Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter

Now you can take all those stacks of 35mm slides and negatives and convert them into digital images to share and preserve them forever. Wolverine has created a very simple to use device to convert all your 35mm film into a 14 Mega Pixels digital images in seconds.    So simple to use, it only requires a push of a button. No computer or software is needed. Use it right out of the box to convert all your 35mm film by plugging it into an AC outlet or any USB port. All images are saved into its internal memory or optional SD/SDHC memory card. Easily connects to any computer PC or MAC, to offload images or view on TV. Features: Convert 35mm NEGATIVES and SLIDES to 14 mega Pixel (4608 x 3072 Pixels) Digital (JPEG) images with just a push a button   Unique stand-alone operation, no computer or software required   Extremely fast, takes less than 3 seconds to convert an image   Saves images to internal memory (17 MB) or optional SD/SDHC memory card   Image brightness adjustment   Video-Out to TV connection (cable not included)   2.4" color LCD screen   Compact design   Mac and PC compatible   SD/SDHC Built-in Card Reader   TV and USB Connection   Included: F2D14 Converter   Built-in 17 MB Internal Memory (holds up to 10 images)   One Slides Tray   One Negatives Tray   USB/Power Cable   110V-220V AC Adapter   Cleaning Stick   Manual Model: F2D14
Average Customer Rating:
4.183 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
(out of 71 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
63 of 71(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Review 1 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maitland, FL
Date:March 14, 2012

Easy & Fun

Pros: very easy to use.
Cons: large file size.
Model Number: 14MP
"I have enjoyed the ease of using this product. The unit allows me to reverse and flip each slide before scanning. It is sometimes difficult to see if your slide is correct due to the 2.4" screen. You can also adjust the brightness, and the ease of the SD card (not included) is great. The unit also formats the card for you after you've transferred the photos. The only thing I'm finding is that the photos are so large that they are taking up a lot of space on my older PC. I've already copied close to 1,000 slides and have about 2,000 more to go. It only takes a few seconds to copy and move on to the next one. I have not tried the negatives yet, but am anxious to see how that goes. A lot of my slides are from as far back as 1970, and the color has gone too red or blue. I've been able to correct a lot of them...but have changed some to B&W to help deal with it. I'm just glad to have an easy way to convert them and see them again because our slides have come unglued and would never work in the projector. If you don't care that your photos are not perfect, this unit will help you preserve your memories."
52 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:April 7, 2012

Not perfect but very, very good.

Pros: small-portable-fast-uses removable memory chip, easy to use
Cons: results usually need some color adjusting, not suitable for enlargements over 4x6 inch, this is not like a picture from a 14mp camera
Model Number: Woliverine F2D14
"I have a much more expensive slide converter that I love. However, I wanted to get one that was faster that was less expensive and I could give to my sister-in-law and was easier to use. I have tried several other methods and models of slide converter and have found this one to preform the best with acceptable results. All the converters I tested need some color adjustment after conversion...even my expensive slide converter. You need to expect this. Also, you will need to visit the Wolverine web site to download an extra program to configure the memory chip you need to provide. This program is easy to configure on your chip and the instructions come with the download. This is important because this extra program adds more internal color adjustments before you copy the slide. The Wolverine 14P comes with one 4-slide holder and you can purchase more slide holders direct from Wolverine on line. This slide converter is small, fast, portable and extremely easy to use and very good for the money. The only thing better costs a lot more money."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2012

So Far...Excellent

Pros: inexpensive, adequate for amatuer user., good consumer service
Cons: limited capacity slide holder
Model Number: MP-14-Green
"OK, having said excellent be aware that I have only been using for a couple weeks (got HUNDREDS of slides to convert to digital, done 200+ so far).
But, so far, so good. Comparatively inexpensive for this purpose. Easy to use and once you figure our the exposure and color adjustment settings (a plus+ and minus- system) versatile enough for the average "home-user", but probably not the finicky or professional. Only downside is limit of four slides in the holder which requires a lot of repetitive actions.
"Tips"...once I had slides seated in holder used compressed air spray to address potential "dust problems" before converting them. Also used 2Gig SD Card to save photos, then transferred and copied card to PC for "processing". Two steps, but easy and worked fine.
BTW, the included "screen brush" for dust removal was missing from my package. A call to the manufacturer and it arrived 3 days later...good service."
Review 4 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:April 11, 2012

Does a descent job.

Pros: affordable and it works
Cons: negatives are much harder to load than slides, doesn't transfer directly to pc
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP
"Tested as soon as I received it. Easy to start using right away. Was able to transfer and view photos that I have not seen in years, decades. I am sure it will do the 110 and 126 negatives also. Does anyone remember these? Unfortunately, it does not transfer directly to a PC (unless I missed something). You must first transfer to a very small internal memory or an SD, not included. Not a real big deal except that the extra step makes it difficult to see if you got a good transfer until you remove the SD from the Wolverine and insert it in the PC. If you didn't get a good transfer, you have to redo the whole process. This makes it impossible to do large batches AND proof the transfers as you go. Negatives are much harder to load into the included tray(s) than the slides. All said, the Wolverine does what I need it to do: Allows me to digitize my old 35mm negatives and slides, just not as easily as I would like."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Jersey Shore
Date:April 10, 2012

Great purchase for the price.

Pros: speed
Cons: quality goes with the cost but i'm not complaining
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP Film and Slide Digital Image Scanner
"I purchased this scanner recently to scan appx 4700 slides I have sitting in circular trays in my home. No one bothers to drag out the projector and the trays take up so much room I thought I'd give the scanner a try. I've done about 2900 so far and it's going very well. They're more than good enough to look at on the computer and print out a 4x6 if so desired. I also have a better scanner if the need arises for a better job, but that one would take forever to scan the quantity of slides I'm doing. I now have my slides on the computer for easy viewing and access, or further processing and can put on cd's or dvd's for my children.
I also purchased slide storage boxes that take up sooo much less space.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Lyon, MI
Date:August 16, 2012

Great Little Wonder

Pros: easy to use
Model Number: F2D14
"I've had this for only a few weeks, but so far, this thing works great! I loaded a 16Gb card in the back, hooked up the power to the computer's USB drive, turned it on, and it was ready to go. Real easy to work. The main unit is a device which takes a digital image of the slide (I haven't done negatives) . Takes 3 seconds to save one. After saving a bunch of them, I uploaded them to my computer with the touch of a couple buttons. The images are good. Depends upon the slide a lot.
It, and the slide tray are well built, and I hope it lasts . I'm saving Dad's slides from the 50's thru the 90's. He had them chronologically organized. It's like reading a book of my life story as I digitize them in order."
Review 7 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanwood, WA
Date:April 26, 2012

Wolverine Slide Scanner

Pros: well worth the price, easy to use
Model Number: F2D-14
"Having a collection of old slides (40 + years) and not wanting to invest both the time and expense of having them transferred professionally to either a disc or SD card, I decided to give this scanner a try. Once I read the instructions and started scanning pictures of my choice, I knew I made a wise decision with the purchase. The ease of use and the quality of the scans was better than I had envisioned they would be considering the relatively low price of the scanner. I would say that if you have a lot of slides and a little time, this will save you a tremendous amount of expense by not having to pay someone else to transfer them because you can selectively pick what you want or don't want."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Fernando Valley
Date:March 23, 2012

Good Product

Pros: ease of use & speed.
Cons: too much red in the end result.
"I'm very pleased with the speed and ease of use. So far I've scanned several hundred negatives and over 1,000 slides. The only downside is the scanned result has way too much red; I'll need to buy a photo program to fix it. Two things: Get compressed air to clean your slides and negatives as dust particles readily show up, and you need to be very careful to properly place the slides in the holder; many of mine were reversed and had to be redone. With the size, 2 1/2 inches, of the display it's difficult to see if you are scanning the front or the back so be careful.
I would, and have, referred the scanner to friends and family. Well worth the money."
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:April 10, 2012

outstanding buy

Pros: can't go wrong!
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP 35mm Film & Slide Digital Image Scanner
"For the price, it is a good product, but don't expect perfection. Color leans toward being saturated. Although some photo apps can resolve this shortcoming, there is no substitute for having correct balance to begin with.
Also: If the EV compensation is set to either "+" or "-", there is a certain delay from the time the film is inserted to when it is ready to scan; from one to three seconds, depending on the degree of compensation.
It is not a "bad" characteristic of the product. It appears to be an "automatic brightness" compensation. That is good!
I hope the techies at the factory will do some tweaking to make the necessary correction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Juan Capistrano, CA
Date:April 10, 2012

Great solution for the family slides

Pros: very fast; 5 seconds, overall good quality results
Cons: hue sometime favor reds
Model Number: Wolverine 14MP
"I started scanning my family history of slides using my PrimeFilm 3650U scanner. It did a good job and has ICE technology which allows fine adjustments for optimum results. However it takes about 5 minutes per slide. This Wolverine 14MP does a more than adequate job for most slides, even without correction software and takes only a few seconds per slide. Only complaint is that some slides tend to the red hue. My plan is to scan all slides with the Wolverine and rescan and optimize a few special ones with the 3650U or take them to Costco for professional scanning. I probably would have quit this project without this scanner. Thanks, Costco!"
Review 11 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

Great

Pros: fast, easy
"This scanner was even easier to use then I expected from the product description, I managed to scan my parents 500+ slides in just two nights. the scanner was able to auto adjust to get a good image with lots of detail and light balance.
The only thing that was annoying is that while you can flip the images within the scanner, so the image is not reversed. you had to load them to your computer if all you needed to do was rotate the image. but this was only a minor inconvenience since I was going to load all the images to the computer to burn them to a DVD anyways. and that gave me a larger screen to review them first."
Review 12 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:September 7, 2012

Fast and Easy to Use

Pros: speed, quality of image, value for the money
Cons: color display inconistently works right
Model Number: Wolverine F2D-14
"I'm able to quickly convert a roll of film in less than 5 minutes! I bought additional negative trays in the hope to further speed up the process as we have hundreds of rolls of film to convert. The LCD display lighting colors and intensity don't always match the scanned image when downloaded to my PC, therefore use caution when playing with scanning settings based on what's shown on LCD. I suggest using a photo editing software to make those adjustments rather than the scanner. Pay attention to the cleanliness of the slide/negative before scanning or you'll see the dust on the image file."
Review 13 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 14, 2012

Great piece of equipment

Pros: fast, can edit pictures, can load 4 slides at once, very easy to use, don't need a computer to scan
Model Number: Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35mm Film to Digital Converter
"This is the second scanner that I have purchased. The first one took 3-4 minutes for each slide and you had to be hooked up to a computer. The Wolverine took less than 15 seconds per slide. It is far away, hands down the one of the best purchases I have made. I have converted more than 1,000 slides into JPG digital files since receiving the Wolverine F2D14 Converter two weeks ago. These slides were from 1969-1974 (more than 40 years old) and were beginning to deteriorate. The images have now been preserved for my children and grandchildren. Thank you Wolverine!!!!!!"
Review 14 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eureka, CA
Date:August 9, 2012
Model Number: F2D14
"So far, I have scanned around 1300 slides in 2 weeks using the Wolverine. The 3 1/2 second/slide scan time that is advertised is accurate. It's a very simple scanner to use and the picture quality is very good. I recommended it to friends and they ordered one yesterday.
The only con I see is that the slide holder seems a little flimsy but it has held up so far. Slides have to be set in the holder perfectly so that it will close on them and then fit through the scanner and this may take a few tries due to the fact that some slides fit very snuggly into the slots."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fairfield, OH
Date:August 24, 2012

Ok, for the $$

Pros: cheap, features for adjusting the image, memory card
Cons: poor lighting, time consuming
"Most of what I have to xfer is snapshots from vacations, family get-togethers, etc. I have some art photographs, which I will probably xfer through some commercial means. The lighting isn't even across the image. On mine the light is brighter on the left. I'm not sure the bulb is all that great. I'm wondering what will happen if it ever goes out because I don't see anyway to take it apart without breaking it. Also, loading the negative and slide tray is very time consuming. It would be nice to have something that could hold more than one negative sleeve."
Review 16 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay area, ca
Date:April 13, 2012

extremely easy to use

Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: only can do 4 at a time
"I was nervous about getting this because I have lots of slides and didn't want a labor intensive project due to the machine. (I already knew it would be labor intensive because of amount of slides to go through.)
The machine is quick and easy, I wish it would hold more than 4 at a time. Do brush off slides and use air can, there can be lots of dust and it leans towards red in color. But overall it's really easy to use and great to see some pictures I never thought I would see again. Now what to do with them?
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2012

Why all the great reviews?

Pros: nothing
Cons: terrible color reproduction, extremely poor resolution
"I am a professional photographer and purchased this to simply scan some slides for my website. The end result - I returned it the next day for a refund. The colors were so far off it wasn't even funny. The resolution was an absolute joke. They claim 14mp. I'd like to see proof of that because the one I received sure could produce enough resolution for a sharp 8x10 image at 72dpi ! If you want something cheap that does a terrible job at color reproduction and blurry resolution, then yes, this is for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 22, 2012

Exceptional Scanner

Pros: easy to use
Cons: cannot scan directly to computer
"I have been searching for a scanner to scan in 110mm slides. Until now, the scanning resolution was not even close to what was needed to be worth the bother. After cropping out the cardboard, this scanner ends up turning a 110mm slide into a 2300x1750 image - far above the resolution of the film I chose.
Sure I thought about archiving some of my old negatives, and I'm confident that this will scan them well, but the ability to scan the 110mm slides made the deal."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Isalnd, NY
Date:April 10, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: film tray is difficult to open
Model Number: Wolverine F2D14
"Very easy to use. Already converted more than a 1000+ negatives to digital. Good way to preserve memories. The only thing that I dislike about this product is the film tray. The film tray (for negatives or for slides) are very hard to open. I feel like it will break any minute. It is a pain to keep snapping it open and snapping it close. I am already getting a callous on my finger. But overall the product is great for the price.."
Review 20 for Wolverine F2D14 14 Mega Pixel 35 mm Film to Digital Converter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Valley Forge, PA
Date:August 23, 2012

Patience required

"If you have the patience to correct the color of your slides, the converter works fine. But color correction increases the time needed for conversion and it becomes a bother. The final product is acceptable, but you have to have the time for your project. I gave up after eight slides and returned it to Costco. I was trying to convert slides that are at least thirty years old. You might have better success with more recent slides."
1 2 3 4 next>>