Customer Reviews for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier

Model: PACN115EC
Average Customer Rating:
3.61 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
(out of 136 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (136 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
40
3 stars
22
2 stars
7
1 star
21
95 of 136(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Review 1 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Texas
Date:September 1, 2012

De'Longhi Pinguino- a very good thing

Pros: quick relatively easy setup/install
Cons: led controls need covering at night
Model Number: PACN115EC
"Wanted to wait and see how the Pinquino worked out, anyone can say it's great when first opened. Mine has been running every night for the past two months. Cools very well, and while all AC make noise this one is not so loud as to interrupt sleep and we sleep light. If I could change one thing it would be the LED's on the top control panel, very bright in a dark room, but we cover them with a cloth and all is well."
Review 2 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012
"I installed in a 12 x 11 room and it takes a while to drop the temperature from 82-83 to
77, for a AC of 11, 500 BTU , it should do a faster job in such small place.
Very easy installation and noisy as any Air conditioner, overall out of 5 stars, I give 3, not bad not good, but it does the job.
"
Review 3 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santee, CA
Date:August 22, 2012

Penguins rule!

Pros: great investment
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"Initially, the Pinguino did not look like it would be efficient. But once this device was on for an hour, it works great. During the hot and humid summer days or months, the equiptment was a delight. Therefore, having owned this unit will definitely keep you cool and comfortable."
Review 4 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2012

good value

"After I accidentally dropped the window unit my partner and I bought last year we decided to go with a portable unit. We use this unit for downstairs and have a couple of window units upstairs to effectively cool our whole apartment. This unit cools better than our previous window unit and super easy to install. We have been using it for over two months now in an exceptionally hot summer and have no complaints."
Review 5 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Keller, Tx
Date:August 6, 2012

Keeps us cool at a lower energy cost

Pros: portability, no ac condensation, ease of installation, remote control, flexible exhaust hose, quick to cool a room, option to make house/window modifications or not, return on investment
Cons: it is a little noisy if you're not used to it
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"We were shopping for an effective way to keep our west facing master bedroom cool without having to make any house/window modifications. We agreed on the portability of this unit, so made the purchase in late June 2012 and received it about 5 business days later. My car mechanic even uses this brand at both of their locations!
Horizontal installation in the bay window was easy and didn't have to use the window adapters/extensions, just a little insulation to snug up the fit. We use a humidifier in the winter so not sure the dehumidifier feature would be used.
We live in Texas so to keep our electric bill lower we tend to keep the house AC units at 78F during the heat of the day in the summer, 76F around 8p through morning. Our house is 2 years old and is supposed to be energy efficient.
Our master bedroom is 17'X20' (340 sq.ft.). Before turning this on, one day the onboard thermostat read 84F. Set the unit to 78F and the thermostat hit that mark in approximately 10 minutes. We do make sure the door is closed while it's in operation. That 78F felt cooler in the master than each room in the rest of the house! Now the house thermostats might not ever be set below 78F.
Since we’ve received this it runs approximately 12hrs per day, starting late afternoon. The July electric bill just came in (early August) and was $70 (seventy) less than last year; however, last year was 5-10 degrees hotter but we were still as frugal. Still, we are hopeful this will pay for itself by next year.
It is a little noisy, moreso when the cooler kicks on, but my wife likes the comfort noise of a fan while sleeping. Now sleeping with a comforter in the summer makes a little more sense :-) If we don’t use this as a fan in the winter, we can just wheel it into storage!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2012

De Longhi 11,500 portable air conditioner

Pros: great price after discount, 5 minute installation
Cons: heavy unit but as expected
Model Number: Pinguino 11,500 BTU
"So far this unit has worked very well. I have had it about 5 weeks. It is very quiet and cools well. It was delivered without a problem, but the unit is heavy and the shipping container had some damage, however the unit was well packed and is in excellent condition. The remote control is kind of neat and works very well also."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 3, 2012

4 Small room only

Pros: works as a good fan
Cons: did not cool a room well enough
"This air conditioner did not do the job. You had to be directly in front of it in order to feel half way comfortable. At best it felt like a good fan. I retuned it and order a window unit ."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:L.A. CA
Date:August 2, 2012

good a/c

"over-all it's decent & would recommend to others. 1-definitely noisy 2-vent duct is way too short, should be twice the length they supply. most small rooms do not have low windows like the one on advertised pictured rooms. most are 4 ft or higher. it works good enough to cool a garage converted office room 18 x 18 x 12"
Review 9 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2012

Pleasantly surprised...

"We had never had this type of air conditioner before, and approached the purchase with a bit of trepidation . . . We've had it over two weeks now and we're very happy with it. We think it cools a larger area than promised, and does it quickly and without as much noise as some window air conditioners."
Review 10 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, California
Date:July 28, 2012

Not Happy

"This unit is much louder than a refrigerator and does not cool my room as expected."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:July 27, 2012

For my purpoeses excellent

Model Number: PAC N115EC
"This unit cools the 2 rooms that needed air conditioning better than anticipated. I have not used dehumidifer or the purifying fan."
Review 12 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 26, 2012

The most important fan mode don't work

Pros: worked for the first day
Cons: didn't work afterwards
Model Number: De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU
"After a day of good operation (cool the bedroom from 100 to 80 within a hour), the strongest fan mode broke. It literally lights up, compressor kick on, but no wind come out. If I switch to medium or low, wind would come out. However, these weaker modes don't keep the room cool. (It never go under 85 when it's 90 out)
Will try to contact the factory to see if it can be fixed. Otherwise, I'll return it. Heavy stuff to return though. Can't imagine carry this thing down the stairs."
Review 13 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mill Valley, CA
Date:July 25, 2012

does the job

"The unit was shipped quickly and was well packed. It did take two of us to carry it up the stairs. The unit is larger then I expected, but it rolls easily on our hardwood floors.
Set up is very simple - the instructions say 5 min. and once you understand how the pieces fit, that is true - the bonus is no tools needed! We bought it for our upstairs master bedroom which gets blasted by the sun all day and has vaulted ceilings. But we don't need air conditioning except for the occational day when the nights don't cool off.
The DeLonghi cooled the room very quickly - I timed it at 4 degrees in 15 min. It is noisier then I expected. If you are used to using a wall unit, it may not bother you, but I was surprised. We turn it on to cool down the room before bed and then turn it off so it has not been a problem. It is perfect for what we need, and I like that I can just roll it into the closet when not in use.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairview, TN
Date:July 25, 2012

Poor support from De'Longhi

Pros: cools and quiet
Cons: worrisome service from de'longhi
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"We bought 2 of these units from Costco and one of them had a broken connector to the air tubing. A simple issue to repair but it took 4-5 weeks of email and calls to De'Longhi to send a replacement part. This is a surprising amount of effort, most manufacturers when they ship a defective unit are a lot more cooperative to repair it. This is concerning in case of real problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FAIRFAX STATION VA
Date:July 24, 2012

Served the purpose

Pros: easy to set up, no water to deal with
Cons: none
"Purchased to run off a generator after big power outage in July 2012 in Virginia. Not as cold as expected, but when compared to other models costing a lot more, it was just as cold or colder. It will cool an average size room. Also, noise was not an issue. The folks who complained about it being too loud must not have much experience with small air conditioners."
Review 16 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012

de'longhi portable air condition

"I purchased the portable air conditioner hoping for it to be convenient, however, it was not easy to connect the many tubes and attachments, and to top it all, the temperature never went below 78 degrees! the room was hot, and it was noisy too!
I returned it.
"
Review 17 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012

works great

"the units works great for area that are enclosed.. doesn't work well if you use on it a wide open spaces with doors open and all.. a little loud than expected but it works fine.."
Review 18 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:July 24, 2012

Not a Winner

Pros: blows well, sets up and moves easily on same floor
Cons: doesn't cool well, heavy
"My first gripe is that there is no indication of the weight anywhere on the description, and I found no mention of it in the reviews. It wasn't until it shipped that I realised that I was going to need help getting it up my stairs.
It sets up easily and blows well.
Difficult to get a good seal in the window, due to design.
It does not cool well. It is more powerful than my old window unit, yet does not cool as well. It also takes up a *lot* of space."
Review 19 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:July 23, 2012

Only one left in state

Pros: fast deflvery, works as representated, easy to set up
Cons: lack of sales paperwork, no equipment info.
Model Number: DeLonghi 1150
"All portable AC units at CostCo in MN were sold out but I was able to order this and get it within 7 days which in this heat was a godsend. This product lived up to my expectations. All DeLonghi products I have purchased in the past have been reliable and this unit also seems to meet my expectations. I had a cracked part (which didn't affect the running) and called customer service immediately. They were knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. I would recommend this unit to anyone."
Review 20 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:July 23, 2012

Noisy...

Pros: price, design
Cons: noisy
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"Unit is a bit noisy while it is operating, but very noisy when the set-point temperature is met and the compressor cycles on and off. I'm strongly considering returning this unit."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>