am an IT professional and have been using printers in my home office since the days of the FX86. Just bought this HP8600 and will return it.
HP OfficeJet is a huge brand that consistently has delivered on interoperability (I have MAC, Win, and Linux on my network). But this printer is awful.
The Cons, extended:
1. Cannot print just a single envelope without removing all the paper from the single tray and resizing the tray for an envelope, then reversing the process. Oh, or you can give HP more money for a second tray. Definitely the classic solution to shortcomings in design.
2.Touch screen behaves erratically when trying to scroll the menu. If quality control suffers this much on the assembly line, what does that mean for the less obvious but equally minimally tested functions?
3.Drops printer results on the floor unless the sliding panel is extended out the front of the printer.
4.Registration website forces you to join snapfish, with a separate registration, not automatic.
"
23 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:March 5, 2014

Basic functionality not working

Pros: easy install intuitive interface quiet scans ok
Cons: wont feed photo paper
Model Number: CN578A
"Now I know why this printer had an $85 coupon: They want to get rid of 'em. I bought this printer 1 week ago, so I haven't used it much. The setup went smoothly on Win7 and XP. Interface user-friendly. Quiet. Was able to print wirelessly and to e-print. All looked good until I tried to print on "Kirkland professional glossy inkjet photo paper." The printer won't feed this paper and then says "out of paper." I know how to do the paper adjustments, and I've read through many forums. Apparently this is a common problem with this model. Sometimes selecting a different card stock works, but not usually. I tried all kinds of fixes, and nothing works consistently. I've read it will work with Kodak paper, but I have 150 sheets of Kirkland paper, with no guarantee that it'll work with other paper. Never had this problem with previous HP printers. This is the fanciest model I've owned, and it can't do the most basic function. I read the reviews before buying this model, and people said they had problems with photo paper, but I (foolishly) hoped I wouldn't be one of them.I may be returning this soon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:February 15, 2014

Good but has limitations

Pros: easy fast set-up, high quality printing, wireless
Cons: struggles with heavy photo-paper or card-stock
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"This Officejet Pro 8600 Plus is replacing an older Officejet 6110xi that finally gave it up. I found the installation set-up easy and fast on two different computers (MacBook and MacBook Pro), although the scanning software will only work on the newer MBP. I found the wireless hookup very convenient and have had no problem with transmission of information. My wife is an Illustrator/Graphic Designer and needs a home printer that will print on photo paper and card-stock. This unit struggles with the heavier paper weight, and we have found the only way to have it pull through is to put no more than 10-15 sheets in the tray, and then adjust the blue-tab "media guide" in the paper tray shorter than a normal 11" length, to have the paper "bowed" up. This seems to help it grab the paper to initiate printing. Other than this, we are satisfied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA
Date:October 23, 2013

Fast printer. Great buy.

Pros: wireless printing, scan to any wirelessly connected computer, fast printing, duplex printing, touch screen
"I searched long and hard to find a multi-function machine that would do all functions AND had a decent review. If you're looking for a way to print wirelessly, scan, fax, and copy AND print duplex, then this is the machine for you.
If you've been considering a laser printer, I even think I'd recommend this over one of those. This printer is VERY fast. I am amazed at how quickly is spews documents. I've tried the duplex printing, and it works great.
I love that we can print to this printer wirelessly. All five computers and an iPad are all set up to print, and it works great. Additionally, when we scan, we can send the scan to any active computer that is wirelessly connected to the printer. Nice feature!
I've only tried the e-mail to print feature once, but it will come in handy in the future."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

Died after changing the ink cartridges for the 1st

"Had this printer for a little over a year (Out of warranty of course) and the 1st time I go to replace the cartridges I get a printer error. HP is telling me that the printer needs to be replaced and offered me an upgrade at $250+ dollars. NO MORE HP PRINTERS FOR ME"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:February 26, 2014

I hate HP; they are so greedy!

Pros: it does work but must buy color ink for black pri
Cons: must buy colored ink, see my rant above
Model Number: HP 3600+
"We have a small business and print about 1000 pages per month. I hate the day every year when our printer goes down so I've got to the point where I just buy 2-3 printers at the same time and leave one at home and 2 at the office so I have spares. We unfortunately bought HP 8600's this time. We want consistent, efficient black ink only fast printing. We never use color at the office and occasionally do at home. This printer apparently requires color ink even though its always set to black ink only. When the Yellow color got low we could no longer print black without overriding the normal print to acknowledge the yellow cartridge. Even though we never use color it finally said yellow is totally empty and would not print. I thought no problem, opened other new box and replaced with its ink. Apparently HP doesn't want you to be efficient so they will not allow you to use another "starter" cartridge, you must purchase new. I was furious and went to store and had to pay $30 for XL Yellow and after installing it would not allow me to print at all without replacing all cartridges and throw away others with plenty of ink. I was furious to have to buy $90 ink I don't want Huge waste of time, resources and money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:February 14, 2014

Intermittent Problems

Pros: great when it works.
Cons: too many problems.
Model Number: HP Pro 8600 Plus
"We have had this machine for over 6 mos. and had it replaced once already. Now we are asked to replace a "head" and see if that fixes the latest problem of it not reading the ink cartridges correctly. We do not look forward to doing our own repairs. We have also had too many problems needing to reset the whole system when it fails to connect with the computer (wirelessly).
HP is somewhat helpful (it is under warranty) and Costco is always the best, but it's likely we will just return the machine and buy a new one instead of replacing this "head" and spending additional time working on getting this machine functioning again, and then waiting for the next failure.
HP has no contingency for the days/weeks we are expected to function without equipment while we test out their suggestions and wait for shipments.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2012

Great printer, superb cost per page

"Though I was hesitant to buy this printer due to the size, it has turned out to be one of the best technology purchases I have made in quite a while.
It was super-easy to set up. It is super-quiet even when printing, and best of all, it does not use a lot of ink. In fact, I bought this printer about 6 months ago and I am still using the original print cartridges it came with. Contrast that to my old Canon MX300 which seemed to suck ink at a deplorable rate. I swear we would buy ink and after just a few pages of color or black and white printing it would complain we were out...and that was with genuine Canon cartriges.
The wireless printing feature, if you have never had it, is fantastic. It is easy to connect to your home network via wi-fi, and you can then print from just about any wi-fi device, including your laptop or even a tablet. You can even send it attachments over e-mail if you're out somewhere, and it will print them and have them ready when you get home.
If you have the space for it, get this printer. You will not regret it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:February 1, 2014

OK but with flaws

Pros: easy to set up wirelessly
Cons: expensive to maintain, bad scanning mechanism
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"The printer functions as advertised but there are flaws that are not written anywhere.
Two major flaws with this printer:
1. It will not print if "ANY" one of the 4 cartridges are empty. It uses separate print head and forces you to buy color cartridge even if you only print in black& white. Expensive to maintain as cartridges lose ink gradually over time even if it's not used. LOOK FOR OTHER PRINTERS WITH INTEGRATED PRINTER HEAD.
2. During double sided scan, papers get jammed quite frequently. This is very annoying if you plan to digitize documents. LOOK FOR PRINTERS THAT DO NOT ROLL PAPER BACK AND FORTH SO MANY TIMES TO SCAN."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mpls MN
Date:February 4, 2014

Unreliable

Pros: none
Cons: inherent problem with the wi-fi connectivity., hp tech support not helpful!
Model Number: CM750A
"This machine started disconnecting itself from my home wi-fi within the first two months. I spent nearly 8 hours on the phone with HP tech support before they replaced the machine with a refurbished machine. The replacement lasted four months before it began disconnecting itself, too. I am still chasing HP tech support around about this problem. Not worth the money!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:January 21, 2014

Paper Tray Feeder Problem

Pros: ease of use of setup. good quality of materials
Cons: 8x10 photo quality paper could not feed through
Model Number: HP Officejet 8600 Plus
"The computer trade mags rave about this printer. So it's logical to get it from Costco! The setup like all wireless printers require some attention but overall its straight forward about a good 20-25 minutes to unpack and have it in your home office, printing. My first tests is the paper. I always test all types of paper (HP, Kodak, Kingsland, other) from regular to photo glossy to matte finishes as well as 8x10 to 5x7, and 4x6 because of the rollers within the complexity of the path of the paper when duplex is in the picture (excuse the pun). My results were "A" for regular of only 8x10, "A" for photo 4x6 and 5x7 but a "F" in 8x10. I thought it was the paper, no, that was not the problem. Then I checked the rollers in the tray to the back of the inner printer where it grabs the 8.5 side of the sheet, and it seemed fine (used a bright flashlight to follow the flow). I went to HP's Support website and they have a video which explains how to clean the rollers. At this point I thought no matter what I do, there is a problem with the inner mechanisms of the back rollers for its larger page. I decided to return it back to Costco. Of course, they always accept returns. But I gave it 2 STARS because HP does do a good job overall but when you pay this much, it should be plug and play and not troubleshoot on the first day! Perhaps it was a lemon, which does happen nowadays. I am now going for the Canon ix6520."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:So. Cal.
Date:March 9, 2014

Won't Print on Kirkland Photo Paper

Pros: none
Cons: selecting purchase set up tech = wasted time
Model Number: hp Offiecjet Pro 8600 Plus
"I was satisfied with this printer ... until I tried to print a photo.
This printer can not use Kirkland Photo Paper (I don't know what else it will or will not use since that is what I had on hand).
1 hour trying everything myself + 1 hour on hold for hp service + 1.5 hour working with technician and coming to the conclusion that this printer can not pick up the Kirkland Photo Paper = 3.5 hours wasted today and now I need to pack this piece of c___ back up and return it, write angry review, then start reading reviews again to select another printer, drive to purchase new printer, set up new printer, etc. = HP just wasted about 12 hours of my time that I could not afford to LOSE. I am furious, if this printer can only print photos on 'special' or HP photo papers (and I'm not saying that it will even do that, since I haven't tried) then it should say so and I wouldn't have even considered buying it.
The problem is when I try to print the printer says that the tray is empty, while the photo paper is in the tray. It will print photos on plain paper (not what I bought it to do), it will, amazingly, print on Kirkland photo paper so long as you have it print on the backside, giving me nothing but a smeary mess (also not what I bought it to do).
Tech Supports Advice - RETURN IT.
PS: Previous Cannon and Brother printers had no problem with this photo paper. And, for all I know, this printer will not work with ANY gloss photo paper. I only know it will not work with what I use.
"
Review 13 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central Texas
Date:October 1, 2013

Cautiously optimistic

Pros: great features and photo quality is excellent
Cons: may only last about a year
Model Number: Office Jet 8600 Pro Plus
"Purchase was a replacement for identical model, which broke after using it for 18 months. Costco concierge that I spoke with about this said that his info included the statement that the expected life of a modern printer was one year. While I found that rather astounding, I have always had great service from all my previous HP printers. Luckily I purchased the previous printer with my American Express card, thereby getting the extra warranty period and replacement printer was at no actual cost to me. I think it produces great photo quality, and useful features."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014

I'm very happy with this printer

Pros: everything works like a charm
Cons: lengthy setup
"Other than taking awhile to set it up, I couldn't be happier. I have OS X 10.9 (mavericks) & the drivers for it were not included on the installation disk. I downloaded them from the HP website with no problem, but it did take about 45 minutes to download. Other than that, I've had no problems whatsoever. I've printed from my macbook pro, from my wife's Dell desktop, from my iPad and from my iPhone, AND from an e-mail sent directly to the printer. I have not used the fax and will not because I do not have a home phone line. It's easy to use. I'm happy with the print quality. The print cartridges are expensive, but I'm not a power user and have no reason to pay more for a printer with cheaper cartridges. My last HP printer lasted 15 years and, in fact, still works."
Review 15 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 1, 2014

HP Software Doesn't support XP unfortunately

Pros: works with win 7 win 8 macbook and iphone
Cons: hp software doesn't work on xp. network scanning, not working so far either.
Model Number: n911g
"Works on Win 7, Win 8, MacBook, but just doesn't work with XP. tried both wired and wireless, but it's a no go! I have tried quite a few things. the HP software program was not able to find the printer. the xp pc could ping the printer just fine but ............ to no avail. I finally had to resort to adding an IP Port to get the printer working on the xp pc. Would have really liked to be able to scan to the xp computer.
Scanned network folders also didn't work. It looks like it worked but when tried to scan, it just created a corrupted file every time. I may spend some additional time on it but only if I need to. Will try this to work on the windows 7 and 8 computers. Won't spend anymore time with xp. the scan to email is a nice feature. Was able to get this working easily."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lake Orion, MI
Date:June 23, 2012

No good for envelopes!

Cons: can't print envelopes!
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"For printing on paper, and even printable fabrics, this printer is great. Cumbersome paper tray access, but I could live with that. However, it cannot seem to print envelopes! No envelope feeder, so you have to remove all the paper to load the envelope, and then the print driver does not know how to work with Word, and keeps saying the wrong size of paper is loaded. HP's site offers no usable fix, and I cannot find any other help on-line.
If I had known about this issue, I would NEVER have purchased this printer.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Date:April 7, 2013

Regret the purchase

Pros: wireless
Cons: must have all ink cartridges capable
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8600
"This HP device contains permanent printheads that require ink for all the colors to keep from damaging the printheads. In reality, you cannot print anything or override the error setting when one of the cartridges are empty, regardless of color. This is a tactic by HP to bolster complimentary goods - namely expensive ink cartridges. If I would have known this prior I would have never purchased this device. In fact, because of this cheesy tactic I will not purchase another HP device in the future."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hi-tech senior
Date:January 4, 2013

Nice printer has several limitations

Pros: prints great on standard or glossy 8.5 x 11 paper, touch menu is easy to read & intuitive, printed labels are waterproof, easy to change ink cartridges, copier function works very well
Cons: can't print on a7 envelopes for 5x7 xmas cards, .65" left margin for #10 envelopes is unacceptable, can't imprint on 7x10 xmas cards (opened flat), lack of hp support for custom paper sizes, lack of separate feed tray for envelopes
Model Number: N911g
"When using HP's standard paper sizes (such as 8.5x11 or 8.5x14), this printer works great. I am disappointed that it's impossible to print #10 envelopes with a return address & logo no closer than .65" from the left edge. Also, if you want to imprint A7 envelopes and 7x10 Xmas cards (5x7 folded), those sizes are not supported. I have owned other HP printers that could print on any size envelope or sheet size, so I don't understand why HP ignored those basics when creating the printer driver for this model. I would willingly pay more for a printer that included a dedicated feed tray for envelopes and supported additional common envelope sizes for invitations and announcements."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond CA store.
Date:February 25, 2014

Printer Purchase - a great purchase

Pros: ease of wireless set-up, very fast printer speed, price was competitive, good color and b&w printing
Cons: none so far
Model Number: HP 8600
"I purchased an HP 8600 a couple of weeks ago to add another printer. I've owned several HP printers over the years and been very pleased, several purchased from Costco."
Review 20 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, Washington
Date:February 25, 2014

Great little printer

Pros: able to print 1 envelope at a time, great color, easy setup wireless or usb, 4 ink cartidges instead of 2 or 3
Cons: must remove tray to change - add paper or envelope
Model Number: OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"For the price this is another great printer from HP. HP printers have always been top of the line, reliable, efficient and user friendly."
1 2 3 4 next>>