Customer Reviews for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card

MOS Sensor Touchscreen GPS Tagging
Average Customer Rating:
3.766 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
(out of 47 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
5
30 of 47(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Review 1 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:April 21, 2011

One of best super zooms

Pros: 16x zoom great, compact size, great camera for the price
Cons: some pixelation in lowest lighting, hard to see viewfinder in bright sunlight, battery has to be charged in camera unit.
Model Number: Panasonic ZS10
"I traditionally shoot with a Nikon 300 and 700 but wanted a compact camera for those times when I did not want to "lug" my heavy SLR cameras. I am in the process of comparing the ZS10, Nikon P7000, Leica v20 and the Olympus XZ-1. Best picture of all was the Olympus XZ-1 but the 4x zoom simply was inadequate for my preferences. The Leica had great picture quality as well but is overpriced since the ZS10 and Nikon P7000 took just as good pictures. The Nikon has a slightly better picture than the ZS10 in low lighting and has a viewfinder and a ton of manual controls but the combination of the 16x zoom, wonderful compact size and picture quality that is close to the other 3 makes it a contender for those, who like me, want to something that is small but takes pictures like the digital SLRs. If the successor Nikon P7000 comes out in the size of the ZS10 and increases its zoom from 7x to at least 10x, it would be the end all be all."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:June 2, 2011

ZS10 More Features, Less Image Qualitry

Pros: good telephoto nice lens, full hd mode, nice fit finish ergonomics, extensive feature set, good shot-to-shot cycle time, dedicated movie record button, stereo audio recording, gps-enabled
Cons: touchy touch screen can auto fire shots, gps not always reliable, soft detail and corners with telephoto, noticeable barrel distortion at wide angle, even with iso set low images are soft, poor written manual included have to use pdf
Model Number: Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS10
"As a user of Panasonic DMC-ZS3, with HD Lite, I wanted to upgraded to be able to shoot video in full HD. I was disappointed in that the video quality at full HD seemed less sharp, vibrant than the HD Lite with the ZS3. One thing to keep in mind when shooting video using the zoom button on top. When finished "turning" the zoom button, let it back slowly with the fingers, rather letting it snap back. Since the mic is right next to this button, letting snap back will pick up a nasty clicking sound on the recording...it took me some time to figure this out.
With 14.1 Megapixels, expected somewhat better image quality, sharper pics, richer colors. Most of my images seemed flat and fuzzy.
In my view, Panasonic engineers missed the ball on this one...while adding more features, the quality of the image and video was somewhat degraded.
I will play with model for several months to see if I can use manual settings to get better images, but at this point, I leaning to returning the product. The ZS line has hit a wall, in my view."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:April 4, 2011

Decent

Pros: picture quality
Cons: thickness
"I am a Nikon person and own D80 and D300, semipro cameras. Hence, I am used to good pictures. I needed a camera for my pocket. I looked at several canons and NIkon and was disappointed. It seems canon's G12 and some hybrid (b/w P&S and DSLR) of Nikon do get good picture quality but are rather horrible to look at with poor design and start resembling full DSLR defeating the purpose of a pocket camera. This camera, especially with it's case is not exactly tiny but is among the best quality a P&S can take. I read tons of reviews online and decided on this camera. Focus is sharp, lighting is nearly fool proof in Ai mode and auto white balance is nice. Battery life is good for everyday use. I am pretty happy with the results thusfar after having the camera for about 2 weeks."
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:June 17, 2011

Exceeds Expectations

Pros: full of good surprises
Cons: it's so good you'll take too many pictures
Model Number: ZS10
"I purchased this camera to replace the previous model, one which I thought had been lost. I was so delighted with the camera that when the other was found, I gave it away and kept this model. The 16x optical zoom is awesome, but the best part is that it is coupled with a lens that was a PHENOMENAL wide angle view of 24mm. That is incredible. I never had that wide an angle in my old lens collection. So here is what it means: with a 24 mm wide angle and a 16x optical zoom, your effect zoom range is 24 to 384 ALL IN ONE COMPACT CAMERA. Amazing! And Costco gives you a great little case for men's belts.
Oh, be sure to buy at least an 8 gig card OR TWO
One more thing -- that GPS. No more do I have to search for a sign telling me where I am so I can photograph it. Now the camera can tell me where I am AND the correct time at which I took the picture, all dure to that wonderful little GPS"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orcas Island, Washington
Date:June 2, 2011

Another great value from Panasonic and Costco

Pros: light crisp photos leica optics feature rich., gps fast processing small, easy to carry. remember:, no camera = no picture!, costco's pricing and extras: case & card
Cons: the display could be even brighter for full sun.
Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"I've been a fan of the Lumix line of cameras since the ZS1. I've owned the ZS3, ZS5, and now the ZS10. The main draw for me has been the superior optics by Leica. Buying the same features in a Leica camera will cost you at least 300% more even at a discount camera vendor. That's a little steep for the bragging rights one would also get.
The ZS10 brings a broader zoom range, faster processing, FULL HD video, more accurate metering, full manual control, and GPS functions. I had to get one!
Being a photographer who suffers with a bad back and other physical annoyances, I appreciate all this little gem can do. Many times I'll grab it instead of my full array of lenses with Canon 40D EOS body and accessories which gets quite heavy over the course of a shooting adventure.
So, this is the best bang for the buck out there IMHO and you should buy it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:July 7, 2011

Great, handy every-day camera

Pros: quick operation, handy size, above-average photo quality, extensive exposure control
Cons: weak flash, no raw capture, short battery life
Model Number: ZS10
"I had an earlier Lumix DMC-TZ5 with which I was quite happy. The new ZS10 is a very good upgrade. It's very easy to use, quick and accurate focus, and takes very good-quality photos. it's small enough to be carried in the included belt pouch, ready to hand for those unique photographic moments. Leica lenses are legendary for quality and the reasonably fast 24 to 384mm (equivalent) lens accounts for the excellent picture quality. It's got an enormous zoom range. I got this one because I wanted more control over the exposure, and with the addition of P, A, S & M modes the versatility is phenomenal. The included 4GB SD card provides plenty of storage at the highest resolution setting, and is fast enough to take quality video. Overall, I think you'll be hard-pressed to find a better value in a point-and-shoot.
It suffers from some of the usual limitations of this type camera - there's always a shutter lag you have to learn to anticipate, but the burst mode partially mitigates that. The flash is a bit weak, barely adequate for close-in work. I'd recommend carrying a spare battery, it can eat up energy at a pretty good clip, especially with the GPS. The touch screen is way under-utilized, perhaps they can improve it with a firmware upgrade.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas Hill Country
Date:August 11, 2011

Amazing Value

Pros: incredible value
Cons: none so far
Model Number: ZS10
"Purchased for my wife to avoid bringing an SLR and lens' on a European vacation. Concerns of relatively poor picture quality (due to switch to a CMOS sensor) expressed by some Web reviewers do not exist in our example. Picture quality is great, even at high zoom levels. The functions and features this camera provides are unbeatable at this price. We have three Panasonic cameras (I inherit my wife's old TZ-3, which still works perfectly). Since we're familiar with the Panasonic menu system, complains about poorly written manuals are moot. Although the differences in dimensions and weight between this camera and the TZ3 are small, in aggregate they are big improvements and make old one feel "clunkly." You will not be disappointed if you purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2011

good for 2 days until it broke

Pros: small great zoom, many features
Cons: battery life, too many features and settings
"this is a great camera and an even better deal. too bad mine stopped focusing after 2 days of use.
the battery life was not as good as one would hope - be sure and turn off the gps or the camera will constantly turn the gps on to get it's location, even when the camera is off!
if you don't get a lemon and you like alot of features that you will probably never use then this is the camera for you"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2011

buy it at Costco.com

"just purchased this camera so I haven't had time to use all the features yet but if you're considering it, be advised that as of 7/17/2011 it is $20 less if bought at Costco.com than if purchased in the warehouse. Wish I'd known that last week. Now I have to order one and return the other. What a pain."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2011

panasonic zs10

Model Number: zs10
"the zs6 took awesome pictures and both the zs10 and the zs6 had the same fatal flaw-watch for it-the lens somehow sucks in lint and particules that get inside the lens and of course cannot be cleaned out-takes about 3-4months but it happened twice so had to switch to another brand-too bad."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:May 25, 2011

Size and quality superb!

Pros: fantastic!
Cons: can't think of any!
Model Number: Panasonic Lumix ZS10
"I had been a Canon only photographer( I own 5) until I purchased this magic box. I take it everywhere. The wide angle Leica lens is great. The panoramic option is fantastic. There is much more than you can ever use. Do I recommend it...You bet!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 3, 2011

Great buy!

Model Number: ZS10
"I checked on other camera's and the ZS10 was recommended to me. I'm glad I decided to go with the recommendation. This is one of my best camera that I have bought. It is easy to use and the pictures are very sharp. Great features."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:April 19, 2011

Even better than the last version - if possible

Pros: pic video quality and functionality, functionality
Cons: slightly bigger than earlier lumix's, but worth the extra few grams
Model Number: ZS10
"i have had several Lumix cameras. As an old SLR saddo from the Canon A1 days up to now where I have the latest EOS, I think the functionality and quality of the results of the ZS10 is just amazing. Wait until you see the HD video!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:December 8, 2011

camera with innovative features, price is great

Pros: sliding (not pressing type) on-off switch, touch screen controls make navigation a lot easier, smooth wide angle to intelligent 21x zoom lens, no viewfinder to waste precious space
Cons: flash on pics show reddish skin color, lack option to set focus length manually, descriptions of scene mode icons are confusing, intelligent auto (ia) mode is not very useful, no quick way to disable gps location marking
Model Number: Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS10
"PROs:
PRO-1) sliding (not pressing type) ON-OFF switch -- sliding ON-OFF switch would minimize the chances to turn ON camera unintentionally such as in a bag or pocket, which could damage the lens mechanism.
PRO-2) touch screen controls make navigation a lot easier -- However, ideally, when I touch a spot or a face of a group people on LCD touchscreen, that spot or that face on the picture taken should have the best/correct light balance and focus length. ZS10 is on the right direction but it still has room to improve. For example, when I was outdoor under bright sun light, took a picture of people indoor behind the window, I was hoping the people to have correct color on picture but ZS10 didn't reach that ideal level..
PRO-3) smooth wide angle to Intelligent 21x zoom lens -- smooth and one of the most powerful zoom lens in its class and price range
PRO-4) no viewfinder to waste the precious space -- I agree with some other camera users that sun and bright lights cause glare, making LCD difficult to view clearly, however, place a piece of paper or the palm next to LCD could easily block the glare source and makes the LCD viewable. The touchscreen controls are unlikely be operable from viewfinder anyway.
CONs:
CON-1) flash ON pics show reddish skin color -- pictures showing reddish skin tone for pictures taken indoor under the incandescent lighting with camera flash ON, it is like people in the pictures showing their mad/red faces. Also, the orange color T-shirt in picture (with same flash ON indoor) shows a color close to the dark pink grapefruit. Daylight outdoor pictures do show excellent colors. Hope the reddish color skin tone can be fixed by a camera software driver update or is it a hardware issue?
CON-2) lack option to set focus length manually -- manual focus settings as few as just 0.3m, 1m, 3m, and infinite, could be enough to cover the most pictures taken, it is vital when camera has difficulty to focus automatically such as taking pictures of the Moon with 16x optical zoom, or when red focus assistant beam scares off the wild animals hidden in the dark (better not using red focus assistant beam). or when taking pictures behind the glass or screen window that confuses the auto focus. So far the Lumix ZS10 I have still unable to take a sharp Moon picture with its optical zoom sets on 16X/max. The auto focus of this ZS10 is very fast almost all of the time (I am very satisfied with its AF speed most of the time) and it produces excellent pictures under bright lights.
CON-3) descriptions of Scene mode icons are confusing -- Many of the 30 Scene Mode descriptions are not very clear;.I have little clue about the scene modes/icons descriptions that state, for example, "Takes clear pictures of night scenes." and "Takes natural-looking pictures of food.", ... The mode description would be much more readable if each description contains both "What are the current environments" (such as indoor with dim incandescent lighting), and "What could be achieved when shots with this mode " (such as bringing face skin tone close to view people under the candle light).
The confusing descriptions make users difficult to pick the right Scene Mode. For example, when I want to take picture of people sitting in the shade, it is difficulty to find which Scene Mode to use so to bring their faces & clothes with sufficient lighting, i.e., to show the right skin tone but still won't show the background too bright under sunshine.
About 20 years ago, the Canon EOS 10QD camera came with an excellent bar code booklet that provided very clear descriptions for many frequent photo occasions, hope Lumix camera team doesn't mind to check it out, see how did EOS 10QD Team make their descriptions differently/effectively 20 years ago?
CON-4) Intelligent Auto (iA) Mode is not very useful -- because it frequently picks the wrong Mode but no quick manual overwrite to skip to the mode to the correct one.
CON-5) no quick way to disable GPS location marking -- when GPS falls behind; still showing its previous location while taking the picture, it would be great if there is a simple one step/press to disable the GPS marking temporarily instead of to let GPS set the picture with the wrong/previous location.
Following are the features that I am looking for but seem not in any camera on the current market yet, hope these features will be available on cameras soon?
WISH-1) camera with setting lock switch -- so when we ask other people to help taking picture, they won't change/touch the settings unintentionally to ruin the picture.
WISH-2) camera with software C-41 process - convert negative color film to normal color picture by camera software; taking picture of a negative film, displays normal color picture."
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 3, 2011

Good performance for the price

Model Number: DMC-ZS10
"Big SLR features in a small package for a good price. I see what others say about low lighting Noise. Yes, my wife's DMC-FS5 does better in low lighting. And thtat's my rating 4.5 stars for the ZS10
The telephoto, Wide angle, and HD Video are superb and more than make up for it. So I bought the Marine Case DMW-MCTZ20 for SCUBA diving down to -130 feet which works great with the ZS10.
Great value for the diving and video capable camera combination. Thanks to Costco Buyers - good choice of product offer.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:January 19, 2012

Horrible camera for indoor use

Pros: 14.1 megapixel allows large prints
Cons: awful indoor photos
Model Number: DMC-ZS10
"When our Panasonic DMC-TZ5 camera stopped working we replaced it with the newest Lumix assuming we would have the same fabulous results. Not the case. While the outdoor photos are excellent, and the 14.1 mp files allow for much larger prints, the indoor quality is awful at best. Literally 3/4 of our holiday photos are too dark to see, and the ones where we can make out the subject are discolored with a strong orange hue. I phoned Panasonic and was told to add light to the room. Seriously? What is the flash for? If you intend to take daytime outdoor photos only it is a good camera, but if you want to capture any indoor moments I would recommend you do not purchase this camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, TN
Date:August 22, 2011

Average Camera w/ too many bells & whistles

Pros: outdoor image quality, video quality
Cons: price, indoor image quality, fragile, auto focus "intelligence"
Model Number: Panasonic Lumix ZS10
"I normally shoot with a Nikon D60 DSLR but wanted a "pocket" super zoom camera to carry around for quick snapshots and for family trips, etc.
I really wanted to like this camera, the specs are pretty impressive. However, I was not impressed with the quality of the images at all, especially indoors (not even necessarily in "low light"). They were very grainy/noisy. For "intelligent" auto mode, it's not very intelligent.
I used the camera over a weekend trip with my kids and returned it Monday morning. In that weekend, I found the following reasons to return:
*auto focus annoying (focused on background rather than object in foreground)
*I accidentally snapped several random shots because of the useless touchscreen feature
*I found the camera ackward to hold
*the buttons/controls are hard to use or in weird places
*it felt very fragile, not at all sturdy
For me, the GPS feature is, at best, novel. At worst, a battery hog. I was never able to get it to locate the satellite and ended up turning the feature off. Not worth the extra price, in my opinion.
The zoom is nice to have, and the pictures I took outside turned out great. I also took a short video, which turned out fine as well.
Overall, though, I didn't think this camera was worth the price. I will continue my search for my pocket super zoom..."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wilmington NC
Date:July 26, 2011

Camera broke, awful customer service

Pros: none
Cons: inferior product short warranty period
Model Number: DMC-ZS3
"Had the camera approx 14 months and the screen went blank and would not show an image. Shipped it back to Panasonic for repair. Repair cost was $275. Only choice I was given. I elected not to have it repaired. Customer service was rude, unhelpful and indifferent to the quality or lack of it.
The lady even said to me "to bad, it's out of warranty, you own all the pieces, I suggest you buy a new one" I said I will, but it will not be a Panasonic. Her reply, that’s not my issue.
Horrible product, horrible service.
"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Midlothian, VA
Date:August 19, 2011

Good for zoom

Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"I bought this camera for the wide angle and zoom. It is outstanding. However,
when I take pictures with flash and the camera is close to the object, we can totally see the shadow of the lens on the picture. The GPS function is great but you can only view in the camera. There is no option to print it with picture. Poor manual for such a camera with plenty of features. Price will be reasonable around mid-200 price range.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic Lumix ZS10 Digital Camera with Leather Case + 4GB SD Card
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 6, 2011

Fine camera

Cons: flash is obscured by lens on lower left of picture, the mode wheel turns too easily.
Model Number: Lumix ZS10
"I bought this to replace a FS15 that gave up the ghost. This has better features, wider wide angle and longer telephoto. However, the lens is longer and obscures the flash in the lower left of the picture. Needs better positioning of the flash or two flashes.
I find that the mode wheel sticks out too far. It frequently gets moved pulling the camera out of a pocket. Then you find it in burst mode or taking a movie."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>