Customer Reviews for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine

70 Built in Stitches, 110 Stitch Functions Includes: Hard Case & Quilting Accessories
Average Customer Rating:
4.629 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 186
(out of 186 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (186 reviews)
5 stars
141
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
176 of 186(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irving TX
Date:May 25, 2011

Costco cuts features for a "cheaper" product

Pros: if left as a brother full product it will b great
Cons: wrong cd no enhancement of product
Model Number: XR-7700 stripped down by Costco
"I love the machine but not what Costco has done to a product to get a lower price. Major needed items are missing. There was a CD but the CD did not cover the product. Other product Items are not available such as the speed threader which could enhance efficiencies in the use of the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Columbia, MD
Date:July 27, 2010

How loud can I scream?

Pros: the costco price, light weight
Cons: doesn't live up to billing!, lighting in the needle area is very dim
Model Number: XR 9000
"The major selling point for me was the "self-threader" function. Once I was able to find a video online (can't find it again) and the manual/CD photos don't show the thread placement. By the time I get it manually threaded I'm too frustrated to actually use the machine. I'm an experienced sewer with 4 other machines--this is by far the most frustrating."
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:April 23, 2011

A little upset...

Model Number: XR7700
"Well I just got my machine today, and I couldn't wait to get started after reading all these good reviews... Too bad for me the instruction DVD that was sent with my macnine isn't the correct one! They sent me a DVD that isn't for this model. I am totally sad!"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011

I took it back

Pros: good deal nice features
Cons: cannot be mounted in a cabinet
"I discovered after I bought this machine that NONE of Brothers sewing machines are made to mount in a sewing cabinet--they are all portables--or table top as the manufacturer describes them. I absolutely didn't want a portable no matter how good of a deal or how many features. I didn't set this one up or even plug it in. I took it back to the warehouse--Costco is great about taking things back. I bought a Kenmore for almost $100 more that can be a portable or with two pins screwed into the bottom of the machine can be attached securely to my cabinet platform. I'm happy."
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:July 11, 2011

Great features -- poor performance

"I was excited to find this machine -- it has great features and a great price. However, I could not get the thread tension adjusted correctly and the machine would not sew a straight stitch. The stitches on a straight stitch were all slanted to one side. Very disappointed. Sadly, I returned the machine to Costco."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:May 11, 2012

Not thrilled with it........

Pros: it's lightweight & portable
Cons: the backward stitch is too slow & makes 3 stitches, light isn't very bright., fastest speed isn't very fast.
Model Number: Brother XL 7700
"Seems to be an okay machine. I like the bobbin threading item. Not so sure about the speed of it as even on fast/high it doesn't go that fast.
Two items I really don't like is when trying to sew in reverse it will only do 3 backward stitches & then stop. It's at an extremely sloooow speed in reverse also.
Another con is the light isn't bright enough to see very well."
Review 7 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 22, 2011

Fair for the price-good beginner machine

"This is a very basic sewing machine that has a good many stitching options. It is lightweight and fairly easy to carry. At this price there are some things that are not included: a thread cutter (while the fabric is still under the presserfoot) This is something that is a great time saver. I did return the machine due to this missing option. Would need to spend a good deal more for it."
Review 8 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:April 28, 2012

Brother XR7700 Sewing Machine

Model Number: XR7700
"This machine is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to thread! Just learning how to operate and may get over this problem, but would not have purchased it if I had known how hard it is to thread."
Review 9 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern Calif
Date:April 22, 2011

Unknown value

Pros: excellent price
Cons: threader is impossible to use
Model Number: XR 7700
"I was very pleased with the rapid delivery and the price is excellent. However, the DVD that came with the machine does not apply to this machine. I am unable to get the needle threader to work and I cannot see to thread the machine. Therefore, I cannot get it to work and plan to return the machine."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2011

was there a mix up

"WE HAVE NOT RECIEVED A VALID OPS MANUEL OR DVD FOR THIS PARTICULAR MACHINE IS THERE ONE AVAILABLE OR DO WE HAVE TO DO A CROSS REFERANCE"
Review 11 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Geneva, IL
Date:May 3, 2012

Good value

Model Number: XR7700
"I bought this as a back-up to my expensive Pfaff because it recently stopped working when I had an order due. I didn't want to be stranded again... and sure enough, the Pfaff went out again just as I was finishing another order. This machine is far louder and not quite as adjustable, but it is incredible for the price. It's easy to use, the bobbin is far simpler, and it feeds even fine silks pretty well. I'm please that I got it!"
Review 12 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 21, 2012

Decent machine for the price

Pros: great price, light weight/too light sometimes
Cons: dim light, no invisible zipper foot, not built as strong b/c it is so lightweight, needle threader is hard to use or pull down
Model Number: Brothers XR7700
"Extremely lightweight - almost feels like it is a toy. Lots of stitches and fairly easy to use. The light is very dim...need an extra light to see the needle.Also it has blueish light which makes it hard to see. Hard to find bobbins for this machine - can not use universal size. Wish it came with an invisible zipper foot because you can not use the plastic invisible zipper foot that you can purchase for the local fabric store. The shank does not fit properly. The needle threader is too cluttered to use easily even tho I did manage to get it working once in a while.
It is not as sturdy as my 35+years Kenmore which still works except for the buttonhole feature. The case is not a case...cheap cover.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:May 18, 2010

Three Is A Charm

Model Number: XR-7700
"Well, the first sewing machine worked very well up until the bobbin jammed and the stitching was then messed up and the motor began to run loudly.
The second (replacement) arrived and the threader was broken (before I even had a chance to work with it).
I plan on buying a third (because 3 is a charm, right?). My hope is that it will work beautifully. Because this is a really nice machine. At least it was when it first worked.
Yes - I would recommend it for the price. It is very lightweight (easy to move around). A quiet machine normally.
Keeping my fingers crossed for the replacement."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, California
Date:August 2, 2010

Hardcore Sewing Chick!

Pros: easy set up, fast delivery, quite, multiple functions
Cons: the light is not bright enough, one side of the zippler head was made poorly, broke and bent a lot of needles
Model Number: XR7700
"To my surprise I received this fabulous machine within 24 Hours of ordering! I am usually in a panic mode when I am sewing because I always have a fast approaching deadline. The set up was fast and easy. My only two concerns were the zipper foot and the number of needles I broke. I have to request a new zipper foot because the needle always hits one side of the zipper foot. However, I am hardcore so I managed to complete my project using one side of the zipper foot. My second concern is the number of needles I broke. I usually sew for the home and often work with heavy duty fabrics such as denims, fabrics for slip covers and curtains. Overall the machine is impressive and met my needs with little frustration :-)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:June 6, 2010

impressive machine

Model Number: XR-7700
"it comes with so many extras. it was easy to set up and start sewing. it is very quiet. my only problem, is the amount of space between the presser plate and the presser foot area, i could us a little more room. i have trouble getting my fingers in there and being able to move them, like when trying to pull up the bobbin thread. the needle threader was easy, too. this is a fun machine. i had bought a janome, 6 months ago, based on ratings. it cost more and wasn't as nice as this machine. i gave it to my granddaughter."
Review 16 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Clear Creek, AZ
Date:November 23, 2010

Excellent if you know its limitations

Cons: does not handle thick or tightly woven fabric well
Model Number: XR 7700
"I have used this machine frequently for a year and a half, primarily for piecing quilts, quilting, and also sewing with light to medum-weight fabrics. I have not sewn stretch fabrics on it.
I agree with all of the positives listed by other reviewers. It handles beautifully. The several varieties of well-designed presser feet and plenty of needle plate markings combine to help you accomplish very precise stitching - and a couple of settings for the needle (centered and offset) help accuracy even further.
If you've never had a computerized machine (this is my first in 37 years of sewing) you'll find it intuitive, and the manual walks you through everything (good enough for beginning sewers), with extensive charts for recommended fabric-needle-presser foot-stitch combinations, and also a fabric type/thread weight table.
I love the option to set a "speed limit" to insure I don't accidentally press the pedal too hard when doing super-careful stitching.
A couple of notes: the needle-down feature, which I never had before, helps with accuracy, but take into consideration that it takes an extra stitch to do it.
I have found that I need to clean lint out of the bobbin case and area more frequently than in my older machines - it seems to be more sensitive to an accumulation of lint and small bits of thread, affecting tension.
I agree with another reviewer that the zipper foot isn't as good as it could be; you might consider getting a better one from a sewing supply store.
Yes, I agee the light is not as bright as it should be.
I disagree with other reviewers who said they sewed heavy fabrics. I have tried heavy-weight denim, tightly woven medium weight fabrics, and medium weight corduroy. The machine jammed with each, and made horrible noises which made me think I had broken my wonderful machine. (I tried #14, #16, and denim needles, all with the same result.) This is why I didn't give the machine a 5-Star rating.
I had given my 20-year-old Singer, which easily went through layers of denim, to my son and his wife, so now I am looking for a machine which will handle thick or dense fabrics. But I will happily keep sewing my quilts and other projects on my Brother XR-7700."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 11, 2011

So far so good!

Model Number: XR-7700
"So far so good! after purchasing 2 other machines & taking them back I saw this one on-line & deciding to take another stab at it!. Took about 1/2 to set up & I was sewing!... so easy peasy even my husband tried it! Really he did!... I have only used it so far for simple sewing, so I did not give 5 stars since I still have to test it out. Oh- by the way it does go through Denim ! Big Plus!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stevensville, MT
Date:November 15, 2011

So Easy to use

Pros: easy to operate
Model Number: XR7700
"I purchased this machine for my daughter who is a wonderful seamstress doing many quilted projects. She is having a great time with the machine and she and her mother in law are impressed with how user friendly it is."
Review 19 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 3, 2010

An excellent machine

Model Number: XR7700
"This machine is such an excellent product. It sews such neat stitches. What I really noticed about it was the way the attachments feel in my hands. They are such amazing quality. The different sewing foot attachments are so easy to install. Much of the machine attachments are real metal, very few are plastic. My granddaughter and I made her a Halloween costume. We learned to use it together. She liked it so much that she now loves to sew. Before this machine, others went too fast and made her nervous. This one has a presser foot speed setting, plus many more features that are amazing. So...I bought another one for her next birthday, which is in a few days. Thank you Costco for carrying this fine machine, and at a very reasonable price for all its features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® Computerized XR7700 Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2011

Good bang for your buck

Pros: lots of features easy to use seems sturdy so far
Cons: i wish it had a real carrying case- not just a cov
"So far this machine has been a great deal. Lots of neat features, easy to use. It's trekked through a few baby projects with no issues already, some with multiple layers. I would highly recommend this machine."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>