Customer Reviews for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard

2.0MP Webcam and Microphone Intel® Centrino Wireless-N 1030 Bluetooth® 3.0 WiDi Support
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
24 of 28(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Review 1 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Summit, NJ
Date:January 7, 2012

Feature-Loaded Value

Pros: 7200rpm hard drive, 8gb ram, backlit keyboard (a nice plus), integrated bluetooth, intel core i7 with turboboost, built-in sub-woofer, costco tech support
Cons: only 3 usb ports (2 of which are 3.0), screen resolution could be better, no blue ray, a tad heavy
Model Number: XPS-L502X
"So far, so good. Nice machine overall. Has all the features I was looking for (see my Pros list) and then some. It's also one of the nicest looking laptops I've ever seen (the pictures don't do it justice). LOVE the backlit keyboard (what a very nice plus). Sound quality is good too (a built-in subwoofer too!). It's also fast thanks to the i7 processer and 7200RPM hard drive. I also like the Kaspersky Security software (free for first year). Very good and much better compared to other security software I've used. Getting used to Windows 7 Premium is a bit challenging; also MS IE 9.0 does not work with every site I've visited. Some videos don't play or even render as clickable vids. There's obviously a plug-in that I'm missing. Overall though, I'm pleased with the purchase and the price paid. Just would have liked a better, crisper screen resolution and one more USB port (only 3). I would definitely recommend this laptop to anyone who needs a pretty powerful portable that's loaded with features for the price."
Review 2 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:December 28, 2011

Very smooth machine!!!

Pros: everything, keyboard & mouse pad, the finish & sturdines
Cons: warm!, a bit noisy!, very heavy!
Model Number: XPS 15
"I had a Dell XPS before so I kind knew what to expect. This thing is very nice and sturdy. It does not feel like plastic at all unlike many other laptops. The keyboard is backlit and it feels very good. The round design was not too appealing to me but its ok b/c it makes up in other ways. Another down thing is that it gets a little warm. Also this is very heavy. North of 6 lbs. If you don't plan on taking it with you or travel a lot with it it is a very powerful machine. For this price just buy it and don't think further."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:January 3, 2012

Best Option(s) for my Money

Pros: intel widi display jbl speakers 7200 rpm hdd, usb 3.0 backlit keyboard
Cons: none
Model Number: Model X15L-3571ELS
"I researched laptop options and prices for a few months and concluded on this Dell XPS. I come from a 6 years old VAIO laptop, still going, and was contemplating between VAIO, again, or something else. I looked at the new Sony and although a great laptop, I felt like I wouldn't mind something different to try out. And XPS topped my research. I get a few more options that I wanted, like WiDi display, 8gb RAM, 2MP webcam w/Bluetooth 3.0, and an amazing 1gb dedicated NVIDIA GT graphics. I was sold.
Some review mentioned the computer was a little heavy. It is about 6 - 6.5 lbs. My VAIO weighs the same and haven't had any problems. Remember, this laptop is categorized as Desktop Replacement, so you get a few more options for a STEAL PRICE!!!! You can find a lighter laptop, say 5 lbs., or lighter, but not with the same options and perhaps smaller (travel size). It all depends what you plan to use it for. Also, many websites out there, like Cnet, PCworld, etc., rate this DELL XPS as one of the top favorite for under $1000. At this price, nobody can beat Costco's. If you are in the market for a laptop and can't decide which one, stop thinking and make the purchase. You won't be disappointed.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago area
Date:January 27, 2012

Seems great, with a few flaws

Pros: great value for the specs., backlit keyboard is a nice bonus.
Cons: case design features
Model Number: Dell XPS 15L-3571ELS
"I'm using this as a desktop replacement but want portability from time to time. I chose thismodel because the price was great for an I7 processor, 7200 speed HDD, and 8GB memory. The back-lit keyboard is a nice plus and the screen seems clear and bright. However, as others have commented, another USB would be nice. I probably would have liked a VGA port, but that's not essential. The main negative I've noticed is with the case design. The black plastic rim around the whole thing feels cheap and sounds hollow. There is also no latch to keep it securely closed. I'm used to seeing a processor light that flickers when the computer is working, but on this model it's behind the hinge and is hidden when the lid is open. None of these things are deal breakers for me and I'm loving the speed and like the feel of the keyboard. I work in IT and priced out an HP model with similar specs through our supplier and Costco's price was better. I've had reasonably good luck with Dells in the past so I'm hoping this will serve me well!"
Review 5 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burke, VA
Date:January 6, 2012

Right-out-of-the-box hard drive problems

Cons: hard drive broken
Model Number: Dell XPS 15 i7-2670QM
"As soon as the computer arrived I followed the instruction for set-up. However, instead of setting up a screen error popped-up indicating a problem with the set-up and provided additional instructions, which was to restart the computer. Still no go. Called customer svc and after attempting a number of options and finally running a check, an error code was reported. Tech rep informed me that the hard drive was bad. Brand new right out of the box and the hard drive is bad! Computer company rep did state they will send a tech to my home to replace it with new factory hard drive and installed OS w/in 3 business days (at no cost). However, I am still very disappointed and it does not make me very confident about this particular brand. Additionally, as I still have a couple of days to wait until the new hard drive is installed I remain cautiously optimistic that not only will the swap out actually happen, but all will go well."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012

Good value, general purpose, fast machine

Pros: fast ample ram, decent battery life, good graphics performance
Cons: could use another usb port, position of power connection awkward on lap
"I have been impressed with my initial use of the laptop. The performance is top-notch, with the graphics card freeing the RAM for use for programs. The hard drive is fast enough to create a good, balanced system. The battery life has been good and pretty much as advertised, although I have not put many demands on the system while just on battery power.
If I have a couple gripes it would be that there are only two USB ports, and it could have used one on each side of the machine, right, left and rear. And, I have found the position of the power cord to be a bit of a problem when I use it on my lap. But, both of those issues are minor and can be easily worked around.
It is an enjoyable, good machine.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Falcon , Colorado
Date:February 17, 2012

look like a good computer

Model Number: Dell xps 15
"I am not real good with computers and have never owned a Dell before. I had some problems connecting to the the internet via wireless in the beganing. I spoke to costco 's concierge service first and they help me to connect, but then it dropped off and I could not connect again, I called Dell and they transfered me about three times and they never really helped me. I also had a real hard time understanding them, because you talk to some one in another country. I have since been reconnected to the internet and Dell has been in contact with me, makeing sure I am pleased with the computer. So far everything else is working just fine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dell XPS 15 Laptop Intel® Core i7-2670QM 2.2GHz 1GB NVIDIA Graphics Backlit Keyboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Martinsburg, WV
Date:February 22, 2012

Happy with computer

Pros: the audio performance is tops.
Cons: wish it had more usb ports.
Model Number: XPS L502X
"I am very happy with the performance of this computer. The sound is great for a laptop, even with a subwoofer. You will not need to plug in external speakers for this computer. It's awsome. The only fault I find is that it needs more USB ports. It has everything I was looking for."