Customer Reviews for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint

Get an additional $20 off when you add this HP printer to your purchase of a tablet. Must be purchased on same order. Offer deducted at checkout. For qualifying items, enter search term HPAUG14M. Valid 07/26/14-9/27/14. While Supplies Last. This item may be available at your local Costco for a cash and carry price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(332 Reviews) 332
(out of 332 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (332 reviews)
5 stars
185
4 stars
50
3 stars
26
2 stars
25
1 star
46
248 of 332(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Review 1 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 18, 2014

Doesn't feed properly

Pros: pretty easy set-up
Cons: paper feed messes up continually
Model Number: Officejet Pro 8625
"From the day we got it for our small business, both paper and shipping labels would not feed properly. It would grab anywhere from 3-4 pages and print all across them, with none of them usable. Huge waste and $$$ for paper, ink and labels! Furthermore, HP support wasn't very helpful or patient, even though we gave this printer time to try to get the bugs worked out. Finally ran out of ink in ONE of the cartridges so the whole thing won't print - very frustrating! Plus it's big for what it will/won't do. Also, for our use it would be helpful if the paper tray lid would lift up. This one doesn't - the whole tray has to be pulled out and then put back in to load. Bottom line, this one's going back!"
Review 2 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:July 3, 2014

Worked great for 15 months

Pros: works great for awhile
Cons: only worked for 15 months.
Model Number: 8600 pro
"This printer worked great until I changed the ink for the first time. Now HP says the Print Head is damaged and they will send me a new one for $150. I told them I am not rewarding them for a printer that works for 15 months. I will go buy another brand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:June 15, 2014

Faulty power button

Pros: good print quality
Cons: power button is broke
Model Number: 8600 - N911g
"The power button does not work properly. I have to press it several times to power on and off the unit; It's easier to unplug the machine than the button, but this shouldn't be a selling feature; I am returning the printer; Other than the faulty power button, the machine works well;"
Review 4 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:June 3, 2014

So far so good...

Pros: printer works well on routine documents., setup is easy, speed is acceptable if not blazing.
Cons: cost of printer ink is high as with most hp units., hp 8600 not eligible for hp subscription ink svc.
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8600 N911g
"I purchased this printer to replace another HP all-in-one office jet that suffered an untimely death. I went through two printheads on the deceased unit in about 18 months. So I am giving HP another shot. Things have gone well so far. Installation was straight-forward. Network setup easy. Works fine. But I'll reserve judgment until proof of reliability is in, and that will take time. Effusive praise after only two weeks of ownership is unwarranted. If it lasts, I'll up the rating. Be sure on fax setup to use only two-wire phone cords. I mixed in a 4-wire cord and discovered that for some reason it blocked incoming calls on my digital phone service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:May 28, 2014

After One Year Kaput

Pros: while it works it works well
Cons: panic when you have to change the cartridges
Model Number: 8600 PRO
"I've had this printer one year, and it worked fine, I just replaced the color cartridges and now it does not work, I have to buy a new one. I see several people with the same problem, what's with it. After nothing but HP for 20 years I may go to another brand."
Review 6 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2014

Good Purchase for the price and features

Pros: good value for the price with costco rebate
Cons: scanning and emailing muliple page document
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
"Nice multifunction printer, easy to set-up and use, so far only issue had was scanning and sending emails - sometimes fails."
Review 7 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley WA
Date:April 29, 2014

Best purchase I made this year!

Pros: air and e print! print from almost anywhere
Model Number: HP Office Jet Pro 8600
"I do not know why I waited so long to upgrade my printer. Easy to set up and easy to use. I would recommend this computer to anyone."
Review 8 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

Died after changing the ink cartridges for the 1st

"Had this printer for a little over a year (Out of warranty of course) and the 1st time I go to replace the cartridges I get a printer error. HP is telling me that the printer needs to be replaced and offered me an upgrade at $250+ dollars. NO MORE HP PRINTERS FOR ME"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:So. Cal.
Date:March 9, 2014

Won't Print on Kirkland Photo Paper

Pros: none
Cons: selecting purchase set up tech = wasted time
Model Number: hp Offiecjet Pro 8600 Plus
"I was satisfied with this printer ... until I tried to print a photo.
This printer can not use Kirkland Photo Paper (I don't know what else it will or will not use since that is what I had on hand).
1 hour trying everything myself + 1 hour on hold for hp service + 1.5 hour working with technician and coming to the conclusion that this printer can not pick up the Kirkland Photo Paper = 3.5 hours wasted today and now I need to pack this piece of c___ back up and return it, write angry review, then start reading reviews again to select another printer, drive to purchase new printer, set up new printer, etc. = HP just wasted about 12 hours of my time that I could not afford to LOSE. I am furious, if this printer can only print photos on 'special' or HP photo papers (and I'm not saying that it will even do that, since I haven't tried) then it should say so and I wouldn't have even considered buying it.
The problem is when I try to print the printer says that the tray is empty, while the photo paper is in the tray. It will print photos on plain paper (not what I bought it to do), it will, amazingly, print on Kirkland photo paper so long as you have it print on the backside, giving me nothing but a smeary mess (also not what I bought it to do).
Tech Supports Advice - RETURN IT.
PS: Previous Cannon and Brother printers had no problem with this photo paper. And, for all I know, this printer will not work with ANY gloss photo paper. I only know it will not work with what I use.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:March 5, 2014

Basic functionality not working

Pros: easy install intuitive interface quiet scans ok
Cons: wont feed photo paper
Model Number: CN578A
"Now I know why this printer had an $85 coupon: They want to get rid of 'em. I bought this printer 1 week ago, so I haven't used it much. The setup went smoothly on Win7 and XP. Interface user-friendly. Quiet. Was able to print wirelessly and to e-print. All looked good until I tried to print on "Kirkland professional glossy inkjet photo paper." The printer won't feed this paper and then says "out of paper." I know how to do the paper adjustments, and I've read through many forums. Apparently this is a common problem with this model. Sometimes selecting a different card stock works, but not usually. I tried all kinds of fixes, and nothing works consistently. I've read it will work with Kodak paper, but I have 150 sheets of Kirkland paper, with no guarantee that it'll work with other paper. Never had this problem with previous HP printers. This is the fanciest model I've owned, and it can't do the most basic function. I read the reviews before buying this model, and people said they had problems with photo paper, but I (foolishly) hoped I wouldn't be one of them.I may be returning this soon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

Most unreliable printer I've had

Model Number: HP 8600 Officejet Pro Plus
"Bought this printer based on reviews. It prints great...when it works. It has hung up on me so many times, when I really needed a print job completed. There is some problem with the wireless aspect, which for me was not reliable and therefore not acceptable. It is going back to Costco. I've given this printer every opportunity for success and I'm fairly computer saavy. HP-get the wireless kinks worked out if you're going to sell a computer like this. Or don't sell it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond CA store.
Date:February 25, 2014

Printer Purchase - a great purchase

Pros: ease of wireless set-up, very fast printer speed, price was competitive, good color and b&w printing
Cons: none so far
Model Number: HP 8600
"I purchased an HP 8600 a couple of weeks ago to add another printer. I've owned several HP printers over the years and been very pleased, several purchased from Costco."
Review 13 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, Washington
Date:February 25, 2014

Great little printer

Pros: able to print 1 envelope at a time, great color, easy setup wireless or usb, 4 ink cartidges instead of 2 or 3
Cons: must remove tray to change - add paper or envelope
Model Number: OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"For the price this is another great printer from HP. HP printers have always been top of the line, reliable, efficient and user friendly."
Review 14 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:February 19, 2014

No Photo paper printing

Cons: does not print on photo paper!
Model Number: 8600
"Do not buy this if you plan on printing anything on photo paper. It does not work. I have researched for 2 hours and tried numerous "fixes". End result - no photos printed and the brand new out of the box printer purchased yesterday is going back."
Review 15 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:February 15, 2014

Good but has limitations

Pros: easy fast set-up, high quality printing, wireless
Cons: struggles with heavy photo-paper or card-stock
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"This Officejet Pro 8600 Plus is replacing an older Officejet 6110xi that finally gave it up. I found the installation set-up easy and fast on two different computers (MacBook and MacBook Pro), although the scanning software will only work on the newer MBP. I found the wireless hookup very convenient and have had no problem with transmission of information. My wife is an Illustrator/Graphic Designer and needs a home printer that will print on photo paper and card-stock. This unit struggles with the heavier paper weight, and we have found the only way to have it pull through is to put no more than 10-15 sheets in the tray, and then adjust the blue-tab "media guide" in the paper tray shorter than a normal 11" length, to have the paper "bowed" up. This seems to help it grab the paper to initiate printing. Other than this, we are satisfied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:February 14, 2014

Intermittent Problems

Pros: great when it works.
Cons: too many problems.
Model Number: HP Pro 8600 Plus
"We have had this machine for over 6 mos. and had it replaced once already. Now we are asked to replace a "head" and see if that fixes the latest problem of it not reading the ink cartridges correctly. We do not look forward to doing our own repairs. We have also had too many problems needing to reset the whole system when it fails to connect with the computer (wirelessly).
HP is somewhat helpful (it is under warranty) and Costco is always the best, but it's likely we will just return the machine and buy a new one instead of replacing this "head" and spending additional time working on getting this machine functioning again, and then waiting for the next failure.
HP has no contingency for the days/weeks we are expected to function without equipment while we test out their suggestions and wait for shipments.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014

Best printer to date

"This printer does everything that I need it to do. I bought continuous ink system CIS for it so that will keep cartridge cost down. It's priced very affordably and one of the best buys I got from Costco."
Review 18 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014

Questionable software!

Pros: fast
Cons: software
Model Number: 8600 e Plus
"Software is a problem right from the start, called HP with mixed results! Will try different printer manufacturer next time . Printer prints well and scans very fast just that software does not function properly."
Review 19 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:February 6, 2014

Worst HP Product Ever Purchased

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: worst hp printer i've ever had ! ! !
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8600 plus
"Always had HP printers in the past; but this one was bad out of the box. I set it up,connected it to my network and that was the end of this printer. It completely locks up after 2 minutes. Won't print, won't copy, won't turn off!
Must be unplugged to restart. Be quick because you will only have 2 minutes each time to print before it locks up again. HP tech support said " I think your printer is bad". DUH!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:February 1, 2014

OK but with flaws

Pros: easy to set up wirelessly
Cons: expensive to maintain, bad scanning mechanism
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"The printer functions as advertised but there are flaws that are not written anywhere.
Two major flaws with this printer:
1. It will not print if "ANY" one of the 4 cartridges are empty. It uses separate print head and forces you to buy color cartridge even if you only print in black& white. Expensive to maintain as cartridges lose ink gradually over time even if it's not used. LOOK FOR OTHER PRINTERS WITH INTEGRATED PRINTER HEAD.
2. During double sided scan, papers get jammed quite frequently. This is very annoying if you plan to digitize documents. LOOK FOR PRINTERS THAT DO NOT ROLL PAPER BACK AND FORTH SO MANY TIMES TO SCAN."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>