Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter

Now you can take all those stacks of 35mm slides and negatives and convert them into digital images to share and preserve them forever. Wolverine has created a very simple to use device to convert all your 35mm film into a 14 Mega Pixels digital images in seconds.    So simple to use, it only requires a push of a button. No computer or software is needed. Use it right out of the box to convert all your 35mm film by plugging it into an AC outlet or any USB port. All images are saved into its internal memory or optional SD/SDHC memory card. Easily connects to any computer PC or MAC, to offload images or view on TV. Features: Convert 35mm NEGATIVES and SLIDES to 14 mega Pixel (4608 x 3072 Pixels) Digital (JPEG) images with just a push a button   Unique stand-alone operation, no computer or software required   Extremely fast, takes less than 3 seconds to convert an image   Saves images to internal memory (17 MB) or optional SD/SDHC memory card   Image brightness adjustment   Video-Out to TV connection (cable not included)   2.4" color LCD screen   Compact design   Mac and PC compatible   SD/SDHC Built-in Card Reader   TV and USB Connection   Included: F2D14 Converter   Built-in 17 MB Internal Memory (holds up to 10 images)   One Slides Tray   One Negatives Tray   USB/Power Cable   110V-220V AC Adapter   Cleaning Stick   Manual Model: F2D14
Average Customer Rating:
4.183 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
(out of 71 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
63 of 71(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Review 1 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:April 7, 2012

Not perfect but very, very good.

Pros: small-portable-fast-uses removable memory chip, easy to use
Cons: results usually need some color adjusting, not suitable for enlargements over 4x6 inch, this is not like a picture from a 14mp camera
Model Number: Woliverine F2D14
"I have a much more expensive slide converter that I love. However, I wanted to get one that was faster that was less expensive and I could give to my sister-in-law and was easier to use. I have tried several other methods and models of slide converter and have found this one to preform the best with acceptable results. All the converters I tested need some color adjustment after conversion...even my expensive slide converter. You need to expect this. Also, you will need to visit the Wolverine web site to download an extra program to configure the memory chip you need to provide. This program is easy to configure on your chip and the instructions come with the download. This is important because this extra program adds more internal color adjustments before you copy the slide. The Wolverine 14P comes with one 4-slide holder and you can purchase more slide holders direct from Wolverine on line. This slide converter is small, fast, portable and extremely easy to use and very good for the money. The only thing better costs a lot more money."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maitland, FL
Date:March 14, 2012

Easy & Fun

Pros: very easy to use.
Cons: large file size.
Model Number: 14MP
"I have enjoyed the ease of using this product. The unit allows me to reverse and flip each slide before scanning. It is sometimes difficult to see if your slide is correct due to the 2.4" screen. You can also adjust the brightness, and the ease of the SD card (not included) is great. The unit also formats the card for you after you've transferred the photos. The only thing I'm finding is that the photos are so large that they are taking up a lot of space on my older PC. I've already copied close to 1,000 slides and have about 2,000 more to go. It only takes a few seconds to copy and move on to the next one. I have not tried the negatives yet, but am anxious to see how that goes. A lot of my slides are from as far back as 1970, and the color has gone too red or blue. I've been able to correct a lot of them...but have changed some to B&W to help deal with it. I'm just glad to have an easy way to convert them and see them again because our slides have come unglued and would never work in the projector. If you don't care that your photos are not perfect, this unit will help you preserve your memories."
52 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Fernando Valley
Date:March 23, 2012

Good Product

Pros: ease of use & speed.
Cons: too much red in the end result.
"I'm very pleased with the speed and ease of use. So far I've scanned several hundred negatives and over 1,000 slides. The only downside is the scanned result has way too much red; I'll need to buy a photo program to fix it. Two things: Get compressed air to clean your slides and negatives as dust particles readily show up, and you need to be very careful to properly place the slides in the holder; many of mine were reversed and had to be redone. With the size, 2 1/2 inches, of the display it's difficult to see if you are scanning the front or the back so be careful.
I would, and have, referred the scanner to friends and family. Well worth the money."
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanwood, WA
Date:April 26, 2012

Wolverine Slide Scanner

Pros: well worth the price, easy to use
Model Number: F2D-14
"Having a collection of old slides (40 + years) and not wanting to invest both the time and expense of having them transferred professionally to either a disc or SD card, I decided to give this scanner a try. Once I read the instructions and started scanning pictures of my choice, I knew I made a wise decision with the purchase. The ease of use and the quality of the scans was better than I had envisioned they would be considering the relatively low price of the scanner. I would say that if you have a lot of slides and a little time, this will save you a tremendous amount of expense by not having to pay someone else to transfer them because you can selectively pick what you want or don't want."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 22, 2012

Exceptional Scanner

Pros: easy to use
Cons: cannot scan directly to computer
"I have been searching for a scanner to scan in 110mm slides. Until now, the scanning resolution was not even close to what was needed to be worth the bother. After cropping out the cardboard, this scanner ends up turning a 110mm slide into a 2300x1750 image - far above the resolution of the film I chose.
Sure I thought about archiving some of my old negatives, and I'm confident that this will scan them well, but the ability to scan the 110mm slides made the deal."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2012

Great Purchase

"The machine works just as advertised. I ended up buying the holder for "roll film" for about $10. It works a lot faster to feed the negatives through it than loading each one in the holder that comes with it. I can scan about 500 negatives while watching the NCAA basketball finals."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:April 11, 2012

Does a descent job.

Pros: affordable and it works
Cons: negatives are much harder to load than slides, doesn't transfer directly to pc
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP
"Tested as soon as I received it. Easy to start using right away. Was able to transfer and view photos that I have not seen in years, decades. I am sure it will do the 110 and 126 negatives also. Does anyone remember these? Unfortunately, it does not transfer directly to a PC (unless I missed something). You must first transfer to a very small internal memory or an SD, not included. Not a real big deal except that the extra step makes it difficult to see if you got a good transfer until you remove the SD from the Wolverine and insert it in the PC. If you didn't get a good transfer, you have to redo the whole process. This makes it impossible to do large batches AND proof the transfers as you go. Negatives are much harder to load into the included tray(s) than the slides. All said, the Wolverine does what I need it to do: Allows me to digitize my old 35mm negatives and slides, just not as easily as I would like."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:April 11, 2012

An OK product

Pros: higher resolution up to 14mp;, easy to operate this compact neat device;, in very short time to save each picture;, friendly control panel.
Cons: color seems not so accurate too much cyan color;, focus is not very well;, not get whole picture from 35mm film. cut top.
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
"This new 35mm film digital image scanner has more improvement than those lower resulution scanner. It is useful to get digital picture from old film and display the digital picture on the TV.
A scanner shoud obtain a digital picture which has similar quality as the picture from 35mm film. But this digital scanner has a little color and focus issues.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Date:April 23, 2012

Love it!

Pros: easy to use with great results, reasonably priced
Cons: can't think of any
Model Number: Wolverine F2D-14
"This scanner is fantastic! It's everything they advertise including being easy to use. I had a blast converting my old slides to photos, which I haven't viewed in decades. I also converted some old negatives I found at my parent's house when they died that were more than 60 years old. I only wish now that I had some more slides and negatives to convert. I highly recommend this device."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2012

So Far...Excellent

Pros: inexpensive, adequate for amatuer user., good consumer service
Cons: limited capacity slide holder
Model Number: MP-14-Green
"OK, having said excellent be aware that I have only been using for a couple weeks (got HUNDREDS of slides to convert to digital, done 200+ so far).
But, so far, so good. Comparatively inexpensive for this purpose. Easy to use and once you figure our the exposure and color adjustment settings (a plus+ and minus- system) versatile enough for the average "home-user", but probably not the finicky or professional. Only downside is limit of four slides in the holder which requires a lot of repetitive actions.
"Tips"...once I had slides seated in holder used compressed air spray to address potential "dust problems" before converting them. Also used 2Gig SD Card to save photos, then transferred and copied card to PC for "processing". Two steps, but easy and worked fine.
BTW, the included "screen brush" for dust removal was missing from my package. A call to the manufacturer and it arrived 3 days later...good service."
Review 11 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay area, ca
Date:April 13, 2012

extremely easy to use

Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: only can do 4 at a time
"I was nervous about getting this because I have lots of slides and didn't want a labor intensive project due to the machine. (I already knew it would be labor intensive because of amount of slides to go through.)
The machine is quick and easy, I wish it would hold more than 4 at a time. Do brush off slides and use air can, there can be lots of dust and it leans towards red in color. But overall it's really easy to use and great to see some pictures I never thought I would see again. Now what to do with them?
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:April 12, 2012

Excellent results

"I'm very pleased with the digital images that I've gotten from some VERY (40-50 years old!) old slides. The scanner is easy to use, almost intuitive. Be sure to use the "brush" that's included to clean the glass. Although I found that you don't have to clean it as often as directed, every few times that you run the slide or negative holder through the machine, it pays to clean the glass."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seminole, FL
Date:April 13, 2012

Works as described.

Pros: faster
Cons: poor packaging at manufacturer.
Model Number: F2D-14
"The slide tray was warped due to the way it was packed in the box, so only 3 of the 4 positions could be used. Called Costco Customer Service and have been advised that a new Slide Tray is on the way. This device copies the slides very much faster than a similar one I tried about 5 years ago. I gave up on the older one long ago and was hoping this would work better which it did."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jersey Shore
Date:April 10, 2012

Great purchase for the price.

Pros: speed
Cons: quality goes with the cost but i'm not complaining
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP Film and Slide Digital Image Scanner
"I purchased this scanner recently to scan appx 4700 slides I have sitting in circular trays in my home. No one bothers to drag out the projector and the trays take up so much room I thought I'd give the scanner a try. I've done about 2900 so far and it's going very well. They're more than good enough to look at on the computer and print out a 4x6 if so desired. I also have a better scanner if the need arises for a better job, but that one would take forever to scan the quantity of slides I'm doing. I now have my slides on the computer for easy viewing and access, or further processing and can put on cd's or dvd's for my children.
I also purchased slide storage boxes that take up sooo much less space.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fallsington, PA
Date:April 21, 2012

Well designed and easy to use

Pros: relatively quick, light adjustment, easy to use
Cons: none
"I had 2,300 slides dating back to the mid-sixties through the mid-eighties. Using this device, I was able to process all of them in a relatively short period. While many of my slides showed their age, this device did a nice job of bringing them into a data format."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:April 15, 2012

Love it!

Model Number: F2D-14
"With my previous scanner I could only do one slide at a time and the software pretty much forced me to use Photoshop on every slide. Now I can do four slides at a time and the image is really great---does not even need to be connected to the computer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:April 19, 2012

Great value for money

Pros: value for money
Cons: not real high res
"This scanner is very easy to use, scans and stores quickly. Image quality is quite good, especially if you just want to make 5x7 prints, but is a little grainy on a 23" high res screen. Overall, great value for money"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Riverside, Ca
Date:May 3, 2012

Happy with my purchase

Pros: no computer required, quick scanning, uses sd card
Cons: doesn't have continous numbering of scanned files
Model Number: Wolverine F2D14 14 Megapixels 35mm Film to Digital Converter
"I wanted a negative film scanner to convert all my files to digital and this made the job easier."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San francisco
Date:April 13, 2012

35 mm Scanner

Pros: easy to use, fast
Cons: screen could be a little bigger
Model Number: Wolverine 14 mp 35mm scanner
"Exceeded my expectation. Easy to use, fast and very sharp copies."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:April 10, 2012

outstanding buy

Pros: can't go wrong!
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
"For the price, it is a good product, but don't expect perfection. Color leans toward being saturated. Although some photo apps can resolve this shortcoming, there is no substitute for having correct balance to begin with.
Also: If the EV compensation is set to either "+" or "-", there is a certain delay from the time the film is inserted to when it is ready to scan; from one to three seconds, depending on the degree of compensation.
It is not a "bad" characteristic of the product. It appears to be an "automatic brightness" compensation. That is good!
I hope the techies at the factory will do some tweaking to make the necessary correction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>