Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Get an additional $20 off when you add this HP printer to your purchase of a tablet. Must be purchased on same order. Offer deducted at checkout. For qualifying items, enter search term HPAUG14M. Valid 07/26/14-9/27/14. While Supplies Last.
Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(344 Reviews) 344
(out of 344 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (344 reviews)
5 stars
180
4 stars
57
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
67
246 of 344(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carmel, IN
Date:August 28, 2014

Goes back to Costco

Pros: decent color printing, wireless printing works fine
Cons: slow to start a job, frequent badly timed weird self-checking, heavy on ink use, can't print black only if one color is depleted
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium
"The point of no return (or I should say return back to the store) was reached with this printer when I realized that I cannot print in Black only, even with full Black cartridge, when one of the color cartridges is empty. BAD DESIGN."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:August 27, 2014

Had to replace after 1 year and ink dries out

Pros: it is an all in one
Cons: ink dries out too fast, had to replace after 1 year - bad printhead, ink is costly, must replace color ink even if printing only black
Model Number: HP OfficeJet 6700
"Even if you only use black ink you will have to replace all the color cartridges as they often dry out. Very expensive. After just 1 month over the one year warranty I had to replace this printer because I had a printhead go bad. I would say I print maybe 3 pages on average a day. This product is not made well. If you look online under "There is a problem with the printer or ink system." you will see the 6700 all over with this problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:August 22, 2014

Print Quality Good, but all you've heard is true

Pros: wireless printing works well, print quality is good
Cons: very slow to start a print job, print head is not replaceable, heavy ink usage
"A couple things typically need maintenance on ink printers:
1.) cartridges need to be replaced
2.) print heads need to be cleaned and eventually replaced
Both are a problem with this printer. YOU CANNOT REPLACE THE PRINT HEAD. Yes, I'm serious. If it has a problem (and it eventually will), you need to replace the whole printer.
It uses ink at a rapid rate, and won't print if you're out of ink in any of the cartridges. Need to print an important page in black and white? If you just ran out of magenta, cyan or yellow, you're out of luck. Why? Who knows."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, Ca
Date:August 21, 2014

Perfection

"I have used many printers and this is the best so far. I move it around and never have wi-if connection issues. Prints both sides with ease. I am one happy user."
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:August 17, 2014

0 STARS

Pros: none
Cons: does not stay connected to wifi network
"We have an Apple household. Tried to set it up wirelessly for eprint, but it would disconnect itself from the network once we tried to print from two different systems (MacBook Pro, Mavericks & MacMini, 10.8.5). It printed via USB with the MacBook, but it was painfully slow. We got it for it's ePrint ability and since we can't get it to stay connected to our WiFi network it will be returned to the warehouse, tomorrow."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:August 4, 2014

Beware!

Pros: good quality
Cons: cant print in black only if a color is empty!, must constantly reboot to connect to wireless
Model Number: Officejet 6700 Premium
"When it works, The quality is good BUT you need to know what I now know that made me abandoned HP forever! When one of the color cartridges runs out, you can NOT print with black ink only. HP is making you buy the color ink to print again. I called HP Support and they verified this telling me that all cartridges must have ink in them for the printer to function properly, even if you just want to print in black ink. So once any cartridge is out, the printer will not print anything, no matter what. So, I took out the HP color cartridges and had them filled at Costco, and sure enough, the printer knows that the original HP cartridge was filled and it gives me an error message telling me that It does not support the cartridges I have installed, Even though they are HP cartridges that have been re filled! I googled this problem and could not believe the outrage of so many people that found this out the hard way. The other reason is that the wireless function loses the wireless connection daily! Must reboot printer all the time. For these reasons, I am done with HP."
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 31, 2014

HP Officejet 6700 printer

Pros: price versatility.
Cons: periodic jamming of paper goes through ink fast, long warm up/diagnostic time after turning it on., cartridges are expensive.
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Printer
"Be prepared to wait several minutes after turning it on to wait for it to complete it's "checking device" message that says it can take up to several minutes. What happened to the days when you could turn on your printer and then print.
I've had a number of occasions when the printer jammed too. I was swayed by the features but will try another brand in the future when it's time to replace it.
It seems to use ink cartridges fast and prints a color "test" page after a cartridge is replaced for "alignment". What's with that? Why would replacing your inkjet cartridge cause it to go out of alignment. Of all the HP inkjet printers I've owned in the past, I can't recall ever having printer go out of alignment after replacing a cartridge."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Date:July 28, 2014

Worst purchase ever

"I bought this product approximately 2 months ago. There are so many glitches with HP 6700. The worst one is when I sent one document (only one page) and gave me a message of printing 22,000 pages. I cancelled it and tried again. This time it was going to give me 30,000 copies. And now, this printer took over my home phone. Every phone call goes directly to fax machine. I am totally dissatisfied with
HP 6700. I am going back to COSTCO to return this printer.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:June 23, 2014

Very noisy and thirsty

Cons: noisy and drinks ink too quickly
"I've had the 6700 for about 9 months. Not a lot of printing on it, mostly some school stuff for my kids. What I noticed right away is this thing is VERY nosiy, (whirr, zzzz, squeak, zzzz, squeak, etc.), and it goes through this loooong, slow process everytime I print as part of it's wake up from sleep. It also went through (expensive) ink very fast. Again, we don't print a lot on this printer so I would expect the ink to last longer. we all know HP makes their money off the ink, practically selling the printers at cost. I get that. But my prior printer HP 2600 did not consume ink nearly as fast, and it was quiet. So overall I'm not happy with this one. Only reason I "upgraded" was my old 2600 wouldn't recognize a new ink cartridge after replacing it. But that printer lasted 5 years and I used it more than this new one."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2014

Inferior Product

Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
"As a lifelong HP user, this printer is a total disappointment. Lid falls off, doesn't recognize its own HP ink cartridges purchased at Costco, drinks ink, jams, sends unqualified error messages. HP has lost me as a computer and printer customer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chester County, PA
Date:June 22, 2014

Sitting on the fence

Pros: good copy quality
Model Number: HP officejet 6700 premium
"At 60 days the left-half of the control screen went blank. Returning it to Costco."
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Crockett, CA
Date:June 19, 2014

Deceptive: Cheap Price Erased by Ink Requirements

Pros: not many paper jams output generally looks good
Cons: drinks ink like a fish, user guide misstates important usage requirement, unable to edit remote wireless printing
Model Number: CV078A
"This printer reminds me of being in a relationship with a charming, functional alcoholic:
You meet. He's cute, he's fun, and in the beginning, he does everything he says he'll do. But then you notice the levels in your bottles (aka ink monitor) draining at an alarming rate.
You don't want to overreact, so you do a little research. The experts (aka HP User Guide) say that you can encourage your darling to only drink beer (aka only use black ink) by changing the settings. And that if he seems to lose interest in you (aka an ink cartridge becomes depleted), not to worry, he'll still support you! (aka you'll still be able to print).
But your levels keep draining. And he won't get out of bed to go to work (aka you cannot print with a depleted cartridge).
You join support groups (online user reviews). Others in your position describe a downward spiral that sounds hauntingly familiar.
You despair. You call on that Higher Power above (aka HP Customer Service), and are told that he's really not an alcoholic at all, no, he's special (aka printing in black ink actually uses the colored inks in addition to plain old black) and if I really loved him, I'd stay with him forever (aka their ink is so superior, the output so superb, I really shouldn't mind the extra cost!)
I'm breaking up with him and finding a new HP..."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eustis, FL
Date:May 7, 2014

Overall Satisfied

Pros: hp customer service is great
Cons: needs app to scan win8
Model Number: HP OfficeJet 6700
"Purchased this printer to replace a Canon all in one that died. This one is nice. Top is kinda awkward to lift to put items on scanner bed. WILL NOT SCAN from computer using Win8 unless you use an APP. I HATE WIN8 APPS! I have at least 3 programs I prefer to use for scanning and none will detect it as a scanner. After 1.5 hours on phone with tech support we got the app to scan to jpg and pdf format, but it's really not a solution it's lame that it isn't supported by Win8 properly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:May 7, 2014

When DOES it work?

Cons: totally unreliable
Model Number: HP 6700 Premium
"I've probably owned at least a half dozen HP multi-functions over the years and all were pretty good and reliable. This, which seemed great at first (my first wireless printer), has turned into a neurotic, unpredictable nightmare. It simply stops working and is "idle" for no reason (I check all the settings) - then will print one of several items in the queue, but none of the others.... on and on, a different problem every time. It always requires re-installing the driver - eternal unplug-then plug in...
As I've said - it's not that I don't know how to use an HP, just THIS HP. My advice, stick with what you have or try a different brand.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:April 16, 2014

It prints, but that's all and its 3 days old.

Pros: it did print
Cons: terrible foreign based customer service., obviously poor quality control.
Model Number: OfficeJet 6700 Premium
"I needed a printer in a hurry, so I went to the store and bought this one. Set it up Monday and it did a nice job printing my taxes and other documents. Today, I went to make a copy of a portion of a large book page. Do I get a copy? No I get "Scanner failure:Unable to scan, copy or send a fax." I called HP, a major error since I am talking to someone in India who can't answer any questions unless they are on his script, get transferred to a "hardware supervisor" who will send me a new printer to arrive in 8 days.
I should have called Costco Concierge since they speak understandable English and really work with you to fix any problems. I told HP that I would return it to Costco and get a non-HP printer
I really don't know if I would get another HP, although Costco mostly carries HP printers
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:April 10, 2014

Don't waste your money!

Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
"I actually purchased two -- the first one didn't connect wirelessly properly, and the second one had different issues. HP gave me the second one after I returned the first one, and Costco accepted the second one in return. Problems too numerous to mention. Just don't waste your time with this model. Even the Costco computer guy said this printer wasn't worth it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Reston, VA
Date:April 5, 2014

Failed after a handful of times

Pros: when it worked the quality of print was good
Cons: failed after a handful of uses., extremely finicky
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium
"This is absolutely the worst printer I have ever used. First, the printer does not print if one of the ink cartridges is low. After replacing ALL the cartridges with genuine cartridges that I purchased directly from HP, I get the following error: "There is a problem with the printer or ink system. Turn printer off, then on. If problem persists, contact HP." I contacted HP, and they offered to sell me another printer for just slightly below what I can buy it for online. I will never buy another HP product again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2014

Major Cartridge Issues!

Pros: good print quality
Cons: wastes color ink, will not last
"I bought this about a year and a half ago. I had the same annoying experiences many other users had. It uses color ink even when black only is selected. I set the default to black only and it still sometimes prints in color. If one cartridge is depleted it will not print anything. I always used HP cartridges, but that wasn't enough. One day I got the error message that it couldn't find the printhead. After contacting tech support, I was told I would have to get a new printer. No thanks. I don't have a home office, or print an absurd amount. I can't believe this only lasted a year and a half!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MN
Date:March 31, 2014

Breaks down after warranty!!

Pros: all-in-one looks good
Cons: unreliable - will stop working after warranty, expensive to use - always uses color cartridges, poor hp product support
Model Number: HP6700 Premium All-in-one
"I am not sure why this product gets such high stars, even though it depletes expensive color cartridges when printing black/grey (even after selecting black cartridge only). It stops printing even if one color cartridge is depleted. Recently after replacing them with new cartridges (which I bought in bulk since there was an offer), the printer has started printing blank pages - no color, no black, nothing! Even the copier prints copies in blank! And after contacting HP support (and being told to replace cartridges again), and learning that my printer is out of warranty - I was told I must buy a new printer!! Never again a HP, waste of money (and all those new cartridges I bought!). Be wise and spend your money on a quality reliable product - which this is not. Google "prints blank pages even with new cartridges" for this model and you will know you should not buy this"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 24, 2014

Don't waste your time and money!

Pros: reasonable price
Cons: loses settings and false error messages.
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700, H711n
"I purchased the HP Officejet 6700 at Costco to replace an older HP all-in-one printer. At first it seems to work fine, but in the following days it would lose its set-up data and give false error messages. I tried reconfiguring the unit a number of times including using the internet help videos, etc. Finally I called the HP tech support and with their help got the printer working again. Two days after that, the same error messages appeared (paper jam in auto document feeder and/or fax/copy is not functioning). Once again I called the HP tech support line and after trying a few changes the tech told me the unit would need to be replaced. That's when I returned it to Costco and was glad to get rid of the thing. I replaced it with a Canon MX922 that is working fine so far."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>