Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe

Meets or exceeds the CADOJ acceptable gun safe standards The Bighorn Classic 36ECB will give you unparalleled peace of mind and security against fire and theft.  This safe features thick heavy bodied construction, outstanding 45 minute/1200 degree fire protection, fine styling and interior, and the industry's best warranty and customer service.   Security Features: UL Listed electronic lock   5.75” thick door   Spring loaded re-locker keeps safe secure if lock is tampered with or removed   Massive 1.5” diameter locking door bolts   3 layer armored hard plate to protect the lock   12 total locking door bolts, 3 way active   4 sided door bolt protection   Heavy bodied construction – 790 LBS Interior Features: Thick quality automotive grade upholstery   21.75 Cubic ft.   Interior Dimensions: 67" H x 33" W x 17" D   Slots for 36 long guns   Adjustable shelving   3 side shelves and 2 full-width top shelves; doubles your storage capacity   Predrilled for anchoring to the floor (anchoring hardware not included)   Predrilled through the steel for dehumidifier   External hinge door, fully opening provides greater access than internal hinged designs Exterior Features: UL® RSC security rating   35.5 cubic ft   Color : durable, baked-on powdercoat in semi-gloss black   Commercial grade UL Listed electric lock   External Dimensions: 71” H x 36” W x 24” D (not including handles)   Deluxe 5-spoke vault style handle   Oversized hinges   Easy to remove shipping feet (no troublesome wood pallet)   Heavy bodied construction – 790 LBS   Fire Protection Features: 45 minute/1200 degree fire protection   Expandable door seal – helps keep out smoke and heat   Fully lined, no uncovered hot spot areas like internal hinge designs Warranty: Best residential warranty and customer service in the industry!   Free repair or replacement after fire or burglary attack – see warranty for complete details.   Model: 36ECB / Gun Safes
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
22 of 24(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Review 1 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee Florida
Date:June 12, 2012

Defective Key Pad

Cons: defective key pad horrible customer service.
"Their gun safes have a defective electronic key pad. When the key pad would not work at first I thought it was me. When I called the safe company they sent me on goose chases looking for batteries with a five year expiration date. THEY DON'T EXIST! They would have me go though the "trouble shooting exercises" designed to wear me down every time I called. They didn't want to have to pay for a locksmith to come out to fix it. It is a $200. repair. I kept calling when all their trouble shooting ideas didn't work. One guy I talked to finally admitted that their safes have a defective key pad. By then the a year and passed and the warranty expires. I do not recommend them they are dishonest. They don't own up to their defective products and their customer service is horrible!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:June 3, 2012

REPLACED PRIOR SAFE

Pros: appearance and finish, quality of material and craftsmanship, value
Cons: none
Model Number: BIGHORN 36ECB
"We needed a larger safe than the one we had. The BIGHORN safe was exactly what we needed with all of the features that I wish I had gotten on the first one. The electric lock, more and larger door bolts are just a few of the very positive pluses.
The interior was finely finished and had practically no odor other than one similar to "a new car smell.
Delivery time was two weeks and one day from the date the order was placed.
The door had to come off for the move up a flight of stairs. The installers just lifted it straight up with no difficulty.
I strongly recommend this safe for storage and protection of your firearms.
You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:July 4, 2012

Great safe for the $$

Pros: great price, heavy safe, lots of room
Cons: heavy will need help or pros to move, i should of bought bigger. already full, no electric inside
Model Number: 36ECB
"After 'kicking the can down the road' for 2 years, looking and comparing safe after safe, I stumbled upon the Big Horn brand at Costco. I wasn't a member at the time, but after comparing this safe against others no one else could come close, and we purchased a membership.
The purchase when smoothly. I called Rhino (the distributor of Big Horn) the day after I ordered to request an upgrade for the lock. They couldn't do the upgrade because this model wasn't stored locally, but they sent me the LaGard lock assembly which I installed myself in about 15 minutes. The upgrade charge was at wholesale price. Sean at Rhino was very helpful and knows his product. RL delivery driver was awesome, rolled it up my drive and into the garage and waited for me to inspect it. Only downside to delivery was they say between noon-4pm, so I took the day off work to be there. Showed up at 5:30. I had safe movers come the same evening and move it to the basement. I have installed rope lighting in the interior and will be adding a electric outlet for the lights and dry rod. The smell problem that others have had was not apparent in my safe. All in all a great product at a great price.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:October 4, 2012

Great Safe at a Great Price!

Pros: size cost delivery
Cons: none
Model Number: 36ECB classic
"After doing a lot of research on many brands of safes, I chose to order the Big Horn 36ECB classic from Costco. I was a little leary of ordering something this large sight unseen, but it was no problem. The delivery driver was a true hero! I live at the end of a 1/2 mile long, single lane, dead end, gravel road and he ended up in front of my house with an 18 wheeler. He backed it all the way up the road, turned around and backed all the way back down and then up my 300ft driveway to drop it in front of my garage and then rolled it inside for me! Amazing service and amazing driving skills. The safe is very large, well constructed and showed up without a single scratch on it. I hooked up a rope light and dehumidifier in less that an hour and it's good to go! It's not the most heavy duty safe on the market, but it more than serves the purpose for my needs and you simply can't beat the price."
Review 5 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stanwood, Washington
Date:June 10, 2012

safe upgrade

Model Number: 36ECB
"Fast delivery from trucking Company but the truck had a bad lift gate, luckily I have a tractor that we got the safe off the truck with, driver waited 30 minutes for me to get home from work which was awesome, and was a real nice fella just trying to do his job.
Got the safe installed and Love it wish I would have went bigger the first time.
Safe has little to no smell compared to the other
The 2 large shelves on top are sweet, and would recommed this safe to anyone looking
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012

Second time is the charm

Pros: everything else
Cons: no door pockets
"Ordered this safe after returning the Cannon Safari 5940. Shipping company called **four days** later to schedule delivery. Amazing. Very heavy duty; fit all my guns, ammo cans hard drives and some paperwork. Bolted down well and easily. Glad for the top and bottom bolts in the door. A bit of the carpeting was coming loose; no big deal a hot glue gun took care of it easily. This safe is well worth the extra $200 I spent over the far inferior Cannon."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2012

Big

Pros: big, well made, great value
Cons: so so carpeting
"First let me say that the people at Big Horn are great answering any questions you may have. They offer additional accessory items for your safe at a very reasonable price i.e. lights, dehumidifiers, gun holders, etc.
The safe itself was delivered as promised and the trucking company and driver were excellent, keeping me updated along the way and being great about the delivery.
The safe was delivered as promised, but I strongly recommend that you do your homework on installation and moving once it gets dropped at the end of your driveway. Know what it takes to anchor it down and safely remove the legs not in that order. If you don't know what you're doing hire someone knowledgeable to install the safe.
The interior is not perfect the carpet is a little cheesy, but it has a lot of adjustable shelving and boy is this thing roomy. You can put in all of your valuables including the guns, jewels, papers, ammo etc and still have room to buy lots more of everything. This thing is going to cost me a lot of money to fill up, but I'm going to have a good time doing it.
A great purchase, great price and great service
"
Review 8 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dardanelle AR. we love to hunt here.
Date:September 27, 2012

Great safe for the price, Freinds all envious

Pros: great safe great price great people to buy from..
Cons: shelves flimsy 3ft. span? ammo heavy easy fix.
Model Number: 36ECB classic
"Ordered safe, 4 weeks delivery time,R&l set up delivery time, driver right on time ,I inspected safe before he lowered it from truck,Daren the driver and I pulled it up my 500ft.driveway to garage dropped it near final resting place.Shelves a little flimsy so I added 3/4X3/4x1/8 x34" aluminum angle to front and rear of each shelf 11/2"in from front and rear now shelves will hold ammo.remember I saved $500.00 so what"s a couple of bucks to make things right I have 18 rifles 10 calibers keep about 1000 rounds per caliber so need strong shelves. No one tells you that the floor board of the safe is removable to make attachment easier.Remove floor get a roto hammer and right size bit an 15 minutes your mountaing holes are drilled(this way makes cleanup easier) I used 1/2 x3 1/2 concrete lag bolts ,piece of cake.What a great safe for the money,Sean at Rhino helped reset combo to my own numbers, great people over there.Costco.I have been a member since 1983 and have never admired a company as much I do them.Whatever you purchase from them even years later they go out of there way to make it right, so I would never even worry about a purchase that tthey are in front of. I live 300 miles from the nearest one and once a month off to Costco I go.Buy most big stuff on line never a problem. I am the Envy of all my hunting buddies with a safe like this for this price and they all have some kind of gun safe. Rhino & Costco don't give it a second thought go ahead and order one.Thank You ."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwest Indiana
Date:July 4, 2012

Very satisfied.

Pros: roomy, value, heavy
Cons: no door pouches
Model Number: 36ECB
"Great safe for the money. Outgrew my first safe (ECB19) and replaced with this. It's HUGE compared to my old one. Black powdercoat, looks awesome. Delivery was excellent but was unloaded backwards (didn't know until packaging was removed). Used a floor jack to turn 180 degrees (this safe weights close to 800 pounds empty.
Now I can buy more guns and ammo!
If you need a big safe on a budget, this is the one for you. One drawback from my old safe; no door pockets for handguns.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, Nevada
Date:August 9, 2012

Great Safe

Model Number: BigHorn Clasic
"I bought this safe here from Costco about 9 months ago. There is that new safe smell some complain about. I would say this is a great deal and has worked out to be a safe i am proud to say i own. I did a lot of shopping around and reading reviews and after the time i have in this one i would say to buy it, you won't find a better deal for the price. When it's time to buy my second safe, this is the one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:July 28, 2012

Not a good purchase

Pros: large interior space
Cons: poor interior design
Model Number: 36ECB
"The design of the gun insert slot shelf is poor at best. It has 36 slots for guns but the way the insert is designed you can really place 20 and have good access to them. if you use the back 16 remaining gun slot cut outs, you have to remove the guns in front to either put them in or take them out, plus you have to angle the gun in to put them in the back slots. I have talked with Rhino Safes the maker of this safe to see about getting a better insert and they do not and will not offer one even as a costom piece that I was willing to buy.The way it is designed it watse about 1/3 of the gun storage space. You do not know this from looking at the pictures or discription on Coscto website. There are other safes out there that have better designed interiors, I will sending this one back."
Review 12 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:tracy, ca
Date:June 26, 2012

Great Large safe for the money

"I ordered the safe on a thursday, the order was fulfilled on friday and the shipping company called me monday to drop off tuesday. Talk about fast! Safe is large and of great quality. There is no smell, and the upholstery inside is great! this is a must buy for a gun collector."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area,CA
Date:September 13, 2012

Wonderful safe for that amount

Model Number: 36ECB
""Great safe for the money. The safe made in Chana. Black durable baked-on powder coated finish. Heavy solid safe with plenty of room.The interior is not perfect the carpet is a little cheesy, but it has a lot of adjustable shelving. There was a slight odor inside the safe but it is a new safe, what you want?after a while it will be pass.In the real fit easily 20 to 25 rifles and have good access to them but many spaces for pistols because adjustable shelving.
I called Rhino (the distributor of Big Horn) The team at Bighorn was very helpful when I confirm delivery and the people at Big Horn are great answering any questions you may have.
A great purchase, great price and great service.
"
Review 14 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:October 23, 2012

This thing is really big!

Pros: it's a great looking safe and solid protection., very roomy inside-plenty of spots for guns..
Cons: none
Model Number: 36ECB
"We really love this safe. Arrived sooner than expected and the company called ahead to advise us it was coming. I appreciated reading reviews so I am writing to recommend a few things. First, it's heavy (790 lbs). I advise contacting a professional safe/vault company to move it into your house lest you hurt yourself, your friends or your house. The delivery company will only move it onto your property although I got my guy to pallet-jack it into the garage. There is a 'new safe' odor but you can leave the door open for a few days or get some granular charcol ( fish/pet store ) put in a bowl and put it inside for a few days. My door was lose when safe was closed but there are little clips on the inside which can be bent to add tension and tighten door. Use shims underneath to level so the door doesn't always want to close. I bought some puck lights at Costco for inside lighting. No wire type. I also had my safe company guy change the electronic lock to a mechanical combination so I will always be able to access even if there is an EMP- electro magnetic pulse. This was an after thought and maybe could have ordered it that way. Do consider this because if there is an EMP you would not have access to your goodies. The customer service at Rhino Metals is second to none. I emailed with concerns/questions and had an answer the next day...excellent!"
Review 15 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plymouth, CT
Date:November 8, 2012

Great Bang for the buck

Pros: huge safe. accepts any length rifle. cost !, faster shipping than most others.
Cons: wasted space. upper shelves too long to hold ammo, weight. supports fix that quick though.
Model Number: Bighorn 36ECB
"I love the safe. Using info from other excellent reviewers, I had everything ready to go before arrival. I had my hammer drill, concrete anchors, wiring and receptacle, rope lighting and dry rod, and most importantly, the angle aluminum for shelf supports. All done on day one. On Day 2, safe was fully loaded and is awesome ! Yes, there is some wasted space, yes, there is some factory glue smell... But truthfully, Not a big deal at all. Don't hesitate to buy this."
Review 16 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rainier, WA
Date:June 16, 2012

Great Safe!

"We were very surprised to get a call from the trucking co. just 10 days after ordering this safe. On our paperwork it stated 4-6 week delivery time.
When they delivered it we thought we would have to pick it up at the end of our driveway, but the driver, who was driving a semi with a 28 ft trailer made it down the driveway, got turned around and backed that thing right up to our garage. All I can say is WOW!
Beautiful safe with no offensive smell, GREAT experience all around!
"
Review 17 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 29, 2012

Drilled for humidifier?

Pros: good sized safe. pretty heavy!
Cons: no power cord hole
Model Number: 36ECB
"The Bighorn Classic seems like a pretty well built safe. I would prefer that the exterior was constructed of a little thicker metal, but it's good for the price. The one thing that I have a problem with is it didn't come drilled for a humidfier as advertised. I was able to get around that, but it would have been nice if a hole was already located from the factory."
Review 18 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2012

Bighorn Safe

Pros: a good safe for the money.
Model Number: 36ECB
"So far just unloaded and took the packaging off my new safe. Exacly what I expected for quality in a middle of the line gun safe. I wish Costco offered safe accessorries along with the safes. The only problem I had was, there were a couple small dents in the door. The outside packaging was in perfect condition."
Review 19 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sacramento, ca
Date:November 5, 2012

great purchase

"Very nice safe.
Very speedy delivery, unfortunately first safe had a imperfection on it, my husband called them and told them, they immediately came and replaced it.
Very good service, and happy with the safe.
"
Review 20 for BIGHORN Classic 36ECB Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lodi, CA
Date:June 21, 2012

great experience

Model Number: 36ECB
"The safe was delivered earlier than promised. The driver was very nice & helpful. There was a slight odor inside the safe, but after leaving the door open for a day, the odor was gone. The combination was easy to set and works great! We are very happy with this safe."
1 2 next>>