Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater

Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
Average Customer Rating:
4.665 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 266
(out of 266 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (266 reviews)
5 stars
224
4 stars
25
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
13
228 of 247(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Review 1 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Thornton Co
Date:September 6, 2013

Try another product, this one is bad

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap doesn't work as described.
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"I have tried twice with customer support to get this thing to stop dropping connection. Works for 5-10 min then dropps internet. Customer service is ok, but doesn't change the fact that I have a simple computer network at home and can't get the stupid thing to work. Taking back to Costco today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:September 3, 2013

Very Slow

Pros: none
Cons: speed is slow, has to be close to the router
Model Number: SR10000
"The connection is very slow, It has to be very close to the router to work."
Review 3 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chino Hills. CA
Date:July 30, 2013

Return it before return period expires.

Model Number: SR10000
"Stay away from this product. I returned this back to Costco after using for few months. It does not work the time you needed the most. You have to reset the power almost everyday before connecting to it. 10,000SQFT range is just a joke. I bought a much cheaper replacement repeater and been using for few weeks without resetting the power."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Suisun City, CA
Date:February 25, 2013

Returning the product today

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: connection with internet sporadic
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"I've had this product since December 2012. It worked well for about 3 weeks and then it could not connect to the internet. I updated the firmware which worked for less than a week then the same problem. I read the reviews and some suggested that I return the product. I'm doing that tomorrow and will order a new one. I hope I have better luck with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corvallis, OR
Date:January 11, 2013

Poor Product Support

Pros: none
Cons: poor product support
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"This unit would not stay connected to the internet despite a very strong signal. After three calls to Amped Wireless for technical assistance I was told that the unit was defective and that I should return it to Amped Wireless for replacement and that I would receive and email with instructions on how to do so. No email from Amped Wireless. On fourth call I was told to return unit to Costco for refund or exchange and 'good luck with that'. Shop for another brand!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 7, 2013

Moody Product

Pros: none
Model Number: SR 10000
"I have purchased this product to extend the range of my router (AARIS T852G) to the other end of my apartment. FYI; my provider is comcast.
Set up was a breeze (it took me 10 mins to get it ready), but unfortunately the good times soon came to an end after i set it up.
- The product pushes the ranges slighly more than my router, however it is a very moody product. It will work for a while and then all of a sudden dies. In some ocassions you will have full signal but simply no data is coming through.
- I called tech support for Amped wireless, he re-did the set up with me over the phone. However, the product still acted weirdly, it will work for sometime and then suddenly dies. FYI i have tried placing it even less than a foot away from the main router and still the signal would suddenly stop.
- What is even very disappointing is that Tech support guys knew that this product (as well as other amped wireless products) had firmware issues. One recommended that i shy away from the firmware recently published on the site coz it had glitches (why would a company release a firmware update knowing it had glitches!!!). One the tech support guys even told me; "the product is fine, it is just the firware that has issues". From my perspective, this is totally unacceptale the product is hardware plus firmware, if one of them is flawed the product is no good for consumption.
Overall, this product was a waste of time for me so i returned it to Costco for a refund. There was a firmware to be released soon but i decided that this product really wasted my time, and there is no point waiting for a firmware if the company thinks that its firmware updates are still shaky."
Review 7 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

Unit was previously used and defective

Pros: good tech support from amped
Cons: received a defective unit
Model Number: SR10000
"Item had obviously been used before. The rubber pads on the bottom had dirt and lint on them. the only items wrapped in plastic were the installation instructions. Tried the product but not all my wireless devices could connect. Called Amped technical support and diagnosed that the wireless receiver in the unit was more than likely defective. The unit showed my home wireless signal strength at 69% when the Amped WiFi analytics app on my smartphone consistently showed a signal strength of 80-90%. Typically the unit should show a higher percentage since it should have a better wireless receiver than a smartphone."
Review 8 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:December 8, 2012

doesn't work with ATT 2Wire

Pros: don't know any can't make it work
Cons: doesn't work with att 2wire
Model Number: Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"spend couple of hours trying to make it work. called Customer service - first question their rep asked me: who is your Internet provider and what brand is your router? After I answered ATT and 2Wire he immediately said that it will not work. Wow! I only wish Amped and Costco disclose product limitations before I wasted time and money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:December 4, 2012

What a headache

Pros: great range and price
Cons: lousy customer support & too many conflicts
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"Product arrived ahead of schedule, great Costco service. Then the installation! It was a problem after another. The setup keep going in a loop. After over 10 tries, called customer service. After almost an hour wait, the rep had very little knowledge besides turn on - turn off. Finallly, do not know how got the repeater working, but only for one day. It knocked off my internet. Everytime I would open my browsers, the unit wanted to run the setup process again. Had to unplugged the unit to use the internet. Again called customer service, after 25 minutes wait, they hang up, called again, after 50 minutes wait, told the rep what was happening. He had no idea what to do, just said to return the unit to Costco. So heading to Costco this afternoon to return the unit. BTW, when it work, it had an increadable range! But not worth the headache, and the hours I will never get back in my life!!!"
Review 10 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Upstate NY
Date:November 19, 2012

Received Used Unit In Sealed Box

Pros: none
Cons: didn't even attempt to try it.
Model Number: Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"This isn't anything against Costco, but the vendor, Amped. I opened a factory sealed box to find the rubber feet with dirt and lint on them, one RJ45 cable missing and the one that was included was plugged into the unit. Nothing was in plastic bags except the documentation. Clearly I received a used unit that was repackaged by Amped."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Franklin, TN
Date:September 5, 2012

If your ISP is AT&T U-verse save your money

Cons: doesn't work with at&t u-verse and they know it.
Model Number: SR10000
"I honestly can't say how this product works since it does not work with the AT&T U-verse router/gateway. I followed the instructions and worked for several hours trying to figure out the problem and finally contacted Amped customer service. Their response was that the Amped repeater doesn't work with AT&T and can't be made to work with AT&T and that they have known this for quite some time. When I asked them if they thought it would be a good idea to let people know that the repeater would not work with all routers (specifically the AT&T U-verse router/gateway) I was disappointed to read their response which was basically, yes we know the repeater won't work but our competitors don't work with the AT&T U-verse router either and they don't warn anyone so we don't either and you can pay the postage and return the item.
Beware, you should contact Amped before buying to ensure that it's compatible. I ended up going with a Netgear product and am very happy with it."
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014

Amped Wireless has poor warranty service!!

Model Number: SR10K-WB
"This worked great as an extender at our home until I needed to move it to another room. The unit would not hook back up. After doing everything I possibly could I called the company. They said it had "lost" it's IP address and was no good now. The unit was just over a month old so they will give me a new one. Sounds fine until you find out they want you to pay the $17 UPS fee to get it back to them. Very poor. Would not have expected this with a faulty product."
Review 13 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:May 26, 2013

Great setup, lousy signal reliability

Pros: easy setup just as advertised.
Cons: really fragile connections to the base unit., buggy operations of the setup web page.
Model Number: SR10000
"Like many others who've commented here, I was very impressed with the speed and ease of the setup. It took less than 15 minutes.
However, the unit had a hard time maintaining a connection with the base unit and once lost, required a reboot to restore the connection. That connection became more and more unreliable until, after about 3 months, it stopped making the connection at all despite a reported signal strength of as high as 78%.
I tried rebooting (many times), a new installation/reconfiguration (5 times), all futile. I also noted several buggy behaviors in the setup web interface.
Basically, it's a nice early try at what I hope will be a decent product someday. But, for now, it's got too many bugs and reliability problems for me to accept. So, back to Costco it goes!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 1, 2012

Easy to Configure BUT Slow Download speed

Pros: easy to configure
Cons: download speed suffers
Model Number: 638654/SR10K-WB
"Product was easy to configure (less than 5 minutes right out of the box), but the performance was lacking. Laptop connected directly to our home wireless router even with a weaker signal was getting 4-5 times the download speed throughput than when connected to extended wireless network from this product. I noticed performance issues streaming video and checked my download speeds with Speedtest.net. Product did extend signal throughout home, but performance was disappointing. I will be returning this to Costco store."
Review 15 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:November 17, 2012

Problem connecting with XBOX360

Pros: easy to setup.
Cons: problem with xbox360
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"I bought this product for my son from Costco.com on 11/14/2012 and received it on 11/16/2012. The setup was easy. However, my son had problem connecting his Xbox360 to Xbox Live using this extender. He told me and I tried to connect to it again using my laptop, it didn't recognize the Home network, therefore no internet access. I had to re-setup it. And same problem happened. So I returned it to Costco the next day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Batesburg SC
Date:June 12, 2014

Great product!

Pros: works and easy to set up.
Cons: can't think of anything negative.
Model Number: SR10K-WB
"I love this wireless range extender. I can now connect to my office network and internet which is about 50 yards away from my home. No longer need 2 DSL modems for internet service - one for business and one for my home. Totally recommend this product to interested parties."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Amped Wireless® High Power Wireless-N Wi-Fi 600mW Range Extender & Smart Repeater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beach city near LA
Date:June 9, 2014

It actually works!

Pros: easy setup to my mac and it works as they said
Model Number: Amped Model: 638654/SR10K-WB
"It works! It's easy to set up! We have a two-story house of 2400 sq ft but it has large steel support girders located between our Verizon Fios router and our bedroom, and the wifi didn't reach, even though the distance was only 40 feet. And now, the wifi does have a good connection where it didn't before."