Customer Reviews for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit

Looking for a bike rack that does it all without the hassle?  The Advantage® SportsRack glideAWAY2 deluxe four bike carrier is your answer.  The design allows for the bikes to remain on the rack while loading and unloading your gear or groceries in the rear cargo area of an SUV or bed of a pick-up. This patented product allows you to swing the rack out and away up to 23” giving you plenty of room to access the rear of the vehicle.  Simply and easily load 1, 2, 3 or 4 bikes on the glideAWAY2 in the Advantage® saddles with extra-long straps that hold the bikes securely without scratching the bikes finish. Wait, there’s more!  Included in this package is one Top Tube Alternative for women’s/kid’s drop down frame bikes, a 10’ Cable Lock, and a Hitch Lock. The hitch lock that works with the anti-rattle feature, keeping your rack securely mounted to your vehicle while your bikes locked to the rack. The rear mount design eliminates overhead lifting and increases fuel economy when compared to roof-mounted bike racks.  Made of heavy-duty steel construction and weighing 50 lbs. the corrosion-resistant black powder-coated finish ensures a long life.  The folding carrying arms simply rotate out of the way when rack is not in use and the glideAWAY2 bike rack holds up to 150 lbs.  The glideAWAY2 fits both 2” and 1.25” receiver hitches.   Includes: glideAWAY2 four bike rack   Cable Lock   Hitch lock that works with anti-rattle feature   Top Tube Alternative (for women’s/kids bikes)   Adapter included to fit 2” or 1.25” receiver hitches glideAWAY2 Features:   Capacity up to 4 bikes   The patented rear hitch mount design increases fuel economy compared to the roof mounted racks   Corrosion-resistant powder coat finish   Folding carrying arms simply rotate out of the way when rack is not in use   Extra Long Advantage® saddle straps holds bikes securely without scratching the bike’s finish   Saddles swivel to accept some women’s/kid’s, BMX, and complex geometry frames   Reflective bike arms   Dimensions  41” x 16” x 6”: Weight: 50 lbs. Some assembly required   Cable Lock Features:    5/16” cable   Vinyl coated   2 keys included Hitch Lock Features:   Hitch lock works with anti-rattle feature   Corrosion-resistant powder coat finish Model: 2115
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
13 of 18(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Review 1 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:central washington state
Date:August 6, 2013

NOT for hinged, side opening rear, doors (RAV 4)

Pros: costco's return policy, well-made
Cons: not designed for hinged rear doors (rav 4), hinged design causes a lot of vibration
"Interesting design, heavy, and well made. That said, while it cleared the spare tire on the back of our RAV 4, we can only open the rear door about 1/3 of the way; there is not enough clearance. The connection to the hitch is very secure; however, due to the "slack" in the hinges, the rack moves around and rattles A LOT. Check your bikes regularly while driving long distances. The cable and hitch-lock that comes with the rack works well; but there are no directions to its use (hence, a few complaints in reviews from buyers who couldn't figure it out). To use the hitch-lock and cable, first run the cable through your bike(s) and then through itself before passing it through the hitch bolt and attaching the lock. It DOES work quite well. I'm not sure if we are going to keep this rack because it's in the way for everyday use and too heavy for my wife to constantly mount and unmount on a regular basis. I'm not sure what a good solution is. I also need to see how much damage, if any, the looseness in the rack causes our bikes (as reported in other reviews). If you have a pick-up or hatch-back, this might well be the bike rack for you. We wouldn't have bought it without Costco's return policy."
Review 2 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:July 29, 2013

Smart Buy

"I've been a cyclist for 20+ years. There's little I haven't seen or heard whether about nutrition or training or equipment. My point? If you're reading a review of this product and it's anything other than glowing I can just about guarantee the problem(s) is/are the fault of the user - NOT the product.
I've had many bike racks through the years and seen 3x as many. This one works as advertised and is about half the price of Yakima or Thule.
I own a model from the prior generation and find it superior to similar offerings from higher-priced name brands. One big advantage (although I believe not available on this particular generation's model) is removable straps. Yakima/Thule straps aren't removable so they remain in the elements - shrinking and expanding due to cold/heat and, ultimately, they crack. The removable straps on the Advantage rack allow me to keep them out of the elements.
Another huge plus is customer service. I had a minor issue with my glideAway 3 years after purchase. I contacted Heineinger and within 3 days received a replacement part at no charge.
Access to the hatch of my SUV is quick and easy. Fitting four bikes requires a bit of maneuvering but with a bit of practice it's a breeze. I carpool with members of my cycling club to events in different states and we never have a problem with the rack or our bikes while on the highways.
Buy this rack. Quality product and great value for the money. Ignore any and every negative review. Then ignore them again!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Morris County, New Jersey
Date:May 29, 2013

Worst Buy

Pros: the price., nice idea for design if it worked.
Cons: rusts easily, does not work the way it is described.
"Bought this rack based on the positive reviews and in time for this past Memorial Day weekend. Got it, put it together, was fairly easy to assemble. Thought the rack was great. The day came to leave for the weekend trip and after loading the bikes on to the rack, I had to open the tail gate of the Q7, I operated the bike rack the way it was described and when I closed the rear door of the Q7 I could not re-latch the bike rack. Ultimately, I could not get the rack to re-close, the locking bolt would not catch therefore, I had to unload the bikes and the weekend bike ride for the family was a loss.
I just returned it to Costco for a full refund. Don't buy this, I put 4 bikes on it, even that was a struggle but the main function of being able to keep the bikes on the rack and still access the rear of the vehicle was not true. Keep your money and get a rack made by a known company.
I left it on the car over night prior to the trip and prior to loading on the bikes, the rack showed signs of rust. Poor quality."
Review 4 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:March 25, 2013

Good product

Pros: sturdy, easy to assemble
Model Number: 2115
"The bike carrier is sturdily made and relatively heavy when assembled. Assembly is easy."
Review 5 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

Advantage GlideAway

"Just came back from California while using our new Advantage bike carrier. It worked well throughout the entire nearly 3000 mile trip. We had no problems with straps or saddles as some have suggested. Actually, I like the idea of tightening the saddles after setting them for our bikes. And I always use a bungee to stabilize the load (no swaying). The woman’s bike adaptor is a great idea, although we didn’t use it. The lock is a great way to secure both bikes and rack. It is a rack that applies the basics and it works well for us. For the money it is impossible to beat."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:November 19, 2012

I always find reason to open SUV hatch back door!

Pros: best price with swing-out feature to open hatch, hitch lock with key and anti-rattle feature, bonus high quality long steel cable, comes with one bike frame adaptor, the arms fold down when not in use, the rubber straps are not permanently installed, which is the weakest component to get weathered, able to fit four adult mtb with frame adaptors.
Cons: the arms may be little longer by few more inches, the side angle tilts down little bit with 4 bikes.
Model Number: Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2
"You may need the frame adaptor to hold each bike: nothing unusual. You will need a good combo lock for the steel cable link, that's OK. The rubber straps come off the rack arms out of the weather when not in use: get velcrose straps over each rubber straps for secure tie down. Try to buy all these included items individually, and it will cost a lot more. This is a great quality/package!"
Review 7 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:August 27, 2012

It is an OK rack

Pros: easy to use, comes with hitch lock horizontal bar and cable
Cons: straps easy to fall off, cable does not have lock as what shown in pictures
"This is an "OK" bike rack. It can carry our 2 adult bikes and 1 kid bike without any issue so far. It is a little bit heavy, but stays fine in our SUV. The straps are not permanent attached to the rubber bike holders and it is very easy to fall off when driving with those dangling on the back. The instruction states that they need to be removed when the rack is not used. This is kind of hassle to do that every time the bikes are removed.
It comes with the hitch lock, horizontal bar for kid or women bike, and the bike cable. The bike cable is misleading from the picture posted on costco.com website. It is just the cable and there is no lock attached to it. Contacted manufacture customer service and was told that is what comes with it! So the cable can only be used with the hitch lock as it has 2 loops at both ends and 1 end will needs to attach to the hitch lock. In other words, you can not use this cable to lock your bike else where without the hitch lock. Heininger vendor refused to send out the cable with the lock attached to it!!?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:August 17, 2012

Built for Ridgeline?

Pros: swings out of the way
Model Number: glideaway2
"Bought this rack for my Honda Ridgeline. Works great with the swinging tailgate. It's as if it was made for the Ridgeline, rack swings out of the way (either direction), even fully loaded and with the cable lock in place. Took it on first trip last week. No issues. There was a fair amount of bouncing and movement, but didn't bother the bikes."
Review 9 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:August 15, 2012

GlideAway2 / Nice rack!

Pros: easy to use, good features
Model Number: GlideAway2
"Very well built with a good combination of features. The only issue I had was the fact that the trailer hitch on my 2004 Accord is tucked pretty far under the car. The rack mounted without a problem, but my trunk lid hit the top of the rack. I remedied the situation by drilling new holes, one inch rearward through my hitch. There's now 3/4" of clearance when I open the trunk."
Review 10 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:August 15, 2012

Very Happy With This Purchase

"We have had our Advantage bike rack for a few weeks now and it is a really good product. I see where others have had strap problems, we have had none. They seem strong and more than adequate. The assembly and install was easy. We just followed the instructions and it all came together nicely. It is as good, possibly stronger, than the more expensive brands and it was a great deal on Costco.com."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2012

Bike flew off twice

"The rubber straps have to be stretched to accommodate a mountain bike tube and it creates so much stress on the rubber that it can snap. The last time was while tooling down I-75. Fortunately, my cable lock kept the dragging bike from crashing into the car behind me. Bike was damaged pretty bad from the fall and drag. Costco accepted the rack back with no issues. I'll figure something else out."
Review 12 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:August 8, 2012

Poor Substitute

Pros: very heavy steel
Cons: too heavy and sways everyway, poor straps
Model Number: Glideaway
"I bought this rack based on the good reviews,that it was sturdy and secure. It is anything but. The straps started to crack from the very first day I started to use it and they wont stay in the groove, always almost getting lost. The bars the bikes are held on are so loose and wobbly I am afraid to go on the highway. In contrast to the main frame, these are made of very lightweight and flimsly tube steel. The pins that hold the bars on the top of the frame are push pins, and I am concerned they will fall out one day. The whole mechanism sways in the hitch no matter if the swing away screw is tightend to the stop. Buy a Thule or something else, I regret going for something cheaper. It weighs a ton, a pain to get in and out of the house."
Review 13 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 24, 2012

Great rack, excellent value

Pros: solid, easy to use, arrived quickly
Cons: none
Model Number: Item # 646248
"My wife bought me one of these for our SUV for Dad’s Day. I gotta say, this is a great product for packing 4 bikes and hitting the road. We can easily get into the back of the Tahoe, while the bikes are still in place. It comes with an adaptor to mount her bike to the rack and a lock for all of them to be secured to it as well. It is durable and very easy to assemble."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012

Great Bike Rack

"Very easy to use, bikes go on and off very easy!! My family loves it!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:May 30, 2012

Horrible instructions

Pros: none yet
Cons: instructions
"I am just trying to get this put together and the directions are so bad. I only hope the rack is better than the instructions."
0 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 18, 2012

GlideAway2 Four-bike Kit--An Amateur's Perspective

Pros: comes with everything, price was competitive
Cons: adds about a foot to length of vehicle
"First, readers should know we purchased bikes mainly in order to keep up with our 3-year-old--we're not serious riders. That said, so far we're pretty satisfied. My husband was the one who installed it -- and by install I mean put together the 3 or so pieces and attached the rack to the hitch on our mid-size SUV. It was a fairly simple matter, and he only needed a little help from me when aligning the rack with the hitch so the main bolt would go through all the holes.
Since I'm the one who generally hauls the child and child-reated toys, supplies, groceries, etc., I'm the one who deals with the swinging away part in order to open the back hatch. At first I was a little intimidated, but having done it several times now, it's only a mild inconvenience, but far less inconvenient than being unable to access the back, or having to remove the entire rack to do so.
Basically, you turn the handle that's lined up with the hitch mount, then pull up on the T -pin and it glides out. You can feel exactly when the handle apparatus disengaged with the mount, and the same holds true when it's time to re-engage the rack with the mount.
I was a little afraid that somehow I wouldn't get the handle tight enough to withstand road bumps, but so far so good. Knowing the T-pin is there helps. If I could make a suggestion to the manufacturer, it would be to add a rubber covering to the twisting handle. The metal is great but a little hard to hold on to when first trying to untwist. Also, as weather gets hotter here, hot metal may be an issue.
As for size, there are four spaces for four bikes. We only have two bikes so far, since the tiny bike fits inside our vehicle. I'm not sure how big a bike must be in order to ride on the rack.
In addition, it was very helpful to have the extras that came with the rack. Having the adapter for the female bike, as well as the straps, and cable and lock meant we were able to use the rack immediately. I would not have known I needed those items until I attempted to put the bikes on the rack for travel, so again, helpful to have it all in one purchase.
Just a brief word to others who dislike parallel parking--the rack adds about an extra foot in length to the back of the vehicle. Something to keep in mind.
I can't speak to serious cyclists with expensive bikes, but for the "Sunday driver" type, I'd definitely recommend it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:May 4, 2012

Great idea, but..

Pros: sturdy, glideaway
Cons: wobbles, straps
"It came with damaged powder coating. It wobbles a lot. Straps got undone during a 35 mph city ride. No anti-sway mechanism. I have a $2K bicycle and I am not going to risk with this bike rack. it goes back to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Advantage® SportsRack glideAway2® Deluxe 4-Bike Carrier Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2012

Great Bike Rack

Pros: very easy to use, comes with hitch lock and cable
Cons: none
"We have had other bike racks in the past, we really like the updates to this one. The Glideaway bike rack took only a few minutes to assemble and get on the car. It is better than other racks because it can be moved out of the way when I need to get in and out of the car. We love that is came with All the accessories!-lock,cable and a "top tube alternative". Originally we didn't know what this alternative was for. Come to find out, it makes it easier to mount a "women's style" bike. Another cool thing about this rack is it fits both a subaru small hitch and big hitch. The rack is super heavy duty and tough enough for 4 of our family's bikes and it's really built to last!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.