Customer Reviews for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive

Radeon™ HD 7690M Switchable Graphics Intel 802.11a/b/g/n WLAN & Bluetooth® with Widi Display Support
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 139
(out of 139 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
46
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
12
106 of 139(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Review 1 for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:March 7, 2012

Wanted to Love this PC so much

Pros: visually appealing
Cons: screen can't reproduce red correctly or violet, keyboard issues: e backspace enter space bar, graphics performance not quite as expected
Model Number: 15-3033CL
"The Envy 15 had potential, but the inability to produce Red correctly or Violet at all on the Full HD display is really rediculous, but I was willing to live with it.
The design and look is nice, though I don't like that I hit the volume dial all the time by accident when using it on my lap. The Black lid is prone to fingerprints and really distracts from the look of the rest of the machine.
The keyboard and audio issues are the show stoppers. The e, space bar, backspce, and enter key only work about 5/8 of the time, making it impossible to work on the laptop for any length of time.
I thought I could live with it for game playing but the audio often gets into a garbled feedback loop. It appears it has something to do with coolsense when it disables the GPU if you make the slightest movement of the laptop.
Very sad, but it's just to buggy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:March 10, 2012

It's Going Back!

"On the positive side, this laptop has all of the bells, whistles, and buzzers. On the negative side, it simply does not work.
We like the more than adequate 8GB memory with 750GB hard drive and an i7 processor. The laptop looks good, very good. Unfortunately, we could not get it to sign on after the "set-up" page. Tech assistance was called immediately and we went through a half dozen turns of the laptop crashing with the Tech person scratching his head. We are now performing a 3-hour diagnosis that he set up for us. It is almost through and the screen shows no issues. So if you want to buy this laptop to look at it and think it is nice, go ahead. If you want to actually use it, you might want to look elsewhere. That is what we are going to do. It is likely that this is a one-time lemon, but the frustration is immense. This isn't Costco's fault, we'll buy from them again, but something isn't right at HP."
Review 3 for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:March 2, 2012

Gorgeous laptop!

Pros: gorgeous looking, powerful and fast, well built except for track pad, great 6 speaker sound system, minimal crapware
Cons: trackpad not very usable, beats audio has some sound bugs that need fixing
Model Number: HP Envy 15-3033CL
"Bought this week from COSTCO and highly recommend. First off, it's a gorgeous looking machine (yes, looks like a MacBook Pro) with the best display I've ever seen in a Windows laptop. It's enjoyable just looking at the display - crisp, clear, beautiful colors. Also, it's very fast, relatively quiet (no laptop is perfectly fan quiet), has a great backlit keyboard (something I had to had because I have trouble seeing the keys in dim light), comes with very little crapware (a very pleasant surprise), includes 2 years of Norton virus protection and Adobe Elements 9. Feels solidly built, worthy of high end pricing. What you've read elsewhere about the track pad is true - it's pretty useless, the right and left click actions are hard to make work without a struggle. I would deduct for this in my rating except that I prefer a mouse and disable the trackpad anyway so it's not a big deal for me. The six speaker Beats Audio is very nice and sounds great, but I've experienced some of the strange volume ups and downs mentioned in other reviews. This is likely fixable by HP, but minus 1/2 star for that. Otherwise, though, this laptop is everything I wanted it to be and I am very happy with it. It's the best Windows laptop I've ever owned and I've owned many. 4 1/2 stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2012

Good reviews?

"I bought this knowing the mousepad had issues and I agree. But the real bummer is that I used it for 4 days and then didn't get back to it for another 3 days and then it wouldn't power up. I returned it today. Still has good review so it is buy another one or buy the Samung Series 7 Chronos?."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Central Coast, CA
Date:March 15, 2012
Pros: love that there's no 10key number pad, backlit keys are nice.
Cons: sticky mouse. some sticky keys
Model Number: HP Envy
"I reeeally wanted to keep this computer... so many things were right but a few very important things were wrong. The mouse, for one. The button to click (either with thumb or forefinger) was pasty --a sluggish push that required more effort than it should. Not something you'd notice in the store, but when you're surfing and clicking it often doesn't take because it requires a harder deliberate push. I decided I'd live with it because I liked the rest of the computer, but then a few of the keys started pulling the same thing. I'd look over what I'd typed and the "t" didn't take or the "b" didn't take. Frustrating. My love at first sight turned out to be a dud. Maybe it was a fluke. More customer feedback will tell."
Review 6 for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CO
Date:February 15, 2012

Worst Purchase Ever-Returned Mine

Pros: great sound and speed
Cons: display's orange instead of red, i7 processor would be replaced with i5 if problem.
Model Number: All HP Envy 15" Laptops
"Not only does the screen display all "RED" colors as "ORANGE", but if you were ever to send your laptop in for repair for a processor replacement HP's documentation from Costco says that an i5 processor comes with this model number and "HP" stated "There is nothing they can do to put the original i7 replacement due to documentation. Avoid this purchase. Back to the screen displaying Orange for all Red colors, it has been a known issue since 07/11/2011 with no fix in sight. Great Laptop if the display issue wasn't a problem/wrong processor. All HP Envy 17" models do not have the display problem. Please Google it."
Review 7 for HP Envy 15-3033CL Beats™ Audio Laptop Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM 8GB DDR3 System Memory 750GB Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:February 24, 2012

Quirky but keeping it

Pros: great streaming cool running backlit automatically, thin light stylish keyboard is a pleasure, two years free norton which now has a suprior app, support centered only on "envy" at hp is a plus., superior 6 way speakers with sub woofer
Cons: "power" button almost had me returning it, would have liked a bit more power for 3d game so i
Model Number: 631560
"I bought this one in the store. DIfference being 500 Gig Hard drive BUT instead of 30 days support, they give 2 years support, by phone (which they encourage) or chat or e-mail.
It's true that the "power on" button needs TLC. WHen I got it out of the box and could not turn it on, I called support (unfortunately not ENVY support but the phone number on the box, which was general support at HP) SHe couldn't help me and I was almost out the door returning it til I pressed it for 30 seconds and then again and it finally came to life. This DOES need fixing!.
Now the good stuff. The sound is superior. The backlit keyboard has a proximity sensor which turns on the lights when you are near, and off if you walk away. The Streaming capability of the I7 second gen with only a 1 Gig Video card is superior to my Dxxx 3 Gig video card with an I7 first gen processor (both going from 2.2 to 3.1 Ghz). The streaming never varied from full bars, while the Dxxx, XPS L7 (17 inch) frequently dropped way down on it's clarity of stream. The 1920x1080 screen is flawless and mine shows red when it's red and orange when it's orange. The BEats volume control is a delight. DIgital accuracy with analog control. I am told the BATTERY, WHICH i HARDLY USE, IS NOT REPLACEABLE AND I AM NOT CERTAIN WHAT THAT MEANS WHEN IT NEEDS REPLACING, and for those who use batteries I am told the true length of use is only 4.01 hours as opposed to what they advertise (7). However, The keyboard , does not leak light as does the XPS; it is just the right amount of light (adjustable) and does not keep going off as does the Dxxx XPS 17. , The fan is amazing, I have not heard it yet! ANd the ability to watch a movie outdoors was not impeded by the sun, as it was with the XPS. Of course my Dxxx screen only is 1600 x 920 and is a finger print vacuum, unlike the glass cover on the HP. It is also very light and very stylish and amazingly cool to the touch. It has yet to get even warm especially when I played the 3D game that needed me to eliminate some of the Display features and set it to Full power Mode (I replaced 8 of the 18 features without any degradation). If the power button were easy to turn on, It would be ideal!
"