Customer Reviews for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

70-pint Danby Dehumidifier

Improve home health and comfort by eliminating dampness, mold and mildew growth with the Energy Star rated Danby Dehumidifier model DDR7009REE. With a 70-pint capacity, this model will cover up to 3,800 sq ft. This dehumidifier is a market leader with its R410A coolant that makes it eco-friendly & EPA recommended. It also offers electronic controls, remote control, automatic humidity settings, two fan speeds, removable air filter and castors for easy portability.   70-pint capacity per 24 hours   For areas up to 3,800 sq ft depending on conditions   Non-ozone depleting R410A coolant   Energy Star compliant   Electronic controls   Remote control batteries included   Programmable humidity settings   2 speed fan   Auto restart feature   Low temperature operation- continues to operate until temperature reaches 41° F   Auto de-icer prevents ice build-up on coils   Removable air filter   Super quiet operation   Castors for easy portability   Direct drain option for continuous operation   CSA Approved   24-months parts & labor warranty; Carry-In Service   Dimensions: 15.25” x 11.12” x 23.62”; Weight: 43 lbs For product related questions please call Danby at 1-800-263-2629. Model: DDR7009REE
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
(out of 56 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
46 of 56(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Review 1 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Central VA
Date:June 23, 2013

Leaks

Pros: when it runs without leaking it is quiet
Cons: not reliable due to leakage
Model Number: DDR6009REE & DDR 7009REE-1
"I own both the Danby 60 and 70 pint dehumidifiers. The 60 pint unit is approx. three years old and started leaking water onto the floor this year. Note that the filter is clean and the unit is level. Sometimes it works without leaking and other times it will fill the bucket 1/2" to 1" then start leaking to the floor. The 70 pint unit is under warranty and also leaks, Danby does not have a local repair service to fix, the closest is approx. 100 miles away, they suggested that I return the unit to Costco for a refund."
Review 2 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2012

Defective -- had to return it

Model Number: DDR7009REE
"Unpacked it, set it up and turned it on. Bucket Full light came on after 20 seconds and unit shut off. Could only restart by unplugging and replugging. Same behavior every time. Tried all combinations of settings, no help. Tried Danby customer service but was on hold forever. Returning for refund, having lost all faith in this brand."
Review 3 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2012

Dead after 4 months

"This humidifier is made of cheap material and stopped fulling moisture out of air after 4 months of use. I am returning it to Costco."
Review 4 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rockville, MD
Date:September 24, 2012

Cool and Dry!

Pros: easy to use, large container, quiet
Model Number: DDR7009REE
"I was amazed to discover how much more comfortable our home was during this hot, humid summer with this Danby Dehumidifier. It felt cooler and fresher immediately. The Danby is easy to use and allows you to set your prefered humidity level."
Review 5 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2012

It does not work

"As soon as I plugged it in, it ran for a minute and then the full bucket light comes on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:September 5, 2012

Great room heater but not as intended

Pros: 70 pints
Cons: blows way too much hot air, no internal pump to move water
"This was intended for basement use, but it was returned because it throws too much hot air and has no pump for continuous drainage. While not having a pump is one less thing to break, a pumpless continuous drain dehumidifier only works with gravity. This means that it must drain into a floor drain to utilize the continuous drainage feature. We want ours to drain into a utility sink and this won't work. We might have kept it except for the unbelievably large amount of hot air that it puts out even on the low air setting. Not recommended."
Review 7 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:September 3, 2012

Reasonably good

Model Number: DDR6009REE
"Have it for a year. It removes moisture quckly and efficiently, as far as I can tell.
Fan noise is moderate, but you don't want to be in the same room. For this reason the remote is useless. Also, it slowly developed some rattling noise and vibration.
Water bucket is really odly shaped - be carefull emptying it. If you use it, some of the collected water doesn't drain in the bucket - tilt the machine forward and you will hear water going into the bucket.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Durham North Carolina
Date:August 23, 2012

nice while it lasted

Pros: reasonably quiet and effective while it worked
Cons: stopped working after 2 mo of modest use
Model Number: DR7009REE-1
"after 2 months of non-continuous use at default setting of 60% humidity it stopped pulling water from the air. It showed an error code in the LED that usually displays temperature of "Lo", which neither the manual nor Danby customer service could interpret. Changing the settings did not correct it; "defrost" indicator wasn't triggered; the ambient temperature at all times during its life was 76-78o; humidity when it failed was 70% (read from a separate hygrometer); still did not pull out water when the set-point was changed to 30%. We will give this model another chance and have ordered a new one; must return the old one to Costco for a refund because direct replacement isn't permitted after 30 days."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:July 18, 2012

Top Quality at a good price

Pros: quiet and efficient
Cons: none
Model Number: DDR7009REE
"Excellent unit that is quiet, very efficient and removes the humidity in my basement. When my AC is running I can keep the temperature at a higher setting since the air that is circulated is dryer thus reducing electricity costs."
Review 10 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:City Island, NY
Date:July 14, 2012

Looks Good-Works Good

Model Number: Danby 70 Pint Dehumidifier
"I had it unpacked and going in 10 minutes and it is quiet and works well. There is fan noise but it's a lot quieter than the Kenmore it replaced. The compressor cycles on and off but you can barely hear it.
If you can deal with a bit of continuous fan noise, this machine is nice.
"
Review 11 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2012

High Quality and Made in America

Pros: made in usa/canada, less than competition, 2 yr warranty vs. 1 with competing brands, energy efficient
"My Kenmore 70 Qt-Dehumidifier blew out after 7-8 years of great service and when I went back to purchase the same model, found instead a cheaper-made model from China under the Kenmore label (ditto Whirlpool, etc.) and with only one year warranty parts/labor. I checked online with Costco and found this great 70 Qt Danby which (with the Costco online coupon special) cost $70 less, yet had a 2 yr warranty!! And, which is important to me, Danby products are made in either USA or Canada--so I was able to buy American, despite the fact that everyone at the other appliance stores said "no such thing" avail. now in Dehumidifiers. Support the Am. economy and enjoy savings as well"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:July 13, 2012

Good so far

Pros: good price quiet
Cons: doesn't have auto start and stop
Model Number: DDR7009REE
"I've only had it a week but so far, so good. It seems to be doing the job. It is pretty quiet so it would probably work well in any occupied room.
Very good price.
Fan runs all the time when it is on, even when it has reached the set humidity. Wish it was automatic; start and stop on its own.
"
Review 13 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Acton, Massachusetts
Date:July 13, 2012

A real worker

"despite some user comments about the noise level, I purchased this appliance. I first used the built-in collection tank to make sure the equipment performed. A handy drain hose came with the dehumidifier and after filling the tank for the first time, I connected the drain hose and fed the line into my sump. This is my fourth dehumidifier and by far the best operating one so far. So far it operates flawlessly and the noise level is acceptable ( in use in the basement)."
Review 14 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Illinois, Chicago area
Date:July 13, 2012

Good Dehumidifier

Pros: works well
Cons: loud fan noise
"This was purchased for my living area to help lower air conditioning costs. Product works as advertisied, but blows out warm air. This actually had the opposite effect for my air conditioning by raising the temp in the house. This unit would be ideal for a basement area, or for those with no air conditioning. Unit has a hose which can be connected to a drain, or one would need to empty the attached bucket, usually daily, when full."
Review 15 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Marshall VA
Date:July 12, 2012

very good dehumidifier

Pros: turns back on after power lose, quiet
Cons: fan runs continuosly
Model Number: DDR7009REE
"The only thing I don't like is thr fan runs all the time. It is very quiet, but I wonder how economic it is."
Review 16 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando FL
Date:July 12, 2012

I have recommended it to my friends

Pros: multiple functions
Cons: a little bit noisy
Model Number: 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
"This is the second dehumidifier I have. The first one was a simpler model. I like this one more because it can set humidity."
Review 17 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 11, 2012

Dampness is gone

"I am very happy with this product. My old dehumidifier died and my basement felt damp and smelled musty. I read a good review of Danby in a national consumer magazine and decided to purchase the Danby. I appreciate the 2 fan speeds-once I set the dehumidifier up I had it on the higher speed, then after 24 hours reduced it to the lower fan speed. The remote is not something I will use, but if I had the dehumidifier in a living area, I would find it convenient. There is also a plug to add a hose for continuous drainage, but if you later change your mind or the dehumidifiers location, you can replace the plug and have the water drain into the bucket, a feature my last dehumidifier did not have. I no longer dread going into my basement."
Review 18 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Novi, MI
Date:July 11, 2012

Awesome product

Pros: quiet, enery efficient, 70 pint, remote control, price, fast delivery
Cons: none
Model Number: DDR7009REE
"Our last dehumidifier was a comfort aire, and was very loud from day one. Not to mention it only lasted 4 years before the circuit board went. The first one was still working but was old and not energy efficient. This is our 3rd one and we could not be any happier. My brother was saying this one only has 2 speeds and he wanted 3. I personally think with our size of basement this one works efficiently."
Review 19 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clifton, VA
Date:July 11, 2012

Poor Design - Get Something Else

Pros: good specifications
Cons: poor design
Model Number: DDR7009REE-1
"Agree with the prior reviewer. Out of the box, with zero water in the bucket, the bucket-full switch doesn't engage with the bucket float. Therefore, this dehumidifier won't run. Luckily, I'd planned to use the included hose instead of the bucket. I taped the poorly designed/engineered float switch so the motor would run... with the hose. I'll have to keep a careful eye on this unit to make sure the hose doesn't leak internally into the bucket and overflow. Shouldn't have to worry about that with a brand-new dehumidifier. The float and its switch are useless. If I wasn't using the hose, then, like the prior reviewer, this unit would be going back to the local COSTCO immediately for a refund. Save your money. Get something else."
Review 20 for 70-pint Danby Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SE Michigan
Date:July 10, 2012

Poor design

Cons: 24/7 fan
Model Number: DDR7009REE
"The bucket full/bucket missing switch and lever are poorly designed. Brand new out of the box and it won't run because the unit thinks the bucket is full or missing. I could re-engineer the lever to make it work, but I shouldn't have to do that for something brand new in the box. This will be going back to Costco and I will get a different brand that actually works. Don't like the fact that the fan doesn't shut off either. As another reviewer mentioned, I want one that comes on when needed and shuts off when not, not one that will blow air around 24/7."
1 2 3 next>>