Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx

Limit of 5 per member
Average Customer Rating:
4.317 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(1364 Reviews) 1364
(out of 1,364 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,364 reviews)
5 stars
918
4 stars
211
3 stars
77
2 stars
66
1 star
92
1,143 of 1,311(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Review 201 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:April 28, 2011

Best VoIP system and service available

Pros: superb voice quality, great customer service, easy setup, rock solid performance
Model Number: Ooma Telo and Scout
"I need to have hi speed internet at home for my work and looked into VoIP (voice over internet protocol) service providers like Sun Rocket and others. They all have monthly charges, but with the Ooma box, I pay NOTHING per month - ever. Plus, unlike Magic Jack, I don't need to have my computer on to have service. I don't need the second line or other Premier features, nor do I call out of the country, so I just use the basic service. However, even if I did have to call out of the country, it would be only a few cents per minute! I have had it up and running for over 2 years without a SINGLE problem, ever. At this point, I have more than paid for the Ooma box from the savings of not having to pay a single cent for phone service (local OR long distance)!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:April 28, 2011

Good replacement for Vonage

Pros: low montly cost, good call quality
Cons: initial investment, ooma's business model
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I had two Vonage connections before comming across Ooma VOIP. Bought it from Costco, compared it to Vonage over a period of one month and then disconnected Vonage. The voice clarity is as good as Vongae if not better. Call connections are stable, so no dropped calls. Overall, I am happy with the switch.
Couple of things to remember:
1) It is not exactly free calling. Your monlty bill would include taxes and other federal charges.
2) You are automatically enrolled in the Ooma premier program. So, should opt out of it before 60 days if you do not want to incur additional charges.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:April 28, 2011

Works Great and Saves $

Pros: low monthly cost, saves money
Cons: upfront cost, sounds like a cell phone
Model Number: Ooma telo
"$4 a month is awesome (911 charge). Was paying $40 a month for just a local land line. Now I have caller id and free long distance. Bought Ooma about 5 months ago and now saving money, over $30 a month.
Ooma telo pays for itself.
One other thing I like, I changed my number and now I don't get all those stupid telemarketers.
The calls sound like a cell phone call, a little delay. I have had no dropped calls, no problems for 5 months.
Should have done this sooner.
No slow down on my internet.
I hooked it up to my preexisting lines in my house, and it feeds all of the phone outlets. (unhook the line coming into the house though)
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:April 28, 2011

Poor quality of product

Model Number: 100
"The service is good, voice quality depends on the speed of internet. When internet is slow/busy, the voice is affected dramatically.
My base Telo died after 13 months, just after warranty!!! The customer support told me to buy another one without any discount. If I have to buy one each year, it's expensive!!!
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cambridge, MA
Date:April 26, 2011

Regret buying

Pros: would be nice if it works
Cons: doesn't work!
Model Number: Telo
"When hooked in between my router and cable modem, my Internet speed was significantly throttled down. When I switched it to hooked u to my router, the phone would ring, and I can hear for about 10 seconds then it would cut out. This is going back to Costco this week. Hopefully I will also get a $10 refund from Ooma!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange Co., CA
Date:April 25, 2011

Excellent Purchase

Pros: nice unit
Cons: answer machine
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Up and running in a matter of minutes. Very clear calls. I use this for my long distance calls instead of my cell. Could not adjust answer machine volume high enough, just let it ring through to my phone answer machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago,IL
Date:April 19, 2011

So far good

Pros: cheap and best
"Installed it. transferred my old number. everything worked as planned."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suwanee, GA
Date:April 14, 2011

Ooma Telo

Pros: quality of the sound is better than other voip
Cons: confusion of the options.
"I bought this Ooma Telo 5 months ago and over all quality of the service is better than other VOIP providers but price is bit confusing if you want to use this to call International with Premier. Not sure why so many twists... instead that they can combine the plans to make it simple. Had Sunrocket, Vonage, and few other Voip services, but this is the best I saw so far, let's hope the service still continue with same quality."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:April 13, 2011

It is all about customer service

Pros: good idea
Cons: bad execution
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"These days a lot of electronics will work fine so customer care is what separates a good company from bad. Ooma customer care is about the worst there is. I have had the device only three days but did have trouble hooking it up. I wanted to port my number that I had with V_N_G_. To do this I had to keep the other device hooked up and wire the ooma through that. So with the V_N_G_ modem, my cable modem, my wireless router, and the Ooma modem I got lost.
Ooma customer care works from a script and they cannot answer questions you have and they will talk over you when you try to explain what is going on and it is not part of the script. Add to that what becomes the very annoying "I am sorry as customer care is very important to us" that they start with every single time they start to say something.
I the went to contacting them through email. I got one reply asking for more details and then NOTHING. It is a full 24 hours later and I am stuck with no communications with the company.
"
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Space Coast, FL
Date:April 5, 2011

Excellent Value and Performance

"I looked at Ooma some time ago when it was much more expensive. I wasn't ready to try this new company for that much money. This offer is fabulous with the bluetooth adapter included.
I have had VOIP for several years with four other companies. So far, Ooma exceeds all of them.
I purchased two Telo Handsets so we could use two lines (we had this with the previous service). We also purchased a new DECT 6 Uniden system as we upgraded everything and Uniden is the only manufacturer that makes a waterproof phone for the pool.
Everything works great and took me eleven minutes from opening the box to my first phone call.
So far, so Great!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 211 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hernando,MS
Date:April 3, 2011

Excellent Value

Pros: haven't had a phone bill in 3 years!
Cons: it's a voip phone
"I purchased this system About 3 years ago,having had several VOIP carriers. As with an VOIP system you will always have a couple of issues. Ooma reps. took care of mine promply. Haven't had a problem for 2.5 years."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 212 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:April 3, 2011

Used For 3 Months and VERY Happy so far

"We purchased this around Christmas time and so far we are very pleased. Pretty simple to set up. No calling issues at all. Ooma charges my credit card about $3.50 a month for state phone taxes and otherwise it's free. I was paying wave cable over $40 a month for the same service. The Ooma will pay for itself in 5 months. After that, it's $40 a month in savings for us. I had several family members try Magic Jack and it was a nightmare for each and every one of them. Ooma is So Much Better. For us, it's been flawless! I highly recommend it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 213 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:April 2, 2011

Does what it says

"I bought the product 5 months ago and I feel I can give a descent review. The product works. A few times there might be a slight disconnect, but I would just call back and all was fine. For $3.50 a month (just the taxes), it pays for itself since my land line prior was $45. I use my land line more than a cell phone so it was worth it to me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 214 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2011
Pros: solid base unit
Cons: handset is a joke
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Ooma itself is a great product. The handset is a dud.
In order to use a second line you need the hand set in order to access it. It has a back ground humming noise that is totally annoying. I am not sure how they allowed this subpar handset to be released for sale.
I could get better voice quality stringing two soda cans together on a 50 foot string!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 215 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:March 6, 2011

INconsistent and terrible tech support

Pros: cost
Cons: did not work
Model Number: Ooma TELO
"Initially, it worked fine, but after a few weeks, incoming calls would hear "this number has been disconnected or is no longer in use". I made 5-6 phone calls trying to correct, but although phone reps were always polite and apologetic ("we are so sorry"), promises to investigate and get back to me never happened. And I mean never, Ooma did not call me back even once.
Phone reps appear to be there only to apologize and take your name and number so technician can call you back---did I mention they never call back?
To be honest, I had misgivings about device from the start because of their questionable business model. How do you provide a lifetime of free and unlimited phone service and support when there are no re-occurring charges? Ooma's only source of income is from initial hardware sale if you stick with basic plan.
I even signed-up for Premier ($10/month) for the extra features, but also as a hedge to help company survive. However, there is no value to a device that doesn't work and worse, offers horrible tech support. The only quasi-technical help I received over the phone was the suggestion to unplug device and re-boot. It was the common suggestion for each of my calls to tech support.
I returned to Costco for refund."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 216 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 2, 2011

Best VOIP ever

Pros: save money, voicemail assess from anywhere
Cons: up front cost of the equipment, special step for sending fax i.e. *99
"I was tired of paying costly monthly home phone bill. I tried Vo**** and it cost me $24.99 per month and I did like the service because of poor quality of calls. I tried T*** w***** digital phone, the cost was greater than 29.99 per month and I was frustrated with their service because the call quality was very very poor and I got tired of calling their customer service who were unable to resolve the problems I was having.
I used V****** at my current address, the call quality was superb but the cost was outrageous so I had to disconnect for I had better things I rather do with my money than throw them at the telephone company.
I was reluctant to try Ooma service. As a matter of fact I starred at the Ooma Teleo equipment for some time at costco but then I thought that they were not real, that they'll probably hike up the price once the service is established. I also thought that the service would be similar to the ones I'd already used before. Until I spoke to a co-worker who told me that he's been using Ooma service for some time. He recommended the service.
I immediately went and purchased the Ooma equipment and ever since, my home phone bill remains below $14 per month and that's because I decided to keep the Ooma premium service. Otherwise, my monthly home phone bill would be less than $4.00 per month.
For the call quality, I have no complaints."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 217 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Extra Cost to use in Hawaii

"Never activated it once it was purchased when I found out they charge an extra $30 per year for a local Hawaii telephone number."
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 218 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Pays for itself!

"I'd used the most popular Voip carrier for years, having one of those bundled wifi/router set ups. When the router died, I decided to give this a try. I got the same quality if not better, with no monthly bill! Zip! It paid for itself in a year.
If you want all the bells and whistles, you'll pay what the other providers charge for basic service.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 219 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Altadena, CA
Date:February 28, 2011

Great valuee

Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Works as advertised, Premier features are worth the subscription price in my opinion. Good call quality, I experienced some technical glitches until my ATT number was porter (only took 12 days), no problems since. Sometimes there is a slight delay in a conversation, but barely perceptible. Overall, well worth the savings and feature packed (I especially like how you can get emails with the voice message attached as soon as someone leaves you a voicemail at home), even though I haven't found much use for the Bluetooth dongle thingie included with Costco's package deal...
Also wanted to reply to the couple posters claiming you cannot retrieve your voice mail from remote handsets in the house and you can do so only on the Telo... You can, just dial your Ooma number from any connected extension and you'll have instant access to your voicemail."
Review 220 for Ooma Telo VoIP Free Home Phone Service with Linx
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:February 28, 2011

Best VoIP Alternative

Pros: nice professional package and nice documentation.
"I've subscribed to Vonage. I've used Magic Jack. OOMA is miles ahead of all of the options I've tried.
Installation was very easy, a little more than 10 minutes, but it was not too technical. Anyone who actually reads the documentation can handle it easy.
Performance has been excellent. The only issues I've had have been related to my internet service."
<<prev 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>