Customer Reviews for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1

The Roku 2 XS is hands-down the best experience in 1080p HD streaming to your TV—plus motion-based gaming for an extra dose of great entertainment. Enjoy 700+ channels featuring the best movies, TV shows, live sports, music, games, and more, including Netflix, Hulu Plus, and Amazon Instant Video. A full version of the Angry Birds game is included FREE! Includes: Roku 2 XS Streaming Player   Enhanced remote control   Angry Birds™ game   2 months subscription to Hulu Plus (for new Hulu Plus subscribers only)   HDMI cable (for HD video)   2 AA batteries   A/V cable (red/white/yellow)   Power adapter   Get Started guide Features: 700+ channels and counting, including movies, music, sports, and more   Up to 1080p HD video   Works with virtually any TV   Enhanced remote with motion control for playing games   Built-in wireless   Ethernet port for wired connection   USB port for playing personal music, photos, and video   Up to 1080p HD   Built-in wireless   Gaming remote   For virtually any TV   Ethernet and USB ports   Dimensions: 3.3" x 3.3" x 0.9"   Weight: 3 oz. What you need: High-speed Internet (like DSL or cable)   Wireless or wired router Model: 3100R-BDL-1
Average Customer Rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
27 of 31(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Review 1 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasadena area, California
Date:May 30, 2013

Best Electronic Purchase in a long while!

Pros: easy to install and the remote works great!, off to buy a second one because we all want one!
Cons: lacks youtube. wish i had bought one sooner!
Model Number: Roku2 XS
"This little device was super easy to install on our 30Mbps wireless network, moves from room to room seamlessly and has updates every couple months that add more content. With Netflix for movies and Huluplus for network programming, everyone could dump their cable or satellite providers. All one would need is an over-the-air HD antenna for local programming!"
Review 2 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh,PA
Date:May 14, 2013

Internet Streaming at its best

Pros: easy to setup, great quality
Cons: hulu plus free subscription didnt work
"Very easy to setup. We stay in apartments and installing a DISH isnt allowed. Costco had a manfacturer's rebate on mothers day weekend
With the help of ROKU, we are able to view South Asian channels. INfact, i was pleasently surprise that couple of channels were HD"
Review 3 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland OH
Date:April 15, 2013

Excellent Product!!

Pros: price, easy to install and use, excellent picture quality, cutting the cord...er....cable.
Cons: unable to stream some cbs shows, but that's cbs's fault., no other negatives.
"We LOVE our new Roku!! So easy to use, and about a gazzilion (yes, I know that's not a real number) channels to choose from. And WOW....the picture quality is absolutely amazing....better than cable. The Costco bundle is a great deal...you get everything that the Roku 3 has, except the headphones. And, Costco throws in an HDMI cable to boot. As far as not being able to shut it off, it uses less electricity than a night light, so not very concerning to us. Not concerned about giving credit card info to sign up...makes sense for the company to want that; also easy to click and purchase (you can set up a code so the kids can't purchase on their own). And the fact that we'll be saving a BUNCH of $$ on our cable bill doesn't hurt either."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Buenaventura, CA
Date:March 8, 2013

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

Pros: cost effective hd video., radio news music movies sports specialty etc, easy setup, excellent technical services, ethernet or wifi, cost effective member subsription services
Model Number: ROKU 2 XS
"This is my third ROKU upgrade. I have always received the best technical service (my errors on the original product about 5 years ago) and product function both in WIFI and Ethernet Hardwired configurations. I run two 2-XS units in the house. I have a 100 MB Internet service thru a Linksys 4500 Modem. Excellent Video streaming of HD movies, HD News, and HD sports. ROKU's Channel selection is excellent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:February 19, 2013

NEED CREDIT CARD INFO & NO YOUTUBE

Pros: smooth browsing experience, fast remote response
Cons: need credit card info to sign up, no youtube
Model Number: roku 2 xs
"I use media streaming only for 3 things: Netflix, Pandora, and Youtube. I should have read the fine print. To activate the device you have to submit credit card info, in case you want to buy some stuff they can charge you -- which to me is just more reason for possible identity theft, hacking. I watch Youtube for the many workout videos -- it simply does not have YOUTUBE which is annoying.
The best thing about Roku is the smooth browsing experience. It feels like the ipad/iphone where the icons slides across as you choose and the fast remote response.
I have gone with NETGEAR because it has all I need; but the remote response and the browsing experience is not as smooth as Roku. Returning Roku as we speak.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:February 13, 2013

Value

"Good value product. But it could get better if there were more live streaming options from more news networks."
Review 7 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 7, 2013

Supply your credit card # to access anything

Model Number: Roku2XS
"You are not advised until you have gone thru all steps that you have to supply your credit card number to access anything. I don't like giving out my credit card number. I will supply it if I want to purchase something, not because Roku believes I should want to buy something from their store."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:October 30, 2012

Painless operation and install

Pros: easy install easy use great price
Cons: haven't found one
Model Number: Roku 2 XS
"I recently upgraded my internet connection to one which has enough bandwidth to allow video streaming. My choice of the Roku was based on reviews by tech magazines.
The Roku has proved to be excellent. Great quality, high performance and above all easy to install and use!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2012
"I really wanted this to work but the stopping and starting especially with music was bad. I guess if you really like vintage TV you'd be happy with choices. Was easy to hook up."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Potomac, MD
Date:September 6, 2012

Surprisingly Good

Pros: speed, east of installation, tiny size (sits in back of tv), uncomplicated remote, works perfectly with only a g router
Cons: some channels don't seem active, power can't be turned off
Model Number: Roku 2 XS
"I bought this unit on impulse at Costco (B&M) for a TV in my wife's bedroom which has a built in DVD player so we didn't need a DVD player with internet capability. I wasn't expecting much so when I set it up I was blown away with how fast everything went and how much faster it was to get content than with two other internet TV setups we already had. And the selection of content is extensive. My wife loved it. For example, imagine having all the TED lectures (hundreds) at hand whenever you want!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Middleton, WI
Date:August 11, 2012

some pros and cons

"1) Solid, but...
2) lot's of junky 'movie' channels, with quite unappropriated content for pg13
3) beware: for older tuner, no 5.1 hookup connection for audio - either you go with stereo, and select Dolby pro logic on you tuner, or HDMI for new tuners which would do the trick. No optical output for audio on Roku,
4) available for playing mp4 format, but not every carnation of this format (one that does play on Ipod we'll do on Roku).
"
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:July 18, 2012

Good little player

Pros: small size, easy hook-up, ease of use
Model Number: Roku 2 XS
"Purchased the Roku 2 to use for Netflix. Its been a good little player and I really like its portability, I am able to move it easily to the family room TV when the grandchildren come visit. I would have gave it 5 stars except for one annoying fault, when it first starts playing a show, the picture is very pixelated."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2012

Best Internet Streaming device

Pros: bye bye comcast
"Many comments seem more rooted about the nature of Internet than the quality of this device. If you are looking for an internet streaming device, this is certainly the best and most reliable. I can access international channels, and using Hulu I can access most TV programs that I enjoyed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norfolk, Va
Date:March 29, 2012

Roku 2 XS Streaming Player

Pros: its great
Cons: none
Model Number: Roku 2 XS
"Purchased this item for streaming netflix and it works great for that. I have not checked out all the other functions nor have I purchased any additional channels. I can say everyone has really enjoyed angry birds. I think it was worth the price just to play angry birds on the big screen tv."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 18, 2012

Average

"Two gotchas. The first is that there is no Youtube channel. Every TV, Bluray player or other connected device has it these days, with the noticeable exception of Roku.
You are required to create a Roku account to use the device. During setup they ask for a credit card and will not proceed without one. If you call support and waste 30 mins with them they will setup an account without a credit card for you.
The user interface isn't very dense so you spend a lot of time scrolling to items not on the screen, rather than scrolling to items you can see on the screen.
There is a constant "advert" taking the bottom third of the main screen, promoting shows and channels. You cannot turn it off.
There is always a "showcase" channel shown that you cannot get rid of no matter how inappropriate it is to your interests.
Some channel UIs are terrible such as the newscaster one by Roku. When you go in it often shows "folders" with only one choice inside rather than promoting that choice. Just more unnecessary clicking.
That all said, it does actually work (except Youtube). But there is nothing that makes this device superior to the numerous competitors."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Swan Lake, Montana
Date:March 17, 2012

best thing for your TV

Pros: everthing about it
Cons: to me none
Model Number: Roku 2 XS
"I was skeptical about this product. Thought for sure I would have a problem with installation, programing or having to pay something extra....Boy was I wrong. Installation: very easy and straight forward.
Programming: lots of FREE yes free stuff. Do not need any other service with this system.
Extra Payments: none
If I got local channels with the roku I would get rid of Dish Network.
Would recommend this to anyone looking for more choices.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:March 16, 2012

Easy to Install

Model Number: Roku 2 XS S
"Like this a bunch! It works with my very old TV and I get much smoother viewer than using my computer. It pretty much self installs. Be sure to look for the Hulu Plus card that comes with Roku to get 2 free months of Hulo Plus. Without the card, you only get one week. . I like the Ted Channel, Hulu Plus, and Netlfix the most."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:March 16, 2012

Great Bundle from Costco

Pros: costco bundle is a very good deal
"I'm amazed at how well this device works and the amount of content that is available. The Costco bundle is also one of best deals out there as well.
This along with an over the air antenna has allowed me to drop very expensive satellite."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Cali
Date:March 15, 2012

NO more cable!

Pros: compact
Cons: need one for each tv
"Great picture quality and sound. Works brilliantly with Netflix and Hulu/Hulu plus. Who needs cable? Not us!!!"
Review 20 for Roku 2 XS Streaming Player Bundle 3100R-BDL-1
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 12, 2012

The future

"If you have high speed internet and a TV then you are missing an important component to your entertainment setup. This is much more than a Netflix/Hulu streamer, this little device is the gateway to the way entertain will be delivered to your home in the near future. There is tons of available content through this little device with more being added all the time. I will bet that after you start using one of these you will drop your cable subscription."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>