Customer Reviews for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

Part of the Odea line designed by BMW Designworks USA, the Odea Giro Plus features Saeco 's latest innovations including a Giro (dial) interface, ceramic disc grinder and drip tray with manual Touch Lift technology. Thanks to Rapid Steam®, you can use the redesigned steam wand to create delicious frothed milk in just a matter of seconds. The redesigned steam wand allows for manual frothing and also dispenses hot water for tea. Using the Giro dial to adjust beverage volume, it is easier than ever before to customize and brew gourmet coffee drinks at home. With Saeco OptiDose you can customize your espresso to your taste.  Designed with modern form and function, the Odea Giro Plus makes a statement in both style and flavor. Features: Color: titanium and silver   Giro Interface (coffee volume adjustment)   Saeco Aroma System: Pre-brewing cycle to maximize the flavor extraction   Saeco Adapting System: Automatic adjustment  of the grinder speed based on the type of beans used   Ceramic Disc Grinder: Adjustable built-in grinder with automatic shut-off; safe, quiet and long-lasting   Adjustable drip tray to manually adjust for taller coffee mugs or small espresso cups   Rapid Steam®: No waiting between frothing milk with Pannarello attachment and brewing espresso. (Stainless steel steam wand also produces hot water.)   Easy Clean System: Fully removable brew group for fast and easy cleaning   Saeco OptiDose: Adjustable 7 - 10.5 gram doser, regulates the amount of beans to grind per serving.   Sliding wheel base   50 oz. removable water tank   Water filter compatible (recommended)   6 oz. bean hopper   14 puck dregdrawer capacity   Stainless steel boiler   ABS plastic housing   CSA certified   UL listed   Dimensions: 11.5” W x 15” D x 14.5” H   Weight: 19 lbs.   1-year limited warranty   Made in Europe
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
25 of 44(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2011

Love it!

Pros: automatic
"We had a St@rb()cks unit that needed a grinder and hand packing that lasted over 10 years, this was a great replacement and UPGRADE. 6 months in and Loving it!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:August 15, 2012

Great idea but terrible reliability

Pros: design, basic automatic machine, good coffee/espresso
Cons: reliability, user friendliness
Model Number: Odea Giro (TW901106066695)
"We purchased the Odea Go in 2009 and the grinder died after 2 years. I was able to repair it (had to take the whole machine apart). But we decided to renew our purchase anyway.
We ordered a new one in April 2011 through Costco. The machine would not dispense coffee on the first day. We called Saeco which sent us a replacement after some trouble shooting. Side note I am pretty good in trouble shooting and fixing electronics. The replacement machine also had brewing issues and we complained to Saeco which in return sent us the Saeco Odea Giro and gave us a 2nd year free warranty (to compensate us for our troubles).
This machine lasted about 1 year. It started to have brewing issues as well. The issue observed is that during the dispensing of the coffee the dispense slows down dramatically to a point where only few drops come out. I have played with everything in terms of cleaning, descaling, setting the grinding setting to coarse, using different beans, you get the idea.
Machine was sent to an authorized service location in California. By the way most espresso machine makers such as Jura, Delonghi, Breville use service locations as the machines are not made in the US. The turnaround time for the repair was 3 weeks during which we spend lots of money at coffee shops.
The repaired machine lasted a good 2 weeks until it showed the brewing issue again. I requested from Saeco a replacement. Saeco's response was to send it again for repair but I have to pay for shipping and turnaround time is about 4-6 weeks.
I contacted Costco and explained my situation. Costco surprisingly allowed me to return the machine to Costco for full refund. I guess Costco then deals with the manufacturer.
In search for a more reliable machine I am going to try a manual machine. The idea is that you have less electronics, less fragile and delicate parts that can fail. We will see how that turns out; unfortunately Costco does not carry any manual espresso machines. I do think these >1000$ machines look really cool and fancy but I have not come across a single machine that has great reviews. I don’t know if it is a good idea to have touch pads and other sensitive electronics on these things. But I guess an espresso machine that you can run through your smartphone would be the next big hit in this market. And how about a GPS sensor that then records where you made your coffee.
On a good note about this machine I believe it’s a great design and idea. The integrated grinder allows you to modify the grind setting. The Giro lets you chose three different settings on how much beans you want to use for your espresso. Also the amount of water used ranges from a single espresso cup to a full coffee cup. The steam wand works perfect for frothing milk. The machine is also ready to go within a minute or two from startup – I think my laptop won’t even startup as fast. Cleaning and maintenance is pretty straight forward just clean the steam wand and brew group weekly and descale the machine and lubricate the brew group when the descaling is due. The coffee tastes pretty good, however it is not meant to replace brewed coffee. For that one needs to have a separate drip coffee maker.
Oh on a side note the dreg drawer full signal can trick you. The machine works based on a counter. So about every 12 or 15 shots of espresso (not exactly sure) the machine will say the dreg drawer is full. Well if a person empties it out prematurely the machine does not reset the counter therefore giving you a false alarm later. This seems to throw people of. Also the red exclamation indicator is shared between water tank empty and in some situations with the full dreg drawer.
All in all I believe the machine has great potential but Saeco needs to work on reliability. On the other hand two friends in Germany have the same machine and there’s have been working without issue for >3 years. But then they bought their machines before Saeco was taken over by Philips – not sure if that has to do with anything.
My advice: if you really have to buy it please only buy it from Costco. If you happen to get one that has issues take it to Costco as they have more leverage with their suppliers. Do not attempt to deal with the manufacturer. Do not think this will last you years."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
Date:March 15, 2012

Odea Giro Plus. Great buy!!

Pros: easy versatile delicious, no handling of coffee grounds!
Cons: i wish the 1 qt water tank were twice as big.
Model Number: Odea Giro Plus
"We've had this expresso machine for nearly three months and love it. It's so easy! You choose one of three strengths, dial in the volume, and press the button! Then I turn the steam on, catch some early water in a dish rag, and stick a little pitcher of milk under the tube and steam it for 30 or 40 sec. (I haven't really timed it.) we haven't cleaned the inner mechanism yet. It did tell us to descale recently, for which we bought some cheap citric acid powder at a wine and beer brewing store. That was a tip we saw on line. Did the trick!
My husband selects the 3 bean strength and I use the one bean setting. We both love the coffee! We use Costo's French Roast from a Seattle Company. He likes espresso, I set it to largest volume and one bean strength, stick a tall 16 oz cup under it, and touch the brew button twice, and voila! A pint sized Americano! With two measures of coffee in it. To which I add hot frothed milk!
If the taste isn't right for you, try different brands of beans. We bought the Sumatra French Roast beans to try, and I don't find it as delicious as our preferred brand.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:June 9, 2012

Best 1 yet

"I've owned 3 Saeco machines and by far this one was the best. Irony is it is also the least expensive. Great in every way. Metal froth tip holds up well. I replaced my old units plastic one 4 times. The water bin is large gets me about 5 lattes before its time to add water. Easy push button to strengthen the coffee, turn dial to make it a vente. Plus it's Costco nobody backs you better."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2012

DIDN'T WORK OUT OF THE BOX!

"'nuf said.
Oh, and customer service offered to let me send it back for repair free of charge. Really?
What about sending a new one in exchange on a credit card and I'll return the original that never worked in that carton? (It never made cup #1 - boiler issue they said).
Can't do that. Really?"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:December 18, 2011

Love the design, but...

Pros: great design
Cons: horrible espresso
Model Number: Odea Go Plus
"Hated the espresso. This was my second Saeco purchase - after owning the Italia machine for 8 years, it finally died. Maybe I was so spoiled as it made the best espresso with delightful crema and that perfect hint of tart bitterness. This machine is designed much better so I was really looking forward to having a new one. I love the way the water tank is located on the side and the tray sliding up and down is genius. I was so disappointed to find the brew bitter tasting no matter what the strength dial is set at. I have tried it out for a couple of weeks and am getting ready to return it to Costco as soon as my new Incanto arrives. I am willing to give Saeco another chance - maybe it's just that the Odea was not made in Italy (Romania)- Incanto is. So let's see..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:December 17, 2012

AWESOME Espresso Maker!

Pros: amazing product
Cons: too much convenient espresso / latte intake!
"I'm puzzled at the negative reviews on this machine. We've had it for 3 weeks now with no issues whatsoever. Yes, the water well doesn't hold as much water as one would like. Considering it takes less that 10 seconds to refill, this hardly should be considered a minus.
Last week we went to Starbucks and had to leave as their own automatic espresso maker was out of commission. It's an automatic product - of course it will break down over time. With the magical Costco guarantee, there's no issue if it does.
I did have a problem foaming milk after a time, but by taking off the metal tip and using an old toothbrush to clean inside it and the tip of the actual wand, this solved the problem.
We are thrilled with this purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 25, 2012

Buy it! You will love it! But maintain it!

Pros: great crema!, wonderful taste better than starbucks., very reliable when maintained., expensive but one year of use will pay for it.
Cons: you must properly clean and maintain it!, you can get dehydrated from drinking more coffee:), wish it held more water
"This machine is incredible! We have had ours a little over a year and absolutely love it. We love it so much we actually boxed it up and took it on vacation with us.
There are several reviews on here where people talk about having problems with this machine. 99% of the will be avoided with proper maintenance. You have to clean it and lubricate it regularly. Also get the filter so the water won't destroy it. We make at least 10 shots a day in this machine...thats almost 4000 shots a year and have had zero problems. If it did break, we would just buy another one. Our coffee drinking has quadrupled with this machine.
I love to experiment with different kinds of coffee and different drinks. It always produces incredible crema."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:March 26, 2012
Model Number: Saeco Odea
"The Odea makes a great cup of coffee and foams milk very well. It warms up and is ready to go in about a minute. The machine is very temperamental, however. We had to call customer service almost daily for the first couple of weeks, and we recently had to buy a special screwdriver to take out a jammed brewer. Fortunately, the consumer service agents are excellent"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:November 18, 2012

Good design but unreliable

Pros: nice design
Cons: reliability
"Machine broke after 13 months, exactly one month after the guarantee ran out. I had another SAECO before and it was the same problem - Will never buy from them again !!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:July 19, 2012

Too many problems

Pros: makes good coffee
Cons: too many errors
"I bought this machine for Christmas to replace an older Saeco machine that died on me after about 5 years of use. I had issues with this machine from the start. Nearly every time I turned it on, I got some kind of error (dreg drawer, water low, no beans, etc) when there wasn't an error. After checking everything, the error would go away.
The Good: Makes great coffee
The Bad:
1) Too many random non-existent errors
2) Can't see the water level. This wouldn't be an issue if the sensor was programmed correctly, however it isn't. Coffee will stop pouring as soon as the water level hits the sensor meaning that you could get 1 oz of coffee when you expect 8 oz. The frustrating thing is that there is still plenty of water left in the canister. If you're going to have a sensor then it should cut off when there's not enough water left to pour a full cup of coffee.
3) My machine can't handle multiple cups. If I try to make 3 cups in a row, the decalcify light comes on and I have to reset it. I also had a party and tried to make multiple cups. Since then the decalcify light turns on every 10+/- cups of coffee. I decalcify my machine on a regular basis and use filtered water. At this point, I've gone through about 10 decalcify packets but I think the machine is busted.
4) Sometime it just doesn't work. I click the button, the machine grinds the coffee, it makes a lot of noise like it's struggling and nothing comes out. Instead of making coffee it just spits out the grinds, completely dry, into the dreg drawer. This is what my old machine use to do but I had that one for 5+ years, this one is only 6 months old. - Time to return to Costco.
Bottom Line: The Saeco makes a good cup of coffee but has way too many problems. Mine is only a couple months old and it is constantly "breaking". I'm going to return to Costco and purchase a different unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 12, 2013

Worked Well . . . For a Week

"Reviews for this model were mixed--it seems everyone either got years of faithful service or else the machine experienced problems almost immediately. My machine worked flawlessly for about a week. During the second week, the warning light came on and it never brewed another shot of espresso. I tried all of the troubleshooting tips in the manual (clean brew group, lubricate moving parts, etc.) but the machine was dead. I would not buy this model again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 11, 2012
Pros: great foam. the best.
Cons: small puck requires multiple espresso pulls., doesn't deliver the thick crema i expected., fussy sensors require power-cycles.
Model Number: Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso
"This is my second espresso machine. The first was a Starbucks Barista Athena, also made by Saeco, and has served me well for over 11 years. I gave it to my son last week, because it's still going strong and I now have this unit to play with. I purchased this unit because I wanted the simplicity and all-in-one features. Here are my observations, mainly in comparison to the Barista Athena, but also in general:
1) The coffee puck is 1/2 the size, holds 1/2 the amount of coffee, of a normal sized espresso puck that you would see either at Starbucks or in another, manual machine. So, somewhat annoyingly, you have to tell the unit to make twice as much to get the same amount of coffee you're used to enjoying. Along these lines, to get a strong cup of espresso, I have to put the volume of water (which is adjustable), near the bottom, and do multiple 'pulls' to get the volume and density of espresso I expect. This was never an issue with the Athena.
2) The automated 'push the button and stand back' system works well. You can push it twice in succession to have make two shots automatically, which is nice. And, it's necessary, considering the teeny puck size.
3) I'm not getting nearly as good of crema using this machine as with the Barista Athena. It seems to be a combaination of the puck size is small, the grinder is still too coarse (I have it sent to full-fine), and mabye because of the coffee I'm using (which is pretty good espresso...). Perhaps the unit is programmed to not pack it tightly so that it never gets stuck inside, or something like that..... But this ultimately affects the taste of the espresso pull, so this is very disappointing. I need to experiment to see if I can fine tune the machine more, and try a different blend, but the bottom line is that it simply does not pull as good of a shot of espresso as the Athena. Sadly.
3) Where this unit kicks butt, is the steam. As soon as you're done pulling your shots, spin the knob on top and within about 10 seconds the pump is building to a furious level. It has a built-in aerator at the end of the wand that does a simply awesome job at developing a thick, frothy foam. I used to have to work extremely hard to get foam half as good as this with the Athena, so good job Saeco - you nailed this part of it.
4) The unit has indicators for low water, temperature, full puck disposal tray, and low beans. Sometimes, for some strange reason, even though I have nearly full water, it won't get rid of the water/temperature warning light, and I have to fill the water to the tippy top and power cycle the unit to clear the condition. This is a new unit, so this is definitely a defect in the sensors or programming.
In summary, I think it's a cool unit, but I can't give it 5 stars until it delivers an amazing pull of espresso, and until it's sensors don't cause me to have to jump through hoops to reset it when it gets stuck in an error state."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2012

Mediocre machine, look elsewhere

Pros: consistent espresso, cheap for the category
Cons: not reliable, foaming milk is bad
"If you are considering buying this machine think carefully. There used to be mediocre reviews (older) but for some reason they are not shown anymore.
We are heavy coffee and capuccino drinkers, so these machines get used a lot. We are on our 3rd machine of this type (thanks Costco for the wonderful return policy). At some point they all invariably stop working like they used to when new. In two machines the pump stopped working The current one we have is the new type, they changed the procedure for foaming and there is an automatic bypass mechanism that makes the process simple. This one is going back to Coscto since the foamer doesn't foam the milk anymore, it just boils it and the pump is about to die. I guess that quality control at Saeco must be a problem since reliability is all over the place. And BTW, we do all the proper maintenance, descaling, etc
if you are not a heavy user, then this machine is a good buy for the money. The espressos are very consistent since it always grinds the same amount. Foaming is a mixed bag, our first machine did this very good, the other two no so much and as I said before, this last one is dismal.
Unfortunately this seems to be the best machine in this price range (we were looking for something that wouldn't break the bank). It looks like to get something better we'll have to double or more the price.
In summary, you could be satisfied if you don't use it too much but you should shop around if you are a serious and heavy coffee drinker. Costco, where are all the older mediocre reviews?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:October 5, 2012

Works well until it dies

Pros: automatically grinds beans
Cons: engine seizes after a few months of use
Model Number: Saeco Odeo Go
"This machine designed by BMW produces good, hot espresso and foam when it works.
We are returning 2nd machine. Same story as last one........worked for 12 or so months then something seized and now dead. Works great when it works. Latest model returns a false fail after grinding some beans when a coffee bean is not exactly in place in the storage area, wasting ground beans
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:West Hartford, CT
Date:October 14, 2012

Good Coffee, but......

Pros: great coffee, easy to use
Cons: brew master is manufactured poorly, por quality of pastic
"Had this machine for 6 months. Coffee was very good. Brewed anywhere from 4 to 6 cups a day. Openned up the brew system for a clean up, which I had done twice before, and this time it will not go back and click into place. Spent several hours trying before giving up and returning it to costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:July 4, 2012

All Hail Coffee Robot

Pros: low cost per cup, great taste, makes several types of coffee, hot water & steam, faster than drip, makes 1 cup at a time
Cons: power button failed, loud
Model Number: Odea Go
"Have a model older than this. Only one real problem, the power button failed and required a 2 week repair.
This wonderful little unit produces the best cup of coffee; day after day after day.. It has paid for itself after the 1st year. Steaming works for not only a nice milk foam, but other uses for hot water or steam.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:December 13, 2011

Great so far!

Pros: ez
Cons: none yet
"Just got it.. EZ set up. They will walk u through it on the phone but not needed. Fully auto. It goes in standby mode after 60 min. to save electric. In the morning just hit the front button and it warms up fast and coffee/espresso is ready! No more filling the pot and grinding etc... I think it would be great for my office as well.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 11, 2012

Great machine!

Pros: easy to use low mess great tasting espresso
Model Number: Giro Plus
"I had a manual 15-bar Gaggia...after 7 years it slowed down and wasn't quite the same. Plus the daily prep and clean up was taking too much time each day.
With this new machine, it takes only minutes to get a great cup of espresso with crema. I like the adjustable strength option...along with cup size for strong shots. Just bought the Starbucks Espresso beans...tastes as good as buing a shot pulled by them, if not better!
The other reviews of similar machines had me worried about reliability, but so far so good. Just take the time to get used to how it works and what the lights mean, and you should be good; it isn't complicated but can be confusing to get used to the flashing lights.
Check out reviews on YouTube of Giro Plus.
Don't waste money on capsule machines, this is the way to go."
Review 20 for Saeco Odea Giro Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2012

Good coffee, bad machine

Pros: good coffee
Cons: bad machine
"Although I loved the coffee this machine makes, it's technically not OK. It broke on us after 1,5 years unfortunately. The cost of repair was equal to a new machine, but we will not buy this brand anymore."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>