Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS

The ecoRoute feature printed in the July coupon book was a misprint. The specifications below are correct. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Let nüvi 2555LM lead the way with its big 5" (12.7 cm) touchscreen display and powerful navigation features. It includes free lifetime map updates, advanced lane guidance and more. Features: View routes on the 5" (12.7 cm) widescreen touch display Enjoy free lifetime map updates Know which lane to be in thanks to advanced lane guidance with exclusive photoReal junction view Use in portrait or landscape mode See what’s coming with Enhanced Exit Services Get fast route calculations and address look ups with Garmin Guidance 2.0 Preloaded City Navigator® NT North America (U.S., Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands and Bahamas) Battery: Rechargeable lithium-ion Battery life: Up to 2.5 hours Dimensions: 5.4"W x 3.3"H x .6"D (13.7 x 8.3 x 1.5 cm) Weight: 6.8 onces Includes Lifetime Map Updates: With free lifetime map updates, you always have the most up-to-date maps, points of interest and navigation information available at your fingertips. Map updates are available for download up to 4 times a year with no subscription or update fees and no expiration dates. Know the Lane Before It’s Too Late: Now there’s no more guessing which lane you need to be in to make an upcoming turn. Available in select metropolitan areas, photoReal junction view makes unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate. When you approach an exit or interchange, nüvi 2555LM will enter split screen mode and show you a realistic depiction of junctions on your route, complete with road signs and arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation. Get Turn-by-turn Directions: Garmin Guidance 2.0’s intuitive interface greets you with 2 simple choices: “Where To?” and “View Map.” Touch the screen to easily look up addresses and services and to be guided to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. It comes preloaded with maps for North America, more than 8 million points of interest, and offers the ability to add your own. Go Beyond Navigation: Point-to-point navigation is just the beginning. nüvi 2555LM features a microSD™ card slot so you can store and use detailed cityXplorer™ maps or download custom voices and vehicles for free from the Garmin Garage™. Dual-orientation functionality lets you hold the nüvi vertically or horizontally for added convenience driving or walking. The “Where Am I?” emergency locator provides your exact latitude and longitude coordinates, the nearest address and intersection, and the closest hospitals, police stations and more. Enhanced Exit Services tells you what services you’re approaching on the highway. In the Box: nüvi 2555LM Preloaded City Navigator® NT North America (U.S., Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands and Bahamas) Lifetime maps (indicated by “LM” after model number on the box) Vehicle power cable Vehicle suction cup mount USB cable Quick start manual Model: GRM0100231
Average Customer Rating:
3.655 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
(out of 55 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
8
38 of 55(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Review 1 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:August 6, 2012

Garmin 2555LM 5"

Pros: lane assist, freeway junction view, exit view, 5" screen, lighter and thinner than the older models
Cons: map updates, trip routing strategy, long waiting time for customer service, voice is like robbot
Model Number: 2555LM
"Beware that the map update is slow and it is a challenge. I am a professional in electronics engineer. You must register your Garmin before it can check for updates. I found this out after following the owner’s manual to go directly to Garmin’s update link and the server would not recognize my Garmin GPS after connecting it through the USB port. I forgot the details, I start with Garmin.com and follow the instructions and do product registration, and then it detected and recognized my GPS. I select lifetime map update. It told me my GPS needs to have software updated first. Software updates is progressing, but I waiting a good 50 – 6o minutes. I sensed something is wrong. I stopped and cancelled the update, it gave a warning after stopping in the mid of a software update. I called Garmin customer service and have to keep listening a recording to tell you go online and read Garmin Q & A which will solves majority of the issue, but I had read through all the Q & A already. Finally, a live person is at the other end after about 20 minutes. I explained my problem that it hanged in the middle of doing software update after I selected map updates. It must be a very common problem, the customer service guy told me to cancel the update and turn GPS off. Return to Garmin.com and select the map updates again. The reason is my software is updated without automatically going back to do map update. Map updates time depends on your ISP connection speed. I did it at work with a very fast speed and it took 60 minutes. No wonder, a lot of complains on the time involving map updating (but I heard Magellan has the issue). I advise to first do a software update first instead of jumping straight to map update.
For some unknown reasons, I set it up to go to LA Fitness from my home, it asked me to exit the freeway and use surface streets. This is the same problem I had with my old Garmin 255LMT. I tried the GPS to go to Costco from a restaurant after exercising. It told me to exit the freeway, but I ignore it. I changed the routing preference to faster time from shorter distance.
I may not get use to the new menu settings. I like my old Garmin 255LMT better which automatically asks me whether I want to save new the address. With my new Garmin 2555LM, I have to select “!” for map and select to save the new address.
I like the voice of American Samantha of 255LMT which is more human like than the voice of American Gill of 2555LM.
I do like 2555LM with freeway junction and exit view which is not in my old 255LMT."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 16, 2012

WRONG TURN GARMIN~

"Having had two Garmin's, both with the voice command~ these are better than Magellan. That is not saying much. The maps were less likely to be missing, like Magellan. In Nov. 2011 Magellan's 5" did not even have Henderson, NV, the 2nd largest city in Nevada. Then Magellan did not even have 3- Southern Utah National Parks. It did have better volume, and was faster response. It had a one year old AAA map book which was nice. This Garmin still has the same problem as last years. The voice commands stink, and it has you turning too soon.
My latest jewel is the new Tom Tom 6" it is "FABULOUS!" Used it for two weeks in Southern Cal on dozens of freeways. This the the best GPS ever!
I tied it to a speaker vent on my dash corner and don't ever look at the speedometer anymore. Super safety feature in bumper-to-bumper traffic.
It blows this one into the dirt with traffic camera tie-in to change your route to the fastest on the fly. Far faster than Garmin and helps prevent turning too early with its alerts. I like the Australian guy and his keep right, where as Garmin had me turning way early. The Tom Tom 6" screen has your moving car so you can see your location too. The Tom Tom's font is incredible! Almost double Garmin's size and is Bright Yellow giant arrow on turns. It shows you in advance how many lanes to turn. It does have a learning curve, different than the Magellan and Garmin. It screen resolution and contrast blow away the poor Garmin. Tom Tom's 6" screen is incredible. It also, has like 12 different languages. Huge font like 24 font, buy it, you will love it! Pass on this dog!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 14, 2012

Traffic or no traffic??

Pros: good size loud volume
Model Number: Nuvi 2555LM
"I bought this GPS because so many reviewers confirmed traffic as one of the highlighted features. But it did only say LM on the model description so I assumed it was a typo. Garmin doesn't even have an LM on their site either so then I was CONVINCED it was a typo. Then it's delivered and sure enough it doesn't have the traffic line on the cable! But wait... it has a traffic icon on the front screen that glows green most of the time and sometimes even gives traffic when you push it for the traffic reading on your route. But then other times it stays grayed out and doesn't actually function! So does it have traffic... or not??
Can anyone clear this up?
Anyway, I wrote this for those considering the purchase, I'm not sure I will keep it - especially since Garmin must consider it a black sheep to not list it.
"
Review 4 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wildomar, CA
Date:July 14, 2012

Downloading software was a nightmere

Pros: many features
Cons: poor software. not user friendly
Model Number: 2595
"I've owned a hand-held Garmin GPS for several years however they no longer support it with new maps etc. so it was time to upgrade. I looked at several different models and chose the Garmin nuvi 2500 series. As soon as I attempted to download the required software to load maps, I ran into error messages "out of date plugware exception". I was unable to resolve the error issues on my own (after one hour of trying) and called customer support. They were prompt at answering and immediately addressed my problem. They fixed the outdated software issue however ran in to more problems when my computer locked up when attempting to install the software. After over an hour on the phone with them, I gave up. I returned the unit to the store, exchanged it for a TomTom and had it up and running in 15 minutes"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Savannah, GA
Date:September 4, 2012

Expired in 2 weeks of insignificant usage

Pros: satellite connection
Cons: software features, reliability
Model Number: Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
"There is not much to write about this GPS which replaced a Magellan unit that expired after 3 years of use - Garmin 2555 expired rather quickly (after 2 weeks).
Exterior and display of this unit appeared of above average quality while the software needed improvement - there was no "Most use of freeway" option which we found to be a great feature in a previous Magellan unit. Satellite connection is more reliable and faster than Magellan's it seems.
However, nothing compares to Costco's customer service and refund policy. Just took it back to whatever Costco appeared in my way and purchased a new one on the spot - this time a Magellan, at least it proved more reliable.
"
Review 6 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Date:August 13, 2012

Good value, very pleased

Model Number: nüvi 2555LM 5"
"I purchased my Garmin partly because of the lifetime map upgrade. I had another brand that was 6 years old that I could not upgrade the map even if I would pay for it. I like the split screen which did not activate in Idaho, but when I arrived in Portland, Oregon it came on. I love the features on the unit, you can even use it as a book reader. I also like the world clock and alarm clock function, nice loud alarm too. I especially like how fast I can bring up locations which were recently visited. You can easily do this while driving without being distracted. The suction cup windshield mount really works good. A great product."
Review 7 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Richland, WA
Date:May 29, 2012

Dissapointed

Cons: see my review
Model Number: nuvi 2555LM 5"
"I was excited to receive my new 2555 but disappointed with the lack of information presented by Costco sales information for On-Line buyers. I never owned a Garmin GPS unit before and understood from other owners that they had some unique features. However, not knowing how this unit operated, based on the Costco on-line ad, I assumed it did everything. Not true. It did have voice response for directions but no “voice command”. I returned this unit to the local Costco and purchased another Garmin that had "voice command" #2460 thia unit had what I needed - but it cost me $40.00 more than the on-line purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Date:July 15, 2012

Our Garmin is haunted

"We love our new GPS even if it scares us once in awhile. The navigation is very good and even though we are coming from a 7" screen we find the screen size adequate. What is strange is that it sometimes seems to mumble something which we have yet to figure out. It says this "something" in a very low volume, completely different from the normal volume. We thought we had a gnome living under one of the front seats until we figured out where it was coming from. If anyone else has heard this behaviour we'd be interested if you've figured out what it is saying. Not speed related for sure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:June 8, 2012

Works Great for Us

Pros: very simple to operate.
Cons: would be better if you could also use topo maps
Model Number: Garmin nüvi 2555LM
"We had been using a borrowed TomTom GPS in a comparable price range and this unit works better. It is much better in recalculating a route when you differ from the suggested path. The unit seems very sensitive and accurate. Very easy to use. I wish we had bought one sooner. I had no problem updating the firmware and map, only took about 70 minutes. I also added the micro SD card and installed the red light and speed trap POI, which worked well. I added the detailed Seattle area map, that seems to be a waste of $$ unless you carry the unit while walking around town."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Date:August 6, 2012

Best one yet.

Pros: just an outstanding model.
Model Number: 2555LM
"I have owned several different models since 2008, and this one, the 2555LM, has proved itself worth it's cost. Although it is a little harder to get used to, former models were a little easier to program, once you get the knack of putting in addresses or locations, it is a jewel. The screen is easier to read do to better graphics and it is also larger then my older models. If you ever wanted to know were you were, this is the toy to have, it gives you an address, closest intersection, and your location by GPS location. Like I said, a nice little jewel on the dash."
Review 11 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:RGV, Texas
Date:May 25, 2012

Thought it was a bargain-NOT

Pros: unit is nicely thinner
Cons: it erased all of my address entries, i did not like the address entry changes either, had problems downloading the maps but finally did, would not use my older dash mount pad due to size
Model Number: NUVI 2555LM
"I needed to replace an older Garmin GPS and I thought the price was good for this item. However, it operation was quite a bit different than my older unit and what frosted the cake finally was that after spending some time entering all of my "Favorites" it ultimately erased them while in use in my car.
I do want to say that until now I have had nothing but good luck and usage from my previous Garmin units.
Although I would not recommend this unit due to the bad luck I have had with it, I would still recommend Garmin as the GPS choice."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area, California;
Date:May 29, 2012

Not just a GPS

Pros: very nice screen size
Model Number: Garmin nuvi 2555LM
"I have a four year old Garmin which still functions beautifully, but I wanted one that provides lane assist. The nuvi 2555LM provides much more than that - too much. I found it difficult to set up. I spent two days trying to eliminate music, and other menu items I would never use, I finally gave up and returned it. I have purchased another brand with a simpler menu. If you want a GSP that just gets you to where you want to go, this is not for you. If you want one with bells & whistles, this might be just the thing."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hoover, AL
Date:May 29, 2012

Meets My Needs

Pros: easier to see in bright sunlight, updated maps
Model Number: Garmin nuvi 2555LM
"While this gps doesn't have all of the bells and whistles, it meets my needs very well. I downloaded the updated maps and decided to see just how updated they were. I drove to a new neighborhood that still has homes under construction. I was surprised it included most of the streets except for the ones where homes are still being built. I've used it on one trip so far. I can see the screen much better in sunlight than with my previous gps. I am pleased with my purchase."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:D/FW Metro Area
Date:May 29, 2012

Awesome GPS!

Pros: mute on main screen, extra large - and bright - display
Model Number: Nüvi 2555 LM
"This is my 7th Garmin GPS. They just keep getting better and better! Why so many you might ask? Two adult kids a wife and a motorcycle. When I gave my wife her 1st Garmin years ago, I gave her NO instructions. It was (and still is) so intuitive, she was navigating in no time. I'm SO pleased that Garmin decided to move the "mute" button for the guidance to the main screen. I usually only use the voice when I'm getting close to an unfamiliar destination."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sacramento area, ca
Date:June 22, 2012

we will see

"i have used this for a limited time. So far i miss the ability to use the "english" voice. I used it once in a difficult to navigate area and the instructions were decidely lacking. If I had not known where i was, i would have missed my turn--a problem in a new area. i find the split screen too small for a fast look when deciding where to move to in a multi- lane exit,BUT i have not had a problem with their mutiple arrows, so i guess that is a wash."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 16, 2012

Easy to use

"Easy to use even without reading manual. Only draw back that I can say about this GPS is that some instruction are bad (impossible to comply) Ex. You just pull out from a gas station and it instruct you to turn left at intersection. It's impossible to do, because you are about to cut across 4 lanes traffic.
Also, some instruction to exit freeway was way too close. Not enough time for you to react and end up missing those exits.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 13, 2012

NO FUN!

Model Number: 2555LM
"There are a few things about this Garmin that are OK, but overall it has a small screen that splits for even smaller info, too much road info in the screen may be convenient for some, but who needs a GPS wth NO BLUETOOTH! Also, it is a lite-weight and FEELS cheap. It does have some features that are good, but after two weeks of use it just decided to not start up. Returned to warehouse for something, anything, better."
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Georgia, US
Date:May 10, 2012

Nice for the Price

Pros: 5" screen, ability to set up routes, avoid roads or areas in routing
Cons: no slip cover case, no owners manual in box
Model Number: Nuvi 2555LM
"One note up front: The costco on-line description is in error as this unit does NOT support voice command.
I upgraded to get the faster routing in this version and bigger screen. Plus the life time maps will keep the surprises down when the road is not quite where Garmin thought it was. Over all a good purchase. I love the the ability to restrict certain roads/areas in the routing to stay out of "problem" areas."
42 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Date:August 21, 2012
Model Number: 2555LM
"I have only installed the Nuvi 2555 in my vehicle and tried to get it ready for use. I expected it to be Bluetooth compatible but discovered that it is only compatible with a selected set of mobile phones which didn't include mine.
Otherwise, I EXPECT the new unit to be as serviceable as my other Garmin GPS and that will be satisfactory. But I'll know more when I get on the road and test if for results.
"
Review 20 for Garmin nüvi 2555LM 5" Touchscreen Portable GPS
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:September 27, 2012

Would recommend Garmin nuvi 2555LM

Pros: perfect size screen and easily portable
Cons: does not come with a wall charger
Model Number: Garmin nuvi 2555LM
"This is my first GPS. I love it. The size is perfect, the directions are accurate, the voice is clear, and I like the split screen and that the directions speak the street names. If you choose an alternate route the directions are quickly recalculated. I ordered this on line and it came very fast. It is easy to use and it was easy to register the product on line. I may look into the traffic accessory."
1 2 3 next>>