Customer Reviews for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System

TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System

TV Ears Digital has helped millions of people with hearing loss hear television clearly without turning up the television volume! With TV Ears wireless technology, you set your own TV Ears headset volume while others set the volume of the television or even mute the volume of the TV altogether. Imagine watching television with your family and hearing every word clearly again. As thousands of our customers have said, “TV Ears has changed our lives!” TV Ears Digital is equipped with an easy to use on/off volume dial, tone dial, balance dial, patented self molding foam ear tips, rechargeable battery, and headset expansion jacks. It can produce sounds at up to 120 dB of power and is compatible with analog and digital connectivity. It is manufactured and assembled in America. Doctors and audiologists nationwide recommend TV Ears Digital because they know it is the only solution that has proven to solve the common problem of not being able to hear and understand television dialog. The doctors and audiologists also know that all TV Ears products are backed by a company that provides unparalleled service to their patients. The wireless headset weighs only 2 oz and is designed to rest under the chin so it won’t mess up your hair, get hot or uncomfortable and will stay on when lying down. The patented TV Ears Tips self-mold with the ear reducing background noise and providing unparalleled comfort and cleanliness. Voice Clarifying Circuitry™ is a proprietary technology contained in every TV Ears product. Our Voice Clarifying Circuitry™ automatically manipulates the audio curve to increase the clarity of television dialog and decrease the volume of background sounds such as music and sound effects. The words seem to jump out of the sound track, making even whispers and accents understandable. Speed of Light Transmission - TV Ears Digital transmits sound at the speed of light with its 95 thousand hertz per second infrared technology. This assures lag free, interference free, voice clarified television audio. Unlike other wireless TV headset technologies, such as radio frequency and Bluetooth, the TV Ears 95 KHz infrared transmission technology is completely safe. It will not interfere with your wireless telephone and can be digitized and manipulated to deliver our proprietary Voice Clarifying Circuitry™, which results in crystal clear television dialogue. Expansion jacks allow you to plug the headset into your favorite electronic devices such as your computer, telephone and iPod®. The optional Amplification Kit comes with a phone cord, a music cord, a voice cord and a TV cord. This Amplification Kit expands the usefulness of the headset far beyond just television use.    Features:   Connects to any television set   Proprietary Voice Clarification Technology   Speed of Light Transmission   5-Year Manufacturer Limited Warranty   Made in America Includes (2x):   TV Ears Digital Headset   Digital Transmitter   Optical Audio Cord   Analog Audio Cord   AIK (Alternative Installation Kit)   AC Adapter Model: 11241
Average Customer Rating:
3.18 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
14
30 of 50(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Review 1 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:June 13, 2012

Expensive Investment

Pros: works well once installed
Cons: too difficult to install, instructions vague with little on-line help
"This product needs a big " buyer beware" label. We have a home theater system. The instructions are very vague, even after you go on their website. The optical connector didn't fit our Optical TV outlet. We had to hire a sound system installer to get it to work properly. This added considerably to the cost.They don't tell you that it won't work with Dolby Digital, so we had to disable this feature, which diminishes the sound from our system, I.e., the person not using the TV Ears has diminished sound quality. I would only recommend this product if you have a simple connection to the TV with no other external audio equipment. Having said this, now that it is installed, my husband is happy with it. If you can afford the technical expertise required to appropriately install the system, it works fine. The infa-red line of sight is quite forgiving, so placement of the "Ears" is very flexible. If we had it to do over, we would have purchased a different product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:September 19, 2012

Basically does the job

Pros: plenty loud good value
Cons: lacks depth quality
"If your looking for high quality or for that matter any quality of sound these are not the answer. For the money they work fine. It does seem to make background noise quieter so you hear the dialogue better. If your sensitive the foam ear tips can be a bit scratchy so I plan to try the silicone ear tips, and the headset in general is a little heavy. The longer you use it the heavier it feels. I switch it from always hanging below to putting the battery portion up above my head and since I lean against the back of a recliner it stays put just fine. For me, they work well enough. I just listen to them at night for couple hours at most each time, when I don't want to disturb my sleeping husband. I found same brand for much less $ at another small, nationwide retailer, though I'm not sure it's the exact same model it is the same package as Costco sells. (R_d_o Sh__K) I will probably buy a better more expensive brand like sennheiser eventually because my family will want me to enjoy movies they are watching but not at the decibel level I need to understand dialogue. For now I'm keeping these."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:September 22, 2012

Refused to honor TV Ears "Lifetime Guarantee"

Cons: refused to honor tv ears original guarantee
Model Number: TV EARS system
"My Costco-purchased TV Ears came with a "Lifetime Service Guarantee" that states, in writing, the following: "For $69 each, we will give you a new TV Ears system in exchange for your old TV Ears system as often as you need for as long as you own the product," pretty straight-forward English to my reading of this language. A supervisor, Alison, simply told me that "we don't honor that guarantee anymore," when I called to take advantage of the guaranteed exchange offer, "no matter what the TV Ears guarantee says."
Costco graciously agreed with my interpretation of the written TV Ears guarantee and I returned my TV Ears system. An "F" for TV Ears, an "A" for Costco.
"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Aurora Colorado
Date:February 18, 2012

TV Ears Pro Model

Model Number: Pro
"Have been using TV Ears since they came on the market. Each new model has been an improvement over the last.
My only complaint is the foam tends to irrate the ear. Am going to try the new silicone tip."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton. MI
Date:November 9, 2012

Love my TV Ears

Pros: this product was very easy to connect to our tv., recommended by my ent doctor, voice clarifying circuitry really works well.
Cons: not in warehouse-ordered on line-slow to obtain, headset seems a little fragile
Model Number: TV Ears Digital Sound Amplifier System-
"After a significant sudden hearing loss from a gun shot a very close range TV Ears has made it possible for me to listen to the TV once again and be able to comprehend all the dialogue. I was having trouble with word recognition due to the hearing loss and needed more than just amplification, TV ears has completely solved that problem."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 28, 2012

Good to start but issues

Pros: good quality for about a year
Cons: overall a bad product due to soldered batteries, system should use triple aaa or c032 batteries
"We not only bought one of these but two so my wife and I would each have our own. For the first 8-10 months we found them fairly decent as long as we had the right angle to the tv. The problem is the part with the batteries...they are soldered in and the batteries fail after about a year. You have to spend a small forture to replace them....we did not check into the warranty but I will call when home next week and if they refuse will return to Costco. Costco gets a 5 with their return policy. You may not have your receipt but they can find in the system and as long as it does not fall into a specific return policy period you will always be pleased with them. I have been with them since they were Price Club and other than allowing those in that really don't meet the qualifications to join but have state issued food stamp cards I am 100 percent pleased. The food stamp folks trash the place ...they don't care about what they open or where they dump it and even the employees are upset as they spend an average of 2 hours a day having to clean these messes up. So Costco keep up the good work."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2012

Undependable and costly

"After purchasing 4 seperate TV ears over the last couple of years, they all stopped working or taking a charge. Buying the newer model did not help since the wiring and the modules do not interact with each other. I wish they had a competitor for the hard of hearing."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hampshire, Illinois
Date:December 27, 2012

TV ears

"I have gone through 4 TV EARS sets and all have broken off at the base. Each time Costco accepted the return. They will not last longer than one year. Costco stopped handling the line in their stores, but still have them on line. Looks like they made some changes and have a stronger base according to a spokesman from their company. ALSO INCREASED THE PRICE. i WAS IN THE ELECTRONIC business for 35 years . The idea of the TV EARS is a good one. They just don't have the quality built into the product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:February 29, 2012

Harmony Restored

Pros: works like a charm
"Three adults between ages 50 - 85 sharing one living room. TV Ears has saved our sanity. Our TV can be set at a reasonable level as our oldest member can now hear everything oh-so-clearly. TV Ears amplifies dialogue, not music or sound effects, just as advertised. She can even listen with TV Ears while the set is on mute, so the rest of us can carry on a conversation or read in peace. Great purchase for us. Easy to install by non-techie persons."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert, CA
Date:March 11, 2013

The best TV Ears yet

Pros: sound clarity and tone adjustability
Cons: stiff ear piece arms
Model Number: Digital system
"I have worn hearing aids for 45 years and have only been able to truly enjoy TV since buying my original TV Ears. The latest digital version is the best yet for clarity and versatility. The alternate installation kit allows me to use the TV Ears in my motor home where access to the audio port on the TV is not readily accessible. I have recommended TV ears to several friends who have purchased units and are pleased with performance (and may have saved their marriages). The ear piece arms are stiffer than earlier version which makes them uncomfortable to use for a long period of time. I remedied this by heating the arms with a hair drier and gently bending the arms to relieve the tension."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:January 5, 2013

Only lasted one year

Pros: they worked well for one year
Cons: they stopped working in one year, warranty only 90 days.
Model Number: Part # 10341/TV Ears
"While the TV ears worked well while they worked, I purchased two sets one year apart and the base station for both stopped working after about one year. The transmitting LEDs stopped lighting up. Customer service never answered my email request for help."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:China Lake, CA
Date:February 29, 2012

Want to purchase a second set

Pros: comfortable
Model Number: Unknown
"This product was a little difficult to hook up because I have cable box and the directions were not real clear, but once it was hooked up properly, I love it. The headset is comfortable and the quality of sound very clear. I just wish they were not so expensive as I would like another set for my family room. I'm sure that will happen in the near future."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:March 6, 2012

Far superior to previous systems

Pros: strong and clear signal
Cons: expensive
"The Premium ear phone system is excellent. The sound quality is amazing, and the signal strength is very strong, especially when compared to the 2.3 mh system which we had previously. The headset also fits in the cradle more securely for charging. (The previous version was difficult to seat in the charger.) But it's very expensive for a single headset!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:February 27, 2012

Great product

Pros: better tv hearing.
Cons: none
Model Number: TV Ears Digital System
"TV Ears was recommended by a friend. I thought that I would give them a try. I was amazed to hear the basketball `swish' thru the hoop on my first night wearing them. Voices are much clearer than in the past. Nice to adjust the volume, tone, and the balance between each ear. Glad that I gave them a try. A wonderful product!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hollister, CA
Date:February 28, 2012
"Easy to install and it works as advertised. I did however need order the optional ear plugs and they make all the difference in the world."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2012
Pros: work great hold the charge well.
Cons: extremely fragile expensive
"Work great, but very fragile. I owned two pairs and both broke. Too expensive and too fragile."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:March 8, 2012

TV Digital Ears

"For the past 4 years I have owned & used the regular model (not digital) of TV Ears.
The TV Ears Digital are more money, but definitely worth the price.
Pros: I can watch TV without disturbing others in the room. Headset works well in another room as long as you're not too far away. Headset does not need to be 'in sight' of the base.
Headset does not mess up your hair.
Cons:
Fluorescent lights affect the quality of the sound. This is stated on the TV Ears website. I cannot sit at my kitchen table with the overhead lights on & use the headphone. The fluorescent lights must be turned off.
Not all that comfortable after a couple of hours. But that just might be me.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:June 25, 2012

Great set of hearing aid for watching tv.

Pros: outstanding clearity, optical input, ir transmission of data no wireless inerference
Cons: you can hear static when using a remote.
"This hearing aid for TV was recommended to me by the hearing aid technician for my dad who has severe hearing loss and cannot hear without a hearing aid. My dad was able to hear TV clearly for the first time in so many years, something that he couldn't do with his current digital hearing aid. I am so happy to have gotten them.
The amazing thing about TV Ears digital is that it accepts an optical input from the TV, as well as the RCA ones. My dad can listen to the TV, even when it is muted. But having my dad be able to enjoy listening to TV again, is priceless.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fayetteville, Ga
Date:September 20, 2012

$49.994 vs $149.99

"I bought the digital TV EARS on 4/15/15. Before I bought these I had the old style that Costco sold in the store for $49.95. I was completely satisfied with these and even bought several pairs for relatives I even recommended to friends. I originally bought 2 pairs so that one would always be on the charger.
Now the disappointing part.
The 2 pair original 49.95 pair only lasted about 8 months, and then they began falling apart. Until then I had no complaints. The plastic part of the earpiece on the outside fell off. The stem that goes between the battery and the ear piece broke where it joins the battery Bear I mind that each head set was only used ½ of the time Therefor one could argue that each one only lasted 4 months. I was very careful when I handled them. I contacted TV Ears and they offered send me a new pair for around $50.00. I don’t remember the exact amount. Read the 5year guarantee, it’s a joke. The structure is only guaranteed 180 days My 2 pair together lasted 8 months. Therefore they were out of the warranty period. TV EARS don’t believe the mechanical parts will even last a year.
Comparisons between the old $50.00 ears and the new $179.95 Digital TV EARS.(Plus tax)
OLD $50.00 Pair NEW $179.99 Pair
Dead quite when TV off. Crackling sound with no input, even if you disconnect all of the inputs to the TV EARS
Dead quit when you turn on florescent light. Have to remove ears until light warms up because of buzzing.
If you leave the room they are dead quite. Noisy when you leave the room.
Ears flimsily built. Stems are brittle Better built. Stems are bigger.
No buzzing sound when using TV remote. Buzzing sound each time TV remote buttons is pressed.
In My opinion the $50.00 ears sound better than the $179.99 Digital ( Even with the optical connection) The Digital Ears are just plain noisy. I guess that there are too many devices on or about the same frequency. If the receiver/headset were truly digital, this would not be an issue. If the old TV EARS were as well constructed I would not hesitate to purchase them again. I have not found anything more comfortable"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TV Ears Digital TV Sound Amplifier System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale
Date:October 25, 2012

Junk

Pros: none
Cons: does not work with sony tvs
Model Number: Digital
"This is the second attempt. I tried the older TV Ears and found it unsatisfactory.
Did not work just aplified the fuzzy sound. I tried the new digital system for $179. I found it does not work with my TV unless I turn off the external speakers. Am is supposed to share the headset with my wife? The TV is a late model Sony. One would think the creaters of TVEars if they wanted to make a quality product would make it compatible with all popular TVs
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>