Customer Reviews for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS

With a big 5" (12.7 cm) touch screen, more than 5 million points of interest (POIs) and spoken turn-by-turn directions, nüvi 50LM makes driving fun again. Plus, with FREE lifetime map updates, you always can keep your roads and POIs up to date. Get Turn-by-turn Directions nüvi 50LM’s intuitive interface greets you with 2 simple choices: “Where To?” and “View Map.” Touch the screen to easily look up addresses and services and to be guided to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. It comes in 2 mapping versions and has preloaded maps for the lower 48 states plus Hawaii and Puerto Rico, or full coverage of the U.S. and Canada. nüvi 50LM’s speed limit indicator shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. With its “Where Am I?” emergency locator, you always know your location. It also comes preloaded with millions of POIs and offers the ability to add your own. Enjoy FREE Lifetime Map Updates With FREE lifetime map updates, you always have the most up-to-date maps, POIs and navigation information available at your fingertips. Map updates are available for download up to 4 times a year with no subscription or update fees and no expiration dates. Know the Lane Before It’s Too Late Now there’s no more guessing which lane you need to be in to make an upcoming turn. Available in select metropolitan areas, lane assist with junction view guides you to the correct lane for an approaching turn or exit, making unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate. It realistically displays road signs and junctions on your route along with arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation. Features: Stay up-to-date on changing roads and POIs with FREE lifetime maps View routes on the big 5" (12.7 cm) touch screen Look up addresses for over 5 million points of interest Hear spoken street names Know the lane before it’s too late with lane assist with junction view Keep out of trouble with the built-in speed limit indicator In the Box: nüvi 50LM City Navigator® NT data with preloaded street maps for the U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Bahamas, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Barthélemy and Jamaica Lifetime maps (indicated by "LM" after model number on the box) Vehicle suction cup mount Vehicle power cable USB cable Quick start manual Model: GRM0099120
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
40 of 42(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:August 30, 2012

Excellent Purchase

Pros: easy to use fully functional
Cons: maps needed to be updated on day one, -- and the update was very slow
Model Number: nuvi 50LM
"This is the 2nd Garmin we've owned. We had a great experience with our first product until it came time to update the maps -- the expense of the update was more than 50% of the product cost -- a real rip-off! I liked everything else about the unit though, so when I gave it to my daughter for her "college car" I decided to go with Garmin (the nuvi 50LM) again, but this time with free lifetime map updates. We are really happy with Garmin and would recommend this product to our friends."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:September 5, 2012

An upgrade for me

Pros: greater positional accuracy, lifetime map upgrades
Model Number: 50LM
"My previous GPS was a nuvi 260 and I was happy with it for several years.
This one is a notable upgrade with features such as showing speed limits, notifying of fixed traffic cameras with an audible warning, and greater representations of the streets and highways around you.
The LM comes with lifetime map upgrades.
The one thing I miss - when I change the route, she no longer says "Re-calculating"
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Riding, VA
Date:September 5, 2012

Woops! ACTUALLY DOES COME WITH ADVERTISED MAPS

Pros: price, features, included maps
Cons: little slow to respond when changing vehicle icons
Model Number: Nuvi 50LM
"Please disregard the last review I wrote. The unit actually DOES come with preloaded maps for Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Bahamas, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Barthélemy and Jamaica. Between my goof and a tech support goof, it was assumed that it didn’t come those territories. But we figured it out and I’m pretty psyched. The unit took about an hour to download and update maps, but that was to be expected based on other reviews. And there is also a progress “ring” on the computer screen that lets you monitor its……progress. Like I said in my past review all the other features seem to work well. My favorites are being able to change how you can view the trip information (couple different options), the speed indicator because my speed has always been off due to bigger tires on my Jeep and now I know exactly what my steady speed is. I say steady because it takes a second or two to recalculate changing speeds. Speaking of Jeep, the sound volume is adequate even with the road noise with the soft top up or down. I also like that as long as you don’t turn off the unit when you shut your vehicle off, it will log the elapsed time you’re stopped because yes I’m one of those people who like to know what the actual trip times are without restroom and eating stops. =) Other than that the only minor inconvenience is that its slow to respond when trying to select a different vehicle icon. So far we are very pleased with the 50LM. Just a tip for anyone looking for the country of French Guiana, in the “change country” screen, you have to type in France first. Then all the French territories listed above will show up to select. However, you have to select “Guyane” to get the “French Guiana” map."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 28, 2012

it's ok

Cons: home address is about 500 ft off, could be a real issue if you need exact locate
Model Number: nuvi 50LM
"first in car gps that i have owned. so far no real problems. voice is loud enough even for my deaf ears, some pronunciations are off, bright display is easy to read, recalculates quickly and quietly and remembers previous routes. only had it two weeks and may not have had it long enough to experience issues others have with other units."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:August 29, 2012

Great little GPS

Pros: price, lifetime maps, large 5" screen
Cons: no bells and whistles just gets there aok
Model Number: Nuvi 50LM
"Nice "little" GPS. My last was a 2008 version that cost about $350. I read the reviews and this one comes out well by those in the know. It is a familiar Garmin layout. Very easy to use. The 5 inch screen seems HUGE compared to my old one (which seemed good enf til now) and even my EVO 4G phone (larger than an iPhone). Look, it's the basic Garmin GPS no bluetooth, voice commands (which never seem to understand me anyway). Just a very good GPS with lifetime maps and Junction View. EZ menu navigation. Same good suction mount. Much easier to input addresses using zip code first if you know it. QWERTY keyboard is a big plus (I had the old style - killer to input)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:August 31, 2012

Good But Can Use a Tweak

Pros: easy to use and set up
Cons: takes a bit to update maps
Model Number: Nuvi 50 lm
"Nice big screen, easy voice instructions, easy to use, real nice unit for the money, will work beautifully and fill all the needs for most users. Switching screens during set up requires a few too many key strokes but that is not a big deal. Updating maps is a bit cumbersome and requires full concentration, including downloading an installer and choosing options such as "lower 48". This is a great unit though for all except traffic nerds and power users. Good value for the money. Don't hesitate to buy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:September 1, 2012

Good value for screen size

Pros: great price, 5" screen, familar garmin features, great value all around
Cons: low quality speaker
Model Number: Nuvi 50 LM
"I have owned a number of Garmin GPS units, and like all the features and the screens. I just purchased and returned a TomTom, which couldn't store favorite destinations. The only complaint I have on this one is the low quality of the speaker, it sounds a little tinny. But with lifetime maps, spoken directions and the 5" screen, the price is too good to pass up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:September 5, 2012

Great 5" screen with safety camera alerts

Pros: price
Cons: none
Model Number: Garmin Nuvi 50LM
"This unit lets you know if there is a red light and or speeding camera close by. So, I always drive around with it on just map mode."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 5, 2012

Garmin50ML

Pros: very easy to to use
Cons: screen has to be at 100% to compensate for glare
Model Number: Garmin 50LM
"I have a factory installed GPS in my car.
When it came time to update my GPS disc, I thought "why not try a portable GPS.".
I researched several makes of GPS and after many specs and attrubutes of other GPS , I decided that the Garmin 50LM was the the one to try, and I am so glad I did.
The Garmin 50LM out performs the factory installed GPS and I find it is much easier to use and the 3d is terrific.
I will highly recommend this GPS to anyone in the market for one.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corrales, NM
Date:September 7, 2012

Garmin nuvi 50LM

Pros: takes you on the shortest route, shows directions (ewns)
Model Number: Nuvi 50LM 5" screen portable touch screen
"First thing I did was register the garmin. Then, down loaded the updated maps. I traveled from California to New Mexico and this Garmin was so helpful. Now I use it around town and it takes me on the shortest route. I love using this and highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:puyallup Wa
Date:September 11, 2012

works great!

Pros: larger screen, speed limit indicator
"I was really impress with how well this Garmin worked"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Moorestown, NJ
Date:August 31, 2012

very good, but

Model Number: nuvi 50lm5
"This is my 3rd Garmin. It is extremely fast, the visuals are great, but the sound quality is a major degradation from the earlier models. I was torn between returning it and trying my luck with another unit, but I do not have the patience of installing the maps on a new unit
and finding the same problem.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Riding, VA
Date:August 26, 2012

BEWARE OF COVERAGE ADVERTISEMENT

Pros: good price, decent features
Cons: does not come with preloaded maps of countries, listed in ad and on box, slow to respond when changing vehicle icons
Model Number: Nuvi 50LM
"We’ve only used this a couple times in the last week since we bought it, but I wanted to write this review to quickly point out a flaw in advertising. The unit DOES NOT come preloaded with maps for Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Bahamas, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Barthélemy and Jamaica. Both the Costco website and the box that it came in stated this. It won’t be a big deal if you only plan on traveling in U.S. or Canada. I was a bit disappointed because one of the selling points that I bought it was for business and vacationing in some of those areas. I sent Garmin customer service photos of the box showing the print and coverage maps, but they simply, but politely said that the box was wrong and that my only option was to return it at this point. Not sure yet. The only other “cons” that I noticed was that for the first few miles the approaching streets was a little slow to update at first and it would tell me what the next street was as I was passing that street, but it seemed to “catch up” and is now naming upcoming streets earlier. And when I change vehicle icons, it’s slow to respond and you have to wait until it “unfreezes” to continue. Other than that, the other few features I’ve had the opportunity to use seem to work fine."
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:September 5, 2012

OK GPS but not sure if its map is really updated

Model Number: Garmin nuvi 50LM
"This GPS could not find my 2008 built home. Not sure if its map is really updated. Besides not like the voice of speaker."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:new york, ny
Date:August 31, 2012

good for it's price

"All works out fine except that the menu needs some improvement. There should be more options.
Sometimes it was slow to recover signal reception when you come out of a tunnel.
"
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:September 3, 2012

Great product to have handy!

"We used this Garmin the other day to get to a concert that was in the mountains and it took us right to the venue!"
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:September 4, 2012

Great until it died after about a week.

Pros: 5 inch screen, low price, lifetime maps
Cons: it died after about a week, can only put in one intermediate point on a trip, short battery life ~ 2 hours (need adapter)
Model Number: Garmin nuvi 50LM
"Loved it, but after about a week when you turn it on, it would just stay on the "Garmin" screen and do nothing. No way to unstick it. Tried reset, searched the internet but finally determined it was dead so returned it. I would have tried another unit but not sold in store and have a time constraint. Seemed to be great bang for the buck, but it has to work longer than a week. Gave it 2 stars because it was good even though it died. Would have gotten 4 or 5 stars if it still worked."
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:September 4, 2012

Garmn makes good stuff

Model Number: 50LM
"Purchased Garmin because they have the best US maps. The suction cup does not hold so docked one star, otherwise a 5 star"
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oscoda, MI
Date:September 4, 2012

love my garmin

Model Number: 50LM
"I love my garmin. I purchased one a good 6 years ago, it still works but I decided for what it costs to update it , I'd buy a new one. We now have one for each car. Its simple to use,love the larger screen and the lane assist is fantastic. Makes me wonder how we ever got around without it. The garmin 50LM will be around a long time with the lifetime maps, great feature."
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WINDSOR CALIFORNIA
Date:September 4, 2012

GREAT WORKING

Model Number: 50LM5
"I HAVE HAD ANOTHER GPS THAT DID NOT WORK AT ALL WELL. THIS ONE IS EASY AND GREAT TO USE. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE."
1 2 3 next>>