Customer Reviews for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo

Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo

Rain or shine, enjoy the moment under the Madrid Hard Top Gazebo. Whether it’s to take shelter from the summer sun or to enjoy a candle light evening with friends, this attractive outdoor structure accomplishes all of this. The Madrid’s decorative triangular posts are aluminum while the roof framework is steel, and both are powder coated in a dark gun metal gray finish to resist corrosion and rust. The roof panels are double walled 4mm thick polycarbonate for added strength. The tinted opaque panels allow the sun’s light to filter through creating an artistic glow above. Product Features: Aluminum posts and steel top frame are powder coated for long lasting durability.   Gun metal gray finish compliments any backyard décor color.   Roof panels are rigid 4mm twin wall tinted opaque UV Polycarbonate Panels.   Enjoy over 150 square feet of defined outdoor living space.   Multi purpose use for shade relief and entertaining in light rain year round. Excellent for spa applications.   Tools required: Allen wrench, hex wrench included. Power drill or screwdriver used in some stages of assembly.   Assembly Required: Requires two people for assembly which can be completed in under 4 hours. Dimensions: Outside dimensions-Canopy are 9’11” x 13’2”.   Outside dimensions-Posts are 8’8” x 11’11”.   Overall height is 9'6” to top of canopy.   Entry headroom under rails is 6'10”.   Attractive triangular post profiles are 5” in width on each side.   Weight: 165 lbs.   Warranty: 10 years on the frame and 6 years on the roof panels.   Anchoring bolts provided for both concrete and natural ground, see assembly manual for details.   For questions regarding this product, please call Systems Trading toll free 1-877-407-9100 ext. 1, from 8 AM to 6 PM Monday through Friday Central time. Model: GZ620H
Average Customer Rating:
4.029 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
28 of 34(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Review 1 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:October 25, 2014

Great Gazebo

Pros: quality structure, good sun protection, good looking
Cons: minor shipping damage
"Gazebo ships in two boxes. Only received one box. Called Costco customer service and a second gazebo was shipped due to the first being damaged. The second arrived with a little damage but nothing to cry over (this is an outdoor structure). It took 2 men about 3 hours to build. Easy directions to follow. Love the final product. Very happy with the purchase and quality of the gazebo. We read another review that mentioned leaving screws loose as you build then go back to re-tighten. We followed that advice and would recommend it! Made it much easier to assemble."
Review 2 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:September 21, 2014

Extends our living space outdoors year round

Pros: easy to assemble, quality product, additional hardware provided, neutral grey color, translucent panels allow light in, provides adequate shade
Cons: a pillar arrived dented
Model Number: Madrid
"We enjoyed our lovely yard for a record setting year for weather in Seattle. As Fall approached we didn't want to give up our outdoor space and searched for an awning or gazebo to allow us to enjoy our patio and yard. Local stores were sold out for the season and not available until Spring. I was a bit leary about ordering online, but with Costco behind it, we felt confident. Before ordering I called the company to inquire about the stickers and film on the polycarbonite panels that others have commented on in reviews. I was told they no longer used the film and the stickers weren't difficult to remove. I found this to be accurate. The number stickers identified the panels and pieces for easy install. It took us 3 hrs from start to finish with 3 of us. 2 tall guys, two step ladders and me as the gofer, passing parts and removing stickers. We are so thrilled with this purchase. Love that the panels are translucent so it lets light in, but we don't feel like we're in a cave! One of our pillars arrived dented, but we put it in a corner that will be less visible. My husband will also be checking with Costco to see if they'd be willing to do anything for us on it."
Review 3 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southcentral PA
Date:September 16, 2014

Cooler and Dryer

Pros: well-made and sensible assembly directions
Cons: none so far
Model Number: GZ620N
"Several weeks ago, we purchased the Madrid hard-top canopy to replace the short-term canvas canopy over our deck. We had three adults doing the assembly which worked out very well, as one person was mainly in charge of verifying part IDs and being the "go-fer". It took about 12 hours from start to finish, which included extra time to revise the framing steps to account for the two-sided corner of the house. There was no cussing, screaming, moaning or any other sign of frustration... directions were easy to follow, parts were exactly as expected, and quality seems to be very good. We're anxious to see how it performs under rainy and snowy conditions."
Review 4 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Californa
Date:September 1, 2014

Excellent Gazebo

Pros: good quality, easy to build, fantastic color, nice ambiance through filtered sun
Cons: getting the stickers off
Model Number: GZ620H
"I purchased this gazebo for over my spa which is in the sun and weather 24/7. The price was excellent, and the results after building are exactly what I wanted. All parts were clearly labeled, and the diagrams were easy to follow. It took two of us (average sized men) about 3 hours to build...even with wind...and was not complicated at all (even with peeling off the stickers). I chose to leave some of the screws slightly loose to provide for fitting the ceiling panels more smoothly. It was a smart choice. After everything was in place, all that was left was to tighten the screws down completely which took no time at all.The overall effect is just what I wanted."
Review 5 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sothern California
Date:March 16, 2014

Backyard

Pros: easy assembly.
Cons: sticker removal.
Model Number: 640252
"Bought this Gazebo from Costco in March 2014.
Good quality materials.
Good step-by-step assembly instructions.
At least two persons are needed for assembly.
Spent a lot of time removing stickers !!!
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 15, 2014

Summer is coming

Pros: light weight overall, easy to install
Cons: weak rivets
Model Number: GZ620N
"I just finished installing the Madrid 10x13. It took me 12hours to put up only because I did it alone. My package came in damaged; I will blame it on the transport and delivery. The UPS driver was a solo female. The damage was also in part due to weak rivets of the roof plate. a couple of screws fixed that. The pointed braces of some roof panels were also bent. Needle nose pliers fixed those.
They were generous with extra screws. I assembled it on grass. I like the idea of running lighting thru the posts. I might add that feature."
Review 7 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:February 25, 2014

Still holding strong

Pros: great looking, great size, well built
Cons: do need at least 2 people to properly assemble
Model Number: GZ620H
"We purchased this Gazebo a little over 2 years ago. When we first put it together, we too had concerns about the polycarbonate roof but it has held up well and met our expectations. When they say it takes two people to build it, please believe them. You can do it with two, but three people and this thing comes together in about a half a day. It has survived 3 northwest winters so far and we still get compliments on it all the time.
Couple of notes: Make sure you do fill the corner posts at least 50% of the way with your choice of material. (I used pea gravel). Make sure you anchor the corner posts down to prevent relocation by wind. I ran wire up one of the corner posts before filling it and anchoring it down, drilled a little switch into that post and then hooked the wire to rope lighting at the top. We now have a nice soft light source all around the inside edge on a switch and it works out great. Last, use a soft brush to clean the top off every so often. I would not use a pressure washer for fear of puncturing the roof panels.
I would recommend this product to anyone looking to put a nice covered area for a break from the sun or the rain on their patio."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013

Protective Plastic impossible to remove

Pros: overall nicely made for the price
Cons: impossible to get the plastic off the panels, missing parts
"One relatively minor, and one major issue with this product. The first issue was that it was missing some key parts. O.K. we contacted support and they are shipping us those parts. Great response from Costco and the supplier. The second issue is driving me nuts. Other reviews have mentioned that it was a pain to remove the protective plastic on the polycarbonate panels. Well our experience takes that pain to a new level. My wife and I spent over 2 hours trying to remove the plastic from just three of the dozens of panels shipped with the product. After the first hour I looked up techniques to help with this, including warming up the panels with a hair dryer and using the edge of a razor. That helped a little, but still an hour to remove the plastic from one panel! There are 16 panels which means 16 hours of painstaking work to get the plastic off. Not going to happen. Have contacted costco and they are going to ask the manufacturer what to do. I will update this as the saga unfolds."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sedona, Az
Date:September 12, 2013

Nice product...

Pros: manufacturer very responsive to my needs.
Cons: be very weary of shipping damage.
Model Number: GZ620H converted to GZ620N
"The gazebo arrives in 2 boxes, one containing the hardware and the other contains the roof panels. Mine was delivered by UPS, however, the box containing the roof panels was severely damaged and I refused delivery. It took about 2 weeks for a replacement to arrive and it had a slightly different part number which meant that some of the parts no longer matched up. The manufacturer has been very responsive and is supplying the pats to convert my existing hardware to an upgraded version at no charge. It's been a somewhat frustrating experience but over all I'm happy with the gazebo."
Review 10 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:September 3, 2013

A tough build, but looks great

Pros: looks great - clean lines - sturdy.
Cons: challenging to assemble
"My packages arrived promptly, and nothing was damaged or missing. The two boxes were heavy, so I had to open the boxes in the driveway and carry parts around the house to the back deck.
Yes, as noted by other reviewers it was tough to build, but I'm not real handy, and should have had more help than I did. Again, as noted, getting the plastic film off the acrylic is hard. Keep the pieces warm -- sunshine or hair dryer -- and that helps a lot. The paper labels on each piece come off much easier when wet - rub a wet towel over them to speed that up. I dropped many of the little screws, but (barely) had enough to finish the job. Power screwdriver HIGHLY recommended.
It looks great, and now that it's done, I can recommend this. Don't be like me and try to do it all by yourself."
Review 11 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portage, Michigan
Date:August 31, 2013

Madrid Hardtop Gazebo

"We received the product within a few days of the order. It was in perfect condition. Although it had many pieces, it was easily assembled with the specific directions and easily understood illustrations. We have used it nearly everyday since we purchased it and our guests have enjoyed it too.
The price was very equitable and we appreciated the free shipping."
Review 12 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2013

Strudy but hard to build

"While the frame is very sturdy it was very difficult to put the roof on (and i am handy). Most importantly, the sun still shines through the translucent roof and it is very hot to sit under on a hot day."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 22, 2013

Good product but

Pros: looks very nice has not leaked., bolted into patio very sturdy for wind
Cons: make sure the parts id match the directions, make sure all parts are in the box, also make sure they are not damaged
"I bought this and noted the reviews were good except for putting it up, it's true this patio gazebo is very hard to put up especially in our case in which the parts were labled wrong and didn't match the directions. There were also to many parts with the same angle and missing parts with the angle we needed. Honeycomb roof was damaged in two different place, these are very fragile. Manufacture would not replace the roof parts but did ship the two missing aluminum siding pieces."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sacramento, ca
Date:May 6, 2013

flawless transaction - good product.

Pros: quick delivery quality product no missing pieces
"ordered & received this gazebo very quickly, just as indicated from costco.
the product is sturdy and looks very good assembled. it does take three people to get this built. all the pieces were included and in very good condition. after it rained - no leaks are visible.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:May 1, 2013

Surprisingly Sturdy Gazebo

"I was very concerned about how this product would hold up to the snow and wind when I bought it last fall. I live on Long Island and most of the reviewers at that time, lived in warm climates. This Gazebo survived Superstorm Sandy as well as a blizzard with 3 feet of heavy snow. It still looks great!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 24, 2013

Bought this gazebo a year or two ago from Costco

Pros: looks nice when set up
Cons: durability of the roof material is horrible
Model Number: GZ620H
"If you live in an area that occasionally gets hail, do not waste your money. The first six months, we had several pea sized holes from hail, and this year, it was obliterated by hail. Looks nice, but am going to purchase a hard top steel gazebo this month. Never go with a polycarbonate roof unless you want problems in the future!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fife, WA
Date:January 15, 2013

A Great Purchase

Pros: looks great, stable, worth the money
Cons: not the quickest to put together
Model Number: Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
"We purchased this over the summer and have had our eye on it for sometime. We finally pulled the trigger and am very happy we did. It does take two people in certain spots to put this together without much difficulty. However, if you do it without two people you will not have fun. Hopefully you won't drop the rating like others have done. Lay all the pieces out before you start constructing the unit. This unit is very sturdy. Once together it is beautiful and we have filled the legs with rocks and also anchored it to our patio.
As some have said the roof feals a little flimsy but so far so good. I like the warranty the manufacture provides and Costcos warranty."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn NY
Date:October 30, 2012

Stood through Frankenstorm

Pros: attractive, sturdy, great size, withstood 70mph winds
"All through hurricane Sandy, my husband was very worried about the gazebo holding up in our Brooklyn backyard. We kept checking on it, and it made it through perfectly. There was a a bit of sway to it, but there should be. Otherwise we couldn't be happier with how hit handled this unprecedented weather. Make sure to fill the posts with rocks for extra stability, but definitely worth the price."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento Area
Date:September 5, 2012

Nice frame, weak roof

"The shipping was great without any damage and timely.
It was not so difficult to assemble. The frame is very sturdy and I filled the legs with pebbles and anchored it to the deck. It looks very nice and classy.
The issue I have is with the roof. I measured the thickness of the roof plastic and each side (there are two sandwiched together ) is only 1/128 of an inch thick. The roof is suspended by metal rods attached from the frame. I thought when I purchased this item, that it had a hard plastic top that would last. I did not expect for the roof to be the equivalent of a cheap big box brand gazebo. I was very disappointed with the product and Costco. I don’t mind paying top dollar for a quality product.
I can't imagine the roof making it through the winter months, even though here in California it is not so brutal.
I would have returned the canopy, but it is not worth spending many more hours’ worth of work. I am thinking that perhaps, I may be able to replace the panels with black 1/8 Plexiglas after the winter. As I pretty sure the roof will not make it through any type of sustained wind/rain. What a shame.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:August 14, 2012

great but leaks

Pros: nice and sturdy, no cloth low maintenance
Cons: leaks
Model Number: Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
"it's nice, no cloth at all so no maintenance required, looks long lasting, have my concerns about hail, it was easy to assamble with the help of one person, it rained and it started leaking throuth the middle section where the upper and lower panels join, i just went ahead and caulked that section and that stopped the leaking, that's why i gave it a 3 star."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>