Customer Reviews for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo

Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo

Rain or shine, enjoy the moment under the Madrid Hard Top Gazebo. Whether it’s to take shelter from the summer sun or to enjoy a candle light evening with friends, this attractive outdoor structure accomplishes all of this. The Madrid’s decorative triangular posts are aluminum while the roof framework is steel, and both are powder coated in a dark gun metal gray finish to resist corrosion and rust. The roof panels are double walled 4mm thick polycarbonate for added strength. The tinted opaque panels allow the sun’s light to filter through creating an artistic glow above. Product Features: Aluminum posts and steel top frame are powder coated for long lasting durability.   Gun metal gray finish compliments any backyard décor color.   Roof panels are rigid 4mm twin wall tinted opaque UV Polycarbonate Panels.   Enjoy over 150 square feet of defined outdoor living space.   Multi purpose use for shade relief and entertaining in light rain year round. Excellent for spa applications.   Tools required: Allen wrench, hex wrench included. Power drill or screwdriver used in some stages of assembly.   Assembly Required: Requires two people for assembly which can be completed in under 4 hours. Dimensions: Outside dimensions-Canopy are 9’11” x 13’2”.   Outside dimensions-Posts are 8’8” x 11’11”.   Overall height is 9'6” to top of canopy.   Entry headroom under rails is 6'10”.   Attractive triangular post profiles are 5” in width on each side.   Weight: 165 lbs.   Warranty: 10 years on the frame and 6 years on the roof panels.   Anchoring bolts provided for both concrete and natural ground, see assembly manual for details.   For questions regarding this product, please call Systems Trading toll free 1-877-407-9100 ext. 1, from 8 AM to 6 PM Monday through Friday Central time. Model: GZ620H
Average Customer Rating:
3.839 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
24 of 31(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Review 1 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sothern California
Date:March 16, 2014

Backyard

Pros: easy assembly.
Cons: sticker removal.
Model Number: 640252
"Bought this Gazebo from Costco in March 2014.
Good quality materials.
Good step-by-step assembly instructions.
At least two persons are needed for assembly.
Spent a lot of time removing stickers !!!
"
Review 2 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 15, 2014

Summer is coming

Pros: light weight overall, easy to install
Cons: weak rivets
Model Number: GZ620N
"I just finished installing the Madrid 10x13. It took me 12hours to put up only because I did it alone. My package came in damaged; I will blame it on the transport and delivery. The UPS driver was a solo female. The damage was also in part due to weak rivets of the roof plate. a couple of screws fixed that. The pointed braces of some roof panels were also bent. Needle nose pliers fixed those.
They were generous with extra screws. I assembled it on grass. I like the idea of running lighting thru the posts. I might add that feature."
Review 3 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:February 25, 2014

Still holding strong

Pros: great looking, great size, well built
Cons: do need at least 2 people to properly assemble
Model Number: GZ620H
"We purchased this Gazebo a little over 2 years ago. When we first put it together, we too had concerns about the polycarbonate roof but it has held up well and met our expectations. When they say it takes two people to build it, please believe them. You can do it with two, but three people and this thing comes together in about a half a day. It has survived 3 northwest winters so far and we still get compliments on it all the time.
Couple of notes: Make sure you do fill the corner posts at least 50% of the way with your choice of material. (I used pea gravel). Make sure you anchor the corner posts down to prevent relocation by wind. I ran wire up one of the corner posts before filling it and anchoring it down, drilled a little switch into that post and then hooked the wire to rope lighting at the top. We now have a nice soft light source all around the inside edge on a switch and it works out great. Last, use a soft brush to clean the top off every so often. I would not use a pressure washer for fear of puncturing the roof panels.
I would recommend this product to anyone looking to put a nice covered area for a break from the sun or the rain on their patio."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013

Protective Plastic impossible to remove

Pros: overall nicely made for the price
Cons: impossible to get the plastic off the panels, missing parts
"One relatively minor, and one major issue with this product. The first issue was that it was missing some key parts. O.K. we contacted support and they are shipping us those parts. Great response from Costco and the supplier. The second issue is driving me nuts. Other reviews have mentioned that it was a pain to remove the protective plastic on the polycarbonate panels. Well our experience takes that pain to a new level. My wife and I spent over 2 hours trying to remove the plastic from just three of the dozens of panels shipped with the product. After the first hour I looked up techniques to help with this, including warming up the panels with a hair dryer and using the edge of a razor. That helped a little, but still an hour to remove the plastic from one panel! There are 16 panels which means 16 hours of painstaking work to get the plastic off. Not going to happen. Have contacted costco and they are going to ask the manufacturer what to do. I will update this as the saga unfolds."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sedona, Az
Date:September 12, 2013

Nice product...

Pros: manufacturer very responsive to my needs.
Cons: be very weary of shipping damage.
Model Number: GZ620H converted to GZ620N
"The gazebo arrives in 2 boxes, one containing the hardware and the other contains the roof panels. Mine was delivered by UPS, however, the box containing the roof panels was severely damaged and I refused delivery. It took about 2 weeks for a replacement to arrive and it had a slightly different part number which meant that some of the parts no longer matched up. The manufacturer has been very responsive and is supplying the pats to convert my existing hardware to an upgraded version at no charge. It's been a somewhat frustrating experience but over all I'm happy with the gazebo."
Review 6 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:September 3, 2013

A tough build, but looks great

Pros: looks great - clean lines - sturdy.
Cons: challenging to assemble
"My packages arrived promptly, and nothing was damaged or missing. The two boxes were heavy, so I had to open the boxes in the driveway and carry parts around the house to the back deck.
Yes, as noted by other reviewers it was tough to build, but I'm not real handy, and should have had more help than I did. Again, as noted, getting the plastic film off the acrylic is hard. Keep the pieces warm -- sunshine or hair dryer -- and that helps a lot. The paper labels on each piece come off much easier when wet - rub a wet towel over them to speed that up. I dropped many of the little screws, but (barely) had enough to finish the job. Power screwdriver HIGHLY recommended.
It looks great, and now that it's done, I can recommend this. Don't be like me and try to do it all by yourself."
Review 7 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portage, Michigan
Date:August 31, 2013

Madrid Hardtop Gazebo

"We received the product within a few days of the order. It was in perfect condition. Although it had many pieces, it was easily assembled with the specific directions and easily understood illustrations. We have used it nearly everyday since we purchased it and our guests have enjoyed it too.
The price was very equitable and we appreciated the free shipping."
Review 8 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2013

Strudy but hard to build

"While the frame is very sturdy it was very difficult to put the roof on (and i am handy). Most importantly, the sun still shines through the translucent roof and it is very hot to sit under on a hot day."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:June 22, 2013

Good product but

Pros: looks very nice has not leaked., bolted into patio very sturdy for wind
Cons: make sure the parts id match the directions, make sure all parts are in the box, also make sure they are not damaged
"I bought this and noted the reviews were good except for putting it up, it's true this patio gazebo is very hard to put up especially in our case in which the parts were labled wrong and didn't match the directions. There were also to many parts with the same angle and missing parts with the angle we needed. Honeycomb roof was damaged in two different place, these are very fragile. Manufacture would not replace the roof parts but did ship the two missing aluminum siding pieces."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sacramento, ca
Date:May 6, 2013

flawless transaction - good product.

Pros: quick delivery quality product no missing pieces
"ordered & received this gazebo very quickly, just as indicated from costco.
the product is sturdy and looks very good assembled. it does take three people to get this built. all the pieces were included and in very good condition. after it rained - no leaks are visible.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:May 1, 2013

Surprisingly Sturdy Gazebo

"I was very concerned about how this product would hold up to the snow and wind when I bought it last fall. I live on Long Island and most of the reviewers at that time, lived in warm climates. This Gazebo survived Superstorm Sandy as well as a blizzard with 3 feet of heavy snow. It still looks great!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:April 24, 2013

Bought this gazebo a year or two ago from Costco

Pros: looks nice when set up
Cons: durability of the roof material is horrible
Model Number: GZ620H
"If you live in an area that occasionally gets hail, do not waste your money. The first six months, we had several pea sized holes from hail, and this year, it was obliterated by hail. Looks nice, but am going to purchase a hard top steel gazebo this month. Never go with a polycarbonate roof unless you want problems in the future!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fife, WA
Date:January 15, 2013

A Great Purchase

Pros: looks great, stable, worth the money
Cons: not the quickest to put together
Model Number: Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
"We purchased this over the summer and have had our eye on it for sometime. We finally pulled the trigger and am very happy we did. It does take two people in certain spots to put this together without much difficulty. However, if you do it without two people you will not have fun. Hopefully you won't drop the rating like others have done. Lay all the pieces out before you start constructing the unit. This unit is very sturdy. Once together it is beautiful and we have filled the legs with rocks and also anchored it to our patio.
As some have said the roof feals a little flimsy but so far so good. I like the warranty the manufacture provides and Costcos warranty."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn NY
Date:October 30, 2012

Stood through Frankenstorm

Pros: attractive, sturdy, great size, withstood 70mph winds
"All through hurricane Sandy, my husband was very worried about the gazebo holding up in our Brooklyn backyard. We kept checking on it, and it made it through perfectly. There was a a bit of sway to it, but there should be. Otherwise we couldn't be happier with how hit handled this unprecedented weather. Make sure to fill the posts with rocks for extra stability, but definitely worth the price."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento Area
Date:September 5, 2012

Nice frame, weak roof

"The shipping was great without any damage and timely.
It was not so difficult to assemble. The frame is very sturdy and I filled the legs with pebbles and anchored it to the deck. It looks very nice and classy.
The issue I have is with the roof. I measured the thickness of the roof plastic and each side (there are two sandwiched together ) is only 1/128 of an inch thick. The roof is suspended by metal rods attached from the frame. I thought when I purchased this item, that it had a hard plastic top that would last. I did not expect for the roof to be the equivalent of a cheap big box brand gazebo. I was very disappointed with the product and Costco. I don’t mind paying top dollar for a quality product.
I can't imagine the roof making it through the winter months, even though here in California it is not so brutal.
I would have returned the canopy, but it is not worth spending many more hours’ worth of work. I am thinking that perhaps, I may be able to replace the panels with black 1/8 Plexiglas after the winter. As I pretty sure the roof will not make it through any type of sustained wind/rain. What a shame.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:August 14, 2012

great but leaks

Pros: nice and sturdy, no cloth low maintenance
Cons: leaks
Model Number: Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
"it's nice, no cloth at all so no maintenance required, looks long lasting, have my concerns about hail, it was easy to assamble with the help of one person, it rained and it started leaking throuth the middle section where the upper and lower panels join, i just went ahead and caulked that section and that stopped the leaking, that's why i gave it a 3 star."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:August 8, 2012

Assembly Difficult

Pros: nice looking
Cons: flimsy feel, very hard to assemble
"It is beautiful once put together. It does feel a little flimsy however. It took double the time it said it would to put together."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:El Cajon, CA
Date:August 8, 2012

Very Satisfied

"This product is very easy to assemble but you will need three people on a few steps. Otherwise, the instructions are easy to follow and all parts and hardware are individually numbered with labels. The pieces fit together very easily, and once the roof supports are tightened, the structure should stand on its own. We partially filled the legs with pea gravel after attaching the front and side panels for additional stability. The roof panels are impressive and cast a great glow on the deck. I would rate this product and delivery A+."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, Colorado
Date:July 19, 2012

Well engineered, good quality materials, handsome

Pros: handsome + airy, sturdy once assembled, good customer service
Cons: roof panels not dark enough, protective film fastened beneath metal framing, metric concrete anchors, questionable durability against hail, no accessories available
Model Number: GZ620H
"I have 2 major concerns for this fine looking sun shelter: (1) the roof panels are not opaque enough + allow too much sun to filter thru. While it's much better than no shading at all, I expected more solid shade for better sun protection. (2) The polycarbonate roof panels are constructed like corrugated cardboard, with thin upper + lower surfaces that sandwich ridges + air in between. The total "sandwich" measures 4mm but the actual top surface which must withstand impact from the elements is extremely thin. I'm anxious about sustaining hail damage; time will tell. (I will update this review.)
Assembly was a struggle and took 4 days, not 4 hours. (1) More explicit instructions on anchoring into concrete would have been appreciated. The sleeve anchors are metric in size and we were unable to locate a metric drill bit to fit. A 3/8" bit was a touch too small, making insertion of the anchor difficult. The instructions suggested using an electric drill, which we tried for the first 4 anchor holes. It was so exhausting we finally bought a hammer drill and carbide tipped bit and did the remaining anchors with ease in 10 minutes each.
(2) Removing the plastic protective film from the roof panels took 4 hours because the film was caught under the metal framing and had to be carefully cut away with a straight-edged razor, taking caution not to press too hard so as to score the panel.
As recommended, we filled the columns with gravel for added stability in our windy location... it's a must do! Needed almost a 5 gallon bucketful for each column but the gravel makes it very sturdy.
Customer Service was efficient in replacing part that were damaged in shipping. Sure wish they made accessories e.g. side shades/panels to block the sun when it's low in the sky."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Madrid 10' x 13' Hard Top Gazebo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2012

Madrid Hard Top Gazebo

"We ordered this gazebo and it arrived exactly when Costco said it would. All the pieces were there with easy instructions for assembly. My husband and I put it together in a few hours time. That evening a huge rain, hail and wind storm came through the area and the gazebo stood the test. We are pleased with this purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>