Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®

Full HD 1080p 2,000,000:1 Contrast Ratio VIZIO Internet Apps w/Built-in WiFi
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 of 14(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Review 1 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Tan Valley, AZ
Date:January 31, 2012

M550SV

Pros: everthing
Cons: wii
Model Number: M550SV
"With this purchase I completed the change to all LED/LCD televisions in the whole house. What an outstanding device, the picture is crystal clear, the rear connections were well thought out and the controls are simple and easy to understand. With a wall mounted configuration, you don't want the cords to stick straight out the back, and this set has them sticking out the side. Thank you Vizio for the keypad on the back of the remote.. what genius!
The Vizio sound bar with wireless sub to completes the setup. Using the optical connection from the TV to the sound bar makes all component stereos and the tons of cables that come with them obsolete.
My only one gripe is a lack of the video input for a Wii. Although, there is an after market Component cable (RGB) that can be purchased. Looking at the HDMI connectors, none of them are made by Nintendo and are all after market with heating issues. Oh well..."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:March 18, 2012

The Perfect TV

Pros: the remote has a querty keypad on the back(!), easy setup, attractive unit looks great on its cabinet, great price with costco sale, concise well-written manual, probably the best picture on the market, free 2 yr. warranty from costco, low power consumption under 100w
Cons: the demo models at costco don't do it justice., after purchase you'll watch too much tv, there are almost too many picture-quality options.
Model Number: M550SV Vizio 55" LED backlit LCD
"I did a lot of research and in-store testing before this purchase. I read every review I could find. I was already leaning towards this unit, and then I read the top consumer magazine -- they gave it their highest rating. They were correct. This TV can't be beat, in price, quality, or ease of setup. With basic cable, you'll get "free" HD without a cable box (it has a QAM tuner for over-the-air and "cleared" cable HD channels). Standard Definition even looks fantastic. Old DVDs look spectacular. I connected my audio to my hi-fi system, and in under 30 minutes, I had a world-class home theater. If you can lift 65 lbs. safely, you can set it up yourself.
I'm an audio-video technician/producer, and I'm a tough customer. It seems a lot of people are prejudiced against Vizio; it's their loss. If you're objective, and go for what matters -- AV quality, this model wins, hands down. I hope this helps with your decision."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:January 29, 2012

Amazing TV

Model Number: M550SV
"I bought this TV about 2 months ago and I love it. The picture is amazing and the color is perfect right out of the box. Super easy set-up and a really good remote with a full qwerty keyboard for using the apps. Sound is good for built in speakers. I bought this in-store and could tell by looking that it had the best picture. It is also crazy thin and light. I spent months researching TVs and I am really glad I chose this one."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:March 2, 2012

Wonderful After Being Replaced

Pros: there is a problem with this model.
Cons: it was immediately replaced.
Model Number: M550SV
"I purchased the Vizio 55" two months ago and took it to the coast and had it taken to the upstairs living area as I was unable to do so myself. Right from the start I had a problem keeping the unit on - it kept turning itself off before I could even finish programming it. After a considerable amount of time and frustration I called Vizio and they said they would replace it but had never heard of my problem before. I checked on the internet and my problem was ubiquitous for this particular model so I was concerned. I would have just returned it to Costco but I could not get it back downstairs myself so I let Vizio replace it which they did quickly and without any problems. I now absolutely love this TV and do highly recommend it and the Vizio people."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma WA
Date:March 19, 2012

Vizio 55" LED model M550SV has issues -turning off

Pros: costco customer service price and shipping
Cons: tv turns itself off every 10 mins, vizio is aware of the problem
Model Number: M550SV
"I wish I had googled the model number before purchasing.
The good: The price is excellent, Costco shipped the tv the same day we ordered it and we received it within 1 week of ordering.
The ugly: After setting up the tv we noticed every 10 minutes it was turning itself off. We called Costco who immediately put us into contact with Vizio.
It took 4 contacts (3 phone calls + 1 online chat) to Vizio to find out that we had to connect the tv to the cable modem and wait for a firmware update that was rolling out. They advised us to turn the tv off and on every 15 minutes to see if the update would install but that it could take any
where from 2 hours to 3 weeks for the update to roll out. We were lucky the firmware update happened after 3 hours.
We hooked the tv back up to the cable and started to watch our shows - 10 minutes later boom the tv shut itself off, then again 10 minutes after that. (we did make sure that the tv timer/sleep mode were all turned off)
From the # of videos posted to google about this tv it is obvious that many of the models are experiencing this same issue. The tv is ging back to Costco tomorrow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:fresno, ca
Date:March 2, 2012

great picture

Pros: great picture
Cons: wifi connection drops from time to time
Model Number: m55osv
"My only compliant is that wifi connection drops from time to time. I recently subscribed to Netflix. Half way through a movie the connection would be lost and then it wouldn't be able to reconnect. I would have to turn the tv off then on for it only to work for a while longer. I remedied the problem with a ethernet cord. Problem solved. Other than that, its the perfect tv."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 23, 2012

Great TV-great pic, great outputs

Pros: tv pic. hdmi outputs along with computer output
Cons: color adjusting to liking
Model Number: M550sv
"Great screen/color output. I will say that you will have to adjust the colors to your likings. Other than that the TV looks great. Love the picture and according to your cable provider some shows literally look 3D.
About the TV shutting off I have no idea what they're talking about. Mine hasn't shut off at all but I will say that when I set my TV up the first thing was connect to the internet and I believe that's where it updated the firmware.
I also read that the firmware needs to be updated on the VIzio in order for that not to happen. But like I said, no problem with that. I would go mad if that happened.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Date:February 2, 2012

Would not Recomend

Pros: very clear picture
Cons: picture blurs with movement
Model Number: M550SV
"Just bought this tv last night, and it will be returned tonight. It does have an amazing picture! It sometimes looks like the person is sitting in my living room with me. But it has ghosting, or it blurs with movement. And it does it alot! Even with blue rays! Or with just watching cable."
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:March 19, 2012

We Really Enjoy This TV

Pros: picture, price, better than expected sound
Cons: none yet
"After about 5 months of looking at 55" TV's, we finally decided to make this TV our choice. We have never owned a Vizio before so I wasn't sure about what to expect from the brand. But so far this TV has exceeded our expectations.
The picture was flawless right out of the box. The setup was very easy. And the speakers are better than we expected. With most LED's the sound will leave something to be desired. But this Vizeo has a little extra room at the bottom for speakers and they produce plenty of sound for our needs.
Besides the picture quality, the price is what makes us happy about the purchase. This TV was about $400 below other brands with similar features. If you want a great TV at a reasonable price, this would be a terrific option."
Review 10 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arcata, CA
Date:February 21, 2012

Face bloom!

Pros: none at this price
Cons: very poor skin-tone display
"This TV works very well with DVD and cartoon-style graphics, but when it comes to showing the human face in HDTV mode, it is really bad.
The fleshtones 'bloom', and detail of human faces is lost.
I wouldn't recommend this TV. I ended up with a LG 55" 3D, and it is FAR FAR BETTER!!!"
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:March 17, 2012

Great TV

Pros: viewing angle, contrast
Cons: internet apps
"I had purchased a 42"LED Vizio TV before New Year. It was a terrible product. The viewing angle was way much less than what Vizio claimed to it be. You only see a shaded if you were looking at the TV from a side. The sound too was unpredictable. You have to have the remote at hand at all times to increase or decrease the volume at any moment.
I returned that one and I got this TV. It has been a huge change. I understand that this is a bigger TV and costs more. But this TV is great in every area. Color, Sound, viewing angle and all.
I am verry happy with it.
"
Review 12 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salinas, CA
Date:March 7, 2012

Love it!

Pros: great price!
Model Number: 888550
"This is my first big screen TV and I absolutly love it! Highly recommended! Very easy to set up. I didn't know much about the Hz quality and what it meant. I was told this was the best, and I think it is. The HD is nothing short of awesome! The colors and the picture all look great. Its a great deal at a great price. I really am fond of Vizio. And they have excellent customer service!"
Review 13 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:March 18, 2012

VIZIO 55" Auto Turn Off is a bad feature

Pros: pretty tv
Cons: turns off all the time
Model Number: M550SV
"Just got this TV yesterday. Set it up...started watching that afternoon and evening. The crazy thing turns itself off continuously. So annoying. If VIZIO's fixes don't work...taking it back to get something else. Not worth the trouble."
Review 14 for VIZIO 55” Class Edge Lit Razor LED™ LCD HDTV with VIZIO Internet Apps®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:March 2, 2012

Great Value

"We have had this TV for a few weeks now and really like it. The picture is great, and the 240hz makes the picture seem real. For the $ it would be hard to find a better tv."