Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. This new KitchenAid 6 quart stand mixer is powerful, quiet, and built to last. Assembled with pride in Greenville, Ohio.  This mixer can effectively mix up to 14 cups of all-purpose flour per recipe and whip up to 9 pounds of mashed potatoes. The powerful 1 horse power DC motor churns through heavy mixtures and double batches of cookie dough with ease. The professional bowl lift design makes adding ingredients a breeze. This stand mixer comes with a dishwasher safe flat beater and dough hook to make clean up fast and easy.  Recommended hand wash only for the wire whip. Attachments (Included):   White Coated Beater   White Coated Dough Hook   Stainless Steel  6 - Wire Whip Features:   Colors available: Contour Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   6 Quart Narrow Bowl with Easy Pour Wide Top   14 Cup Flour Capacity   Plastic Knobs    Residential Attachment Hub   Embossed Trim Band   1.0 HP   High Performance Motor   High Performance Control   Polished Stainless Steel Bowl   Comfort Bowl Handle   Lift Lever Handle   Dimensions: 11.3" L x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 - Year Hassle Free Warranty   1 - Coat Finish   Model: KSM6573CER For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390.
Average Customer Rating:
3.614 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
(out of 44 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
6
26 of 44(59%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:July 11, 2014

Great purchase, 746 watts!!!

Pros: great value, power
Cons: a few accessories won't work with this model
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"I love this mixer! So quick to make cookies now. Like many others, I wish I had bought it sooner! I bought the silver, which matches everything and doesn't show watermarks or dust.
THIS MIXER is one horsepower, which is equivalent to 746 WATTS. The person who said this is only 375 watts is wrong--that is the equivalent of 1/2 horsepower. So this has more power than the 575 watt, 6qt. mixers at most retail locations. And it's less expensive too! Love the value at Costco!"
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:May 21, 2014

Enjoying this mixer

Pros: looks great handles heavy batter quiet when on!
Cons: pouring shield for this particular bowl.
Model Number: KSM6573
"I purchased his mixer after watching it for several years at several locations for a much higher price. I was on my way to a competitior to purchase a smaller KitchenAid mixer for more money but stopped to check Costco.com on my phone. I purchased this mixer for under $300 and had previously watched this and the comparable models list for $500 or more. Finally, what I wanted, without having to settle for a downgrade, at a price that I could afford.
I haven't encountered any of the problems everyone is speaking of. First things first, before you use a new appliance it should be throughly cleaned with hot, soapy water--the mixing bowl and all attachments. Also, wipe off the entire machine without getting water in the gear mechanisms. Seriously, it has been everywhere and it needs to be cleaned before using.
I bake cakes, pies, cupcakes, etc. several times per month. I have been through other mixers that could not handle the batter. This one powered through the batter with ease and no hesitation. There aren't any loud noises or other happenings that others are speaking about. As with anything manufactured, there is a chance for a bad apple or two. Just exchange if it happens to you. Great heavy duty mixer. I cannot not complain. I have ordered a few attachments from KitchenAid and plan to use them soon.
Also, I was able to purchase a mixing paddle that scrapes the sides while mixing that was completely compatible. I will continue to search online for other attachments, too."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:May 19, 2014

Great Mixer, only 350 Watts

Pros: slow start
Cons: only 350 watts
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"I purchased this mixer without realizing that this mixer was only 350 Watts, I didn't realize that a 6 QT pro could be in this low motor size, my old one was 575, I took it back and went somewhere else to get a 6QT pro in the 575 W Size as I do a lot of large batches of bread, otherwise this would be a great mixer!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:california
Date:May 2, 2014

this mixer is the bomb!

Pros: pretty colors powerful
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"I purchased this stand mixer to replace a handheld mixer that suddenly burnt out in middle of something I was making...the last words my husband said to me when I went out the door to buy a replacement were "don't buy a cheap piece of machinery...you should always buy the best tool you can afford, especially if you use it a lot" trust me- this is the best tool AND its pretty affordable! (win/win) :) I have made cookie batter, which it mixed flawlessly, and made a pretzel dough with the dough hook, which I have never done before, and this also was super easy! my concern that it was not a tilt up head turned out to be unfounded. the bowl lift takes the bowl out of your way and you are easily able to remove the beater and bowl then. another concern was that the lack of a "pour shield" would prove problematic. again, not so. I was able to pour the rest of the ingredients into the cookie batter no problem, and I briefly stopped the mixer to add the flour for the pretzel dough. the "soft start" and deep bowl design keeps all the ingredients where they should be, and the powerful motor has no trouble staying on task. if you're on the fence- buy this! I'm the most frugal person I know, and I'm so glad I sprung the extra money for this! I can tell, this will be something that will be around for decades, and used a lot!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fargo, ND
Date:April 30, 2014

Excellent Stand Mixer

Pros: mixes ingredients completely and thouroughly, plenty of power for bread making and kneading
Cons: does weigh more than a hand mixer so moving around, is difficult need to have counter space.
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"This mixer has everything that I needed in order to make bread, cookies, cakes and a lot more. It makes baking fun and enjoyable and so simple. I would recommend this mixer to someone like me who is a beginning baker, sure beats a hand mixer hands down."
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014

Std KA Ice Cream Attachment Doesnt Fit This Model

Model Number: KSM6573CER2
"I am mostly happy with this mixer, however, when I tried to make ice cream and purchased the seemingly adaptive KA ice cream attachment, it doesn't fit this specific model and none of the product literature indicates this. They have to send you an additional attachment (7-10 days) in order to use this so call them first."
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CHICAGO
Date:March 21, 2014

RETURN THIS PRODUCT TO COSTCO

"HIGH PITCH NOISE AT SPEED # 6
UNIT DIRTY WITH BLACK LUBLICANT OIL
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:March 20, 2014

Do NOT listen to bad reviews! Great buy and mixer!

Pros: quiet, powerful, love the nickel color, does not hop around when in use, free ice cream maker rebate, great kitchenaid customer service, all kitchenaid attachments fit, 5qt bowl & pour shield can be purchased
Cons: no pour shield for 6qt bowl
Model Number: KSM6573
"I purchased this mixer yesterday (3/19/14) and after I purchased it I got on my phone to look at reviews (my hubsters suggestion) and I was hightly dissapointed to read all the negative feedback,where I almost took it back before getting it home. Thank goodness I decided to wait until I could call Kitchenaid cutomer service...I point blank asked if I made a mistake in purchasing the Costco version of this mixer? I was reassured that this is one of their best mixers with regards to the motor and being six quart. It is true that you can not purchase a pour shield for the 6qt bowl that comes with the mixer. However, you can purchase the 5qt bowl and pour shield for this mixer..which I did ($91.74 total) and still spent less than I would have anywhere else for this machine. All other Kitchenaid attachments will fit this mixer, with the exception of the flex beater attachment which they do not make for this mixer yet.
As for the ice cream maker that is the free rebate offered...It will work with this mixer!!! You have to be sure to indicate which model you purchased when filling out the rebate form. There is a drive adapter that should come with the ice cream maker, if it doesn't you call customer service and they will send it to you at no additional cost.
Customer service was extremely helpful and made me feel at ease with my purchase.
I have made a double batch of stiff Royal Icing with my mixer and it worked like a dream!!! This stuff is like paste and the machine didn't resist a bit on speed 1 or 2. I absolutely love it. Some have said they noticed a smell, there is a bright green card as soon as you open the box telling you expect a smell with the first couple of uses (it is normal) and the card also tells you to adjust the height of your beater if it is hitting the bottom of the bowl (another complaint I saw mentioned). My frosting was snow white and there werer no pieces of black metal or rubber in my frosting. Of course there is always the rare chance you get a lemon and all things are possible when there are moving parts involved...exchange it if this happens.
Trust me...you WILL NOT BE SORRY you purchased this mixer!!!"
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marana, AZ
Date:March 6, 2014

Amazing Machine

Model Number: KSM6573COB
"I've been searching for a quality stand mixer for quite awhile. Looking at all the various models and options as well as the best pricing. I decided on the KitchenAid line because they make a high quality product I can rely on. I chose this model because it has both the larger capacity and higher power I was looking for in a stand mixer. And Costco offers these at such an amazing price. I've made wonderful breads, cookies and pizza doughs without any issues. I am elated with my purchase and highly recommend it to those of you looking for a stand mixer. A few things worth noting are the bowl must be attached correctly or it will wobble. Once attached correctly that is eliminated. When using the dough hook you must not go above speed 2. If after attaching the hook, whip or flat beater you find they are hitting the bottom of the bowl there is a simple adjustment that must be made. Please check your manual for the complete instructions. You can also purchase some wonderful attachments from KitchenAid to further your Mixers capabilities."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cranberry Township, PA
Date:February 22, 2014

Many attachments do not fit

Pros: it is a kitchen-aid and is solidly built
Cons: cost (including other items necessary to buy), lack of disclosure regarding limitations
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"Worst Costco purchase I have ever made. Many standard attachments do not fit this model. Flared bowl causes many issues. Had to buy $100 worth of new stuff (new bowl, primarily) to match this. Not worth the money. Should have bought it on sale elsewhere. Costco does a good job of providing somewhat unique items, but this product will cost you more in the long run."
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bend,OR
Date:February 13, 2014

What a disapointment

Pros: beautiful colors
Cons: everything else
Model Number: Professional 6500 HD 6Qrt Stand Mixer
"I have had a kitchen aid classic mixer for almost 20 years and love it. I wanted something that could handle a little bigger project with a little more power, although my old mixer could handle just about anything I dished out.
The new mixer, professional 6000HD, I received for Christmas. The first time I used it I noticed the bowl wobbles, it's noisy, and forget trying to remove or change an attachment without taking the bowl off (not easy) and disengaging the attachment (cumbersome and messy with food on it).
I made cookie dough only to have this touted "powerful mixer" stop completely and start smelling like hot wires.
I really, really wanted it to work at least well as my old one, but with that aside the difficulty getting the bowl in and out as well as not being able to remove attachment without disconnecting bowl and tilting it just right to remove it, was almost a deal breaker, and the issues with the motor and lack of power just sealed the deal. Sorry Costco, this one is coming back!
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Patzcuaro, Michoacan, Mexico
Date:January 27, 2014

Best Machine

Pros: 6 quart capacity
Cons: i still have to add the ingredients.
Model Number: KSM6573CCU2
"I love my new Pro 600. Thanks to Costco's special offer it was very affordable. I had the KA Classic before and liked it so much but this is a big step up with more power and capacity."
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Marcos, CA
Date:January 27, 2014

Fabulous mixer, no accessories

Pros: powerful great tool, quiet motor, large bowl capacity
Cons: no accessories included, special order bowl size not compatible, no pouring shield included
Model Number: 600 pro Costco Special Edition
"It is such a shame that Costco chose to offer a special edition of an actually fabulous mixer. In general Costco specials are great and come as complete as they get. In this case Costco made the costly mistake to equip this powerful appliance (745 watts!) with a bowl that is a special item and cannot accommodate any pouring shield available on the market. I read the reviews after the fact and was unaware of that issue. The pouring shield is a must for everyone. I could just not see myself downgrading to a smaller size bowl and investing an additional $100 for bowl and pouring shield (that includes tax and shipping). At $400 final price ticket I opted to return this item to Costco and upgraded to the 7 quart, 970 watt pro model on the Chefs website for merely an additional $64. Costco' s idea to offer a superb product at $335 was great and would have been impeccable if accessories had been included or at least were available."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:January 25, 2014

poor dough kneading

Pros: price
Cons: dough hook is poor
Model Number: 6000 professional
"I use mixers for bread. That's the toughest thing you can do in a mixer because it's so thick. I had purchased the kitchenaid 550 from Costco about a year ago. It had a great design except for the gearbox. It basically grenaded and the blades stopped. As opposed to calling up kitchen aid - I simply took it back to Costco. Love the return policy... I decide to get another one and cross my fingers - but it's now the improved model! So, I bought it.
First off: It's seriously half as loud as the previous model. The fit and finish appears to be great. The narrow flared bowl seems to hold the flour in better because it's taller.
The bad: the spiral dough hook design simply isn't nearly as good as the previous design and fails to knead the dough worth a darn. I played with different recipes, moisture content, and finally gave up after 6 weeks and returned it to Costco.
I then picked up the "everywhere else" model the 600 professional. It's pretty close to the original 550 - at a more substantial price point though. Happy with that unit.
So, if you're simply mixing mashed potatoes, cake batter and cookie dough - this mixer works great. My only complaint is the dough hook design."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:January 24, 2014

Really want to like it ... but

Pros: good looking and great price, when it works it works great
Cons: container wobble and noisy, struggle to make 4 coups doungh, short live
Model Number: Professional 6000HD
"Got this one a few months ago. It was great price. Previous 5.5 Qt one after casual use for a year then broken. This time i want to get more powerful and wish it can last many years. When it works it works great at beginning. However in short 3 months also casual use, the container wobbling and make a huge noise. The spinner struggled to make a turn while kneeing a dough. Looks like it is going to broke very soon."
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 23, 2014

It's going back

Pros: looks very pretty sitting there
Cons: difficult to snap bowl in place
"After numerous attempts to adjust the screw which allegedly prevents the beater from hitting the bowl, we give up.
It's going back to the store.
"
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 23, 2014

Depends on what you "knead" it for . . .

Pros: its pretty
Cons: not built for making bread :-(
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"If you're into making bread, I think you need to look further. I just got this for Christmas and the third time I made my 8 cup whole wheat bread recipe, it stopped working. I have only used it 5 times total!! The other times I made dough, I noticed it warm up, but it seemed fine.
I'm sure it's awesome for cakes and cookies and lighter mixing.
Kitchen Aid has offered to replace it with a refurbished unit, so "yay!" for their customer service. But I'm sure it's just going to happen again. Their agent told me it should only knead for two to three minutes!? I'm thinking I just need a Bosch."
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014

Bowl arm wobbles, no pour shield

Pros: it works (eggs butter dough hook), it's quiet
Cons: it wobbles, no pour shield
Model Number: KSM6573CCU Professional 6000 HD
"I received this as a gift and straight out of the box, I found that the arm that holds the bowl, even when the bowl is snapped completely in place, wobbles at higher speeds or at slightest addition in weight. This is annoying and after watching videos of other bowl lift models, I've noticed that the other models do not wobble. In addition, it's hard to add ingredients and a pour shield would very useful. I can probably get by without the pouring shield but the wobble makes me consider a return or exchange."
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:January 7, 2014

Great value, but lacks available accessories

Cons: accessories are expensive especially a new bowl
"Love this mixer! But after reviewing and researching (needless to say several returns of accessories) found that the bowl is a "custom flare" for Costco only. THERE ARE NO POURING SHEILD NOR RUBBER EDGE BLENDER available for this bowl. You HAVE TO buy another bowl (which is another $60) to even get those extra accessories to fit. Called Kitchenaid and they do not plan on making either of these items for this bowl. Was also informed that they would not offer any discounts or help on solving this matter. Basically customer service is NON EXISTENT! For the price, I feel that they should offer the consumer another bowl at a reduced rate especially after paying $$$ for this machine and all the other fun gadgets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014

Good.....but

Pros: power
Cons: attachment issue
Model Number: KSM6573CCU2
"Purchased specifically for the free attachment promotion. Works well...But the Ice Cream Attachment (KICI0WP0) shipped from KitchenAid does not fit the mixer from Costco. Also the bowl won't take a pour shield; you need to but a NON-flared bowl. Waiting for KitchenAid to respond. If you don't intend to purchase attachment that connect to the Motor Head, then DON'T buy the mixer here. Otherwise, works well!"
1 2 3 next>>