Customer Reviews for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier

Model: PACN115EC
Average Customer Rating:
3.61 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
(out of 136 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (136 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
40
3 stars
22
2 stars
7
1 star
21
95 of 136(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Review 1 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bayside, Queens, New York City
Date:June 29, 2012

De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Co

Pros: very stylish looking unit. easy to install.
Cons: loud does not cool the room down.
Model Number: De'longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU #650429
"I was very happy to find this unit at such an amazing price at costco.com. When I received it I immediately put it together and installed it. It was very easy to install. Unfortunately, my 6200 BTu Air conditioner does a much better job then this one. It is very loud which I did not mind. What I did mind was that it did not cool the room. I placed it in a small bedroom which is only 200 square feet. I expected it to do a much better job then it did. After having it on for 2 hours, it only brought the temperature down to 86 degrees and would not cool it down any more then that. I was quite disapointed so after 3 days of use, I brought it back to my local Costco to return. I will never buy a portabe unit again. If I must, I will replace my in the wall unit with one that has a larger BTU specification, like 10,000 BTU'S. It was a shame because I really expected it to work a lot better then it did. It would have been better then nothing if I had not had an in wall unit. Oh well. Live and learn."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Elk Neck, MD
Date:June 30, 2012

I Expected Very Good - and Got It

Pros: portability costco reliability, price, works well, it's an energy star unit, quick delivery to my door
Cons: it's not loud but not as quiet as i'd hoped
Model Number: PAC N115EC/PAC N120EC
"The delivery was quick, the price was good, and I was confident in making this purchase because I know that COSTCO stands by all of its products. I have yet to have a purchase with Costco go bad.
I'm using it in a 15' x 18' room that is above a very hot garage. The garage holds the heat all day and the heat travels up into this room. The central air doesn't do much good - but this unit cooled the room within minutes.
I like the easy to read display/controls on the unit, it comes with a remote, and I love the fact that it's Energy Star - something that the website didn't point out but is important to me.
My only problem (and really, it's not a big problem) is the sound. Though it's not exactly "noisy," sometimes the compressor makes a "bang" when it kicks in, if that's the right word. But it doesn't seem to do it all the time. It just kicked in now, for instance, and it did it pretty quietly.
Overall, I'm satisfied with this purchase and even bought one for my daughter to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:June 29, 2012

Great but LOUD!

Pros: cools as promised
Cons: very loud! can u hear me?
Model Number: De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU
"I live in a Home Association community, which means "no AC sticking out of window." This AC is perfect, but IT IS LOUD!!! Even with "fan only," it is LOUD - a little less than with AC. I find myself having to raise the volume on the television. You appreciate how loud it is when you turn off the AC unit and noticed how much noise it made.
It cools as promised. I am assuming it will save me money from NOT increasing the WHOLE house AC just to cool my master bedroom.
Keep your bedroom door(s) closed for best effect and quickly lower your room's temperature.
On another big website, this brand's units have been badly criticized for leaking water. I was very worried about this, but "Costco" is the brand to trust so I took a chance - NO LEAK, NOT A SINGLE DROP OF H2O.
I called the vendor to get more information on this exact unit, and they told it was brand new. That gave me another reassurance the vendor solved the leak problem.
Once again, it works and it is loud."
Review 4 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:eastern mass
Date:June 21, 2012

good purchase

Pros: quick and quiet
Cons: window plate needs work
Model Number: pinguino 11500
"quieter than the old window unit 5000 btu.
cools 13x13 room instantly at 95 degrees and 80 % hume. digital temp
adjust a very nice feature. can sleep without getting cold. no water drip which i worried
about. window plate needed homemade clamps to hold it. still made a neat installation. definitely much better than window unit.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mill Valley, CA
Date:July 25, 2012

does the job

"The unit was shipped quickly and was well packed. It did take two of us to carry it up the stairs. The unit is larger then I expected, but it rolls easily on our hardwood floors.
Set up is very simple - the instructions say 5 min. and once you understand how the pieces fit, that is true - the bonus is no tools needed! We bought it for our upstairs master bedroom which gets blasted by the sun all day and has vaulted ceilings. But we don't need air conditioning except for the occational day when the nights don't cool off.
The DeLonghi cooled the room very quickly - I timed it at 4 degrees in 15 min. It is noisier then I expected. If you are used to using a wall unit, it may not bother you, but I was surprised. We turn it on to cool down the room before bed and then turn it off so it has not been a problem. It is perfect for what we need, and I like that I can just roll it into the closet when not in use.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mi
Date:June 20, 2012

Pretty good for the price

"I have been using this AC for few days now, so far so good. Pretty satisfied with the performance. My living room and kitchen stayed cool all day on a 97 degree day."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:July 1, 2012

Efficient & Portable

Pros: easy to move from room to room, simple to operate; quick set-up
Cons: window bracket flimsy, loud if not used to window a/c units, not recommended for french windows
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"Purchased due to central a/c not working. Set-up was easy, although getting the hose connected to the adapter & window outlet took several tries as the hose needs to be attached deep enough or it comes undone. Also, instructions state to keep "hose as short and free of curves as possible to avoid constrictions." Maximum of 3' drop from window outlet to unit. This causes it to sit further into the room rather than directly under the window. The window bracket (holds window outlet attached to hose) seems a bit flimsy. This unit is best used on one floor (castors roll easily on carpet) rather than moving up stairs (weighs ~ 73#), although I have moved from floor to floor (can't imagine moving a window unit from one room to another even it on same floor!) It is a bit loud, although I can't say if it's louder than a window unit of comparable BTUs. It cooled a 264 sq ft room very well on a 100 degree day. Have not had a issue with water on the floor (was nervous about other reviews with that problem). Price at Costco is great vs other sites & stores for similar BTUs. Also, Costco guarantees satisfaction even after DeLonghi warranty."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:north of Iron Range, Minnesota
Date:July 2, 2012

Portable AC unit in use 1 week

Model Number: 11,500
"AC portable units delivery time was fast. The units are heavy, quite easy to use, without reading 100 pages of directions.
One unit (11,500 ) cools and dehumidifies a well insulated 16 X 12 foot room. The 2nd unit is a 24 X 16 foot room and it works okay, but is not real efficient to keep the room cool.
We have only used the units 1 week, the weather has been extremely warm and humid (in the 90's). The units are definitely helping in an older home to help keep us cool.
Mechanically we have not had any issues with leakage, power fluxes, etc., so no negative issues to report at this time.
We are happy to be a bit cooler, since we had no AC prior to this time.
The price seemed reasonable at Costco for this product in addition to shipping costs.
So far we are happy with our purchase.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:July 15, 2012

Nice unit for the purpose

Pros: rolls easilyfor versatile installation, unobtrusive window exhaust adapter., simple controls simple remote, doubles as a dehumidifier
Cons: could be quieter
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"An old window A/C went belly-up and needed replacement and we opted for a portable unit because the window unit was in an inconvenient place and we wanted the versatility of trying it out in different parts of of the large, oddly-shaped space we had to cool. We also wanted the dehumidifier function for times when it's not so much hot as muggy in this tropical climate.
The Penguino packaging couldn't have been easier to deal with, even the wheels were attached. All we had to do was remove the box, assemble the exhaust hose and plug it in. It works very well, as expected, quiet and efficient. We particularly like the simple controls and the easy to use remote. The exhaust is improved over older units in that it tapers to an opening that takes up very little room in the window, aesthetically pleasing with no degradation of efficiency. A very nice portable A/C that you can install anywhere you want.
"
Review 10 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, California
Date:June 27, 2012

Lovely air conditioner

Model Number: PAC N115EC
"This A/C unit arrived quickly and right to my door. It's much prettier in person, the pictures don't do it justice! It is a bit loud, but personally I can't sleep if it's too quiet, so it didn't bother me (but it did make the cat jump once while he was sleeping). The noise issue is not so much the volume of the A/C feature (though if you are a light sleeper, you probably would have to shop for a unit that is designed to be quieter) but the shifting from fan to A/C.. There IS an abrupt "shifting" sound as it goes back and forth. However, the set-up was relatively painless (I had it going in 20 mins or so) and it was pretty much cold air right out of the box. Really, really lovely. And nice, icy cold air, too. I'm very happy with it's performance, appearence and it's price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Howell Twp., New Jersey
Date:July 5, 2012

Works great, would recommend.

Pros: nice design, work as described, good value for price, good features, comes with remote
Model Number: De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU
"I live in a townhouse & the upstairs back bedroom (with a wall of triple windows), faces the west. because of the high ceilings, location of the room & only 1 a/c vent in the room (bad design on the builders part, & too expensive to run a 2nd duct), the room can get up to 90+ degrees at times.
5 years ago i purchased and Alen port. A/C unit, and it died in the middle of the June 2012 heat wave of 100 degrees! After doing some one line research, I decided to buy from Costco because of their great return policy and their better quality products overall.
After reading other reviews on the Pinguino 11.5K BTU unit and the detailed specifications on the De'Longhi site i bought this product. it works great, keeps the room colder than the rest of the house! I was original leery of the "automatic evaporation system" but have not had any issues with it what-so-ever. Also a few customers complained about the unit leaking, but I have had no issues with leaking either.
Only thing I would suggest to De'Longhi is their manuel should better explain that the unit only needs to be drained before putting away for season, but called their toll-free number and the tech person was very knowledgable and answered all my questions abt the auto-evaporation system and when to drain."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2012

very good product and price

"Product cools great, love the display and controls, love that it is no drip
However, cannot figure out why Delongi AC do not have movable louvers????
Most other A/C let you adjust the direction of the airflow
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2012
"Really nice system, cools well. Great thermostat that shuts off when it reaches the set temp. It is a little loud when the a/c component is on, but it is nice and quite when just the fan in on."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockford Township, Minnesota
Date:July 17, 2012

Very good value

Pros: relatively quiet, dehumidifies well without a tray, good price, muted color, easy to use remote, timer function
Cons: non-directional fan
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"This unit is attractive and relatively small. I have it temporarily exhausting through a partially open casement window. I stapled some heavy sheet plastic to cover the open portions of the window. I plan to put the vent through the wall.
I'm using it to cool our living room, dining room, kitchen, and one bathroom. Other room doors on this level are closed. Total square footage is about 600-700 square feet. With a ceiling fan in the living room and a box fan in the dining room the unit is able to drop the temperature about 10 degrees, but more importantly, it is removing the moisture in the air. Outside humidity has been varying between 50 and 60 percent.
The unit is quieter than I expected at about the same level as the box fan and a little more than the ceiling fan. We have to turn the volume up a bit on the tv.
For the price, this is a good value.
"
Review 15 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:kansas city
Date:June 27, 2012

good product and great price

Pros: works great(cools fast)
Cons: cheap accessory
"it works great as the secondary ac in any room upstairs when the main ac for the house doesn't quite get the job done. the only small issue i have is, the plastic window bracket and the hose are cheap looking and don't work very well. they don't fit so well together and the adjustable window bracket leaves all kinds of space around the window(I have those new insulation windows but still...) however, if you are willing to do some handy man work, the weather strip works well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2012
Cons: max 3 ft raise for exhaust tube
"The fact the machine does not work properly if the exhaust raises in elevation more than 3 feet was left off the site description. Considering the exhause port on the device is about 1.5 feet from the top of the device leaves only a few feet from device top to exhaust max height. Knowing this ahead of time might have prevented me from having to return it. Thankfully Costco's return policy allowed it. Sadly, we were never able to get device working to test it out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairview, TN
Date:July 25, 2012

Poor support from De'Longhi

Pros: cools and quiet
Cons: worrisome service from de'longhi
Model Number: PAC N115EC
"We bought 2 of these units from Costco and one of them had a broken connector to the air tubing. A simple issue to repair but it took 4-5 weeks of email and calls to De'Longhi to send a replacement part. This is a surprising amount of effort, most manufacturers when they ship a defective unit are a lot more cooperative to repair it. This is concerning in case of real problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, Nv
Date:July 3, 2012

Heat relief!

Pros: so quiet, more compact than previous older models
Model Number: N115EC
"The De'Longi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room A/C was a purchase made because one of the bedrooms in our home was in constant Las Vegas heat. The central air system didn't even keep the room bearable.
We are now able to lower the central A/C to 77 degrees, or higher, in the rest of our home, and be comfortable, while the one bedroom that was constantly hot , is now nice and cool.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2012

De Longhi 11,500 portable air conditioner

Pros: great price after discount, 5 minute installation
Cons: heavy unit but as expected
Model Number: Pinguino 11,500 BTU
"So far this unit has worked very well. I have had it about 5 weeks. It is very quiet and cools well. It was delivered without a problem, but the unit is heavy and the shipping container had some damage, however the unit was well packed and is in excellent condition. The remote control is kind of neat and works very well also."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for De'Longhi Pinguino 11,500 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner / Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Middle Georgia
Date:July 23, 2012

Excellent Device

Model Number: 650429
"Purchased the portable A/C for a large bedroom (2nd floor) that was very hot during the summer months. The worst thing in the world is to lay in bed and sweat all night. No more! I have this A/C set at 72 and it maintains that nice cool temp all night long. At last, I can get some sleep!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>