Customer Reviews for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card

MOS Sensor Touchscreen GPS Tagging
Average Customer Rating:
3.766 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
5
30 of 47(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Review 1 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:March 6, 2012

Panasonic Lumix

Pros: takes great still shots even while moving.
Cons: video only opens in quicktime player.
"I really like the features of this camera. It takes great pictures even when I take them while in a moving vehicle. My only complaint is the video file only opens in QUICKTIME....file extension .mov..... That's why I can only give it a 3 star."
Review 2 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2012

Takes Photos by Itself

Cons: af tracking
Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"I love the photos; however, this camera takes photos by itself. I will have 2 automatic photos for every photo I take myself. I read the instructions and turned off AF tracking. It didn't work. The camera turns AF tracking on again and it takes many photos I don't want."
Review 3 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:January 22, 2012

Great if you don't take indoor photos

Pros: great outdoor photos
Cons: poor indoor photos
"Really wanted to like this camera, but I decided to return it today after a month of taking photos.
Outdoor photos were great, but no matter what the setting, the indoor photos were mediocre at best."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:nj
Date:January 21, 2012

Cam has shutter problem

Model Number: Lunix zx10
"I like this camera, but my first one began having shudder problems within the first month (wouldn't open completely and wouldn't close completely, thus allowing moisture to get on lens degrading pictures.
So I took it back and got a new one.
Now, less than a month later, the same problem is showing up.
This cam is too fragile for someone who uses it daily and needs to carry it in a coat pocket (by itself)
.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 19, 2012

Horrible camera for indoor use

Pros: 14.1 megapixel allows large prints
Cons: awful indoor photos
Model Number: DMC-ZS10
"When our Panasonic DMC-TZ5 camera stopped working we replaced it with the newest Lumix assuming we would have the same fabulous results. Not the case. While the outdoor photos are excellent, and the 14.1 mp files allow for much larger prints, the indoor quality is awful at best. Literally 3/4 of our holiday photos are too dark to see, and the ones where we can make out the subject are discolored with a strong orange hue. I phoned Panasonic and was told to add light to the room. Seriously? What is the flash for? If you intend to take daytime outdoor photos only it is a good camera, but if you want to capture any indoor moments I would recommend you do not purchase this camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Date:December 18, 2011

Amazing Camera

Pros: 16x zoom, 1080p video, gps tagging, quality feel and pictures
Cons: none so far
Model Number: ZS10
"Great camera with many features. The camera 'feels' solid and button placement is very intuitive. 16X optical zoom is a big feature for me and works well. Video turned out sharp and relatively stable. I upgraded from a year old Lumix with only 8X zoom, lower quality video and no GPS. Really enjoying this camera. Would highly recommend for someone who wants a quality point and shoot camera."
Review 7 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:December 8, 2011

camera with innovative features, price is great

Pros: sliding (not pressing type) on-off switch, touch screen controls make navigation a lot easier, smooth wide angle to intelligent 21x zoom lens, no viewfinder to waste precious space
Cons: flash on pics show reddish skin color, lack option to set focus length manually, descriptions of scene mode icons are confusing, intelligent auto (ia) mode is not very useful, no quick way to disable gps location marking
Model Number: Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS10
"PROs:
PRO-1) sliding (not pressing type) ON-OFF switch -- sliding ON-OFF switch would minimize the chances to turn ON camera unintentionally such as in a bag or pocket, which could damage the lens mechanism.
PRO-2) touch screen controls make navigation a lot easier -- However, ideally, when I touch a spot or a face of a group people on LCD touchscreen, that spot or that face on the picture taken should have the best/correct light balance and focus length. ZS10 is on the right direction but it still has room to improve. For example, when I was outdoor under bright sun light, took a picture of people indoor behind the window, I was hoping the people to have correct color on picture but ZS10 didn't reach that ideal level..
PRO-3) smooth wide angle to Intelligent 21x zoom lens -- smooth and one of the most powerful zoom lens in its class and price range
PRO-4) no viewfinder to waste the precious space -- I agree with some other camera users that sun and bright lights cause glare, making LCD difficult to view clearly, however, place a piece of paper or the palm next to LCD could easily block the glare source and makes the LCD viewable. The touchscreen controls are unlikely be operable from viewfinder anyway.
CONs:
CON-1) flash ON pics show reddish skin color -- pictures showing reddish skin tone for pictures taken indoor under the incandescent lighting with camera flash ON, it is like people in the pictures showing their mad/red faces. Also, the orange color T-shirt in picture (with same flash ON indoor) shows a color close to the dark pink grapefruit. Daylight outdoor pictures do show excellent colors. Hope the reddish color skin tone can be fixed by a camera software driver update or is it a hardware issue?
CON-2) lack option to set focus length manually -- manual focus settings as few as just 0.3m, 1m, 3m, and infinite, could be enough to cover the most pictures taken, it is vital when camera has difficulty to focus automatically such as taking pictures of the Moon with 16x optical zoom, or when red focus assistant beam scares off the wild animals hidden in the dark (better not using red focus assistant beam). or when taking pictures behind the glass or screen window that confuses the auto focus. So far the Lumix ZS10 I have still unable to take a sharp Moon picture with its optical zoom sets on 16X/max. The auto focus of this ZS10 is very fast almost all of the time (I am very satisfied with its AF speed most of the time) and it produces excellent pictures under bright lights.
CON-3) descriptions of Scene mode icons are confusing -- Many of the 30 Scene Mode descriptions are not very clear;.I have little clue about the scene modes/icons descriptions that state, for example, "Takes clear pictures of night scenes." and "Takes natural-looking pictures of food.", ... The mode description would be much more readable if each description contains both "What are the current environments" (such as indoor with dim incandescent lighting), and "What could be achieved when shots with this mode " (such as bringing face skin tone close to view people under the candle light).
The confusing descriptions make users difficult to pick the right Scene Mode. For example, when I want to take picture of people sitting in the shade, it is difficulty to find which Scene Mode to use so to bring their faces & clothes with sufficient lighting, i.e., to show the right skin tone but still won't show the background too bright under sunshine.
About 20 years ago, the Canon EOS 10QD camera came with an excellent bar code booklet that provided very clear descriptions for many frequent photo occasions, hope Lumix camera team doesn't mind to check it out, see how did EOS 10QD Team make their descriptions differently/effectively 20 years ago?
CON-4) Intelligent Auto (iA) Mode is not very useful -- because it frequently picks the wrong Mode but no quick manual overwrite to skip to the mode to the correct one.
CON-5) no quick way to disable GPS location marking -- when GPS falls behind; still showing its previous location while taking the picture, it would be great if there is a simple one step/press to disable the GPS marking temporarily instead of to let GPS set the picture with the wrong/previous location.
Following are the features that I am looking for but seem not in any camera on the current market yet, hope these features will be available on cameras soon?
WISH-1) camera with setting lock switch -- so when we ask other people to help taking picture, they won't change/touch the settings unintentionally to ruin the picture.
WISH-2) camera with software C-41 process - convert negative color film to normal color picture by camera software; taking picture of a negative film, displays normal color picture."
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 8, 2011

Fully loaded and ready for business

Model Number: Panasonic Lumix ZS10
"Panasonic Lumix ZS10 is a great choice for a fully loaded point and shoot camera. It's features and options are eay to access and understand. The pictures are crisp and the various program settings make it easy to capture a 'photo op' on the first attempt. The zoom is extremely good and allows great resolution at all distances."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2011

LOVE THIS CAMERA

"I bought this camera to replace my last lumix which was the model befor this one... i absolutely love this camera... it takes such nice pictures.. everyone always says i take nice pictures but it is definately the camera..."
Review 10 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit area
Date:October 31, 2011

Complete waste of money

Pros: none
Cons: all
Model Number: DMC-ZS10K
"Stop working after 4 months, can not turn on. Sent to Panasonic repair center in Texas and a month later (sic) Panasonic reject repair under warranty due to rust!!! I could not believe when customer service said so about product I bought 4months ago.
Completely disappointed with product (extremely low quality product and extremely bad Panasonic support, I will never buy Panasonic brand)
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:September 19, 2011

Quality lacking

Pros: feature rich
Cons: picture quality
Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"I've used it for about 30 days now and have received average to poor picture quality. I am a previous owner of the older models prior to this one, the ZS3 & ZS7. The ZS3 has the best quality of the 3. I love the rich features, but not the picture quality of this camera."
Review 12 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:September 9, 2011

love this camera

Pros: easy great quality of pics
Model Number: ZS10
"We already own the panasonic dmc-zs3. last year we took it to Italy, and came home with terrific pics. This year we purchased the ZS10 model, it has 14 megapixels. We took it camping. Took some great shots, showed the pic's around and everyone commented "what fantastic shots". Loved the ease of the camera, and the quality of the pic's. Great little camera...."
Review 13 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 6, 2011

Fine camera

Cons: flash is obscured by lens on lower left of picture, the mode wheel turns too easily.
Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"I bought this to replace a FS15 that gave up the ghost. This has better features, wider wide angle and longer telephoto. However, the lens is longer and obscures the flash in the lower left of the picture. Needs better positioning of the flash or two flashes.
I find that the mode wheel sticks out too far. It frequently gets moved pulling the camera out of a pocket. Then you find it in burst mode or taking a movie."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 3, 2011

Good performance for the price

Model Number: DMC-ZS10
"Big SLR features in a small package for a good price. I see what others say about low lighting Noise. Yes, my wife's DMC-FS5 does better in low lighting. And thtat's my rating 4.5 stars for the ZS10
The telephoto, Wide angle, and HD Video are superb and more than make up for it. So I bought the Marine Case DMW-MCTZ20 for SCUBA diving down to -130 feet which works great with the ZS10.
Great value for the diving and video capable camera combination. Thanks to Costco Buyers - good choice of product offer.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2011

panasonic zs10

Model Number: zs10
"the zs6 took awesome pictures and both the zs10 and the zs6 had the same fatal flaw-watch for it-the lens somehow sucks in lint and particules that get inside the lens and of course cannot be cleaned out-takes about 3-4months but it happened twice so had to switch to another brand-too bad."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:August 24, 2011

Replaced a camcorder

Pros: small size
Cons: none
Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"Was able to replace a HD camcorder from Panasonic with this camera, cutting down on size. Awesome!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 22, 2011

Panasonic ZS10

Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"Really great small camera. I disposed of my
SLR and all four lenses after using this camera. It does everything well and makes great pictures. I have recommended it to my friends and I know one has already ordered the same camera.
"
Review 18 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, TN
Date:August 22, 2011

Average Camera w/ too many bells & whistles

Pros: outdoor image quality, video quality
Cons: price, indoor image quality, fragile, auto focus "intelligence"
Model Number: Panasonic Lumix ZS10
"I normally shoot with a Nikon D60 DSLR but wanted a "pocket" super zoom camera to carry around for quick snapshots and for family trips, etc.
I really wanted to like this camera, the specs are pretty impressive. However, I was not impressed with the quality of the images at all, especially indoors (not even necessarily in "low light"). They were very grainy/noisy. For "intelligent" auto mode, it's not very intelligent.
I used the camera over a weekend trip with my kids and returned it Monday morning. In that weekend, I found the following reasons to return:
*auto focus annoying (focused on background rather than object in foreground)
*I accidentally snapped several random shots because of the useless touchscreen feature
*I found the camera ackward to hold
*the buttons/controls are hard to use or in weird places
*it felt very fragile, not at all sturdy
For me, the GPS feature is, at best, novel. At worst, a battery hog. I was never able to get it to locate the satellite and ended up turning the feature off. Not worth the extra price, in my opinion.
The zoom is nice to have, and the pictures I took outside turned out great. I also took a short video, which turned out fine as well.
Overall, though, I didn't think this camera was worth the price. I will continue my search for my pocket super zoom..."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Midlothian, VA
Date:August 19, 2011

Good for zoom

Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"I bought this camera for the wide angle and zoom. It is outstanding. However,
when I take pictures with flash and the camera is close to the object, we can totally see the shadow of the lens on the picture. The GPS function is great but you can only view in the camera. There is no option to print it with picture. Poor manual for such a camera with plenty of features. Price will be reasonable around mid-200 price range.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011

all in one box

Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
Model Number: DMC-S1
"a great camara, haven't gotten all the items it offers, it seems like each time I use it I find out it does even more."
1 2 3 next>>