Customer Reviews for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo

Average Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
34 of 41(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Review 1 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Forked River, NJ
Date:April 28, 2015

Just what we expected!

Pros: sturdy so far has stood up to winds.
Cons: none
Model Number: Madrid
" received in 2 days! Before purchasing I read all the reviews. All parts there. It took 2 of us about 4 hrs to assemble. Good instructions. A cordless drill is a must. Set torque to avoid stripping any bolts. Smallest screws a bit difficult but there were plenty provided. Looks great! "
Review 2 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:April 25, 2015

Some useful observations

Pros: preview instructions here on the costco site, nicely engineered, holes line up well, quality powder-coating on mostly aluminum frame, looks great!
Cons: some leakage as panels don't overlap, rather they fit into a horizontal channel
Model Number: GZ620H
" Arrives in two packages; #1 contains the panels and is 34x63x5" & 45.64 lbs. and #2 contains the legs and frame and measures 91x12x13" & 123.02 lbs. (per printing on the boxes).
Excellent instructions included as are wedge-style concrete anchors and ground stakes. We installed on a paver patio so used Tapcon 5/16 in. x 2-1/4 in. concrete anchors instead which work better in brick and situations where the holes are close to an edge - or you may want to remove the anchors later. Remember to vacuum out the drilling dust before you drive in the screws!
I took the time to level the gazebo by cutting up from the bottom of two pillars (about an inch) and re-drilling the foot ("support plate") mounting holes.
Along with extra screws, a 5/32" hex driver bit is also included. A power drill/driver is highly recommended - two if you've got the extra manpower; just don't over-torque.
I appreciated previous reviewers with the heads-up on the quantity of gravel per leg at about a 5-gal. bucket or 50 lbs. per leg. That was really helpful to have on hand for the day of the assembly. You may want a large funnel (top of an old plastic large mouth jug?) to facilitate the job. The tops are never capped off so you "can" add gravel later; much tougher job though once the roof is installed.
Ours leaks too, so as another reviewer pointed out, I will be caulking the roof. Probably from the top where the top row of panels are inserted into the horizontal mating channel that is pre-installed to roof panels #13, #14, and #15.
We found some 22' long solar rope lights (p/n: 68353) that tuck nicely into the channels of the bottom edge of the "roof profiles" (header beams). There's two parallel channels, so we used four of these 22' long by about 5/16" diameter rope lights. Two start from one corner and go opposite directions to meet at the opposite corner. And two start from an adjacent corner so there's good overlap. I positioned their "solar panels" (they're about 3" across) on the legs but may move them to the edge of the roof.
Actual footing measurements are 104.25" by 143.5" at the pillars. 107.5" x 146.75" at the feet ("support plates"). "
Review 3 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Paradise, CA
Date:April 22, 2015

Outstanding product

Pros: easy to install.
Cons: none
" Easy to install with two men and took about 3 hours. No missing parts. Directions complete and easy to understand. "
Review 4 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Charles, Missouri
Date:April 21, 2015

Great product

Pros: solid construction
Cons: none
" Is exactly what I wanted and expected. Instructions were great with plenty of extra nuts & bolts so you never come up short. "
Review 5 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westlake, CA
Date:April 15, 2015
" Good quality merchandise
gazebo looks fantastic and exactly like picture
"
Review 6 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:newnan georgia
Date:April 15, 2015

fantastic gazebo

Pros: can sit on deck in the rain!!!, and filters the sun
Cons: no cons i can think of very happy with the purchas
" it took my son, grandson (17) and granddaughter (16) 3 hours to install went together so easy we bolted to the concrete pad. it looks really good, I am a happy camper!!! everything was numbered, labeled and directions were easy to follow "
Review 7 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015

incomplete shipment

Pros: none until after assembly.
Cons: hard to assemble without the connecting bits.
" Received this on a Monday, opened it and inventoried it on Fri. when I had a crew over to assemble it. No instructions included--get them from Costco site. Then found I did not get the small pieces--nuts, bolts, allen wrenches, and some connecting pieces. Called and they are on order--but I paid for the non-working crew. Thanks a lot! Oh, and the instructions link on the Costco site is not for the current product, per the company. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:October 25, 2014

Great Gazebo

Pros: quality structure, good sun protection, good looking
Cons: minor shipping damage
" Gazebo ships in two boxes. Only received one box. Called Costco customer service and a second gazebo was shipped due to the first being damaged. The second arrived with a little damage but nothing to cry over (this is an outdoor structure). It took 2 men about 3 hours to build. Easy directions to follow. Love the final product. Very happy with the purchase and quality of the gazebo. We read another review that mentioned leaving screws loose as you build then go back to re-tighten. We followed that advice and would recommend it! Made it much easier to assemble. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:September 21, 2014

Extends our living space outdoors year round

Pros: easy to assemble, quality product, additional hardware provided, neutral grey color, translucent panels allow light in, provides adequate shade
Cons: a pillar arrived dented
Model Number: Madrid
" We enjoyed our lovely yard for a record setting year for weather in Seattle. As Fall approached we didn't want to give up our outdoor space and searched for an awning or gazebo to allow us to enjoy our patio and yard. Local stores were sold out for the season and not available until Spring. I was a bit leary about ordering online, but with Costco behind it, we felt confident. Before ordering I called the company to inquire about the stickers and film on the polycarbonite panels that others have commented on in reviews. I was told they no longer used the film and the stickers weren't difficult to remove. I found this to be accurate. The number stickers identified the panels and pieces for easy install. It took us 3 hrs from start to finish with 3 of us. 2 tall guys, two step ladders and me as the gofer, passing parts and removing stickers. We are so thrilled with this purchase. Love that the panels are translucent so it lets light in, but we don't feel like we're in a cave! One of our pillars arrived dented, but we put it in a corner that will be less visible. My husband will also be checking with Costco to see if they'd be willing to do anything for us on it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southcentral PA
Date:September 16, 2014

Cooler and Dryer

Pros: well-made and sensible assembly directions
Cons: none so far
Model Number: GZ620N
" Several weeks ago, we purchased the Madrid hard-top canopy to replace the short-term canvas canopy over our deck. We had three adults doing the assembly which worked out very well, as one person was mainly in charge of verifying part IDs and being the "go-fer". It took about 12 hours from start to finish, which included extra time to revise the framing steps to account for the two-sided corner of the house. There was no cussing, screaming, moaning or any other sign of frustration... directions were easy to follow, parts were exactly as expected, and quality seems to be very good. We're anxious to see how it performs under rainy and snowy conditions. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Californa
Date:September 1, 2014

Excellent Gazebo

Pros: good quality, easy to build, fantastic color, nice ambiance through filtered sun
Cons: getting the stickers off
Model Number: GZ620H
" I purchased this gazebo for over my spa which is in the sun and weather 24/7. The price was excellent, and the results after building are exactly what I wanted. All parts were clearly labeled, and the diagrams were easy to follow. It took two of us (average sized men) about 3 hours to build...even with wind...and was not complicated at all (even with peeling off the stickers). I chose to leave some of the screws slightly loose to provide for fitting the ceiling panels more smoothly. It was a smart choice. After everything was in place, all that was left was to tighten the screws down completely which took no time at all.The overall effect is just what I wanted. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sothern California
Date:March 16, 2014

Backyard

Pros: easy assembly.
Cons: sticker removal.
Model Number: 640252
" Bought this Gazebo from Costco in March 2014.
Good quality materials.
Good step-by-step assembly instructions.
At least two persons are needed for assembly.
Spent a lot of time removing stickers !!!
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 15, 2014

Summer is coming

Pros: light weight overall, easy to install
Cons: weak rivets
Model Number: GZ620N
" I just finished installing the Madrid 10x13. It took me 12hours to put up only because I did it alone. My package came in damaged; I will blame it on the transport and delivery. The UPS driver was a solo female. The damage was also in part due to weak rivets of the roof plate. a couple of screws fixed that. The pointed braces of some roof panels were also bent. Needle nose pliers fixed those.
They were generous with extra screws. I assembled it on grass. I like the idea of running lighting thru the posts. I might add that feature. "
Review 14 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:February 25, 2014

Still holding strong

Pros: great looking, great size, well built
Cons: do need at least 2 people to properly assemble
Model Number: GZ620H
" We purchased this Gazebo a little over 2 years ago. When we first put it together, we too had concerns about the polycarbonate roof but it has held up well and met our expectations. When they say it takes two people to build it, please believe them. You can do it with two, but three people and this thing comes together in about a half a day. It has survived 3 northwest winters so far and we still get compliments on it all the time.
Couple of notes: Make sure you do fill the corner posts at least 50% of the way with your choice of material. (I used pea gravel). Make sure you anchor the corner posts down to prevent relocation by wind. I ran wire up one of the corner posts before filling it and anchoring it down, drilled a little switch into that post and then hooked the wire to rope lighting at the top. We now have a nice soft light source all around the inside edge on a switch and it works out great. Last, use a soft brush to clean the top off every so often. I would not use a pressure washer for fear of puncturing the roof panels.
I would recommend this product to anyone looking to put a nice covered area for a break from the sun or the rain on their patio. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013

Protective Plastic impossible to remove

Pros: overall nicely made for the price
Cons: impossible to get the plastic off the panels, missing parts
" One relatively minor, and one major issue with this product. The first issue was that it was missing some key parts. O.K. we contacted support and they are shipping us those parts. Great response from Costco and the supplier. The second issue is driving me nuts. Other reviews have mentioned that it was a pain to remove the protective plastic on the polycarbonate panels. Well our experience takes that pain to a new level. My wife and I spent over 2 hours trying to remove the plastic from just three of the dozens of panels shipped with the product. After the first hour I looked up techniques to help with this, including warming up the panels with a hair dryer and using the edge of a razor. That helped a little, but still an hour to remove the plastic from one panel! There are 16 panels which means 16 hours of painstaking work to get the plastic off. Not going to happen. Have contacted costco and they are going to ask the manufacturer what to do. I will update this as the saga unfolds. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sedona, Az
Date:September 12, 2013

Nice product...

Pros: manufacturer very responsive to my needs.
Cons: be very weary of shipping damage.
Model Number: GZ620H converted to GZ620N
" The gazebo arrives in 2 boxes, one containing the hardware and the other contains the roof panels. Mine was delivered by UPS, however, the box containing the roof panels was severely damaged and I refused delivery. It took about 2 weeks for a replacement to arrive and it had a slightly different part number which meant that some of the parts no longer matched up. The manufacturer has been very responsive and is supplying the pats to convert my existing hardware to an upgraded version at no charge. It's been a somewhat frustrating experience but over all I'm happy with the gazebo. "
Review 17 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:September 3, 2013

A tough build, but looks great

Pros: looks great - clean lines - sturdy.
Cons: challenging to assemble
" My packages arrived promptly, and nothing was damaged or missing. The two boxes were heavy, so I had to open the boxes in the driveway and carry parts around the house to the back deck.
Yes, as noted by other reviewers it was tough to build, but I'm not real handy, and should have had more help than I did. Again, as noted, getting the plastic film off the acrylic is hard. Keep the pieces warm -- sunshine or hair dryer -- and that helps a lot. The paper labels on each piece come off much easier when wet - rub a wet towel over them to speed that up. I dropped many of the little screws, but (barely) had enough to finish the job. Power screwdriver HIGHLY recommended.
It looks great, and now that it's done, I can recommend this. Don't be like me and try to do it all by yourself. "
Review 18 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portage, Michigan
Date:August 31, 2013

Madrid Hardtop Gazebo

" We received the product within a few days of the order. It was in perfect condition. Although it had many pieces, it was easily assembled with the specific directions and easily understood illustrations. We have used it nearly everyday since we purchased it and our guests have enjoyed it too.
The price was very equitable and we appreciated the free shipping. "
Review 19 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2013

Strudy but hard to build

" While the frame is very sturdy it was very difficult to put the roof on (and i am handy). Most importantly, the sun still shines through the translucent roof and it is very hot to sit under on a hot day. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 22, 2013

Good product but

Pros: looks very nice has not leaked., bolted into patio very sturdy for wind
Cons: make sure the parts id match the directions, make sure all parts are in the box, also make sure they are not damaged
" I bought this and noted the reviews were good except for putting it up, it's true this patio gazebo is very hard to put up especially in our case in which the parts were labled wrong and didn't match the directions. There were also to many parts with the same angle and missing parts with the angle we needed. Honeycomb roof was damaged in two different place, these are very fragile. Manufacture would not replace the roof parts but did ship the two missing aluminum siding pieces. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>