Customer Reviews for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine

70 Built in Stitches, 110 Stitch Functions Includes: Hard Case & Quilting Accessories
Average Customer Rating:
4.629 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 186
(out of 186 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (186 reviews)
5 stars
141
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
176 of 186(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:July 11, 2011

Great features -- poor performance

"I was excited to find this machine -- it has great features and a great price. However, I could not get the thread tension adjusted correctly and the machine would not sew a straight stitch. The stitches on a straight stitch were all slanted to one side. Very disappointed. Sadly, I returned the machine to Costco."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irving TX
Date:May 25, 2011

Costco cuts features for a "cheaper" product

Pros: if left as a brother full product it will b great
Cons: wrong cd no enhancement of product
Model Number: XR-7700 stripped down by Costco
"I love the machine but not what Costco has done to a product to get a lower price. Major needed items are missing. There was a CD but the CD did not cover the product. Other product Items are not available such as the speed threader which could enhance efficiencies in the use of the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011

I took it back

Pros: good deal nice features
Cons: cannot be mounted in a cabinet
"I discovered after I bought this machine that NONE of Brothers sewing machines are made to mount in a sewing cabinet--they are all portables--or table top as the manufacturer describes them. I absolutely didn't want a portable no matter how good of a deal or how many features. I didn't set this one up or even plug it in. I took it back to the warehouse--Costco is great about taking things back. I bought a Kenmore for almost $100 more that can be a portable or with two pins screwed into the bottom of the machine can be attached securely to my cabinet platform. I'm happy."
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:April 23, 2011

A little upset...

Model Number: XR7700
"Well I just got my machine today, and I couldn't wait to get started after reading all these good reviews... Too bad for me the instruction DVD that was sent with my macnine isn't the correct one! They sent me a DVD that isn't for this model. I am totally sad!"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Columbia, MD
Date:July 27, 2010

How loud can I scream?

Pros: the costco price, light weight
Cons: doesn't live up to billing!, lighting in the needle area is very dim
Model Number: XR 9000
"The major selling point for me was the "self-threader" function. Once I was able to find a video online (can't find it again) and the manual/CD photos don't show the thread placement. By the time I get it manually threaded I'm too frustrated to actually use the machine. I'm an experienced sewer with 4 other machines--this is by far the most frustrating."
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:May 11, 2012

Not thrilled with it........

Pros: it's lightweight & portable
Cons: the backward stitch is too slow & makes 3 stitches, light isn't very bright., fastest speed isn't very fast.
Model Number: Brother XL 7700
"Seems to be an okay machine. I like the bobbin threading item. Not so sure about the speed of it as even on fast/high it doesn't go that fast.
Two items I really don't like is when trying to sew in reverse it will only do 3 backward stitches & then stop. It's at an extremely sloooow speed in reverse also.
Another con is the light isn't bright enough to see very well."
Review 7 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 22, 2011

Fair for the price-good beginner machine

"This is a very basic sewing machine that has a good many stitching options. It is lightweight and fairly easy to carry. At this price there are some things that are not included: a thread cutter (while the fabric is still under the presserfoot) This is something that is a great time saver. I did return the machine due to this missing option. Would need to spend a good deal more for it."
Review 8 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 21, 2012

Decent machine for the price

Pros: great price, light weight/too light sometimes
Cons: dim light, no invisible zipper foot, not built as strong b/c it is so lightweight, needle threader is hard to use or pull down
Model Number: Brothers XR7700
"Extremely lightweight - almost feels like it is a toy. Lots of stitches and fairly easy to use. The light is very dim...need an extra light to see the needle.Also it has blueish light which makes it hard to see. Hard to find bobbins for this machine - can not use universal size. Wish it came with an invisible zipper foot because you can not use the plastic invisible zipper foot that you can purchase for the local fabric store. The shank does not fit properly. The needle threader is too cluttered to use easily even tho I did manage to get it working once in a while.
It is not as sturdy as my 35+years Kenmore which still works except for the buttonhole feature. The case is not a case...cheap cover.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Geneva, IL
Date:May 3, 2012

Good value

Model Number: XR7700
"I bought this as a back-up to my expensive Pfaff because it recently stopped working when I had an order due. I didn't want to be stranded again... and sure enough, the Pfaff went out again just as I was finishing another order. This machine is far louder and not quite as adjustable, but it is incredible for the price. It's easy to use, the bobbin is far simpler, and it feeds even fine silks pretty well. I'm please that I got it!"
Review 10 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:April 28, 2012

Brother XR7700 Sewing Machine

Model Number: XR7700
"This machine is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to thread! Just learning how to operate and may get over this problem, but would not have purchased it if I had known how hard it is to thread."
Review 11 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2011

was there a mix up

"WE HAVE NOT RECIEVED A VALID OPS MANUEL OR DVD FOR THIS PARTICULAR MACHINE IS THERE ONE AVAILABLE OR DO WE HAVE TO DO A CROSS REFERANCE"
Review 12 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern Calif
Date:April 22, 2011

Unknown value

Pros: excellent price
Cons: threader is impossible to use
Model Number: XR 7700
"I was very pleased with the rapid delivery and the price is excellent. However, the DVD that came with the machine does not apply to this machine. I am unable to get the needle threader to work and I cannot see to thread the machine. Therefore, I cannot get it to work and plan to return the machine."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:las vegas nv
Date:June 30, 2012

what a change!

Pros: comes with a cover case., built in buttonholer bobbin threader
Model Number: XR7700
"I had a sewing machine for about 40 years, then it died. My husband bought me a Janome but it was just like my old one, very basic and without a lot of things I wanted to try. So I sold it and used the money to buy this machine.
So far, I like it , but it's really different. It's definitely easier to thread. I guess all new machines are plastic, unlike the good old days when they were sturdy and metal. I guess we all have to accept that.
I can't wait to try some more things on this.
"
Review 14 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:June 30, 2012

Good product, easy to use

Pros: lightweight, easy to use, name brand dependability, great selection of stitch choices
Cons: led display is very dark
Model Number: XR7700
"This is a great, basic machines, very easy to operate and does well for the novice sewer. The one major drawback I have is the LED stitch display is EXTREMELY dark and the info can not be seen if your lightng is not at its best. I tend to do my sewing during the early morning to mid day so it is not too much of a problem, however, when I attempted to do a quick fix on a project I had to use a flashlight to see the display. My last machine was a singer that was well over 20 years old so the computerized version of the Brother machine was a very welcomed "move up". I would recommend the machine if you are not going to be doing any heavy duty jobs. An added plus is it is lightweight and small. Concerning the "hard case", that is a bit misleading as the case simply slides over the machine, it does not lock into place (it's like a slipcover)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas tx
Date:May 25, 2012

Nice sewing machine

Pros: easy drop in bobbin, easy stitch selection, table is very handy
Cons: case is not a carry case
Model Number: XR7700
"This sewing machine is much easier to use than my old one. The LCD display makes picking the type of stitch easy. The drop in bobbin is so much easier than the previous mechanical sewing machine I had. Threading was not hard. The table is really handy for sewing drapes. The hard case is more of a cover, it isn't a carrying case. Very satisfied so far with the ease of use of this sewing machine."
Review 16 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 7, 2012

Great Sewing Maching

Model Number: XR7700
"This machine is easy to use, light weight, and fun."
Review 17 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:LI, NY
Date:April 23, 2012

Terriffic little machine

Pros: many useful stitch functions
Cons: poor lighting
"Amazing all the things this little machine can do. My one real problem is that I had to add a separate worklight because the built-in light is very weak."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2012

Cheap and Good

Pros: has a lot of features, comes with a lot of specialty feet, easy to use and easy threader
Cons: cannot adjust presser foot pressure
Model Number: XR7700
"I really like this sewing machine. I've now had it for a little over a year and it still works great. I clean it every once in a while with the canister air duster. Yes, it does make a whiny high pitch noise when you sew fast, but really - it's not an expensive machine and if you have kids you just ignore it. It does great through several layers. I love the stitch functions and the different feet that come with the machine. I've used over half of them already. The self threader is great, you just have to make sure that you press the lever all the way down so that the prongs are completely inserted into the eye of the needle. I have yet to use the twin needles, but the stretch stitch is great with knits. My only complaint is that the presser foot does not adjust, so when you need a bit thicker material or layers to go through you have to manually lift the presser foot lever a bit to get it through."
Review 19 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2011

nice machine

Pros: very lightweight easy to handle
Cons: wish it had a straight single seam presser foot
Model Number: XR7700
"The new electronic machines do have a learning curve to them but they are an improvement over the older models."
Review 20 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 22, 2011

Lots of good features

Pros: great stitches, easy to use
Cons: moves around while sewing at high speed
Model Number: XR7700
"I have owned Vikings for 52 years and must say that this Brother does a very good job in almost all categories. I just finished a little girls dress, and the arm was a little too wide to put the sleeve through, but I also did not try it on my Viking even though it is more narrow.
Its light weight is great for lifting to my work table, but it is also so light that it moves around when sewing at high speed.
On the other hand, the 3 speeds are wonderful, especially for my sewing students who have control issues.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>