Customer Reviews for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System

TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System

TV Ears Digital has helped millions of people with hearing loss hear television clearly without turning up the television volume! With TV Ears wireless technology, you set your own TV Ears headset volume while others set the volume of the television or even mute the volume of the TV altogether. Imagine watching television with your family and hearing every word clearly again. As thousands of our customers have said, “TV Ears has changed our lives!” TV Ears Digital is equipped with an easy to use on/off volume dial, tone dial, balance dial, patented self molding foam ear tips, rechargeable battery, and headset expansion jacks. It can produce sounds at up to 120 dB of power and is compatible with analog and digital connectivity. It is manufactured and assembled in America. Doctors and audiologists nationwide recommend TV Ears Digital because they know it is the only solution that has proven to solve the common problem of not being able to hear and understand television dialog. The doctors and audiologists also know that all TV Ears products are backed by a company that provides unparalleled service to their patients. The wireless headset weighs only 2 oz and is designed to rest under the chin so it won’t mess up your hair, get hot or uncomfortable and will stay on when lying down. The patented TV Ears Tips self-mold with the ear reducing background noise and providing unparalleled comfort and cleanliness. Voice Clarifying Circuitry™ is a proprietary technology contained in every TV Ears product. Our Voice Clarifying Circuitry™ automatically manipulates the audio curve to increase the clarity of television dialog and decrease the volume of background sounds such as music and sound effects. The words seem to jump out of the sound track, making even whispers and accents understandable. Speed of Light Transmission - TV Ears Digital transmits sound at the speed of light with its 95 thousand hertz per second infrared technology. This assures lag free, interference free, voice clarified television audio. Unlike other wireless TV headset technologies, such as radio frequency and Bluetooth, the TV Ears 95 KHz infrared transmission technology is completely safe. It will not interfere with your wireless telephone and can be digitized and manipulated to deliver our proprietary Voice Clarifying Circuitry™, which results in crystal clear television dialogue. Expansion jacks allow you to plug the headset into your favorite electronic devices such as your computer, telephone and iPod®. The optional Amplification Kit comes with a phone cord, a music cord, a voice cord and a TV cord. This Amplification Kit expands the usefulness of the headset far beyond just television use.    Features:   Connects to any television set   Proprietary Voice Clarification Technology   Speed of Light Transmission   5-Year Manufacturer Limited Warranty   Made in America Includes (2x):   TV Ears Digital Headset   Digital Transmitter   Optical Audio Cord   Analog Audio Cord   AIK (Alternative Installation Kit)   AC Adapter Model: 11241
Average Customer Rating:
3.18 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
14
30 of 50(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Review 1 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert, CA
Date:March 11, 2013

The best TV Ears yet

Pros: sound clarity and tone adjustability
Cons: stiff ear piece arms
Model Number: Digital system
"I have worn hearing aids for 45 years and have only been able to truly enjoy TV since buying my original TV Ears. The latest digital version is the best yet for clarity and versatility. The alternate installation kit allows me to use the TV Ears in my motor home where access to the audio port on the TV is not readily accessible. I have recommended TV ears to several friends who have purchased units and are pleased with performance (and may have saved their marriages). The ear piece arms are stiffer than earlier version which makes them uncomfortable to use for a long period of time. I remedied this by heating the arms with a hair drier and gently bending the arms to relieve the tension."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gulfpory, MS
Date:March 11, 2013

TV Ears are for me

Pros: nice sound with seperate gain and balance
Cons: bright white like when in charging stand
"Great product and works fine after two weeks of every evening use. Could do away with the bright white light when placed in the charging mode"
Review 3 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:February 18, 2013

Great for the Hard of Hearing

Pros: easy to use and hook up
Cons: the tug on the ears after wearing a while
Model Number: 11241
"I purchased these 'Ears' for my Mother and they are a life saver for my own hearing! Now she can watch TV and does not blast me out of the room."
Review 4 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:gardena ca
Date:January 30, 2013

great product

Pros: you can hear the the conversations on tv
Cons: cost
"it work out so well for me that a second one was purchased"
Review 5 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Downers Grove, Illinois
Date:January 22, 2013

Disappointment

Pros: the volume is adjustable and works great.
Cons: older people will find the ears uncomfortable.
Model Number: 3.0 digital & TV ears digital
"The TV ears works as advertised, however we purchased two different TV ears from Costco which had different problems. The TV ears purchased online did not fit securely on the charger. The charging light would go out without touching the ears due to any movement or vibration. When fully charged they worked as advertised, but the pressure in the ears is not comfortable. The TV ears purchased in the store lock in the charger better, but there is more pressure in the ears. There is no adjustment for length of the arms or pressure. They should make them like the airline pilots use instead of the ear buds."
Review 6 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:January 5, 2013

Only lasted one year

Pros: they worked well for one year
Cons: they stopped working in one year, warranty only 90 days.
Model Number: Part # 10341/TV Ears
"While the TV ears worked well while they worked, I purchased two sets one year apart and the base station for both stopped working after about one year. The transmitting LEDs stopped lighting up. Customer service never answered my email request for help."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hampshire, Illinois
Date:December 27, 2012

TV ears

"I have gone through 4 TV EARS sets and all have broken off at the base. Each time Costco accepted the return. They will not last longer than one year. Costco stopped handling the line in their stores, but still have them on line. Looks like they made some changes and have a stronger base according to a spokesman from their company. ALSO INCREASED THE PRICE. i WAS IN THE ELECTRONIC business for 35 years . The idea of the TV EARS is a good one. They just don't have the quality built into the product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 28, 2012

Good to start but issues

Pros: good quality for about a year
Cons: overall a bad product due to soldered batteries, system should use triple aaa or c032 batteries
"We not only bought one of these but two so my wife and I would each have our own. For the first 8-10 months we found them fairly decent as long as we had the right angle to the tv. The problem is the part with the batteries...they are soldered in and the batteries fail after about a year. You have to spend a small forture to replace them....we did not check into the warranty but I will call when home next week and if they refuse will return to Costco. Costco gets a 5 with their return policy. You may not have your receipt but they can find in the system and as long as it does not fall into a specific return policy period you will always be pleased with them. I have been with them since they were Price Club and other than allowing those in that really don't meet the qualifications to join but have state issued food stamp cards I am 100 percent pleased. The food stamp folks trash the place ...they don't care about what they open or where they dump it and even the employees are upset as they spend an average of 2 hours a day having to clean these messes up. So Costco keep up the good work."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2012

Not worth the money, at all.

"For the price of this product I expected it to be much better than it is. I watch TV in bed and when using these headphone it only takes a thin sheet over the receiver to cause the signal to be lost. It basically needs a perfectly unobstructed line of site between the transmitter and the receiver/headset. You also can't lay on your side with these because the ear piece feels like it will stab into your brain. Also, the foam pieces on the ear phones come off way too easily but somehow it is nearly impossible to put the new foam pieces on. This is a very ill thought product and there vastly superior products out there for less than half the price of this.
This is my first review ever and I make it because I dislike this product so much."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rochester Hills, MI
Date:November 17, 2012

Good listening, Poor construction and Warranty

Pros: reproduction of sound worked well for me
Cons: very fragile broke easily warranty costly to use
Model Number: packaging discarded
"Have had two sets (not including the one that broke immediately and was returned) and was satisfied with the listening experience. However, both became inoperable 12-16 months after purchase. The warranty was just to expensive to exercise for the time in use before breaking. Very expensive for the use I got out of them before breaking."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton. MI
Date:November 9, 2012

Love my TV Ears

Pros: this product was very easy to connect to our tv., recommended by my ent doctor, voice clarifying circuitry really works well.
Cons: not in warehouse-ordered on line-slow to obtain, headset seems a little fragile
Model Number: TV Ears Digital Sound Amplifier System-
"After a significant sudden hearing loss from a gun shot a very close range TV Ears has made it possible for me to listen to the TV once again and be able to comprehend all the dialogue. I was having trouble with word recognition due to the hearing loss and needed more than just amplification, TV ears has completely solved that problem."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 29, 2012

Works as advertised

Pros: clarity and volume is great.
Cons: see little effect from the tone control.
"Much clearer than my HD LCD TV's built-in sound. Headset looks fragile but has held together for the week that I've had it."
Review 13 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northville, MI
Date:October 29, 2012

Didn't suit our TV

"We followed the instruction but it didn't work with our Philips TV."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale
Date:October 25, 2012

Junk

Pros: none
Cons: does not work with sony tvs
Model Number: Digital
"This is the second attempt. I tried the older TV Ears and found it unsatisfactory.
Did not work just aplified the fuzzy sound. I tried the new digital system for $179. I found it does not work with my TV unless I turn off the external speakers. Am is supposed to share the headset with my wife? The TV is a late model Sony. One would think the creaters of TVEars if they wanted to make a quality product would make it compatible with all popular TVs
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:September 22, 2012

Refused to honor TV Ears "Lifetime Guarantee"

Cons: refused to honor tv ears original guarantee
Model Number: TV EARS system
"My Costco-purchased TV Ears came with a "Lifetime Service Guarantee" that states, in writing, the following: "For $69 each, we will give you a new TV Ears system in exchange for your old TV Ears system as often as you need for as long as you own the product," pretty straight-forward English to my reading of this language. A supervisor, Alison, simply told me that "we don't honor that guarantee anymore," when I called to take advantage of the guaranteed exchange offer, "no matter what the TV Ears guarantee says."
Costco graciously agreed with my interpretation of the written TV Ears guarantee and I returned my TV Ears system. An "F" for TV Ears, an "A" for Costco.
"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Henderson, Nevada
Date:September 20, 2012

Convenient, doesn't mess up my hair-do.

Pros: light compact and sound is good.
Cons: they break too quickly - every ear set has, broken from the middle volume controller, we have taped and used rubber bands to hold, them together. they are expensive to replace.
Model Number: Don't know - it's the 2.3 mg
"We have purchased at least 3 sets of TV ears and appreciated having them so we could hear our TV shows when other family members were sleeping. My husband is very hard of hearing so they are excellent advantage for him."
Review 17 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fayetteville, Ga
Date:September 20, 2012

$49.994 vs $149.99

"I bought the digital TV EARS on 4/15/15. Before I bought these I had the old style that Costco sold in the store for $49.95. I was completely satisfied with these and even bought several pairs for relatives I even recommended to friends. I originally bought 2 pairs so that one would always be on the charger.
Now the disappointing part.
The 2 pair original 49.95 pair only lasted about 8 months, and then they began falling apart. Until then I had no complaints. The plastic part of the earpiece on the outside fell off. The stem that goes between the battery and the ear piece broke where it joins the battery Bear I mind that each head set was only used ½ of the time Therefor one could argue that each one only lasted 4 months. I was very careful when I handled them. I contacted TV Ears and they offered send me a new pair for around $50.00. I don’t remember the exact amount. Read the 5year guarantee, it’s a joke. The structure is only guaranteed 180 days My 2 pair together lasted 8 months. Therefore they were out of the warranty period. TV EARS don’t believe the mechanical parts will even last a year.
Comparisons between the old $50.00 ears and the new $179.95 Digital TV EARS.(Plus tax)
OLD $50.00 Pair NEW $179.99 Pair
Dead quite when TV off. Crackling sound with no input, even if you disconnect all of the inputs to the TV EARS
Dead quit when you turn on florescent light. Have to remove ears until light warms up because of buzzing.
If you leave the room they are dead quite. Noisy when you leave the room.
Ears flimsily built. Stems are brittle Better built. Stems are bigger.
No buzzing sound when using TV remote. Buzzing sound each time TV remote buttons is pressed.
In My opinion the $50.00 ears sound better than the $179.99 Digital ( Even with the optical connection) The Digital Ears are just plain noisy. I guess that there are too many devices on or about the same frequency. If the receiver/headset were truly digital, this would not be an issue. If the old TV EARS were as well constructed I would not hesitate to purchase them again. I have not found anything more comfortable"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2012

DO NOT BUY - JUNK

Pros: none
Cons: do not last poorly designed uncomfortable
"Bought a pair of these a couple years ago - only lasted about six months before all I got was static and quit working. Not comfortable, and had to be in direct line with the transmitter to work. Can't believe what they charge for these things and that Costco would even carry them"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:September 19, 2012

Basically does the job

Pros: plenty loud good value
Cons: lacks depth quality
"If your looking for high quality or for that matter any quality of sound these are not the answer. For the money they work fine. It does seem to make background noise quieter so you hear the dialogue better. If your sensitive the foam ear tips can be a bit scratchy so I plan to try the silicone ear tips, and the headset in general is a little heavy. The longer you use it the heavier it feels. I switch it from always hanging below to putting the battery portion up above my head and since I lean against the back of a recliner it stays put just fine. For me, they work well enough. I just listen to them at night for couple hours at most each time, when I don't want to disturb my sleeping husband. I found same brand for much less $ at another small, nationwide retailer, though I'm not sure it's the exact same model it is the same package as Costco sells. (R_d_o Sh__K) I will probably buy a better more expensive brand like sennheiser eventually because my family will want me to enjoy movies they are watching but not at the decibel level I need to understand dialogue. For now I'm keeping these."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2012

Worst Ever

Cons: hurt ears, poor installation manual, static
Model Number: tv ears digital
"Got these today. Installed (several attempts at optical installation but if you have cable, forget it). Horrible. Static, hurts ears (weight), sound cannot be muted on tv if you have it hooked up through something other than tv...."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>