Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 237
(out of 237 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (237 reviews)
5 stars
186
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
10
1 star
23
189 of 223(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Review 1 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bucks County, PA
Date:November 27, 2012

Does not work with Xfinity Routers

Pros: seemed to send a really strong clear signal
Cons: did not work with my xfinity router
Model Number: SR20K-WB
"Seemed like a perfect fit to help extend my wireless network in my home. Followed the directions - got the signal to show up on my wireless devices, but the data would not load. After fiddling with it for about an hour too long, I gave up and called technical support. The first question the guy asked was "what type of router do you have?" When I told him that I had an Xfinity router he told me that there is no repeater on the market that works with Xfinity routers. He said they are working on it, but something that the Xfinity router does makes it impossible for repeaters to work."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:August 23, 2012

Don't waste your money

Pros: easy to setup. great signal while it works.
Cons: does not keep settings time does not sync, requires frimware update techs are aware of this, loosing signal requires reboot every 10 minutes
"I received this repeater yesterday , was very excited. Set it up. Signal and speed is great when it works. Repeater is loosing connection to my router every 10 minutes that requires me cold reboot the repeater. Colled tech support, changed settings, 10 min later, no signal, while my older wireless is working fine, new has no signal again. Changed settings again to match my router, does not hold settings. Performance is incredible, signal is very strong while repeater is working for 10 min.But resetting it every minute is not worth it. Returning today."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:May 26, 2013

Great setup, lousy signal reliability

Pros: easy setup just as advertised.
Cons: really fragile connections to the base unit., buggy operations of the setup web page.
Model Number: SR10000
"Like many others who've commented here, I was very impressed with the speed and ease of the setup. It took less than 15 minutes.
However, the unit had a hard time maintaining a connection with the base unit and once lost, required a reboot to restore the connection. That connection became more and more unreliable until, after about 3 months, it stopped making the connection at all despite a reported signal strength of as high as 78%.
I tried rebooting (many times), a new installation/reconfiguration (5 times), all futile. I also noted several buggy behaviors in the setup web interface.
Basically, it's a nice early try at what I hope will be a decent product someday. But, for now, it's got too many bugs and reliability problems for me to accept. So, back to Costco it goes!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2012

Repeater

Cons: won't work with 2wire
"Wasn't able to use this with AT&T 2wire. It didn't say this on the website, so had to take it back."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:December 8, 2012

doesn't work with ATT 2Wire

Pros: don't know any can't make it work
Cons: doesn't work with att 2wire
Model Number: Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"spend couple of hours trying to make it work. called Customer service - first question their rep asked me: who is your Internet provider and what brand is your router? After I answered ATT and 2Wire he immediately said that it will not work. Wow! I only wish Amped and Costco disclose product limitations before I wasted time and money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Batesburg SC
Date:June 12, 2014

Great product!

Pros: works and easy to set up.
Cons: can't think of anything negative.
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"I love this wireless range extender. I can now connect to my office network and internet which is about 50 yards away from my home. No longer need 2 DSL modems for internet service - one for business and one for my home. Totally recommend this product to interested parties."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 5, 2014

Terrible purchase...

Cons: poor wifi signal, poor coverage
Model Number: Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
"Poor signal strength. Was working relatively well in the beginning, but a few days later the signal stopped abruptly in certain areas, and the area it spread the wifi to was very limited, despite the claims of the product. Seeing how unsatisfactory the product was, I returned the product to Costco and hope to find one that works as advertised."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Thornton Co
Date:September 6, 2013

Try another product, this one is bad

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap doesn't work as described.
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"I have tried twice with customer support to get this thing to stop dropping connection. Works for 5-10 min then dropps internet. Customer service is ok, but doesn't change the fact that I have a simple computer network at home and can't get the stupid thing to work. Taking back to Costco today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Suisun City, CA
Date:February 25, 2013

Returning the product today

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: connection with internet sporadic
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"I've had this product since December 2012. It worked well for about 3 weeks and then it could not connect to the internet. I updated the firmware which worked for less than a week then the same problem. I read the reviews and some suggested that I return the product. I'm doing that tomorrow and will order a new one. I hope I have better luck with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corvallis, OR
Date:January 11, 2013

Poor Product Support

Pros: none
Cons: poor product support
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"This unit would not stay connected to the internet despite a very strong signal. After three calls to Amped Wireless for technical assistance I was told that the unit was defective and that I should return it to Amped Wireless for replacement and that I would receive and email with instructions on how to do so. No email from Amped Wireless. On fourth call I was told to return unit to Costco for refund or exchange and 'good luck with that'. Shop for another brand!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Upstate NY
Date:November 19, 2012

Received Used Unit In Sealed Box

Pros: none
Cons: didn't even attempt to try it.
Model Number: Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"This isn't anything against Costco, but the vendor, Amped. I opened a factory sealed box to find the rubber feet with dirt and lint on them, one RJ45 cable missing and the one that was included was plugged into the unit. Nothing was in plastic bags except the documentation. Clearly I received a used unit that was repackaged by Amped."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:November 17, 2012

Problem connecting with XBOX360

Pros: easy to setup.
Cons: problem with xbox360
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"I bought this product for my son from Costco.com on 11/14/2012 and received it on 11/16/2012. The setup was easy. However, my son had problem connecting his Xbox360 to Xbox Live using this extender. He told me and I tried to connect to it again using my laptop, it didn't recognize the Home network, therefore no internet access. I had to re-setup it. And same problem happened. So I returned it to Costco the next day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

Too Erratic in Performance

"This product was very simple to set up and that is the only good part of the experience. The performance of the product has been extremely erratic. It. Works for one minute and then stops working for the next one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:August 16, 2012

No support, bad instructions

Pros: got it from costco so returning it will be easy!, that is the only pro.
Cons: charge for tech support even for brand new product, setup info incomplete, questionable mac & apple product support
"Does not work any better than my old Linksys & D-Link. Signal strength is the same for all 3.
Will be returning it soon.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 21, 2012

Amped Wireless 600mW - DON'T BUY!

Pros: found it at costco!
Cons: wouldn't connect.
Model Number: 600mW Smart Repeater
"I spent two hours trying to connect this to my wireless router without success. Finally called the manufacturer's technical support and tried with them for another hour. Finally he said there must be something wrong with their product. Whatever. Returned it and bought a Netgrear WN2500 which works perfectly (with a bit of technical support) and doesn't have those ugly rabbit ears! Sorry Costco, I love you and most of your products, but this one was a stinker."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 11, 2012

Great applification

Pros: good range
Cons: pc doesn't work with land line if repeater is on
Model Number: Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N 600mW Smart Repeater
"The repeater was a good purchase. I was able to install it easily onto the desktop and laptop.
The only problem I have with it is that it has a difficult time in decifering a proper IP address when the pc and laptop do not turn on in a specific order and then both end up trying to share the same IP address. Additionally when the repeater is on the laptop would not connect directly to hard lined internet connection. The laptop would just not connect until the repeater would be turned off completely. I have also been unable to uninstall the program and now have to try to go deeper into the pc program to try to remove it
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hayden Lake , ID
Date:February 23, 2012

Not very smart Repeater

Pros: none
Cons: bad service bad product
Model Number: N-600 mW Smart Repeater
"After 4 hours trying to set it up on one of my 2 wireless network it would not work. It seemed simple to set up but nothing would work. I called Amped Wireless and spoke with a Tech. He worked with me for 1/2 hour and seemed lost as what to do. At 5:30 PM the phone went dead and the company closed for the day. Taking this back to Costco Tomorrow for a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Franklin, TN
Date:September 5, 2012

If your ISP is AT&T U-verse save your money

Cons: doesn't work with at&t u-verse and they know it.
Model Number: SR10000
"I honestly can't say how this product works since it does not work with the AT&T U-verse router/gateway. I followed the instructions and worked for several hours trying to figure out the problem and finally contacted Amped customer service. Their response was that the Amped repeater doesn't work with AT&T and can't be made to work with AT&T and that they have known this for quite some time. When I asked them if they thought it would be a good idea to let people know that the repeater would not work with all routers (specifically the AT&T U-verse router/gateway) I was disappointed to read their response which was basically, yes we know the repeater won't work but our competitors don't work with the AT&T U-verse router either and they don't warn anyone so we don't either and you can pay the postage and return the item.
Beware, you should contact Amped before buying to ensure that it's compatible. I ended up going with a Netgear product and am very happy with it."
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Annapolis, MD
Date:November 29, 2013

Keep looking

Pros: looks good
Cons: intallation is impossible
"I read all the reviews before purchasing. The install sounded pretty easy....well it might be if you are a computer whiz. After spending the better part of a day trying to install this thing, I had enough. The on-line videos look great, but are useless. Glad I bought this from Costco..easy no hassle return."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chino Hills. CA
Date:July 30, 2013

Return it before return period expires.

Model Number: SR10000
"Stay away from this product. I returned this back to Costco after using for few months. It does not work the time you needed the most. You have to reset the power almost everyday before connecting to it. 10,000SQFT range is just a joke. I bought a much cheaper replacement repeater and been using for few weeks without resetting the power."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>