Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

This Item may be available at your local Costco for a cash & carry Price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 321
(out of 321 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (321 reviews)
5 stars
174
4 stars
53
3 stars
18
2 stars
16
1 star
60
235 of 321(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:January 3, 2014

Good Print/fax/Copy function- Bad cartridge issue

Pros: acceptable print quality manual fax receive, multiple page scan from feeder
Cons: can't print/copy black only w/empty color cartridg
Model Number: OfficeJet 6700 Premium
"The printer is good for print quality. Multiple page scan works ok. Scanning from PC creates very large files for good quality scanned PDF files, but saving to a USB key using the USB slot in the front creates much smaller file for same quality.
There is a Driver's license copy function that will allow copying both sides of License on one paper.
Big issue is NOT able to print or Copy with one of the Color Cartridges depleted. It will not print Black Only, with one Color cartridge depleted. The color cartridges do not deplete all at the same time, and just depleted cartridge makes the printer unusable.
The printer uses color cartridges for black prints as well. It also runs maintenance frequently which is seems to use some ink from all cartridges, according to some forum posts. The maintenance is very noisy and takes a few minutes, and will not print or copy.
I find it unacceptable that I cannot print or Copy black only without the color cartridges. For that reason, I may not be purchasing HP Inkjet products.
I gave 2 stars for the functionality, but will not recommend to someone because of the cartridge issue.
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:March 31, 2014

Breaks down after warranty!!

Pros: all-in-one looks good
Cons: unreliable - will stop working after warranty, expensive to use - always uses color cartridges, poor hp product support
Model Number: HP6700 Premium All-in-one
"I am not sure why this product gets such high stars, even though it depletes expensive color cartridges when printing black/grey (even after selecting black cartridge only). It stops printing even if one color cartridge is depleted. Recently after replacing them with new cartridges (which I bought in bulk since there was an offer), the printer has started printing blank pages - no color, no black, nothing! Even the copier prints copies in blank! And after contacting HP support (and being told to replace cartridges again), and learning that my printer is out of warranty - I was told I must buy a new printer!! Never again a HP, waste of money (and all those new cartridges I bought!). Be wise and spend your money on a quality reliable product - which this is not. Google "prints blank pages even with new cartridges" for this model and you will know you should not buy this"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, CA
Date:January 25, 2014

Best Printer ever

Pros: great quality reliable
Model Number: HP 6700
"I must admit the print head failed after 1 year and 10 months, but I got a lot of use out of it. It was flawless until that happened. Also, if you purchase with your American Express Costco card, American Express matches the original warranty. so I am buying another one (with my American Express) and now I have 2 years warranty on the new one. I work in IT and I've seen them all. I have it defaulted to print draft because it saves ink and still looks nice. Only very occasionally is this used for pictures. Yes if you are out of ink in one cartridge, it won't print, but most of the printers, even Epson is that way. I buy the XL cartridges and they last quite awhile. I have mine plugged into the router with a cat 6 wire, but the laptops are wireless. Everything always has worked great, and have it set for double sided to save paper! I'm happy with it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 24, 2014

Don't waste your time and money!

Pros: reasonable price
Cons: loses settings and false error messages.
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700, H711n
"I purchased the HP Officejet 6700 at Costco to replace an older HP all-in-one printer. At first it seems to work fine, but in the following days it would lose its set-up data and give false error messages. I tried reconfiguring the unit a number of times including using the internet help videos, etc. Finally I called the HP tech support and with their help got the printer working again. Two days after that, the same error messages appeared (paper jam in auto document feeder and/or fax/copy is not functioning). Once again I called the HP tech support line and after trying a few changes the tech told me the unit would need to be replaced. That's when I returned it to Costco and was glad to get rid of the thing. I replaced it with a Canon MX922 that is working fine so far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:April 16, 2014

It prints, but that's all and its 3 days old.

Pros: it did print
Cons: terrible foreign based customer service., obviously poor quality control.
Model Number: OfficeJet 6700 Premium
"I needed a printer in a hurry, so I went to the store and bought this one. Set it up Monday and it did a nice job printing my taxes and other documents. Today, I went to make a copy of a portion of a large book page. Do I get a copy? No I get "Scanner failure:Unable to scan, copy or send a fax." I called HP, a major error since I am talking to someone in India who can't answer any questions unless they are on his script, get transferred to a "hardware supervisor" who will send me a new printer to arrive in 8 days.
I should have called Costco Concierge since they speak understandable English and really work with you to fix any problems. I told HP that I would return it to Costco and get a non-HP printer
I really don't know if I would get another HP, although Costco mostly carries HP printers
"
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 9, 2013

Terrible quality from HP

Pros: easy setup, worked well while it worked
Cons: failed after 15 months, customer service supervisor no help
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700
"I really liked this printer while it lasted. I found the wireless setup easy, and it worked for light duty in my office.
I only had it about 1 year, and like many other reviewers, I got a printhead failure error.
I called customer service, and spoke to a rep, Brian. He was very courteous and confirmed a hardware problem. Unfortunately, since I was 101 days out of warranty, he couldn't replace it. He transferred me to a supervisor, Joanne, who said even though it was only 3+ months, since I was out of warranty there was nothing she could do.
She then said I could purchace a refurbished model at a "discount". I explained I was hesitant to spend any more money on a product I already had trouble with, but asked what the discounted price was. Reply? 134.99. I told her I could get a new one for less than that. So, she would be kind enough to waive shipping, so 114.99.
No deal.
I spent 45 minutes on the phone to be politely told I was out of luck.
I have bought a number of HP printers in the past and loved them. The last 2 purchases were awful (this 6700 and the other a deskjet 1400 series).It's time to go with Canon."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2014

Major Cartridge Issues!

Pros: good print quality
Cons: wastes color ink, will not last
"I bought this about a year and a half ago. I had the same annoying experiences many other users had. It uses color ink even when black only is selected. I set the default to black only and it still sometimes prints in color. If one cartridge is depleted it will not print anything. I always used HP cartridges, but that wasn't enough. One day I got the error message that it couldn't find the printhead. After contacting tech support, I was told I would have to get a new printer. No thanks. I don't have a home office, or print an absurd amount. I can't believe this only lasted a year and a half!"
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:April 10, 2014

Don't waste your money!

Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
"I actually purchased two -- the first one didn't connect wirelessly properly, and the second one had different issues. HP gave me the second one after I returned the first one, and Costco accepted the second one in return. Problems too numerous to mention. Just don't waste your time with this model. Even the Costco computer guy said this printer wasn't worth it."
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reston, VA
Date:April 5, 2014

Failed after a handful of times

Pros: when it worked the quality of print was good
Cons: failed after a handful of uses., extremely finicky
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium
"This is absolutely the worst printer I have ever used. First, the printer does not print if one of the ink cartridges is low. After replacing ALL the cartridges with genuine cartridges that I purchased directly from HP, I get the following error: "There is a problem with the printer or ink system. Turn printer off, then on. If problem persists, contact HP." I contacted HP, and they offered to sell me another printer for just slightly below what I can buy it for online. I will never buy another HP product again."
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2014

DO NOT BUY This printer

Pros: looks nice
Cons: wastes ink, leaks ink, does not print enough pages before ink runs out, wont print if one cartridge is out
"I should not have ignored all of the negative reviews. I got this about a year ago, rarely ever use it. I have used it about 5 times total and the ink ran out very quick. I would say after 20-25 pages. So naturally I went out to buy more ink. The ink is expensive itself. I put in the new cartridges and I see that the set up ink cartridges have leaked everywhere and pooled in the ink head area. The new ink cartridges leaked freely so there goes money, I went back to Costco to buy just black XL cartridges and put them in and they leak almost till they are empty and the printer would not even print with only black in there. In fact you would have to buy all brand new ink cartridges to have it print a few pages only to find it all leaked out AGAIN! THIS PRINTER IS NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY. you end up paying for a printer over and over every time you have to buy new ink. That is how they get ya. So right now I have a big useless pile of plastic sitting there that I don't even know what to do with since its way too late to return it. If I would have checked the cartridges after first initial set up and saw the leaking I would have returned it right away. Spend your money on a better brand. It looks like everyone is having this same problem once they get past all of the sparkle and beauty of the new printer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plano TX
Date:July 29, 2012

Good value, not great as PhotoSmart series though

Pros: speed, auto-document feeder
Cons: scan quality, print quality
"Replaced HP Photosmart C5280 which, after 4 years, is still in mint condition after printing thousands of pages. My teenager son wanted wi-fi and ADF for copying so bougt this one. I hope, this one too lasts that long...
Set up takes about 20 minutes and works like charm. Speed is just amazing (print/copy/scan). Print quality is good but not as great as photosmart series. Same is true of scan quality.
Except for the power cord, everything is wireless - you can even scan wirelessly (or to a connected USB flash drive). For old schoolers, you can still use HP monitor and preview, crop scanned copies.
Just to clarify, page duplexer is available only for printing and not for copying. You can however copy two separate pages on to one sheet (back and front).
As with any HP printer, you will spend more on ink than purchase price of the printer. Buy XL series ink cartridge and you can refill it at Costco for up to 4 times. Never, I repeat, never refill at any other place.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson
Date:March 30, 2014

A frustrating, cantankerous piece of HP junk

Pros: sits on a shelf nicely
Cons: unreliable operation., uses up time making you fix its problems, rarely get a print out without having to fix first, annoying software
Model Number: HP 6700 Premium
"I bought this with reservation. The only good product I ever got from HP was a calculator in the 80's. It works like a champ, this printer, like other HP products, does not. Continuously goes into "maintenance mode" where you have to wait several minutes while it burps, grumbles, and whines. That is most often followed by a print failure message.
If you like wasting time fixing this thing, it is the printer for you.
I'll never buy HP again (Costco seems to be hung up on HP)."
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 15, 2014

Strike two they are gone!

Pros: best feature package for price
Cons: quality is not what the hp name used to represent
Model Number: HP 6700
"We purchased the first in January and for the most part it was DOA. Started up and would not connect to the wireless network and would not hold settings. We returned it a few days later and picked a new in the box replacement. Setup was reasonable and it performed well for two months at which point the scanner failed. It would print but not scan.We returned it. The quality in these lower end devices is simply not there and HP's consumer division is not up to the task. Regrettable as we have had HP printers in our offices for years. We have a Brother MFC in our vacation home which has worked well for three years. We will be buying a Brother for the house as well."
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:March 23, 2014

Not Well Made

Cons: document feeder wore out after 6 months use
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium
"I was happy with this purchase for the first 6 months. I bought it primarily for the document feeder portion for scanning documents quickly. This feeder quickly deteriorated until it was destroying the page and getting jammed EVERY time it was used. I expect more than 6 months of use out of an HP product and am very dissatisfied with this model."
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Date:November 16, 2013

You'll quickly have to spend more money!

Cons: will need new cartridges right after purchase., can't print with just a black cartridge., not always ready to use upon turn-on.
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium
"As others have noted, very shortly after you buy this printer you'll find yourself having to spend at least another $100 (Costco price) to replace all the print cartridges. The originals are the same size as regular cartridges, but are labeled "Setup Cartridge" and quickly run out of ink. And as noted elsewhere, you have to have all cartridges good to print even in just black-and-white.
Also, an annoying fact is that I can't always just turn the printer on and use it immediately; quite frequently it will show a message "Checking Printer", and then will wheeze, grind, and the printer head continuously move back and forth for anywhere from two to three minutes before the printer is finally ready to use.
Lastly, it's a real pain that nothing computer-related comes with any kind of manual anymore - instead just a page of pictures (usually covering several different models) that quasi-help you through the setup and hook-up process."
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 25, 2013

started great, but now I hate it.

Pros: very fast printing easy setup.
Cons: will not print black and white if any color is out
Model Number: 6700
"I started out really liking the printer, VERY fast printing very realistic looking 8x10 photos on regular paper.
This past week I was working on a slideshow for a memorial using the HP6700 to scan photos... it started out fantastic... accurately auto-sizing the size of the photo and scanning it.
After scanning about 50 photos over 5 days, it started to get confused on the photo size, so now I have to go in and crop off a bunch of extra space on every scan.
Today was the last straw. I need to print off some black and white text speaker notes for the memorial (today!)
THIS PRINTER WILL NOT PRINT BLACK AND WHITE TEXT if ONE of the COLOR cartridges needs to be replaced!
If any one of the 4 cartridges is out, this thing is a boat anchor.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 21, 2013

Poor networking performance with Mac OS X

Pros: print quality is good.
Cons: wireless networking with os x insurmountably buggy, scanner easily misreads "original" jammed
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 All-in-ONe
"The 6700 is a nightmare to set up and maintain in Apple OS X. Set up took well over an hour because Apple compatible print drivers were unavailable using online option of installation CD. Since installing the printer has lost wireless connectivity with all computers on the network not less than 3 times. After 1 hour on the phone with Costco tech support (very polite and courteous), we were ultimately transferred to HP where agent had to log into our computer to fix a software glitch Turns out the fix was only good for the one computer. Even when router sees the printer on the network, even when able to log into the printer's web interface from any computer in the house and print a test page through the interface, the software installed on the computers cannot find the printer. Also have a sneaking suspicion that attempting to correct the networking problem with the printer is knocking every other device in the house offline: computers, iPads, SmartTV. This printer is a nightmare for Apple users and is going back to the warehouse today. After 8+ hours of troubleshooting and tech support, we're done."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2013

All cartridges are needed even for black and white

Model Number: HP Officejet 6700
"The printer will not allow you to print in black and white if one of the color cartridges is empty. Forcing you to purchase all the cartridges even if you think your not using them."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:August 19, 2013

3rd replacement -- STILL doesn't work.

Pros: none
Cons: the printer, the software, hp, tech support, "customer service"
Model Number: 6700
"I bought an Officejet 6700 last October. It couldn't keep the connection to print wirelessly. Then the HP ink cartridges stopped working and I needed a replacement in April. The printer said it failed. It happened after I replaced an ink cartridge. I got it. It worked for four weeks. Then the problems started. After on and off use (the scanner didn't work), then the printer didn't work, the HP inkjets jammed, we re-installed the software (that took six hours). During this, my case was escalated and I was told both tech support and a customer service mgr would call me within 24 hours. I'm still waiting for those calls. Then the HP inkjets jammed again and the printer refused to do anything. It happened after I replaced an ink cartridge with an HP ink cartridge. They replaced it AGAIN. This one doesn't print, scan or copy. I have been trying to get someone at HP on the phone for five days. Since only the "escalation manager" can help me, I have to wait for her. So -- nine months, three non-functioning printers, over 36 hours total on the phone to HP and I still don't have a functioning printer and I can't get anyone on the phone. So, in addition to all the wasted time, the fact that I STILL can't print, I'm out over $100 in ink."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Washington, Pa
Date:December 2, 2013

a nonreliable printer

Pros: none
Cons: does not work
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
"terrible trouble faxing... would not work.
the ink disappears after 20 pages.
worse of all. it one ink tank is empty, the printer will not work at all.
i was really only interested in printing in black and white. ie, letters
but if a color goes out because you did not use it, the printer will not work.
it is a design by HP to sell their overpriced ink. my old HP 1320 laser printers are still working like dynamos but this 6700 is a piece of junk!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>