Customer Reviews for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

Part of the Odea line designed by BMW Designworks USA, the Odea Giro Plus features Saeco 's latest innovations including a Giro (dial) interface, ceramic disc grinder and drip tray with manual Touch Lift technology. Thanks to Rapid Steam®, you can use the redesigned steam wand to create delicious frothed milk in just a matter of seconds. The redesigned steam wand allows for manual frothing and also dispenses hot water for tea. Using the Giro dial to adjust beverage volume, it is easier than ever before to customize and brew gourmet coffee drinks at home. With Saeco OptiDose you can customize your espresso to your taste.  Designed with modern form and function, the Odea Giro Plus makes a statement in both style and flavor. Features: Color: titanium and silver   Giro Interface (coffee volume adjustment)   Saeco Aroma System: Pre-brewing cycle to maximize the flavor extraction   Saeco Adapting System: Automatic adjustment  of the grinder speed based on the type of beans used   Ceramic Disc Grinder: Adjustable built-in grinder with automatic shut-off; safe, quiet and long-lasting   Adjustable drip tray to manually adjust for taller coffee mugs or small espresso cups   Rapid Steam®: No waiting between frothing milk with Pannarello attachment and brewing espresso. (Stainless steel steam wand also produces hot water.)   Easy Clean System: Fully removable brew group for fast and easy cleaning   Saeco OptiDose: Adjustable 7 - 10.5 gram doser, regulates the amount of beans to grind per serving.   Sliding wheel base   50 oz. removable water tank   Water filter compatible (recommended)   6 oz. bean hopper   14 puck dregdrawer capacity   Stainless steel boiler   ABS plastic housing   CSA certified   UL listed   Dimensions: 11.5” W x 15” D x 14.5” H   Weight: 19 lbs.   1-year limited warranty   Made in Europe
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
25 of 44(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon, Utah
Date:June 21, 2013

Workhorse

Pros: worked out of the box, reliable, good tasting coffee, fits under the cabinets on the countertop
Cons: slightly small water and puck capacity, occassional false-alarm
"I have two of these machines at 2 locations and they both work well. We pull from 3-10 cups a day with few problems. The water reservoir is a little small but that's the price we pay to be able to put it on the countertop under the cabinets."
Review 2 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 12, 2013

Worked Well . . . For a Week

"Reviews for this model were mixed--it seems everyone either got years of faithful service or else the machine experienced problems almost immediately. My machine worked flawlessly for about a week. During the second week, the warning light came on and it never brewed another shot of espresso. I tried all of the troubleshooting tips in the manual (clean brew group, lubricate moving parts, etc.) but the machine was dead. I would not buy this model again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:April 12, 2013

Disappointing

Pros: inexpensive machine. easy to clean.
Cons: leaked, frequent alarms, cheaply constructed
Model Number: Saeco Odea Giro Plus
"This was the third Saeco machine we purchased and should have learned our lesson from the first two, which were also defective. This one began leaking water around the brewgroup after about one year and got progressively worse, and the machine alerts were so sensitive that it was seldom possible to brew two cups in succession without having to first reinstall the dregs catcher or water container or some other part with an interlock."
Review 4 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:April 7, 2013

Very poor espresso machine

Pros: milk frothing worked fine.
Cons: waste of money
Model Number: Odea Giro Plus
"1. Coffee is not strong at all - even for a very short coffee.
2. Very hard to adjust grinding. The machine did not work when I set the finest grinding - just threw ground coffee in the waste compartment and Attention light came up.
3. Leaking water in the waste and neighboring compartment - it was a mess.
I spent a lot of time trying to find out what I am doing wrong and finally gave up.
I have used Saeco Magic for over 10 years and it was a great machine.
"
Review 5 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
Date:March 31, 2013

Great for cappucino

"I have used it almost every day for 3 years without any problem. I consider it to be one of my best purchases ever. It does have a few idiosyncrasies, for example the warning light sometimes goes on for no reason, but you can fix this by just wiping the area under the collection bin with a sponge. I was surprised by some of the negative reviews, as I have had no serious problems with my machine."
Review 6 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Hanover,N.J.
Date:March 30, 2013

Great Machine

Pros: operate's like a proevery mouring
Cons: can be quirkie not serious.
Model Number: Odea
"I read some bad review's. Either their not operating the machine right or their hjaving bad luck. The machine has certain quirk's, but nothing serious. My first one lasted about 6 year's and it was on all the time,never shut it off. I just got another and it's doing it's job. Great machinr for making espresso."
Review 7 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:December 17, 2012

AWESOME Espresso Maker!

Pros: amazing product
Cons: too much convenient espresso / latte intake!
"I'm puzzled at the negative reviews on this machine. We've had it for 3 weeks now with no issues whatsoever. Yes, the water well doesn't hold as much water as one would like. Considering it takes less that 10 seconds to refill, this hardly should be considered a minus.
Last week we went to Starbucks and had to leave as their own automatic espresso maker was out of commission. It's an automatic product - of course it will break down over time. With the magical Costco guarantee, there's no issue if it does.
I did have a problem foaming milk after a time, but by taking off the metal tip and using an old toothbrush to clean inside it and the tip of the actual wand, this solved the problem.
We are thrilled with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 10, 2012

Broke on the third day

Pros: who knows it didn't work long enough.
Cons: piece of poorly made junk.
Model Number: Saeco Odea Giro Plus
"The setup process was fairly clear and coffee was dispensed on the first try. On the third day the blinking red light came on and I referred to the instruction manual. No matter what we did it didn't work again. Certainly a very poor product. When I returned it to Costco there was another Saeco coffee maker ("more expensive than yours" that had just be returned also. I will never purchase anything the says Saeco again."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 2, 2012

average

Model Number: Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
"The machine was good for about 8 month, it produced very good espresso. But eventually, the espresso getting weak and weaker. The problem is probably the water temperature, which could not produce hot espresso anymore."
Review 10 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

lasted one cup

Cons: poorly made cheap!!!!
"Two strikes great tasting coffee, but tried it twice and it broke both times.
Poorly constructed , cheaps parts
Waste of money!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 25, 2012

Buy it! You will love it! But maintain it!

Pros: great crema!, wonderful taste better than starbucks., very reliable when maintained., expensive but one year of use will pay for it.
Cons: you must properly clean and maintain it!, you can get dehydrated from drinking more coffee:), wish it held more water
"This machine is incredible! We have had ours a little over a year and absolutely love it. We love it so much we actually boxed it up and took it on vacation with us.
There are several reviews on here where people talk about having problems with this machine. 99% of the will be avoided with proper maintenance. You have to clean it and lubricate it regularly. Also get the filter so the water won't destroy it. We make at least 10 shots a day in this machine...thats almost 4000 shots a year and have had zero problems. If it did break, we would just buy another one. Our coffee drinking has quadrupled with this machine.
I love to experiment with different kinds of coffee and different drinks. It always produces incredible crema."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:November 18, 2012

Good design but unreliable

Pros: nice design
Cons: reliability
"Machine broke after 13 months, exactly one month after the guarantee ran out. I had another SAECO before and it was the same problem - Will never buy from them again !!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:stockton
Date:October 19, 2012

LOVE this Odea

Pros: fast and fresh for someone who is busy and on the, go! makes a perfect cup.
Cons: none
"Had this machine for over 3 years now and still works amazingly. Brew a fresh cup of coffee every single morning for both me and my husband. Friends that come over were impressed with how fresh and fast the coffee brew."
Review 14 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:West Hartford, CT
Date:October 14, 2012

Good Coffee, but......

Pros: great coffee, easy to use
Cons: brew master is manufactured poorly, por quality of pastic
"Had this machine for 6 months. Coffee was very good. Brewed anywhere from 4 to 6 cups a day. Openned up the brew system for a clean up, which I had done twice before, and this time it will not go back and click into place. Spent several hours trying before giving up and returning it to costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:October 5, 2012

Works well until it dies

Pros: automatically grinds beans
Cons: engine seizes after a few months of use
Model Number: Saeco Odeo Go
"This machine designed by BMW produces good, hot espresso and foam when it works.
We are returning 2nd machine. Same story as last one........worked for 12 or so months then something seized and now dead. Works great when it works. Latest model returns a false fail after grinding some beans when a coffee bean is not exactly in place in the storage area, wasting ground beans
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2012

Good coffee, bad machine

Pros: good coffee
Cons: bad machine
"Although I loved the coffee this machine makes, it's technically not OK. It broke on us after 1,5 years unfortunately. The cost of repair was equal to a new machine, but we will not buy this brand anymore."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:August 15, 2012

Great idea but terrible reliability

Pros: design, basic automatic machine, good coffee/espresso
Cons: reliability, user friendliness
Model Number: Odea Giro (TW901106066695)
"We purchased the Odea Go in 2009 and the grinder died after 2 years. I was able to repair it (had to take the whole machine apart). But we decided to renew our purchase anyway.
We ordered a new one in April 2011 through Costco. The machine would not dispense coffee on the first day. We called Saeco which sent us a replacement after some trouble shooting. Side note I am pretty good in trouble shooting and fixing electronics. The replacement machine also had brewing issues and we complained to Saeco which in return sent us the Saeco Odea Giro and gave us a 2nd year free warranty (to compensate us for our troubles).
This machine lasted about 1 year. It started to have brewing issues as well. The issue observed is that during the dispensing of the coffee the dispense slows down dramatically to a point where only few drops come out. I have played with everything in terms of cleaning, descaling, setting the grinding setting to coarse, using different beans, you get the idea.
Machine was sent to an authorized service location in California. By the way most espresso machine makers such as Jura, Delonghi, Breville use service locations as the machines are not made in the US. The turnaround time for the repair was 3 weeks during which we spend lots of money at coffee shops.
The repaired machine lasted a good 2 weeks until it showed the brewing issue again. I requested from Saeco a replacement. Saeco's response was to send it again for repair but I have to pay for shipping and turnaround time is about 4-6 weeks.
I contacted Costco and explained my situation. Costco surprisingly allowed me to return the machine to Costco for full refund. I guess Costco then deals with the manufacturer.
In search for a more reliable machine I am going to try a manual machine. The idea is that you have less electronics, less fragile and delicate parts that can fail. We will see how that turns out; unfortunately Costco does not carry any manual espresso machines. I do think these >1000$ machines look really cool and fancy but I have not come across a single machine that has great reviews. I don’t know if it is a good idea to have touch pads and other sensitive electronics on these things. But I guess an espresso machine that you can run through your smartphone would be the next big hit in this market. And how about a GPS sensor that then records where you made your coffee.
On a good note about this machine I believe it’s a great design and idea. The integrated grinder allows you to modify the grind setting. The Giro lets you chose three different settings on how much beans you want to use for your espresso. Also the amount of water used ranges from a single espresso cup to a full coffee cup. The steam wand works perfect for frothing milk. The machine is also ready to go within a minute or two from startup – I think my laptop won’t even startup as fast. Cleaning and maintenance is pretty straight forward just clean the steam wand and brew group weekly and descale the machine and lubricate the brew group when the descaling is due. The coffee tastes pretty good, however it is not meant to replace brewed coffee. For that one needs to have a separate drip coffee maker.
Oh on a side note the dreg drawer full signal can trick you. The machine works based on a counter. So about every 12 or 15 shots of espresso (not exactly sure) the machine will say the dreg drawer is full. Well if a person empties it out prematurely the machine does not reset the counter therefore giving you a false alarm later. This seems to throw people of. Also the red exclamation indicator is shared between water tank empty and in some situations with the full dreg drawer.
All in all I believe the machine has great potential but Saeco needs to work on reliability. On the other hand two friends in Germany have the same machine and there’s have been working without issue for >3 years. But then they bought their machines before Saeco was taken over by Philips – not sure if that has to do with anything.
My advice: if you really have to buy it please only buy it from Costco. If you happen to get one that has issues take it to Costco as they have more leverage with their suppliers. Do not attempt to deal with the manufacturer. Do not think this will last you years."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Columbus, OH
Date:August 10, 2012

Sensor and/or motor broke after 5 months

"Received this as a Xmas present and set it up in March. It's now early August.
The dreg drawer sensor started being flaky - it wouldn't always recognize that I emptied the drawer and reinserted - I had to remove/insert the empty dreg drawer several times.
Then today, it broke altogether. The little piece that drops the dregs into the dreg drawer apparently lowers and then lifts back up upon completion. It won't lift back up, and thus the dreg drawer won't go back in. Online searches tell me this may be that the motor is bad."
Review 19 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2012
"excellent machine that makes great coffee with good depth flavor and super foamy to crown the mug..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2012

Mediocre machine, look elsewhere

Pros: consistent espresso, cheap for the category
Cons: not reliable, foaming milk is bad
"If you are considering buying this machine think carefully. There used to be mediocre reviews (older) but for some reason they are not shown anymore.
We are heavy coffee and capuccino drinkers, so these machines get used a lot. We are on our 3rd machine of this type (thanks Costco for the wonderful return policy). At some point they all invariably stop working like they used to when new. In two machines the pump stopped working The current one we have is the new type, they changed the procedure for foaming and there is an automatic bypass mechanism that makes the process simple. This one is going back to Coscto since the foamer doesn't foam the milk anymore, it just boils it and the pump is about to die. I guess that quality control at Saeco must be a problem since reliability is all over the place. And BTW, we do all the proper maintenance, descaling, etc
if you are not a heavy user, then this machine is a good buy for the money. The espressos are very consistent since it always grinds the same amount. Foaming is a mixed bag, our first machine did this very good, the other two no so much and as I said before, this last one is dismal.
Unfortunately this seems to be the best machine in this price range (we were looking for something that wouldn't break the bank). It looks like to get something better we'll have to double or more the price.
In summary, you could be satisfied if you don't use it too much but you should shop around if you are a serious and heavy coffee drinker. Costco, where are all the older mediocre reviews?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>