Customer Reviews for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier

Model: 11752571
Average Customer Rating:
3.658 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
28 of 38(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Review 1 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:May 17, 2012

Delonghi-Poor customer service

Model Number: PACN130HPE
"I purchased this item from Costco.com because I wanted it delivered to my home rather than have to tote it home. It arrived within 3 days. However, upon opening the box and checking the accessories, I noticed the hose adapter was broken. Called Delonghi right away. They told me that the part is not in stock... And it would be 3 - 6 weeks to send a replacement. Which means I don't have a working a/c until maybe July 1st. Kind of defeats the whole purpose of buying an air conditioner! Other option would be to box it up and tote it back to Costco :("
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

Pros: easy to set up, performs well, no need to empty water daily, casters for easy movement on hard surfaces, remote control
Cons: be sure outlet window blinds etc will work, can me noisy to some depending on tolerance level, weight may be a factor
Model Number: PACAN130HPEL
"I received a unit slightly different than what is pictured here. The main difference is that the unit I received has a LCD display. Not sure if that will apply to all orders or not. All the other specifications are identical. The first notable item was that the unit is heavier than you might initially think. It weighs right at 75 pounds. If you are planning on moving it around a lot that might be an important consideration. For example up and down stairs. You also want to ensure that you have an electrical outlet near the window you are planning on using for the exhaust. Be aware that blinds may cause a bit of an issue. The window I used opens side to side so the blinds don't want to go over the exhaust duct very well. On a up and down window it will be less of an issue. The performance of the A/C function of the unit is excellent in my location. I'm sure that variables such as outside temperature and humidity can and will play a factor in performance. The noise level is moderate comparable to a window unit or a wall unit such as they have in hotels/motels. Since I work the night shift it actaully helps because it is a source of "white noise." The remote is a nice feature that I have used to turn the unit off when I wake up and am cold. Overall the unit does what it is meant to do quite well. Properly survey where you are planning on installing the unit to make sure it is compatible. Hope this helps."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 21, 2012

Works great!

"Delivered very promptly. Easy installation - no missing or broken parts, in fact, they sent me an upgraded model since the one I ordered wasn't in stock. Not the one for you if you want something extremely quiet. I would rate this moderate on noise."
Review 4 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:May 21, 2012

De'longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU AC

Pros: thin exhaust piece thin exhaust hose, cooling area is great!, remote is digital, very quite
Cons: none
"Since I purchased this AC and opened the box I was amazed. I had it at more door in 2 days. I opened the box and put the whole air conditioner together in literally 10min. everything is straight forward they explain it VERY well. The exhaust piece is much thinner then the average portable AC meaning your window can close more avoiding that hot air to stay outside. The MOST important part is I have a very large area about 700 Square feet and in that area is a kitchen. This ac cools the entire area off beautifully! in very little time!
I bought an amana 14k btu and it couldn't get NEAR how great this air conditioner is. It sounds solid and its very soothing and quit! great ac no complaints whatsoever!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Coast, CA
Date:May 23, 2012

Great price and delivery of good quality product

Model Number: De'Longhi Pinguino 13
"First, I must say Costco’s delivery was excellent. I ordered the air conditioner and received it in a couple of days. It was well packaged. I followed the instructions and it was easy to set up. Only took about a half hour. The operating instructions are also easy to follow. The cooling and heating systems work well. It’s not too noisy considering it’s a portable A/C unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

Don't waste your money!!

"We received this from Costco in a very timely manner; however, after letting it sit for 24 hours like the instructions stated...we installed the unit. It ran for 5 minutes and quit. The customer service was closed for the long holiday weekend. After waiting on hold for 45 minutes today, we were told to "shake the unit!" Seriously? It did run for a minute after we shook it, but again turned off immediately. Don't waste your money on this one or your time with the manufacturer's terrible customer service"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, Virginia
Date:May 29, 2012

Nice Portable Room Air Conditioner

Model Number: De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000
"Hooked up easily, no problems.
East operation. Cools nicely and quiet for
a air unit inside the room. Have not tried
the heat pump function but if it works like
the air conditioner mode i will have no problems. This room is a add on to the
house and the existing heat pump does
not cool or heat very well off of of a 90 degree turn. This seems to do the job.
"
Review 8 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:June 7, 2012

So far so good.

Pros: cools fast, noise is ok for bedroom use, easy to assemble.
Cons: fan stays on even after desired temp reached, a little too heavy.
"Haven't tried the dehumidifier and heater functions yet, but AC works great so far."
Review 9 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South central Illinois
Date:June 7, 2012

Unit did not function properly/zero customer servi

"I installed this item on 2 Jun 2012. The unit cooled fine but the heat mode did not work. I attempted to contact Delonghi support 3 times, 2 voice mails and 1 email but I never received a reply. After waiting 5 days for a reply I gave up and returned the unit to Costco. I will never buy a Delongi product again."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pottstown, Pa
Date:June 9, 2012

Better than average

Pros: works quickly, easy set-up & install, many features, remote controll, great value
Cons: its louder than average window unit, exhaust hose gets hot
"It looks and works great. The exhaust hose does get hot, which isn't a big deal to me. It is not very quite. It is actually louder than the window unit we replaced, but it is also a much larger unit. Guess to be expected. Haven't tried heater or dehumidifier yet, but I would assume they are fully functional. Overall a very nice product, that has great features all in one. It definitely gets our rooms cool quickly, that's what we wanted!"
Review 11 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:June 11, 2012

So far so good

Pros: quiet, cools fast, easy-roll on hardwood and linoleum, remote control
Cons: window bracket not long enough for certain windows, small casters-doesn't roll well on carpet, doesn't auto-off when room reaches desired temp
"Bought this unit about a month ago (received it next day), but then my local temperatures dropped back down into the 60's so I didn't need it until this past weekend. It cooled off my living/dining area fairly quickly, but as another review noted, the unit does not shut off once the room reaches the desired temperature. You have to manually shut it off, which pretty much means I will never use the pre-set function, as there is no "shut it off after...function.
Once the living room/dining room area was cool, I went to move it to my bedroom...rolls great over wood floors, but not over carpet...not even the low-pile carpet I have in my room. (It is made even more difficult trying to ensure the exhaust pipe stays connected during transit). I most likely won't be moving it around again.
My bedroom cooled quickly, which is great because that is the first room to heat up in the summer, and the last to cool off (gets sun on 3 of 4 walls, and window placement doesn't allow for cross-ventilation)
The unit is relatively quiet considering its size (much like the wall units in hotel rooms...initial kick-in then fan noise). We only had to turn the TV up 1 or 2 numbers from no-ac running.
The biggest con I see is that the bracket to which you connect the exhaust hose isn't long enough to completely fill the gap between the window and the sash. Even with both extentsions attached, it fell 2-3" short of filling the gap, so some of the exhausted hot air comes back into the room. I plan on a visit to my local hardware store for a plywood scrap to fashion a better (and one-piece) extention that will completely block the gap.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:June 13, 2012

Works fine so far....

Pros: good cooling and dehumidifaction performance.
Cons: poorly designed window kit, poor window kit makes it not at all portable
Model Number: PACN130HPEC
"First impression is that the unit is smaller than expected. The exhaust is bigger and more cumbersome than expected.
Was not as easy to setup as the video shows. The instructions are not comprehensive.
I put it in a small window and it fit roughly with the smaller extension.
Tip:
1) The smooth side faces out. Its in the photos but the manual does not explicitly say that.
2) squeeze the ends of the plastic and push them into the window rails. then put the pin that joins the extensions. That way it wont move much even when the unit moves slightly. The plastic has some play and flexibility.
3) Use weatherseal tape from hardware store on window sill to raise the level of this by 3/4 inch so the hose opening is not obstructed by the window bottom.
I also had to use weatherseal and caulk tape on the top and sides to make the window air-tight. Reduces the "portable" nature of the unit on account of doing all this. When using the extension, one side is up and other side is down - so have to use extra seal tape on the smaller side.
Very poor design of the window kit.
The unit itself worked well after letting sit for 48 hours. Not too many hot days yet, but have used it in de-humidify mode which still runs the A/C compressor and cools the room. Takes 1100 watts or so for de-humiidify; Ate up about 1 KW in an hour (as shown on Kill-a-watt), but it was doing a good job of cooling and dehumidifying living, dining, kitchen and open den..all of about 500 sq ft. Compressor does shut off after some time and then comes back up which is good.
Certainly more efficient than a central A/C but probably less efficient as compared to window A/C. Bought it because of the portable nature as compared to window A/C; however bad window kit design makes it un-portable - cannot move it from room to room so easily unles maybe they supply extra window kits and cover for the flat hose opening. Also the hose is like a big wagging tail - ugly looking, cumbersome and the whole setup- hose and unit take a fair amount of floor space. Even if placed right next to a window, the hose cannot be easily bent to take out the window.
Still the good performance of the unit so far keeps me from returning it.
IF only they put more thought into designing the window kit and hose....the window kit is not worthy of such an expensive unit.
The hose gets very hot - maybe they could have insulated it? I might do this myself - wrap insulation around the hose.
I have not yet fully exercised all of it yet. Will update review if Costco allows that after few months."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:tacoma, WA
Date:June 14, 2012

I am happy

Model Number: De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"When I opened the box I noticed 2 Parts were broken.
I called costco.com they sent to me 4 day latter another one
So I am happy
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2012

Well Worth It

"I spend much of my summer in WI in a rural area. The home doesn't have a/c and the upstairs can get quite uncomfortable. With the latest heat wave, we plugged this in and noticed an immediate improvement - when it was 87- 94 outside, the unit was cooling the entire upstairs area down by 7-8 degrees. It did better than we thought it would and I'm contemplating buying a second one now."
Review 15 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:brooklyn,ny
Date:June 21, 2012

Satisfying purchase

Model Number: PAC N130-HPEC
"The unit cools well during this heat wave.
It is cooling a one bedroom apartment with 10 foot ceilings while fan is on medium setting.
Delonghi service reports that this unit is meant to be an auxilliary cooling unit - not primary - but it works well. [I have no other.]
Disappointment: The dehumidifier runs only a short time before the small collector has to be emptied. Running AC alone avoids this problem.
"
Review 16 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:June 25, 2012

Works Better Than Expected

Pros: keeps room very cool, noisy
Cons: hose gets hot, window kit is cheap
"I bought this to cool down my bedroom because my evaporative cooler doesn't circulate into the bedroom and I don't want to leave my bedroom window open at night. It cools the 12X12 room down VERY quickly so I don't need to leave it running all day when I'm not home. I sleep with it set at about 70. High temps have been around 100 the past few days and the unit is in a south-facing room. We're talking Denver here - humidity has been in the single digits - so I would never run the dehumidifier!
The fan runs continually, but the cooling unit cycles on and off to keep the room at the set temperature. It took a couple of nights to get to where it wasn't waking me up when the cooling unit switched on or off. I like that the fan runs continually because it creates "white noise."
It's not really designed to be easily portable and the "silent" low fan mode is anything but! The air doesn't circulate much outside of the room it's in but I have never had it above the low fan setting, so maybe it would if I tried a little harder. Despite the negatives, I'm still thrilled to have it because I'm sleeping like a baby at night!
"
Review 17 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Asheville, NC
Date:June 25, 2012

Great purchase

"Item as described. Works well. Received in a timely fashion as always with Costco. We bought it for our dog who stays in the glassed in porch of our home. She is happy as she will be cool in the summer and warm in the winter. A great combo for one machine."
Review 18 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:June 26, 2012

Good Unit

Pros: cools well. easy to setup and use.
Cons: noisy. then again they all are.
Model Number: DELONGHI 13K PACN130HPEC - Item# 650431
"I have tried other portable model brands. This one is the best, even in the 99 degrees spell we had here in NYC. I received the first unit with a broken outflow valve. Costco replaced it. The shipping company delivered the replacement upside down, so I made sure to let it sit for 24 hours right side up. It is fairly easy to set up and the window kit is the same as all other brands I have tried. You should probably use some duct tape to seal off the top and bottom of the window unit once you install it.
Doesn't seem to blow air very far from the unit, even though it seems to make enough noise to do so. I'm very sensitive to noise, so you will have to judge for yourself, as I don't think any manufacturer has been able to make a portable A/C that works well with low noise. Luckily, I have set it up on the far end of an L shaped room so I can deal with the noise. I also use a portable fan to move the air around the room. The fan speeds don't work for the A/C, only for fan only use. You can roll it around much easier than other models I have had. I have been using it for about two weeks for a few hours and haven't had to empty it yet. Occasionally, I run the fan alone for about an hour and that may be evaporating the water it collects.
Another reviewer, Scontractor, mentioned that the hose gets hot. It should if it is removing a lot of hot air. However, his/her idea of insulating the hose is a good idea, otherwise, some of the heat you are trying to get rid of is being radiated back into the room.
I haven't had the occasion to try the heat feature yet. So far, I am pleased with this unit, especially considering that it is a one hose system."
Review 19 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:June 30, 2012

Surprisingly Under Powered

Pros: reasonably quiet
Cons: did not cool enough
Model Number: PAC N130HPE
"I bought this as an emergency device so thought to test it under extreme conditions -- it was 104 outside during the day, got down to 86 at night. In a large room -- about 1000 sq ft -- during the day, it brought the room down to 88 degrees after about 1 hour. At night, despite being set to 75 degrees with full fan power, it never got cooler than 81 degrees in a 400 square foot bedroom after running for 2 hours. Perhaps I got a bad model, but I was disappointed and returned it."
Review 20 for De'Longhi Pinguino 13,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Heater / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boulder, CO
Date:June 30, 2012

pretty good unit

Pros: cools pretty well
Cons: still noisy tho better than most
Model Number: DELONGHI 13K PACN130HPEC - Item# 650431
"We bought this unit about ten days ago, and we ask it to cool a huge room with open areas. It is doing a pretty good job. Though it is not as quiet as we would like, it is MUCH quieter than the 12000 unit deLonghi, which we also bought and must return because of the noise.
Overall, given that none of these machines is quiet, we are pretty happy with this unit.
The industry appears not to have proper noise ratings across the board, so noise is difficult to determine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>