Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter

Now you can take all those stacks of 35mm slides and negatives and convert them into digital images to share and preserve them forever. Wolverine has created a very simple to use device to convert all your 35mm film into a 14 Mega Pixels digital images in seconds.    So simple to use, it only requires a push of a button. No computer or software is needed. Use it right out of the box to convert all your 35mm film by plugging it into an AC outlet or any USB port. All images are saved into its internal memory or optional SD/SDHC memory card. Easily connects to any computer PC or MAC, to offload images or view on TV. Features: Convert 35mm NEGATIVES and SLIDES to 14 mega Pixel (4608 x 3072 Pixels) Digital (JPEG) images with just a push a button   Unique stand-alone operation, no computer or software required   Extremely fast, takes less than 3 seconds to convert an image   Saves images to internal memory (17 MB) or optional SD/SDHC memory card   Image brightness adjustment   Video-Out to TV connection (cable not included)   2.4" color LCD screen   Compact design   Mac and PC compatible   SD/SDHC Built-in Card Reader   TV and USB Connection   Included: F2D14 Converter   Built-in 17 MB Internal Memory (holds up to 10 images)   One Slides Tray   One Negatives Tray   USB/Power Cable   110V-220V AC Adapter   Cleaning Stick   Manual Model: F2D14
Average Customer Rating:
4.183 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
(out of 71 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
63 of 71(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Review 21 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eureka, CA
Date:August 9, 2012
Model Number: F2D14
"So far, I have scanned around 1300 slides in 2 weeks using the Wolverine. The 3 1/2 second/slide scan time that is advertised is accurate. It's a very simple scanner to use and the picture quality is very good. I recommended it to friends and they ordered one yesterday.
The only con I see is that the slide holder seems a little flimsy but it has held up so far. Slides have to be set in the holder perfectly so that it will close on them and then fit through the scanner and this may take a few tries due to the fact that some slides fit very snuggly into the slots."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2012

Why all the great reviews?

Pros: nothing
Cons: terrible color reproduction, extremely poor resolution
"I am a professional photographer and purchased this to simply scan some slides for my website. The end result - I returned it the next day for a refund. The colors were so far off it wasn't even funny. The resolution was an absolute joke. They claim 14mp. I'd like to see proof of that because the one I received sure could produce enough resolution for a sharp 8x10 image at 72dpi ! If you want something cheap that does a terrible job at color reproduction and blurry resolution, then yes, this is for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Buford, Georgia
Date:April 13, 2012

Great Value

Pros: quick and easy
Cons: trays needed adjustments for each picture
Model Number: 14MP-GREEN
"It scans slides and negatives quickly and clearly, and correct colors. Setup was easy with or without the computer. Trays were a little tricky to open at first. Sliding the tray was a little flimsy, needed adjustment after getting to the picture wanted. Overall this works better than the flat bed scanner I bought a few years ago which was very slow and never got the colors correct."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:April 19, 2012
Model Number: 14mp-green
"I just started scanning my slides but looks like I'll finally get my old slides into pics and on the computer. I have slides going back to 1969 and as long as they are still light enough, they come out fine. I am very pleased with this product; I tried a few others on the market and they didn't work for the old slides."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2012

Digital pics in a snap

Pros: quick quality digital images.
Cons: none
Model Number: 14MP-GREEN
"After opening the box I was converting slides within minutes. Quality of digital image appears to be equal to original slides. I used the color correction on washed out slides and was able to restore more lifelike color. Easy and quick to convert slides. Great purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, CA
Date:April 13, 2012

I learned to use it . . .

"". . . In a very short time, which for me, says a lot. I'm technologically challenged.
The item helped me digitize black and white slides to my computer so I could print them out. It's not like working in a dark room, but certainly helped me do something I couldn't have done with out it."
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2012

Did The Trick

Pros: cost, magnetic closure on slide holder
"So far I've scanned several hundred slides. Product use is straightforward. The "cleaning" wand is good for dusting the light source, but there is no way to reach the lens. Detail is quite good and will pick up every little piece of dust if slides are not clean."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

More than Satisified

"I'm happy with this product. Wish the colors were more true but this is better than lots of slides sitting on a shelf. Now I can label the slides for future information for the children and grandchildren."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hoodsport, WA
Date:April 20, 2012

Works great

Model Number: F2D-14
"Seems to do a good job of converting slides to JPG format to your computer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Lyon, MI
Date:August 16, 2012

Great Little Wonder

Pros: easy to use
Model Number: F2D14
"I've had this for only a few weeks, but so far, this thing works great! I loaded a 16Gb card in the back, hooked up the power to the computer's USB drive, turned it on, and it was ready to go. Real easy to work. The main unit is a device which takes a digital image of the slide (I haven't done negatives) . Takes 3 seconds to save one. After saving a bunch of them, I uploaded them to my computer with the touch of a couple buttons. The images are good. Depends upon the slide a lot.
It, and the slide tray are well built, and I hope it lasts . I'm saving Dad's slides from the 50's thru the 90's. He had them chronologically organized. It's like reading a book of my life story as I digitize them in order."
Review 31 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Juan Capistrano, CA
Date:April 10, 2012

Great solution for the family slides

Pros: very fast; 5 seconds, overall good quality results
Cons: hue sometime favor reds
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP
"I started scanning my family history of slides using my PrimeFilm 3650U scanner. It did a good job and has ICE technology which allows fine adjustments for optimum results. However it takes about 5 minutes per slide. This Wolverine 14MP does a more than adequate job for most slides, even without correction software and takes only a few seconds per slide. Only complaint is that some slides tend to the red hue. My plan is to scan all slides with the Wolverine and rescan and optimize a few special ones with the 3650U or take them to Costco for professional scanning. I probably would have quit this project without this scanner. Thanks, Costco!"
Review 32 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

Great

Pros: fast, easy
"This scanner was even easier to use then I expected from the product description, I managed to scan my parents 500+ slides in just two nights. the scanner was able to auto adjust to get a good image with lots of detail and light balance.
The only thing that was annoying is that while you can flip the images within the scanner, so the image is not reversed. you had to load them to your computer if all you needed to do was rotate the image. but this was only a minor inconvenience since I was going to load all the images to the computer to burn them to a DVD anyways. and that gave me a larger screen to review them first."
Review 33 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:September 7, 2012

Fast and Easy to Use

Pros: speed, quality of image, value for the money
Cons: color display inconistently works right
Model Number: Wolverine F2D-14
"I'm able to quickly convert a roll of film in less than 5 minutes! I bought additional negative trays in the hope to further speed up the process as we have hundreds of rolls of film to convert. The LCD display lighting colors and intensity don't always match the scanned image when downloaded to my PC, therefore use caution when playing with scanning settings based on what's shown on LCD. I suggest using a photo editing software to make those adjustments rather than the scanner. Pay attention to the cleanliness of the slide/negative before scanning or you'll see the dust on the image file."
Review 34 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 14, 2012

Great piece of equipment

Pros: fast, can edit pictures, can load 4 slides at once, very easy to use, don't need a computer to scan
Model Number: Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35mm Film to Digital Converter
"This is the second scanner that I have purchased. The first one took 3-4 minutes for each slide and you had to be hooked up to a computer. The Wolverine took less than 15 seconds per slide. It is far away, hands down the one of the best purchases I have made. I have converted more than 1,000 slides into JPG digital files since receiving the Wolverine F2D14 Converter two weeks ago. These slides were from 1969-1974 (more than 40 years old) and were beginning to deteriorate. The images have now been preserved for my children and grandchildren. Thank you Wolverine!!!!!!"
Review 35 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, OH
Date:August 24, 2012

Ok, for the $$

Pros: cheap, features for adjusting the image, memory card
Cons: poor lighting, time consuming
"Most of what I have to xfer is snapshots from vacations, family get-togethers, etc. I have some art photographs, which I will probably xfer through some commercial means. The lighting isn't even across the image. On mine the light is brighter on the left. I'm not sure the bulb is all that great. I'm wondering what will happen if it ever goes out because I don't see anyway to take it apart without breaking it. Also, loading the negative and slide tray is very time consuming. It would be nice to have something that could hold more than one negative sleeve."
Review 36 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Valley Forge, PA
Date:August 23, 2012

Patience required

"If you have the patience to correct the color of your slides, the converter works fine. But color correction increases the time needed for conversion and it becomes a bother. The final product is acceptable, but you have to have the time for your project. I gave up after eight slides and returned it to Costco. I was trying to convert slides that are at least thirty years old. You might have better success with more recent slides."
Review 37 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2012

Compact and Simple to Use

Pros: everything necessary is in the box.
Cons: 14 mp is misleading., image stabilization.
"Got the unit a few weeks ago. Very simple to use and everything is included. I was hoping for a miracle when I bought this. The price is too low to accomplish what I expected from the device.
Unable to establish consistent image stabilization. Some images snap into color correctness, others on the same strip never will.
I willl be returning it and spending more than double the money on its replacement."
Review 38 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Isalnd, NY
Date:April 10, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: film tray is difficult to open
Model Number: Wolverine F2D14
"Very easy to use. Already converted more than a 1000+ negatives to digital. Good way to preserve memories. The only thing that I dislike about this product is the film tray. The film tray (for negatives or for slides) are very hard to open. I feel like it will break any minute. It is a pain to keep snapping it open and snapping it close. I am already getting a callous on my finger. But overall the product is great for the price.."
Review 39 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 7, 2012

Far exceeded expectations

Pros: a 10 year old could use it!
Model Number: Wolverine F2D14
"I've owned a slide/negative scanner for years. It was painfully slow and hard to use compared to the Wolverine. The F2D14 slide and negative scans have higher resolution, better color saturation, are much easier and quicker (2 seconds vs 45) compared to my old scanner. I am ordering another one for my friend tonight (who is not a Costco member). Try it, you won't be disappointed."
Review 40 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2012

Great Product

Pros: very easy to use.
Cons: file numbering could be more versatile.
Model Number: F2D14
"I've been looking for a slide-to-digital file copier at a low cost for a long time, and this product is outstanding. The design is simple and effective, it processes slides quickly, and the resulting JPEG image is high quality. File transfer to a computer is easy and fast. I have processed at least 1000 slides in less than 8 hours. Even the user manual is well-written."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>