Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
Average Customer Rating:
4.183 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(229 Reviews) 229
(out of 229 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (229 reviews)
5 stars
145
4 stars
40
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
23
190 of 229(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Review 61 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:May 26, 2013

Great setup, lousy signal reliability

Pros: easy setup just as advertised.
Cons: really fragile connections to the base unit., buggy operations of the setup web page.
Model Number: SR10000
"Like many others who've commented here, I was very impressed with the speed and ease of the setup. It took less than 15 minutes.
However, the unit had a hard time maintaining a connection with the base unit and once lost, required a reboot to restore the connection. That connection became more and more unreliable until, after about 3 months, it stopped making the connection at all despite a reported signal strength of as high as 78%.
I tried rebooting (many times), a new installation/reconfiguration (5 times), all futile. I also noted several buggy behaviors in the setup web interface.
Basically, it's a nice early try at what I hope will be a decent product someday. But, for now, it's got too many bugs and reliability problems for me to accept. So, back to Costco it goes!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:May 15, 2013

Great Product - It works!

Pros: works as advertised!
Cons: signal strength varies at times
Model Number: 63854/SR10K-WB
"With a strong router upstairs, and a bridge router downstairs, Wi-Fi reception downstairs and in yard was very poor. I've look into many "solutions" but nothing worked, and I was told by "experts" nothing could be done. When I say the Amped Wi-Fi Range Extender advertised I was sceptical, but decided to try it. And it was easy to setup and install, and it really works. Signal strength does vary at times, but it's usually strong in the areas I need it. Highly recommended."
Review 63 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:April 29, 2013

Great product and service!

Pros: works fabulous i have full bars for my wifi now., customer service and support is excellent!
Cons: none
"I bought two of these, one for home and the other for the office. Wish I had bought it a year ago! The signal is way better and faster!
I had some difficulty with one of the units I purchased so I called customer service and that is the reason I am writing this review. The customer service agent I got was the best I have talked to for any product (and I've talked to over 100) or service for help. Her name was, Chelsa - Concierge #120 and I can't thank her enough for her patience and knowledge. Wow! Ended up I needed a firmware update in the one unit, but not necessary in my other unit (purchased at the same time). This product is a winner!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:April 23, 2013

Wireless Service throughout my house!

Pros: customer support is outstanding and responsive!
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"Have been unable to receive wireless service throughout my house. The amped/wireless product performs as advertised. Customer support was easily available and walked me thru the whole set-up process on my computer. It performs as advertised!"
Review 65 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida
Date:April 22, 2013

Really great

Pros: wonderful customer service
Cons: none yet
Model Number: Amped SR 10000
"fills in the dead spots in my house. I had issues setting this up . Customer service (Concierge #108) called back promptly and saved the day."
Review 66 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calif
Date:April 20, 2013

Great Product

Pros: great customer support
Cons: none
Model Number: Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"Product performs as advertised. Great customer support via Mario with Amped/wireless. Written instructions were a bit confusing but Mario walked me through the setup."
Review 67 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:April 10, 2013

Good product, superb technical support experience

Pros: unusually good technical support
Cons: sr10000 may not be compatible with all wireless ro
Model Number: Amped SR10000
"Amped SR10000 is a useful wireless range extender. However, as revealed by installation difficulties it is barely compatible with my Verizon FiOS Actiontec wireless router. Unable to complete installation on my own, I phoned Amped technical support and was put on hold for 20 minutes. Then I had around a two-hour consultation with a tech which did not resolve the installation problem and ended in being disconnected. I phoned back and was instantly connected to Chesa, Concierge #120, who proved to be intelligent, extremely knowledgeable, patient and personable – in short, probably the best and most helpful tech this fumblefingers has yet encountered. She worked with me for close to two hours, trying everything from installation via my iPad to updating the unit firmware, until tech support closed for the night when she put in a service ticket for a return call to me for the following day. Around an hour later she phoned me on her own time from her cell phone to see whether we could complete the installation that night instead of waiting until the next day. She tried a half dozen different approaches but none of them worked.
Early the next morning, I realized that most of the problem was my fault: I had transposed characters for the Actiontec router which prevented the installation from completing. Later that day I phoned Amped and Andrew, Concierge #108, briskly completed the installation in 20 minutes. Overall I rate Amped technical support as an A and Chesa’s help as unambiguously an outstanding A+."
Review 68 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 10, 2013

Excellent Customer Support

Pros: customer support, product works!
Cons: back level firmware shipped with product
Model Number: SR 10000
"I had to contact customer support three times because I have Windows 8 and Vista computers. BUT I don't consider that a negative. Each time was a different issue including having to download the latest firmware version but the support was VERY knowledgeable and courteous. Did what it took to get me up and running."
Review 69 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:April 7, 2013

Acts as secondary router off main

Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"Very happy with this product. It allows me to extend the range of my router and has ethernet connections in back to direct wire my TV for streaming (which doesn't have built in wireless). Suggestion: turn off your computer and Amped extender after running the setup wizard. Then turn both back on. This will allow both to reset settings and establish internet access."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:April 4, 2013

solved my problem

Pros: easy!
Cons: no weather resistent
Model Number: RS10000
"My neighbor has an amazing movie collection and this booster allows me to now watch them from his shared file any time I feel like it.
I had to use Amped support and they were great!
"
Review 71 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Millbrae, CA
Date:March 18, 2013

It works with 2wire(ATT Uverse)

Pros: good price and it works!!!
Cons: instruction is not very clear
Model Number: SR10000
"After reading so many mixed reviews, it took me a while to pull the trigger on SR10000, but I I am glad that I did. Do not expect a 10,000 sft coverage, but it's good enough for our 2200 sft house with 3 split levels, including our huge backyard!
Setup was super easy although instruction was a little unclear. It took me less than 5 minutes to get it working but it took me some time to test to figure out a good/optimal location to get me the best result/coverage. I had to reboot the repeater once during its first week at work, so I hope I am not too optimistic :)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:March 12, 2013

It's Up. It's Down. It's Up

Pros: good price
Cons: it might take a while to find the best location.
Model Number: SR1000, 600mW
"Heres the fix for working...not working...reboot...working...not working. The back page of the Setup Guide directs you to Smart Features > Wireless Account Scheduling > Set up the desired days and times of operation. From 24/7 to one hour in one day to nothing. Pick 24/7 and it's FIXED !! It's probably also a good idea to set the day/date/time. Enjoy !"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2013

Great Service, Great Solution

Pros: great signal strength professional service
Cons: long initial call wait time
Model Number: SR10000
"I recently purchased an SR10000 range extender to use with my iMac. Chelsa, Amped concierge #120, walked me through the setup process, providing me with clear and helpful instructions. Chelsa also helped me troubleshoot various issues, one of which included installing updated firmware, another that required rebooting of the range extender, another that pertained to my particular computer, and another, regarding placement of the range extender in the location that provided the necessary signal strength.
The signal strength has improved significantly in parts of the house where the signal strength was previously too low to connect to the internet. I attribute my success with setup to Chelsa. Chelsa is very knowledgeable, articulate, patient, and dedicated to providing excellent service. In fact, Chelsa continued our support communications after leaving work, calling me on her cell phone, then again, after she got home. Chelsa went way beyond the call of duty. Although my initial wait for Chelsa was more than 40 minutes, I was able to email Chelsa when I needed further help, and she would call me back within a short period.
I have only had the range extender for a day, and so far, it is working as advertised."
Review 74 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:February 27, 2013

5 Stars For 5 Bars

Pros: it works. fast delivery to so cal.
"I just purchased a new HP computer. My problem was and still is that I only got 2 bars as the router and modem were upstairs at the opposite end of my home.
I opted to try out this repeater as I had nothing to loose. Ordered this on a Friday and got it on Monday. It was installed on Tuesday and sure enough...5 bars appeared and hasn't changed. No more bubuffering on videos, faster downloads.
Now I am asking myself "Why did it take me so long to make this purchase?"
"
Review 75 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Suisun City, CA
Date:February 25, 2013

Returning the product today

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: connection with internet sporadic
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"I've had this product since December 2012. It worked well for about 3 weeks and then it could not connect to the internet. I updated the firmware which worked for less than a week then the same problem. I read the reviews and some suggested that I return the product. I'm doing that tomorrow and will order a new one. I hope I have better luck with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Winter Park, FL
Date:February 18, 2013

Product not compatible with network

Pros: very well designed product
Cons: may have compatibility issues with other routers
Model Number: SR20K-WB/681581
"This is my third Amped Wireless (AW) product that I have purchased. Overall with respect to AW I'm very happy with their products. However, this repeater seems to have compatibility issues with my router that is Linksys. The other 300mW single band repeater works fine on the same network without any issues. This dual band keeps disconnecting from my network at irregular intervals (but throughout the day). I have put it under observation for over 24 hours and it is sad to say that I'll pull the plug on this and return the product. I nearly spent about 8 hours changing network settings (everything under the sun including default) settings but the results were the same. I think I'll settle for the single band 600mW repeater."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Winchester, MA
Date:February 5, 2013

Not very useful

"Setting up this product is easy. In the first month or so, it seemed to help boost the signal, although not to the degree that I had hoped for, but then it started losing connectivity sporadically and finally stopped working altogether. Unplugging or setting up again did not help. I'm returning it."
Review 78 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:February 4, 2013

great if you can get it to connect to your router

Pros: great range even through plaster
Cons: difficult to connect to verizon d-link router
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"Purchased this range extended to replace an old one. Took four hour long phone calls to Amped customer service and another 4 to Verizon before a Verizon supervisor told me to "hard wire" the range extender directly to the router and try to launch the Amped smart set up wizard. It worked. I now have 5 bars on the second and third floor of our home. The old range extender only gave me two bars upstairs."
Review 79 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 29, 2013

Great Support

Pros: support
Model Number: SR10000
"The instructions were simple enough, but I had some technical prolems that Chelsa helped me with. We're up and running. Good connection speed."
Review 80 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2013

problem resolved

"We used to only have wifi in half the house and it was difficult to run to devices at once. We now have wifi throughout the entire house including the perimeter of the yard. No more problem!!"
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>