Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 200
(out of 200 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (200 reviews)
5 stars
154
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
10
1 star
22
155 of 188(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Review 1 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 5, 2014

Terrible purchase...

Cons: poor wifi signal, poor coverage
Model Number: Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
"Poor signal strength. Was working relatively well in the beginning, but a few days later the signal stopped abruptly in certain areas, and the area it spread the wifi to was very limited, despite the claims of the product. Seeing how unsatisfactory the product was, I returned the product to Costco and hope to find one that works as advertised."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Annapolis, MD
Date:November 29, 2013

Keep looking

Pros: looks good
Cons: intallation is impossible
"I read all the reviews before purchasing. The install sounded pretty easy....well it might be if you are a computer whiz. After spending the better part of a day trying to install this thing, I had enough. The on-line videos look great, but are useless. Glad I bought this from Costco..easy no hassle return."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:September 6, 2013

Would not hold a connection

Pros: none
Cons: poor connection, times out frequently
"This was a terrible purchase. I've had this for 2 months, and everytime I connect it to my TV, it always loses the connection. My router in the basement gives a better signal than this AMP router, which is in the room next to the TV. Not worth it!"
Review 4 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Thornton Co
Date:September 6, 2013

Try another product, this one is bad

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap doesn't work as described.
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"I have tried twice with customer support to get this thing to stop dropping connection. Works for 5-10 min then dropps internet. Customer service is ok, but doesn't change the fact that I have a simple computer network at home and can't get the stupid thing to work. Taking back to Costco today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:September 3, 2013

Very Slow

Pros: none
Cons: speed is slow, has to be close to the router
Model Number: SR10000
"The connection is very slow, It has to be very close to the router to work."
Review 6 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Babylon, NY
Date:August 26, 2013

a waste of time

Pros: costco's return policy
"Maybe it's because oI have a MAC, but after 2 hours of attempting to make it work and 30 minutes on hold with customer service(?) I decided to return it!"
Review 7 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chino Hills. CA
Date:July 30, 2013

Return it before return period expires.

Model Number: SR10000
"Stay away from this product. I returned this back to Costco after using for few months. It does not work the time you needed the most. You have to reset the power almost everyday before connecting to it. 10,000SQFT range is just a joke. I bought a much cheaper replacement repeater and been using for few weeks without resetting the power."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Suisun City, CA
Date:February 25, 2013

Returning the product today

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: connection with internet sporadic
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"I've had this product since December 2012. It worked well for about 3 weeks and then it could not connect to the internet. I updated the firmware which worked for less than a week then the same problem. I read the reviews and some suggested that I return the product. I'm doing that tomorrow and will order a new one. I hope I have better luck with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corvallis, OR
Date:January 11, 2013

Poor Product Support

Pros: none
Cons: poor product support
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"This unit would not stay connected to the internet despite a very strong signal. After three calls to Amped Wireless for technical assistance I was told that the unit was defective and that I should return it to Amped Wireless for replacement and that I would receive and email with instructions on how to do so. No email from Amped Wireless. On fourth call I was told to return unit to Costco for refund or exchange and 'good luck with that'. Shop for another brand!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 7, 2013

Moody Product

Pros: none
Model Number: SR 10000
"I have purchased this product to extend the range of my router (AARIS T852G) to the other end of my apartment. FYI; my provider is comcast.
Set up was a breeze (it took me 10 mins to get it ready), but unfortunately the good times soon came to an end after i set it up.
- The product pushes the ranges slighly more than my router, however it is a very moody product. It will work for a while and then all of a sudden dies. In some ocassions you will have full signal but simply no data is coming through.
- I called tech support for Amped wireless, he re-did the set up with me over the phone. However, the product still acted weirdly, it will work for sometime and then suddenly dies. FYI i have tried placing it even less than a foot away from the main router and still the signal would suddenly stop.
- What is even very disappointing is that Tech support guys knew that this product (as well as other amped wireless products) had firmware issues. One recommended that i shy away from the firmware recently published on the site coz it had glitches (why would a company release a firmware update knowing it had glitches!!!). One the tech support guys even told me; "the product is fine, it is just the firware that has issues". From my perspective, this is totally unacceptale the product is hardware plus firmware, if one of them is flawed the product is no good for consumption.
Overall, this product was a waste of time for me so i returned it to Costco for a refund. There was a firmware to be released soon but i decided that this product really wasted my time, and there is no point waiting for a firmware if the company thinks that its firmware updates are still shaky."
Review 11 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

Unit was previously used and defective

Pros: good tech support from amped
Cons: received a defective unit
Model Number: SR10000
"Item had obviously been used before. The rubber pads on the bottom had dirt and lint on them. the only items wrapped in plastic were the installation instructions. Tried the product but not all my wireless devices could connect. Called Amped technical support and diagnosed that the wireless receiver in the unit was more than likely defective. The unit showed my home wireless signal strength at 69% when the Amped WiFi analytics app on my smartphone consistently showed a signal strength of 80-90%. Typically the unit should show a higher percentage since it should have a better wireless receiver than a smartphone."
Review 12 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:December 8, 2012

doesn't work with ATT 2Wire

Pros: don't know any can't make it work
Cons: doesn't work with att 2wire
Model Number: Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"spend couple of hours trying to make it work. called Customer service - first question their rep asked me: who is your Internet provider and what brand is your router? After I answered ATT and 2Wire he immediately said that it will not work. Wow! I only wish Amped and Costco disclose product limitations before I wasted time and money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:December 4, 2012

What a headache

Pros: great range and price
Cons: lousy customer support & too many conflicts
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"Product arrived ahead of schedule, great Costco service. Then the installation! It was a problem after another. The setup keep going in a loop. After over 10 tries, called customer service. After almost an hour wait, the rep had very little knowledge besides turn on - turn off. Finallly, do not know how got the repeater working, but only for one day. It knocked off my internet. Everytime I would open my browsers, the unit wanted to run the setup process again. Had to unplugged the unit to use the internet. Again called customer service, after 25 minutes wait, they hang up, called again, after 50 minutes wait, told the rep what was happening. He had no idea what to do, just said to return the unit to Costco. So heading to Costco this afternoon to return the unit. BTW, when it work, it had an increadable range! But not worth the headache, and the hours I will never get back in my life!!!"
Review 14 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bucks County, PA
Date:November 27, 2012

Does not work with Xfinity Routers

Pros: seemed to send a really strong clear signal
Cons: did not work with my xfinity router
Model Number: SR20K-WB
"Seemed like a perfect fit to help extend my wireless network in my home. Followed the directions - got the signal to show up on my wireless devices, but the data would not load. After fiddling with it for about an hour too long, I gave up and called technical support. The first question the guy asked was "what type of router do you have?" When I told him that I had an Xfinity router he told me that there is no repeater on the market that works with Xfinity routers. He said they are working on it, but something that the Xfinity router does makes it impossible for repeaters to work."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Upstate NY
Date:November 19, 2012

Received Used Unit In Sealed Box

Pros: none
Cons: didn't even attempt to try it.
Model Number: Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"This isn't anything against Costco, but the vendor, Amped. I opened a factory sealed box to find the rubber feet with dirt and lint on them, one RJ45 cable missing and the one that was included was plugged into the unit. Nothing was in plastic bags except the documentation. Clearly I received a used unit that was repackaged by Amped."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Franklin, TN
Date:September 5, 2012

If your ISP is AT&T U-verse save your money

Cons: doesn't work with at&t u-verse and they know it.
Model Number: SR10000
"I honestly can't say how this product works since it does not work with the AT&T U-verse router/gateway. I followed the instructions and worked for several hours trying to figure out the problem and finally contacted Amped customer service. Their response was that the Amped repeater doesn't work with AT&T and can't be made to work with AT&T and that they have known this for quite some time. When I asked them if they thought it would be a good idea to let people know that the repeater would not work with all routers (specifically the AT&T U-verse router/gateway) I was disappointed to read their response which was basically, yes we know the repeater won't work but our competitors don't work with the AT&T U-verse router either and they don't warn anyone so we don't either and you can pay the postage and return the item.
Beware, you should contact Amped before buying to ensure that it's compatible. I ended up going with a Netgear product and am very happy with it."
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2012

Not great

"Tried to get reception in guesthouse- doesn't go as far as it says. Will be returning item"
Review 18 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:August 23, 2012

Don't waste your money

Pros: easy to setup. great signal while it works.
Cons: does not keep settings time does not sync, requires frimware update techs are aware of this, loosing signal requires reboot every 10 minutes
"I received this repeater yesterday , was very excited. Set it up. Signal and speed is great when it works. Repeater is loosing connection to my router every 10 minutes that requires me cold reboot the repeater. Colled tech support, changed settings, 10 min later, no signal, while my older wireless is working fine, new has no signal again. Changed settings again to match my router, does not hold settings. Performance is incredible, signal is very strong while repeater is working for 10 min.But resetting it every minute is not worth it. Returning today."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:August 16, 2012

No support, bad instructions

Pros: got it from costco so returning it will be easy!, that is the only pro.
Cons: charge for tech support even for brand new product, setup info incomplete, questionable mac & apple product support
"Does not work any better than my old Linksys & D-Link. Signal strength is the same for all 3.
Will be returning it soon.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 21, 2012

Amped Wireless 600mW - DON'T BUY!

Pros: found it at costco!
Cons: wouldn't connect.
Model Number: 600mW Smart Repeater
"I spent two hours trying to connect this to my wireless router without success. Finally called the manufacturer's technical support and tried with them for another hour. Finally he said there must be something wrong with their product. Whatever. Returned it and bought a Netgrear WN2500 which works perfectly (with a bit of technical support) and doesn't have those ugly rabbit ears! Sorry Costco, I love you and most of your products, but this one was a stinker."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>