Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW

Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW

Model: HC688B
Average Customer Rating:
3.753 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
(out of 73 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
15
50 of 72(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Review 1 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2014

Piece of junk

Pros: nothing
"Kept disconnecting every five minutes. This is going back to the store."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:America's Finest City: San Diego, CA.
Date:July 8, 2014

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT!

Pros: easy to install/connect.
"Bought the repeater to extend and get better coverage in the backyard. Since adding it to the home the signal out back is ROCK SOLID. It is very easy to install and connect to your internet wireless."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:April 29, 2014

Works as advertised Model SR10000

Pros: easy to install and use.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: SR10000
"I don't understand the previous reviewer's comment about using with Verizon Fios as I have Verizon and have had no problems. It is fairly priced and works very well."
Review 4 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 27, 2014

Do not buy if you have Verizon Fios

Pros: good help center staff
Cons: not usable on verizon network with fios
Model Number: R10000
"This router will not work with Verizon Fios... I called the Amped help number and was told to return the product because it will not work due to how Verizon sets up the network. So I'm stuck with the garbage from verizon... rats I rated them 3 stars because the help center was quick and honest about their equipment not working on Verizon and they straight up told me to return the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East Windsor, NJ
Date:February 11, 2014

Does not work for me.

Pros: quick install, strong wifi signal
Cons: has difficulty with hp envy laptops.
Model Number: HC688B
"I am trying to replace my 3 year old Linksys router. My newest HP Envy Laptop has difficulty in connecting to the Amped router. It used to work with the Linksys with no problems."
Review 6 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:florida
Date:February 10, 2014

Amp Wireless

Pros: none
Cons: did not work out of the box
Model Number: R100000
"Product kept dropping the Internet signal in less than 30 min from comcast. Did the firmware upgrade, still wouldn't hold the signal. Called tech support and they said the unit was probably bad and should be sent returned to Amp for repair replacement. Since I only had it for two days I returned it to Costco.
With the other related reviewers who had this problem I would not bother buying it"
Review 7 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2014

Too many problems

Model Number: R10000
"Setup was pretty easy, although many people would be confused because the software routes you to a dead URL. Signal strength is great throughout my house. Unfortunately, both the wired and wireless networks have dropped out on several occasions. Since I have only owned this router for a few weeks, that is unacceptable. I had an old Netgear router before this and the thing just stayed up all the time . . . for years. I'm planning to return this router ASAP."
Review 8 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013

Do not buy

Pros: none
Cons: drops connection frequently
"New unit, and as others have reported, it drops connection frequently. After 4 different tries with tech support, told to take it back for a refund. The tech support was simplistic and really of no help in resolving the problem other than to figure out it was "defective.""
Review 9 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Claremont, CA
Date:August 31, 2013

Not a Good Product

Pros: none
Cons: the wireless functions are not working!
Model Number: Amped Wireless Router R10000
"This wireless router is full of flaws – basic functions that are not working. After configured all of my devices to associate with the routers successfully, I disable broadcasting the SSID for security reason. This caused my wireless devices not able to access the wireless network/Internet. So I have to enable the SSID broadcasting function.
I enabled the guest wireless; it was not working and also caused problem accessing my main wireless SSID connection. So I had to turn off the guest wireless function.
I called Amped Wireless, it was a long wait. Finally when I reached a tech support person, I was told to upgrade the software and if problems still exist, then to return the product.
I proceeded backing up my configuration file, then upgraded the wireless router. It was a smooth sailing, no problems at all. After reload my configurations, I tested the guest wireless setting again. I was told that I have to use the exact same security key type as my main wireless SSID, so I did. I tested and this time both the main SSID and guest SSID work. I was happy.
Next morning, my son and husband both complaints that they were not able to access the Internet… so I check my own wireless laptop and wasn’t able to access the Internet either. But my PC which is connected directly via Ethernet cable had no problem at all. So I logged into the wireless router because the problem is with the wireless function. I could not find anything wrong with it so I reboot the device in order for it to reconnect with all of the wireless end devices. This went on repeatedly for few more days of needing to reboot the wireless router every morning and I returned the product to Costco."
Review 10 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:July 27, 2013

Amped should be closed!

Pros: none
Cons: poor products and terrible quality.
Model Number: Model: HC688B
"I have tried 3 different repeaters and routers from Amped, and had to return all of them after trying them all for over 2 weeks and working with their support. The Model: HC688B like others is a complete piece of junk -- I spent almost 25 hours trying to set this up and to work, but it keeps dropping WiFi connections every few mins. Before someone says what OS etc, I have given it a shot on Win 7, Win 8, iOS, Android and Mac devices. Total waste of time. I'm reporting them to the FTC and to Costco Corporate."
Review 11 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near South Bend, IN
Date:July 27, 2013

Excellent service from Amped Wireless Personnel!!

Model Number: HC688B
"The people at Amped Wireless are incredibly helpful. Via phone they managed to resolve all my problems with both the connection of their R10000 router as well as the R10000 repeater. I now have a very strong signal way at the opposite end of my ranch house. Any product is only as good as the service provided. The folks from AmpedWireless are tops. Way to go Manuel!!!! Concierge # 130."
Review 12 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 10, 2013

Did not work with Comcast Modem

Pros: cost and range
Cons: compatibility issues and customer service
Model Number: HC688B
"This router would fail (i.e loose connection to the modem/internet) at least once a day, at times several times a day and would need to be rebooted. After wasting an hour with tech support I returned item and purchased a different brand from Costco store which is working great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Quinta, Ca
Date:February 26, 2013

Works well

Pros: good price good help desk
Model Number: sr10000
"Setup was easy. Range was greatly extended from my dlink DIR-655. Worked great for a month then for some reason it disconnected. Was able to call Amped help line and after a small wait Cedric guided us thru re-setup in a few minutes."
Review 14 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2013

Bad Advertising

Pros: was easy to install
Cons: doesn't work
"The write up says coverage in large houses....I have a small house...after install...my coverage is not ANY better than my $ 50 Linksys."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Date:January 29, 2013

Happy with the prodct and customer support

Pros: fast and powerful
Cons: not easy to set up you have to call thier support
Model Number: R10000
"Having a hard time to set it up and ruining in to a problem, called Amped customer support, Chelsa - Concierge #120 was very helpful and solved my problem over the phone, she was patiently walked me through step by step, now I enjoy my internet wirelessly."
Review 16 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 22, 2013

Great wireless router

Pros: good coverage area, very easy to install
Cons: cords provided could have been longer
Model Number: HC688B
"After reviewing many other systems, I purchased the Amped Wireless Smart High Power Router due to the range of 10,000 square feet and the ability to view streaming video trouble-free. So far, so good. Although the range may not be 10,000 feet, it out performs the Linksys I had and the signal is strong and able to be picked up throughout my 2 story home. The use of streaming video on my TV is much better without stopping and starting like my previous router. It was extremely easy to install also."
Review 17 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2012

Waste of Time

Pros: none
Cons: product did not work
Model Number: HC688B
"I purchased this product to gain a stronger signal from my existing wireless router so that a WiFi enabled HDTV on the other side of the house could be used for streaming movies. Setup for the repeater was not difficult. However, on the second day, it continuously dropped the signal from my router. After waiting on the phone for 30 minutes for technical support and then over an hour with a very courteous representative, nothing worked and the final conclusion of the tech rep was that it must be a defective product and they would be happy to swap it out. Sorry, but in my book if you tie up that much of a customer's time for something that is concluded to be defective, you simply ship them a new one and not put them through the hassle of returning and then re-ordering. I am returning this product to Costco with extreme disappointment and will not reorder another one. We'll figure out another solution for the television."
Review 18 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pismo Beach, CA
Date:December 17, 2012

amped N600mw R10000

Pros: good range. easy setup. no loss of signal.
Cons: none
Model Number: R10000
"Great router!! Easy setup. Great range. I can stream movies with no disconect. Called service about a problem which turned out to be a modem problem. Service was terrific."
Review 19 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:December 13, 2012

Started well, ended badly

Pros: signal strength
Cons: archaic setup process, frequent and cumbersome firmware updates, unreliable internet access
Model Number: R1000
"This R1000 replaced a Netgear N600 that gave up the ghost after 6 months. I wish the R1000 had lasted as long. Initial setup of the R1000 was straightforward and the signal strength was 8-12% stronger right out of the box. But after 60 days of trouble-free operation it began to intermittently lose its configuration and deny internet access.
The first call to support yielded a hot tip: this router is temperamental, and be sure to make only one change at a time in the setup menu, let the unit reboot (anywhere from 30-75 seconds), make another change, reboot, wait, etc. Simple custom settings took nearly an hour to complete.
I spent double-digit hours with tech support over multiple calls trying to troubleshoot DNS resolution issues and the multiple firmware updates did not remedy the issue. (FYI, frequent firmware updates from a manufacturer indicate a lack of development and low product maturity). Yesterday the Amped Wireless support staff told me to give up on it. I gladly took their advice and returned it.
Credit to Amped Wireless for partnering with Costco, but this particular router just isn't ready for prime time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 19, 2012

Works just as advertised

Pros: easy set up and config
Cons: non to speak of
"I don't know what the issues are here with some people. I had this thing up and running in 5 minutes. Another 10 minutes to find where to place it by using their online signal strength tool and I was done. I now get fast wireless to corners of my 4000 sq ft home. Everyones wireless set up is differnet but if you follow the simple quick start guide it does all the work for you. If you can't get it working there is definately something wrong. I am an IT professional and can't see it being much easier than this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>