Customer Reviews for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint

HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint

This item may be available at your local Costco for a cash and carry price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(286 Reviews) 286
(out of 286 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (286 reviews)
5 stars
165
4 stars
40
3 stars
22
2 stars
21
1 star
38
218 of 286(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Review 1 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:So. Cal.
Date:March 9, 2014

Won't Print on Kirkland Photo Paper

Pros: none
Cons: selecting purchase set up tech = wasted time
Model Number: hp Offiecjet Pro 8600 Plus
"I was satisfied with this printer ... until I tried to print a photo.
This printer can not use Kirkland Photo Paper (I don't know what else it will or will not use since that is what I had on hand).
1 hour trying everything myself + 1 hour on hold for hp service + 1.5 hour working with technician and coming to the conclusion that this printer can not pick up the Kirkland Photo Paper = 3.5 hours wasted today and now I need to pack this piece of c___ back up and return it, write angry review, then start reading reviews again to select another printer, drive to purchase new printer, set up new printer, etc. = HP just wasted about 12 hours of my time that I could not afford to LOSE. I am furious, if this printer can only print photos on 'special' or HP photo papers (and I'm not saying that it will even do that, since I haven't tried) then it should say so and I wouldn't have even considered buying it.
The problem is when I try to print the printer says that the tray is empty, while the photo paper is in the tray. It will print photos on plain paper (not what I bought it to do), it will, amazingly, print on Kirkland photo paper so long as you have it print on the backside, giving me nothing but a smeary mess (also not what I bought it to do).
Tech Supports Advice - RETURN IT.
PS: Previous Cannon and Brother printers had no problem with this photo paper. And, for all I know, this printer will not work with ANY gloss photo paper. I only know it will not work with what I use.
"
Review 2 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond CA store.
Date:February 25, 2014

Printer Purchase - a great purchase

Pros: ease of wireless set-up, very fast printer speed, price was competitive, good color and b&w printing
Cons: none so far
Model Number: HP 8600
"I purchased an HP 8600 a couple of weeks ago to add another printer. I've owned several HP printers over the years and been very pleased, several purchased from Costco."
Review 3 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, Washington
Date:February 25, 2014

Great little printer

Pros: able to print 1 envelope at a time, great color, easy setup wireless or usb, 4 ink cartidges instead of 2 or 3
Cons: must remove tray to change - add paper or envelope
Model Number: OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus
"For the price this is another great printer from HP. HP printers have always been top of the line, reliable, efficient and user friendly."
Review 4 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:February 19, 2014

No Photo paper printing

Cons: does not print on photo paper!
Model Number: 8600
"Do not buy this if you plan on printing anything on photo paper. It does not work. I have researched for 2 hours and tried numerous "fixes". End result - no photos printed and the brand new out of the box printer purchased yesterday is going back."
Review 5 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014

Best printer to date

"This printer does everything that I need it to do. I bought continuous ink system CIS for it so that will keep cartridge cost down. It's priced very affordably and one of the best buys I got from Costco."
Review 6 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2014

Questionable software!

Pros: fast
Cons: software
Model Number: 8600 e Plus
"Software is a problem right from the start, called HP with mixed results! Will try different printer manufacturer next time . Printer prints well and scans very fast just that software does not function properly."
Review 7 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:February 6, 2014

Worst HP Product Ever Purchased

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: worst hp printer i've ever had ! ! !
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8600 plus
"Always had HP printers in the past; but this one was bad out of the box. I set it up,connected it to my network and that was the end of this printer. It completely locks up after 2 minutes. Won't print, won't copy, won't turn off!
Must be unplugged to restart. Be quick because you will only have 2 minutes each time to print before it locks up again. HP tech support said " I think your printer is bad". DUH!
"
Review 8 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014

I'm very happy with this printer

Pros: everything works like a charm
Cons: lengthy setup
"Other than taking awhile to set it up, I couldn't be happier. I have OS X 10.9 (mavericks) & the drivers for it were not included on the installation disk. I downloaded them from the HP website with no problem, but it did take about 45 minutes to download. Other than that, I've had no problems whatsoever. I've printed from my macbook pro, from my wife's Dell desktop, from my iPad and from my iPhone, AND from an e-mail sent directly to the printer. I have not used the fax and will not because I do not have a home phone line. It's easy to use. I'm happy with the print quality. The print cartridges are expensive, but I'm not a power user and have no reason to pay more for a printer with cheaper cartridges. My last HP printer lasted 15 years and, in fact, still works."
Review 9 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, Florida
Date:November 13, 2013

I'm very pleased

Pros: copy speed excellent, printing from smart phone easy, excellent price. best internet price.
Cons: none at this time.
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
"This not only prints wirelessly from my computer, I tested printing from my iPhone 4s and was surprised it printed first time. I used the copy features and was impressed with how fast it copied. The previous HP printer wasn't anywhere near as fast. For now I give it a 5 star rating. Plus I haven't seen the price as low as $175 anywhere else."
Review 10 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:No. Virginia
Date:November 2, 2013

Poor Quality Control

Pros: looks nice
Cons: doesn't work for photos
Model Number: SNPRC-1101-01
"The HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus will not print photos and cannot use photo paper. Spent hour on phone with tech to no avail. Checked HP forum and learned many other buyers of this machine have had same problem and HP has no solution."
Review 11 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 1, 2013

Returning

Pros: price return policy, easy to setup
Cons: automatic document feeder doesn't work properly, doesn't stay connected to wifi
Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One
"I'm returning this printer today, unfortunately. The Automatic Document Feeder doesn't work properly (it either jams or doesn't take the paper), and the printer doesn't stay connected to wifi."
Review 12 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:IDAHO
Date:October 26, 2013

awesome printer

Pros: low ink usage, easy to use, big screen
Cons: none
Model Number: officejet pro 8600 plus
"easy setup, ink usage the lowest by far per page I've seen in a non laser printer. Photo prints ok, if u are looking to do lots of photo prints then buy a printer dedicated to photos. This printer is a great home office printer. Good features, fast, LOW INK USAGE, large screen for us sight impaired people. Used Costco cartridge refill service with last printer and saved lots of money. Only issue was couldn't get a reading on ink levels left in cartridge."
Review 13 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waldport, Lincoln County, Oregon
Date:October 18, 2013

A really fine product at a reasonable price. . .

Model Number: HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
"Legal size copy and printing. Great photo duplication, tablet air-printing, have an older 8500 too and this is a real improvement and the 8500 was/is great."
Review 14 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Gabriel, CA
Date:October 17, 2013

Glad I bought through Costco

Cons: sheet feeder broke after 15 months
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus
"Great printer except the sheet feeder broke (very little use) after 15 months. Fortunately I bought this through Costco!! I ordered another printer online in the afternoon and it was delivered the following morning, yay Costco!!"
Review 15 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:October 11, 2013

Awesome Printer!

Pros: apps, duplexer two-sided printing, scan to email, email to print, airprint, great quality color and clarity, copy, touchscreen
Cons: setup could confuse a novice, big, expensive ink cartridges
"My order from Costco arrived within five days which was awesome because my other printer stopped working. The package is heavy and cumbersome, about 40 lbs.
The printer software installed almost effortlessly on my HP laptop and even the AirPrint was a breeze to set up. In total, I've spent three hours setting up the printer (not all at the same time).
AirPrint is so convenient and I don't have a bulky (albeit, pretty) printer hanging out in plain view. It's possible to print from anywhere with a dedicated email address for the printer.
The scanner works well but takes a minute to warm up. The best feature is the scan to email directly from the touchscreen; it sends files as PDF. I did this and sent a file to my husband at work and the file was crisp and clear. The worst aspect of setting up the scan to email was having to find my SMTP address. Once I figured it out, there was no other inconvenience.
It has a fax feature that I don't find necessary nowadays, especially because it has a scan to email feature.
I'd have to say that although this is a really user-friendly printer, if you're not computer savvy or patient, you should have someone experienced with setting up a computer and wi-fi to help you.
The apps are fun to browse and its easy to set up what you want to have print automatically. For those coupon-lovers, you can access deals in your area and have them print on-demand or on a schedule automatically. The website HP Connected or the software installed on the computer easily controls the printer's functions.
The price at Costco was the best I could find. I cannot vouch for the durability or shelf life of the technology since I've been using it only two weeks. Seems like something I'd keep around a few years.
There are so many more great things to say about this printer...
"
Review 16 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:September 10, 2013

Excellent all-around

Pros: ease of use, per-page cost of printing, all-in-one, works with mac and pc
Cons: none noted
"The HP 8600 plus is a great all-around printer, scanner, fax machine. I use both a Mac computer and a PC laptop and both work very well with the printer. The printer cartridges, on a per-page basis, are very affordable. That was my main motivation for buying the printer. Overall, very satisfied."
Review 17 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NEW YORK & VERMONT
Date:March 14, 2013

EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR ALL-IN-ONE

Pros: solid performance
Model Number: OJ PRO 8600 PLUS
"PRODUCT HAS BEEN FLAWLESS. INSTALLATION AS NETWORK DEVICE WAS SMOOTH. REQUIRES SOME EXPERIENCE IN INSTALLING AND SETTING UP NEW SOFTWARE."
Review 18 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:March 13, 2013

Very Happy with Printer

Pros: quiet fast black and white copies
Cons: papertray is inconvenient to load
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus
"We upgraded to the HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus, after our Pro 8500 Plus gave up the ghost. There are quite a few changes between the two models. So far, so good. It's quiet, speedy and all functions are easy to use. Hopefully the issues we had with the pump system on the 8500 has been resolved and this one will last a long time!"
Review 19 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:March 5, 2013

I was hesitant but So far so good

Pros: easy setup, prints from ipad and computer wirelessly
"I have always been nervous with HP but so far so good. Easy setup and everything is working. I am printing wirtelessly with ipad and computer"
Review 20 for HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus Wireless e-All-in-One with AirPrint™ & ePrint
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Altos, CA
Date:February 24, 2013

Pro 8600 Plus - Terrible

Pros: nice graphics on the pad.
Cons: hard to install., inconsistent in staying online., takes way too much attention to keep it operating, troubleshooting every day?
Model Number: HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus
"This product prints well - when it is printing.....which is almost never. We followed the installation instructions very carefully, it takes itself offline and jams the print queues on all the PC's almost every day. I need a printer that does not require any maintenance except for paper and ink, once it is set up properly."
1 2 3 4 next>>