Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(352 Reviews) 352
(out of 352 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (352 reviews)
5 stars
182
4 stars
57
3 stars
22
2 stars
21
1 star
70
248 of 352(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2014

failed after a month

Cons: lasted only a month
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium
"Worked for a month and then the scanner failed. I tried copying one day and received a "scanner failure" message. After following HP online instructions to trouble shoot it (basically unplug power source and then plug back in), the recommendation was to exchange it. My last HP printer lasted for over 10 years. This one is disappointing."
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City area
Date:September 18, 2014

H.P. lost a loyal customer

Pros: fax works
Cons: everything
Model Number: officejet 6700
"I have bought H.P. printers for over 20 years. Never again. Not only is there problems with the autofeed. It just is very picky how you load papers, and will not handle over a very few at a time. H.P. has decided that you must use only new ink from them. No longer can you have Costco refill ink cartridges. You must use new H.P. cartridges at high prices. Do not download the latest firmwear updates for recent printers, they also make it immposible to use refilled cartridges."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, Nevanda
Date:September 7, 2014

Limited value

Pros: good quality prints. works wirelessly from an imac
Cons: feeder system seems unreliable and hard to use
Model Number: HP Office Jet 6700 Premium
"Generally it prints well and does what is needed. However, there is a real flaw in the feeder system. To allow a page to feed into the copy surface, one needs to press down on the feeder cover head or the page will wrap itself around the feeder mechanism underneath the feeder cover head. Did not take it back as we learned to live with it, but it is inconvenient."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:September 4, 2014

broken out of the box

Pros: none
"Could never get it set up - just kept getting an ink system error that indicated that all 3 color cartridges were bad. Spent over an hour trying, much of it in an online chat with hp customer service rep. They're sending replacement cartridges, but I think the whole thing will be going back..."
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, Tx
Date:September 3, 2014

HP Nightmare

Pros: the box is recyclable
Cons: it will never work with your mac 2x in a row.
Model Number: 6700 Wireless
"My 6700 worked perfectly on the first try for all three of my Macs. The first time.
After that you get an "idle" comment when you try to print. There appears to be no fix. I attempted to change to a static IP address as suggested in the forum but either I didn't do that right (I'm not a software engineer or an IT person as all the other people in the forum) or it didn't work.
This is after two days of doing everything else suggested on the forums. What an incredible time sink. I have a house, two kids and a working wife. Does anyone in their right mind have time for this stuff?
You can always print the test page. If you close everything down, then run HP utility sometimes suddenly everything that was in the cue will print out.
But after the one print it will never come off idle again unless you find a magic sequence to get it find your cue. You can keep deleting and reloading the software; that seems to work (it still only prints one time and then goes to idle on the next request).
Why don't they just print on the box that this printer doesn't work with OS systems? It would save people so much time and effort and returns. This printer has to be costing COSTCO a fortune with so many going back to the store.
I hope they take it without the box it came it. My son put it in recycling pile when he heard the truck coming."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Tx
Date:August 31, 2014

Was great for first 1 1/2 years.

Pros: great printing quality and speed., nice touch screen functions., easy setup.
Cons: long preparation time before printing sometimes., scanner/fax stopped working at 1 1/2 years no fix, cannot upgrade firmware through hp software., ink is not the lowest price compared to brother.
Model Number: Officejet 6700
"I rarely used this for scanning/faxing but now at just over 1 1/2 years the scanner/fax capabilities have quit. I get the error on start up, no scanner light, no movement, cannot even use HP software to test, upgrade or diagnose it. Printing was great, and still is, but I bought this to scan/fax as well and for it to die in this short amount of time is disappointing. Will try a different brand next."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carmel, IN
Date:August 28, 2014

Goes back to Costco

Pros: decent color printing, wireless printing works fine
Cons: slow to start a job, frequent badly timed weird self-checking, heavy on ink use, can't print black only if one color is depleted
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium
"The point of no return (or I should say return back to the store) was reached with this printer when I realized that I cannot print in Black only, even with full Black cartridge, when one of the color cartridges is empty. BAD DESIGN."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:August 27, 2014

Had to replace after 1 year and ink dries out

Pros: it is an all in one
Cons: ink dries out too fast, had to replace after 1 year - bad printhead, ink is costly, must replace color ink even if printing only black
Model Number: HP OfficeJet 6700
"Even if you only use black ink you will have to replace all the color cartridges as they often dry out. Very expensive. After just 1 month over the one year warranty I had to replace this printer because I had a printhead go bad. I would say I print maybe 3 pages on average a day. This product is not made well. If you look online under "There is a problem with the printer or ink system." you will see the 6700 all over with this problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:August 22, 2014

Print Quality Good, but all you've heard is true

Pros: wireless printing works well, print quality is good
Cons: very slow to start a print job, print head is not replaceable, heavy ink usage
"A couple things typically need maintenance on ink printers:
1.) cartridges need to be replaced
2.) print heads need to be cleaned and eventually replaced
Both are a problem with this printer. YOU CANNOT REPLACE THE PRINT HEAD. Yes, I'm serious. If it has a problem (and it eventually will), you need to replace the whole printer.
It uses ink at a rapid rate, and won't print if you're out of ink in any of the cartridges. Need to print an important page in black and white? If you just ran out of magenta, cyan or yellow, you're out of luck. Why? Who knows."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, Ca
Date:August 21, 2014

Perfection

"I have used many printers and this is the best so far. I move it around and never have wi-if connection issues. Prints both sides with ease. I am one happy user."
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:August 17, 2014

0 STARS

Pros: none
Cons: does not stay connected to wifi network
"We have an Apple household. Tried to set it up wirelessly for eprint, but it would disconnect itself from the network once we tried to print from two different systems (MacBook Pro, Mavericks & MacMini, 10.8.5). It printed via USB with the MacBook, but it was painfully slow. We got it for it's ePrint ability and since we can't get it to stay connected to our WiFi network it will be returned to the warehouse, tomorrow."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:August 4, 2014

Beware!

Pros: good quality
Cons: cant print in black only if a color is empty!, must constantly reboot to connect to wireless
Model Number: Officejet 6700 Premium
"When it works, The quality is good BUT you need to know what I now know that made me abandoned HP forever! When one of the color cartridges runs out, you can NOT print with black ink only. HP is making you buy the color ink to print again. I called HP Support and they verified this telling me that all cartridges must have ink in them for the printer to function properly, even if you just want to print in black ink. So once any cartridge is out, the printer will not print anything, no matter what. So, I took out the HP color cartridges and had them filled at Costco, and sure enough, the printer knows that the original HP cartridge was filled and it gives me an error message telling me that It does not support the cartridges I have installed, Even though they are HP cartridges that have been re filled! I googled this problem and could not believe the outrage of so many people that found this out the hard way. The other reason is that the wireless function loses the wireless connection daily! Must reboot printer all the time. For these reasons, I am done with HP."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 31, 2014

HP Officejet 6700 printer

Pros: price versatility.
Cons: periodic jamming of paper goes through ink fast, long warm up/diagnostic time after turning it on., cartridges are expensive.
Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Printer
"Be prepared to wait several minutes after turning it on to wait for it to complete it's "checking device" message that says it can take up to several minutes. What happened to the days when you could turn on your printer and then print.
I've had a number of occasions when the printer jammed too. I was swayed by the features but will try another brand in the future when it's time to replace it.
It seems to use ink cartridges fast and prints a color "test" page after a cartridge is replaced for "alignment". What's with that? Why would replacing your inkjet cartridge cause it to go out of alignment. Of all the HP inkjet printers I've owned in the past, I can't recall ever having printer go out of alignment after replacing a cartridge."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Date:July 28, 2014

Worst purchase ever

"I bought this product approximately 2 months ago. There are so many glitches with HP 6700. The worst one is when I sent one document (only one page) and gave me a message of printing 22,000 pages. I cancelled it and tried again. This time it was going to give me 30,000 copies. And now, this printer took over my home phone. Every phone call goes directly to fax machine. I am totally dissatisfied with
HP 6700. I am going back to COSTCO to return this printer.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:June 23, 2014

Very noisy and thirsty

Cons: noisy and drinks ink too quickly
"I've had the 6700 for about 9 months. Not a lot of printing on it, mostly some school stuff for my kids. What I noticed right away is this thing is VERY nosiy, (whirr, zzzz, squeak, zzzz, squeak, etc.), and it goes through this loooong, slow process everytime I print as part of it's wake up from sleep. It also went through (expensive) ink very fast. Again, we don't print a lot on this printer so I would expect the ink to last longer. we all know HP makes their money off the ink, practically selling the printers at cost. I get that. But my prior printer HP 2600 did not consume ink nearly as fast, and it was quiet. So overall I'm not happy with this one. Only reason I "upgraded" was my old 2600 wouldn't recognize a new ink cartridge after replacing it. But that printer lasted 5 years and I used it more than this new one."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2014

Inferior Product

Model Number: HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
"As a lifelong HP user, this printer is a total disappointment. Lid falls off, doesn't recognize its own HP ink cartridges purchased at Costco, drinks ink, jams, sends unqualified error messages. HP has lost me as a computer and printer customer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chester County, PA
Date:June 22, 2014

Sitting on the fence

Pros: good copy quality
Model Number: HP officejet 6700 premium
"At 60 days the left-half of the control screen went blank. Returning it to Costco."
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Crockett, CA
Date:June 19, 2014

Deceptive: Cheap Price Erased by Ink Requirements

Pros: not many paper jams output generally looks good
Cons: drinks ink like a fish, user guide misstates important usage requirement, unable to edit remote wireless printing
Model Number: CV078A
"This printer reminds me of being in a relationship with a charming, functional alcoholic:
You meet. He's cute, he's fun, and in the beginning, he does everything he says he'll do. But then you notice the levels in your bottles (aka ink monitor) draining at an alarming rate.
You don't want to overreact, so you do a little research. The experts (aka HP User Guide) say that you can encourage your darling to only drink beer (aka only use black ink) by changing the settings. And that if he seems to lose interest in you (aka an ink cartridge becomes depleted), not to worry, he'll still support you! (aka you'll still be able to print).
But your levels keep draining. And he won't get out of bed to go to work (aka you cannot print with a depleted cartridge).
You join support groups (online user reviews). Others in your position describe a downward spiral that sounds hauntingly familiar.
You despair. You call on that Higher Power above (aka HP Customer Service), and are told that he's really not an alcoholic at all, no, he's special (aka printing in black ink actually uses the colored inks in addition to plain old black) and if I really loved him, I'd stay with him forever (aka their ink is so superior, the output so superb, I really shouldn't mind the extra cost!)
I'm breaking up with him and finding a new HP..."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eustis, FL
Date:May 7, 2014

Overall Satisfied

Pros: hp customer service is great
Cons: needs app to scan win8
Model Number: HP OfficeJet 6700
"Purchased this printer to replace a Canon all in one that died. This one is nice. Top is kinda awkward to lift to put items on scanner bed. WILL NOT SCAN from computer using Win8 unless you use an APP. I HATE WIN8 APPS! I have at least 3 programs I prefer to use for scanning and none will detect it as a scanner. After 1.5 hours on phone with tech support we got the app to scan to jpg and pdf format, but it's really not a solution it's lame that it isn't supported by Win8 properly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6700 Premium e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:May 7, 2014

When DOES it work?

Cons: totally unreliable
Model Number: HP 6700 Premium
"I've probably owned at least a half dozen HP multi-functions over the years and all were pretty good and reliable. This, which seemed great at first (my first wireless printer), has turned into a neurotic, unpredictable nightmare. It simply stops working and is "idle" for no reason (I check all the settings) - then will print one of several items in the queue, but none of the others.... on and on, a different problem every time. It always requires re-installing the driver - eternal unplug-then plug in...
As I've said - it's not that I don't know how to use an HP, just THIS HP. My advice, stick with what you have or try a different brand.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>