Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW

Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW

Model: HC688B
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
(out of 54 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
15
33 of 54(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Review 1 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 27, 2014

Do not buy if you have Verizon Fios

Pros: good help center staff
Cons: not usable on verizon network with fios
Model Number: R10000
"This router will not work with Verizon Fios... I called the Amped help number and was told to return the product because it will not work due to how Verizon sets up the network. So I'm stuck with the garbage from verizon... rats I rated them 3 stars because the help center was quick and honest about their equipment not working on Verizon and they straight up told me to return the unit."
Review 2 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:December 13, 2012

Started well, ended badly

Pros: signal strength
Cons: archaic setup process, frequent and cumbersome firmware updates, unreliable internet access
Model Number: R1000
"This R1000 replaced a Netgear N600 that gave up the ghost after 6 months. I wish the R1000 had lasted as long. Initial setup of the R1000 was straightforward and the signal strength was 8-12% stronger right out of the box. But after 60 days of trouble-free operation it began to intermittently lose its configuration and deny internet access.
The first call to support yielded a hot tip: this router is temperamental, and be sure to make only one change at a time in the setup menu, let the unit reboot (anywhere from 30-75 seconds), make another change, reboot, wait, etc. Simple custom settings took nearly an hour to complete.
I spent double-digit hours with tech support over multiple calls trying to troubleshoot DNS resolution issues and the multiple firmware updates did not remedy the issue. (FYI, frequent firmware updates from a manufacturer indicate a lack of development and low product maturity). Yesterday the Amped Wireless support staff told me to give up on it. I gladly took their advice and returned it.
Credit to Amped Wireless for partnering with Costco, but this particular router just isn't ready for prime time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sterling VA
Date:May 16, 2012

Thoroughly Underwhelmed

Pros: best 2.4ghz bandwidth
Cons: no usb ports, only 4 connected devices, not that great a signal, no 5ghz bandwidth
Model Number: Amped Wireless-N 600mW Smart Router
"I bought the Amped Wireless-N 600mW Smart Router to augment my existing wireless architecture, replace my Belkin N750DB, and mostly to keep my family from wanting to use my work wireless network. I found the Amped Wireless-router to disappoint in some areas and perform no better than others in the other important areas.
1. No USB ports, so you can’t hang a USB Hard Drive or a non-Ethernet printer off of it. My Netgear N750 has one USB port, my Belkin N750DB has two USB ports.
2. Accepts only four wireless connections. My Belkin N750DB accepts up to 16. My Netgear N750 manual says it accepts 50-70 wireless connections but I don’t have enough devices to test that.
After being underwhelmed by these two points, I went to test some of the other aspects of its performance. Keep in mind these are tested results, not what’s on the side of the box. Here’s what I found.
1. Signal: This is where I expected the Amped Wireless to shine, but at -35dBm it was only a little better than my Netgear router (-38dBm) and couldn’t touch my Belkin’s performance (-28dBm)
2. Bandwidth: At 300mbps, the Amped Wireless outperformed both the Netgear router (130mbps) and the Belkin (144mbps) in the 2.4GHz range. The Amped Wireless router doesn’t have a 5GHz radio. When you consider the 5GHz range, both the Netgear (300mbps) and the Belkin (450mbps) both negate any advantage the Amped Wireless router has in the 2.4GHz range.
So don’t believe all of the hype. I’ll keep my Netgear and redeploy the Belkin router that I had intended to replace with the Amped Wireless router. The Amped Wireless router is going back to Costco.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:florida
Date:February 10, 2014

Amp Wireless

Pros: none
Cons: did not work out of the box
Model Number: R100000
"Product kept dropping the Internet signal in less than 30 min from comcast. Did the firmware upgrade, still wouldn't hold the signal. Called tech support and they said the unit was probably bad and should be sent returned to Amp for repair replacement. Since I only had it for two days I returned it to Costco.
With the other related reviewers who had this problem I would not bother buying it"
Review 5 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East Windsor, NJ
Date:February 11, 2014

Does not work for me.

Pros: quick install, strong wifi signal
Cons: has difficulty with hp envy laptops.
Model Number: HC688B
"I am trying to replace my 3 year old Linksys router. My newest HP Envy Laptop has difficulty in connecting to the Amped router. It used to work with the Linksys with no problems."
Review 6 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis
Date:February 29, 2012

This is what we needed!

Pros: easy to set-up and works as advertised
Cons: not yet only had it about a week.
"Skeptical at first. Researched it on line and then Costco offered it just as I was going to buy it direct. Followed the set-up instructions and moved it to a place that was very weak in WIFI strength. Thought it might not work that far away, but it found the signal and repeated to the dead areas and even outside by the pool! My cell phone will lock onto one and stay there. As you go to the other side of the house you may need to change your phone/computer to the new connection. You basically now have two WIFI choices in your house."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2014

Too many problems

Model Number: R10000
"Setup was pretty easy, although many people would be confused because the software routes you to a dead URL. Signal strength is great throughout my house. Unfortunately, both the wired and wireless networks have dropped out on several occasions. Since I have only owned this router for a few weeks, that is unacceptable. I had an old Netgear router before this and the thing just stayed up all the time . . . for years. I'm planning to return this router ASAP."
Review 8 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Healdsburg, CA
Date:August 11, 2012

Great Router

Pros: great range, ease of setup
Cons: unexpected (but corrected) intermittency
Model Number: R10000
"The router (Amped R10000) is excellent. However, for the specific unit that I purchased, I had a problem for which I had to call Amped Tech Support. The problem was: the unit would intermittently shut off its wireless operation. A Tech Support technician (Andrew - Concierge #108) called me the same day, suggesting software upgrading. With great patience and curtesy, he led me step-by-step throughout the re-installation process. The unit is now working properly, and is not expected to show any further intermittency. Should that show up again, it would be a sign that something is wrong in the unit, for which return and exchange would be justified (in the words of Andrew). My overall rating assumes this intermittency was a "white fly" issue and ... a thing of the past."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2012

Waste of Time

Pros: none
Cons: product did not work
Model Number: HC688B
"I purchased this product to gain a stronger signal from my existing wireless router so that a WiFi enabled HDTV on the other side of the house could be used for streaming movies. Setup for the repeater was not difficult. However, on the second day, it continuously dropped the signal from my router. After waiting on the phone for 30 minutes for technical support and then over an hour with a very courteous representative, nothing worked and the final conclusion of the tech rep was that it must be a defective product and they would be happy to swap it out. Sorry, but in my book if you tie up that much of a customer's time for something that is concluded to be defective, you simply ship them a new one and not put them through the hassle of returning and then re-ordering. I am returning this product to Costco with extreme disappointment and will not reorder another one. We'll figure out another solution for the television."
Review 10 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2013

Known compatiblity issue.

Pros: none.
Cons: known compatiblity issue.
"Once up and running the internet connection would drop.
I called the help line and found out that the High Power Wireless-N 600mW Range Extender SR10000 is not compatible with my Motorola Surfboard SRB 6580 and that it is known issue.
I am disappointed that this was not noted in the description or specification to bring awareness to customers before purchasing the product with a known compatibility issue .
Costco should be made aware of this known customer issue to let customers know.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013

Do not buy

Pros: none
Cons: drops connection frequently
"New unit, and as others have reported, it drops connection frequently. After 4 different tries with tech support, told to take it back for a refund. The tech support was simplistic and really of no help in resolving the problem other than to figure out it was "defective.""
Review 12 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2012

great extra range but one fatal flaw for me

"I have the need for MAC address inclusion. i.e. not on list - not allowed access to network.
Before purchasing I downloaded product user guide - which clearly stated that MAC Address inclusion and exclusion was supported. In reality only exclusion (on list - not allowed) is currently supported. I returned product to Costco - which is one of the reasons why I shop at Costco. Great wifi range otherwise.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:N. California
Date:September 21, 2012

Wow, great range, plug and play easy

"I purchased this to replace a much more expensive Netgear WNDR4000 router that stopped working properly after only about 1 year. Since I spent top dollar on the netgear and was dissappointed I decided to try a more moderately priced router. I was surprised that this router has far superior range, it's almost double the Netgear, very powerful and solid. I had one slight glitch in setup since I changed ISPs simultaineously, called the tech support, got a real person, Sedrick, very quickly and he was patient resolved the problem very quckly. The professional installer who was listening in (because he was here doing the broadband installation) was also very impressed with Sedrick and the router."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 10, 2013

Did not work with Comcast Modem

Pros: cost and range
Cons: compatibility issues and customer service
Model Number: HC688B
"This router would fail (i.e loose connection to the modem/internet) at least once a day, at times several times a day and would need to be rebooted. After wasting an hour with tech support I returned item and purchased a different brand from Costco store which is working great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, California
Date:March 6, 2012

Wow! Super fast!

Pros: cheaper than better known brands.
"I read about other Wireless-N products that should be better and more reliable but did not buy those because of problems posted by other people with those other makers of routers. This router has given me no problems, was easy to set-up, huge coverage to point it supplies our kids, my neighbors and their kids, and all my stuff with all the wi-fi we could need and at lightning speeds even when far from router. At end of my property line, I had all bars full. I should have bought something like this a long time ago."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:July 28, 2012

Amped Router & Tech support

Model Number: R10K-WB
"Not only am I extremely happy with the new Amped Wireless Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW that I bought on line at Costco.com, but when I needed set-up assistance from Amped's tech suppport group, thier agent, Andrew (108) was exceptional in his service assistance. These folks produce a great product and back it up with outstanding customer service. I highly recommend them"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2013

Bad Advertising

Pros: was easy to install
Cons: doesn't work
"The write up says coverage in large houses....I have a small house...after install...my coverage is not ANY better than my $ 50 Linksys."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2012

Bummed about this router

Pros: easy setup
Cons: does not send the signal very far.
"I was excited to buy this router. I have a shop directly across the driveway (50 feet) and this router's signal was no better then my old Linksys."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:July 27, 2013

Amped should be closed!

Pros: none
Cons: poor products and terrible quality.
Model Number: Model: HC688B
"I have tried 3 different repeaters and routers from Amped, and had to return all of them after trying them all for over 2 weeks and working with their support. The Model: HC688B like others is a complete piece of junk -- I spent almost 25 hours trying to set this up and to work, but it keeps dropping WiFi connections every few mins. Before someone says what OS etc, I have given it a shot on Win 7, Win 8, iOS, Android and Mac devices. Total waste of time. I'm reporting them to the FTC and to Costco Corporate."
Review 20 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Claremont, CA
Date:August 31, 2013

Not a Good Product

Pros: none
Cons: the wireless functions are not working!
Model Number: Amped Wireless Router R10000
"This wireless router is full of flaws – basic functions that are not working. After configured all of my devices to associate with the routers successfully, I disable broadcasting the SSID for security reason. This caused my wireless devices not able to access the wireless network/Internet. So I have to enable the SSID broadcasting function.
I enabled the guest wireless; it was not working and also caused problem accessing my main wireless SSID connection. So I had to turn off the guest wireless function.
I called Amped Wireless, it was a long wait. Finally when I reached a tech support person, I was told to upgrade the software and if problems still exist, then to return the product.
I proceeded backing up my configuration file, then upgraded the wireless router. It was a smooth sailing, no problems at all. After reload my configurations, I tested the guest wireless setting again. I was told that I have to use the exact same security key type as my main wireless SSID, so I did. I tested and this time both the main SSID and guest SSID work. I was happy.
Next morning, my son and husband both complaints that they were not able to access the Internet… so I check my own wireless laptop and wasn’t able to access the Internet either. But my PC which is connected directly via Ethernet cable had no problem at all. So I logged into the wireless router because the problem is with the wireless function. I could not find anything wrong with it so I reboot the device in order for it to reconnect with all of the wireless end devices. This went on repeatedly for few more days of needing to reboot the wireless router every morning and I returned the product to Costco."
1 2 3 next>>