Customer Reviews for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set

Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set

Item may be available in your local warehouse for a lower, non-delivered price. Charisma is understated elegance; it is the only choice for those who understand true luxury and the finer things in life. Our exceptionally soft, plump and oversized 100% Hygro cotton towels improve with each washing and offer the ultimate drying experience.   6-piece Bath Towel Set Includes:   2 Bath Towel (30" W x 58" L)    2 Hand Towel (16” W x 30” L) 2 Washcloth (13” W x 13” L) Features: Colors: Ivory, Sapphire, Coffee, Teal, Gray, Aqua, Cobblestone, Violet, Linen, Dark Blue, Green, Sky Blue, and White Material: 100% Hygro Cotton    674 grams per square meter   Total weight: 4.4 lbs.      Care Instructions: Machine washable    Country of Origin: India Note: The digital images we display have the most accurate color possible. However, due to differences in computer monitors, there may be variations in color between the actual product and your screen. Please be advised that the primary colors are listed above.
Average Customer Rating:
3.206 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
12
18 of 34(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Review 1 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:October 12, 2014

Very expensive rags

Pros: stay fluffy
Cons: may as well be using silk. high maintenance.
"These towels are long, fluffy and would seem to be good quality. However 2 of them started sporting holes. I read the care instructions and realized I had used bleach water to remove makeup from the towel. O, No, can't use bleach, nor are you to use fabric softener. The care required seems to be about the same as silk!! These are towels people. Not gossamer. Why all the special care instructions for white towels???? Useless."
Review 2 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Roseville, CA
Date:October 7, 2014

Not Impressed

"Bought ivory, in store, not online.
Cons:
Runs in center of towel after first washing. Washed on medium heat, cold rinse. Read other reviews that they should be washed in hot water for core to break down. If that is needed, manufacturer should print 1st wash instructions.
Not fluffy, very thin and light towel.
Pros:
Absorbent.
Dries fast.
I will use these towels until they die (which probably won't be very long) but won't purchase them again."
Review 3 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:October 5, 2014

Not Colorfast

Pros: nice fluffy over-sized towels
Cons: not colorfast
"I purchased 2 Gunmetal bath towels today at my local Costco. I washed them as soon as I got home with a dark load (black towels, 1 pair jeans). When I took them out of the dryer I noticed that the new grey towels had pink-ish splotches on them as if the color had come out in places. My detergent is Sun regular, no bleach or whiteners. Even though the towels are large and plush I will take them back!"
Review 4 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:October 1, 2014

Mixed reviews

"I purchased two of the dark purple bath towels and some of the tan hand towels/washcloths. Tan ones are fine; purple towels shed like crazy even after 3 washing/drying cycles. Why there is such a difference between the colors, I have no idea."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Columbus
Date:June 23, 2014

Charisma Towels are great !

"Love these towels. Didn't have a lint problem like I read in the previous posts. I was dreading washing them ! Surprisingly had zero lint ...towels are great and so are the beach towels."
Review 6 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:May 18, 2014

Fantastic towels when broken in right!

Pros: great price, simple design, fluffy, durable
Cons: requires a scalding first wash
"WASH ON HOT/SANITARY THE FIRST TIME AND THEY'LL BE AMAZING. (I explain why below)
Picked up a couple of these at the warehouse a few weeks ago and have been using them since. I was a little surprised to see that almost all reviews were either five star (awesome durable towels) or one star (my towels exploded into lint clouds!) ... And I figured out why with a little research.
Turns out these towels are woven with a "hollow core" thread (the Hygro Cotton whatsit). When the towels are made, the core of the thread is a water soluble strand of a plastic like thing called PVA (harmless stuff, really). When the core dissolves during the first wash, it leaves the cotton thread even fluffier and more absorbent. Really neat trick when you think about it.
There's a catch though from the looks of the reviews - seems like if you wash on lower temperatures (tap cold possibly up to "warm" depending on your washer), like most people do for dark colors, the PVA core doesn't dissolve completely and screws up the threads, causing an insane amount of shedding, wear problems, and weirdness that people don't expect in the towels. Oops.
So when you wash them for the first time, use the hottest setting your washer has (usually "sanitary"), the highest soil or time setting, do not prewash or presoak, and when you dry them, just be sure to check the lint filter periodically."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2014

Even pleased my husband.

Pros: fluffy and obsorbant
Cons: color bled a little when i first used them.
"I bought these towels for myself and liked them so much I thought I'd get some for my picky husband. Once he has used them I questioned him about them. He said they're great. First couple of washings you get quite a bit of lint but they calm down after that. I'd surely buy them again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:April 21, 2014

These are wonderful towels!

"We purchased these towels previously and they are wonderful. The dry well, feel good, don't feel wet the next day and hold up well. We bought them previously and didn't remember we got them at CostCo and after looking on the internet, ordered more from Costco.com. I recommend these highly."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 1, 2014

Very happy with this product

Model Number: 608693
"I had purchased these same towels 4 years ago, different color. They launder and fluff up nicely, feel thick and plush, and look great. Ordered recently a different color, same experience. Did notice this time though that on first time washing and drying there was a lot of lint. But no lint problem after that first time launder."
Review 10 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:February 13, 2014

Great Purchase

Cons: no cons
Model Number: I purchased the purple Charisma towel set
"I thought these towels were a super buy not only for the price but for the quality. Read the reviews before purchasing but I had seen them in the store and couldn't figure out the consumer who said you could see through them? They are thick towels, soft, absorbent and wash well. I plan on buying more!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 27, 2014

Poor Quality

Pros: they look nice.
Cons: started falling apart on 2nd washing.
Model Number: 809407011165
"After seeing the mixed reviews, decided to pick up 2 of these Charisma bath towels from the warehouse to try. While they seem nice in the warehouse, one of them started unraveling along the side seam on the second washing. Very poor quality and obviously not made to last."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:York Pa.
Date:January 26, 2014

Great Towels, Good Price

"I only read the reviews after I already made the purchase when they had a super good coupon in the circular about a year ago. I haven't had any problems as described by others. The towels are heavy and super absorbent. The colors are vibrant and good size. I have not had any snags as described, no heavy lint problems as described, no see-through problems as described. The colors have remained vibrant with no fading after repeated washings. Maybe Cosco is using a different vendor or the vendor is or was using bad stock during the times when people had problems with their towels. I personally can't wait for them to have another coupon sale so I can buy some more."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie, MD
Date:December 1, 2013

YIKES!! LINT MONSTER!!

Cons: lint! lint! lint!
"We bought 6 tan Charisma towels; the first thing we did was wash them, two at a time, in cold water with Cheer. When we took them out of the washer, the lint was bonded to the side of the drum! We had to scrub the washer to get the stuff off and then run the washer twice to get it clean. We put the first two in the dryer, and got over an inch of lint on the dryer screen, and some of it was so big, it wouldn't even go through the hole to get to the screen. We were thoroughly disgusted with them, and returned them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Westlake Village, CA
Date:October 17, 2013

see-through towels

"Just purchased several Charisma Towels.
While holding them up to put into washer I noticed that I could see right through them. Thought washing would help but
half the towel turned to lint and could still see through them. I have several sets of Costco towels from years ago. One set was Turkish Spa (the best) and the last set was Charisma. Not as nice as Turkish but still good. These new Charismas were horrible. Feel paper thin. I will see how they survive a second washing before returning.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:October 11, 2013

My favorite towels

"I can't believe everyone doesn't love this towel. I bought Charisma towels years ago and finally needed to replace some of the more worn ones (after almost 20 yrs!). I'm so happy that not only does Costco carry them, but that they are even better than they were when I bought them so long ago.
They're plush, soft, and wear very well. I won't use anything else!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 5, 2013

Soft and great quality

"These towels are great. They're large and they're soft and they dry fast! A great buy!"
Review 17 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 6, 2013

Soft and absorbent

"Good color; good texture; absorbent. Wish there was a bath mat and it was still in green. Fabulous towel for the money."
Review 18 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2013

Enough lint from which to make more towels!

Pros: large and soft
Cons: lint...alot of lint.
"Yikes! It's all over...lint in the shower, lint on the floor, lint on me...when does it stop? I've had these towels for many months. They've been put through so many washings I've lost count. Hot water, cold water, fabric softener.. the lint keeps coming. My best advice? Buy another brand. Costco.com has a selection and so do the warehouses. Don't waste your money on this brand."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:March 29, 2013

Amazed at the negative reviews!

Pros: still lush after 500+ washings!
Cons: that we can't buy the washcloths a la carte!
Model Number: 416770
"We have used these towels in our properties for the last 3 years. They wash beautifully, resist stains, and get RAVE reviews from our guests. I recently researched going wholesale, and discovered what an amazing deal these towels are! I am ordering another 6 sets for our newest property coming on line. The 12 sets we currently have in the rotation have been washed probably 500 times using the hottest of water, softener, and bleach - yet they are thicker and more lush than ANY of the very expensive towels sent to me by the wholesalers! Lint? A bit, but not much. We only use the ivory color, so I can't speak to the purple / amethyst debate - but we are VERY happy with these towels."
Review 20 for Charisma® 100% Hygro Cotton 674 GSM 6-pc. Towel Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:March 11, 2013

Great, soft towel - didn't like the color

Pros: soft wash well and great size
Cons: didn't like the purple color
"I have several of these towels in tan and navy and just love them. They get softer with each washing. I was disappointed witht the purple color - it looked different than what my screen displayed. I was hoping for the dusty amethsyst color that was in the warehouse briefly. The color was more of a plum so I returned them."
1 2 next>>