Customer Reviews for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels

Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels

Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Review 1 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Haven, CT
Date:September 24, 2014

Fishy Odor

Pros: works well
Cons: stinks
"It's a good product.. but man oh man what a fishy odor!!"
Review 2 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC
Date:September 20, 2014

Best Krill Oil

"I just hope they never stop making this product. What a difference it made to my walking as the pain from my knee disappeared."
Review 3 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:March 21, 2014

great supplement

"I've been taking MegaRed for the past 5 years. It's easy to swallow and helps keep my cholesterol level down. Of course I pay attention to what I eat and do daily exercise. I buy a few bottles at a time when it's on sale otherwise it's quite expensive."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:March 13, 2014

Not bad

Pros: no bad taste
"Just started this and do not have the fish oil taste and no side effects. I will keep you posted on my numbers."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:October 7, 2013

Wonderful product and it works

Pros: it is great
Model Number: Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil
"This product has helped my cholesterol lowered and I will never stop using it."
Review 6 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:September 25, 2013

Literally saved my husband's life!!

Pros: wonderful & various health benefits
Cons: absolutely none.
"After researching fish oil & health benefits 3 yrs ago, my husband & I learned that Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Pure Krill Oil to be the most beneficial of all fish oil out there on the market. Ok, so we read reviews but of course we're always skeptical.
Fast forward, a year ago today my husband felt "strange' and had some minor abnormal symptoms. He's always been a very healthy man. So I rush him to the ER @ our local hospital. EKG was ok, but they kept him overnight for observation & was going to perform another test next morning. If it weren't for that 2nd test, my husband would not have ever learned his main artery to his heart was genetically defective & over time had bent so badly it was literally twisted around the other 2 main arteries to his heart. That twisting caused a whopping 95% blockage to his heart. Doctors were amazed he was alive and came to find out his heart was actually completely strong & healthy. We strongly feel if it were not for those 3 years of taking MegaRed Omega-3 Krill fish oil, the mere 5% of blood flow going to his heart would have long killed him a long, long time ago. Thank you Schiff for making such a wonderful, pure product that saved my husband's life and kept me from being a widow at age 53. We're non-pill swallowers as well so this was so tiny and so very well coated (some say it has an oily film) that it just went down with no nausia at all, like we normally have swallowing any other pills. P.S. My husband' cholesterol was the best the doctors have ever seen in his long carreer. Again, we attribute that to eating fresh veggetables, limiting our red meat (yes, we do BBQ sometimes) and of course this form of pure Krill fish oil."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Norwalk, CT
Date:August 5, 2013

Terrible fishy smell

Pros: may be good for health
Cons: smell horrible after a certain point
"When fresh, they have a sweet vanilla smell. After some months (but well before the expiration date) they develop a terrible rotten fish smell. The company sent me a replacement batch when this happened the first time, but it continues to happen with subsequent batches. Don't buy in bulk is my recommendation--take them as fresh as you can."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma County, California
Date:July 14, 2013

The Best Cholesterol numbers in years, by a lot!

Pros: huge improvement in cholesterol & triglycerides, improvement in blood pressure, often in the coupon book with significant savings.
Cons: not for people with shellfish allergies.
"I made a number of small changes nine months ago, so I can't say what percentage of the improvement was do only to the Krill oil, but I suspect that the Krill oil is responsible for most of it.
Let me be clear - the improvement in all cholesterol and triglyceride numbers was huge. My doctor was very excited and asked me what I did. In contrast, nine months ago, he suggested a number of things to do to improve the numbers.
After doing research, I take 1,000 to 1,500 mg per day, which is at two caps or three when I remember midday.
Also be aware that this product is purified and tested, a must for omega-3 products. Also be aware that if you have shellfish allergies, this is NOT the product for you."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orange County
Date:April 4, 2013

Allergic reaction

"These pills didn't leave any aftertaste and I assume they improve your health. However, a week after starting these I began to itch all over. After several days I searched the manufacturers website and they said it could cause allergic reactions with some people. Sure was hard to find that info. They should put it on the bottle. Stopped taking them and problem went away."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2013
"The smell of fish is very prevelant. There was a time when there was not such a fishy smell,"
Review 11 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:February 12, 2013

Great Item!

Pros: 1 per day not 2/3
Cons: none....
"Like these much better than previous Omega's I've tried....only 1 capsule a day and great results."
Review 12 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:November 27, 2012

Very good addition to my morning meds

Pros: easy to swallow, gives me energy(do not take right before bedtime)
Cons: does have some fishy taste
"This product replaced very large smelly fish oil pill I was previously taking. It goes down alot easier."
Review 13 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:November 16, 2012

Tiny and Easy to Swallow

Pros: tiny no fishy taste
Cons: none
"I haven't taken this long enough to assess whether it speeds up the process of healing a brain injury but it is definitely easier to swallow than the giant, oblong fish oil capsules and best of all, does not repeat that awful fishy taste!"
Review 14 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 23, 2012

Great for your heart and cholestrol

Pros: does not have aftertaste, no burping fishy smell, easy to swallow
"I've been using this product for a few years and I can say with confidence that it works. I have high cholestrol but since I've been using krill oil, every time I get my blood tested, my good cholestrol is good, my ratio is good and so is my triglycerides."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:August 16, 2012

Online Ordering no good in AZ...

"Well, I learned to not order gel pills online in Arizona. It was kindof' like a puddle of deformed egg shells of some kind of sea life (they melted in transit). Returned them to the local Costo; unfortunately, they do not have the 500mg tablets in-store (only 300mg)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2012

Knee Problems Greatly Improved

Pros: no fishy taste
"After having problems with both knees over a period of about 2 years, I began taking MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, along with a couple of other herbal supplements. I can't say for sure that any one of the three were solely responsible for the improvement, but after learning more about the benefits of Omega-3, I believe it played a major role in improvement of my joint health. I initially began taking MegaRed for the benefits fo my cholesterol levels, not knowing about the potential benefit to joint health. Recent blood tests found all of my cholesterol levels to be in the "good" zone too!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reston, VA
Date:August 7, 2012

Great Product

Pros: no fishy after taste, seems to actually work as advertised
Cons: none
Model Number: 10451
"I've been using Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength now for about a year.I'm 68 years old and I've noticed an overall improvement in my health. I just had my annual physical exam with an echo cardiogram and carrotid doppler. The results all came back as "normal". I'm not sure that I can give all the credit to the Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength product, but it seems to make a difference. I like the fact that there is no fishy after taste. I will continue taking the product as I am concerned about my cardiovascular health and anything that will reduce the risk of coronary heart disease."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:August 1, 2012

Good product

"Tastes MUCH better than fish oil tablets. In fact, the taste is good. Doesn't need refrigeration like fish oil tablets do either. Small and easy to swallow. Might not be the highest for antioxidant coverage, but I'd rather take a separate pill because Costco sells these at a great price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:July 26, 2012

It May be Fishy Smelling

Model Number: Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
"First botle I bought in the store and it had a pleasant vanilla aroma when opened. The next bottles I purchased were from COSTCO Online and the product had a very fishy aroma when the bottle was opened. I called Schiff and they said that the product was safe to use and the fishy smell could happen. The smell is pretty bad. I can't see why some don't small and others do."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Schiff® MegaRed® Extra Strength 500 mg Omega-3 Krill Oil, 80 Softgels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:July 4, 2012

It Works

"No strange odor, easy to take , and has reduced my cholesterol by 20 points in the last six months."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>