Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW

Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW

Average Customer Rating:
3.863 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
(out of 95 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
18
68 of 93(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Review 1 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:la,ca
Date:January 10, 2015

unreliable

Pros: none
Cons: constant disconnection
Model Number: Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
" Notice how most of the favorable reviews are submitted by ampedwireless. I missed that when I initially purchased this router. Setup was ok but I have been battling constant disconnection and poor speed with this router. I have Ooma phone and ever since I switched to this router, every other day disconnection requiring fresh setup. Switched to old router and works fine without any disruption. As for the range, nothing close to advertised distance. Only customer support is via chat, no phone support. Item going back to Costco. "
Review 2 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:January 5, 2015

Piece of Junk

" If you want something that you have to unplug every hour or two, then this is for you! The only reason they got one star is because there is no zero star option. Did I mention it is a piece of junk? "
Review 3 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 2, 2015

Fails to connect to wireless, returning it back

Pros: specs look great
Cons: wireless connectivity does not work after some tim
Model Number: R10000
" I tried once, and after sometime, the iPhone and laptop stopped connecting to wireless. After rebooting router, works for sometime and same issue. Checked the router logs to see if any issue, but no errors logged. Called the manufacturer support, and no call back. Emailed to them, and got response back asking to check wired connection. Responded back, and no response till date. Going to return the router... "
Review 4 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:December 22, 2014

Easy setup and it works

" Set it up in less than 10 min. Very easy to use and setup. Works with my apple airport router. "
Review 5 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2014

Piece of junk

Pros: nothing
" Kept disconnecting every five minutes. This is going back to the store. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:America's Finest City: San Diego, CA.
Date:July 8, 2014

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT!

Pros: easy to install/connect.
" Bought the repeater to extend and get better coverage in the backyard. Since adding it to the home the signal out back is ROCK SOLID. It is very easy to install and connect to your internet wireless. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:April 29, 2014

Works as advertised Model SR10000

Pros: easy to install and use.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: SR10000
" I don't understand the previous reviewer's comment about using with Verizon Fios as I have Verizon and have had no problems. It is fairly priced and works very well. "
Review 8 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 27, 2014

Do not buy if you have Verizon Fios

Pros: good help center staff
Cons: not usable on verizon network with fios
Model Number: R10000
" This router will not work with Verizon Fios... I called the Amped help number and was told to return the product because it will not work due to how Verizon sets up the network. So I'm stuck with the garbage from verizon... rats I rated them 3 stars because the help center was quick and honest about their equipment not working on Verizon and they straight up told me to return the unit. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East Windsor, NJ
Date:February 11, 2014

Does not work for me.

Pros: quick install, strong wifi signal
Cons: has difficulty with hp envy laptops.
Model Number: HC688B
" I am trying to replace my 3 year old Linksys router. My newest HP Envy Laptop has difficulty in connecting to the Amped router. It used to work with the Linksys with no problems. "
Review 10 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:florida
Date:February 10, 2014

Amp Wireless

Pros: none
Cons: did not work out of the box
Model Number: R100000
" Product kept dropping the Internet signal in less than 30 min from comcast. Did the firmware upgrade, still wouldn't hold the signal. Called tech support and they said the unit was probably bad and should be sent returned to Amp for repair replacement. Since I only had it for two days I returned it to Costco.
With the other related reviewers who had this problem I would not bother buying it "
Review 11 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2014

Too many problems

Model Number: R10000
" Setup was pretty easy, although many people would be confused because the software routes you to a dead URL. Signal strength is great throughout my house. Unfortunately, both the wired and wireless networks have dropped out on several occasions. Since I have only owned this router for a few weeks, that is unacceptable. I had an old Netgear router before this and the thing just stayed up all the time . . . for years. I'm planning to return this router ASAP. "
Review 12 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2013

Do not buy

Pros: none
Cons: drops connection frequently
" New unit, and as others have reported, it drops connection frequently. After 4 different tries with tech support, told to take it back for a refund. The tech support was simplistic and really of no help in resolving the problem other than to figure out it was "defective." "
Review 13 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Claremont, CA
Date:August 31, 2013

Not a Good Product

Pros: none
Cons: the wireless functions are not working!
Model Number: Amped Wireless Router R10000
" This wireless router is full of flaws – basic functions that are not working. After configured all of my devices to associate with the routers successfully, I disable broadcasting the SSID for security reason. This caused my wireless devices not able to access the wireless network/Internet. So I have to enable the SSID broadcasting function.
I enabled the guest wireless; it was not working and also caused problem accessing my main wireless SSID connection. So I had to turn off the guest wireless function.
I called Amped Wireless, it was a long wait. Finally when I reached a tech support person, I was told to upgrade the software and if problems still exist, then to return the product.
I proceeded backing up my configuration file, then upgraded the wireless router. It was a smooth sailing, no problems at all. After reload my configurations, I tested the guest wireless setting again. I was told that I have to use the exact same security key type as my main wireless SSID, so I did. I tested and this time both the main SSID and guest SSID work. I was happy.
Next morning, my son and husband both complaints that they were not able to access the Internet… so I check my own wireless laptop and wasn’t able to access the Internet either. But my PC which is connected directly via Ethernet cable had no problem at all. So I logged into the wireless router because the problem is with the wireless function. I could not find anything wrong with it so I reboot the device in order for it to reconnect with all of the wireless end devices. This went on repeatedly for few more days of needing to reboot the wireless router every morning and I returned the product to Costco. "
Review 14 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:July 27, 2013

Amped should be closed!

Pros: none
Cons: poor products and terrible quality.
Model Number: Model: HC688B
" I have tried 3 different repeaters and routers from Amped, and had to return all of them after trying them all for over 2 weeks and working with their support. The Model: HC688B like others is a complete piece of junk -- I spent almost 25 hours trying to set this up and to work, but it keeps dropping WiFi connections every few mins. Before someone says what OS etc, I have given it a shot on Win 7, Win 8, iOS, Android and Mac devices. Total waste of time. I'm reporting them to the FTC and to Costco Corporate. "
Review 15 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Near South Bend, IN
Date:July 27, 2013

Excellent service from Amped Wireless Personnel!!

Model Number: HC688B
" The people at Amped Wireless are incredibly helpful. Via phone they managed to resolve all my problems with both the connection of their R10000 router as well as the R10000 repeater. I now have a very strong signal way at the opposite end of my ranch house. Any product is only as good as the service provided. The folks from AmpedWireless are tops. Way to go Manuel!!!! Concierge # 130. "
Review 16 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 10, 2013

Did not work with Comcast Modem

Pros: cost and range
Cons: compatibility issues and customer service
Model Number: HC688B
" This router would fail (i.e loose connection to the modem/internet) at least once a day, at times several times a day and would need to be rebooted. After wasting an hour with tech support I returned item and purchased a different brand from Costco store which is working great. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Quinta, Ca
Date:February 26, 2013

Works well

Pros: good price good help desk
Model Number: sr10000
" Setup was easy. Range was greatly extended from my dlink DIR-655. Worked great for a month then for some reason it disconnected. Was able to call Amped help line and after a small wait Cedric guided us thru re-setup in a few minutes. "
Review 18 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2013

Bad Advertising

Pros: was easy to install
Cons: doesn't work
" The write up says coverage in large houses....I have a small house...after install...my coverage is not ANY better than my $ 50 Linksys. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Date:January 29, 2013

Happy with the prodct and customer support

Pros: fast and powerful
Cons: not easy to set up you have to call thier support
Model Number: R10000
" Having a hard time to set it up and ruining in to a problem, called Amped customer support, Chelsa - Concierge #120 was very helpful and solved my problem over the phone, she was patiently walked me through step by step, now I enjoy my internet wirelessly. "
Review 20 for Amped Wireless® Smart Router High Power Wireless-N 600mW
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 22, 2013

Great wireless router

Pros: good coverage area, very easy to install
Cons: cords provided could have been longer
Model Number: HC688B
" After reviewing many other systems, I purchased the Amped Wireless Smart High Power Router due to the range of 10,000 square feet and the ability to view streaming video trouble-free. So far, so good. Although the range may not be 10,000 feet, it out performs the Linksys I had and the signal is strong and able to be picked up throughout my 2 story home. The use of streaming video on my TV is much better without stopping and starting like my previous router. It was extremely easy to install also. "
1 2 3 4 next>>