Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

Item may be available in your local warehouse for a lower, non delivered price. This KitchenAid 6 quart stand mixer is powerful, quiet, and built to last. Assembled with pride in Greenville, Ohio.  This mixer can effectively mix up to 14 cups of all-purpose flour per recipe and whip up to 9 pounds of mashed potatoes. The powerful 1 horse power DC motor churns through heavy mixtures and double batches of cookie dough with ease. The professional bowl lift design makes adding ingredients a breeze. This stand mixer comes with a dishwasher safe flat beater and dough hook to make clean up fast and easy.  Recommended hand wash only for the wire whip. Attachments (Included):   White Coated Beater   White Coated Dough Hook   Stainless Steel  6 - Wire Whip Features:   Colors available: Contour Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   6 Quart Narrow Bowl with Easy Pour Wide Top   14 Cup Flour Capacity   Plastic Knobs    Residential Attachment Hub   Embossed Trim Band   1.0 HP   High Performance Motor   High Performance Control   Polished Stainless Steel Bowl   Comfort Bowl Handle   Lift Lever Handle   Dimensions: 11.3" L x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 - Year Hassle Free Warranty   1 - Coat Finish   Model: KSM6573CER For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390.
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(578 Reviews) 578
(out of 578 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (578 reviews)
5 stars
449
4 stars
65
3 stars
22
2 stars
23
1 star
19
509 of 566(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marco Island, FL
Date:July 26, 2015

Awesome Gift

Pros: everything
Cons: none
Model Number: KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
" I purchased this for my niece's wedding shower. She registered at another store but I found this mixer to be 50% better than what she wanted and much cheaper at Costco. I had it delivered right to her home which saved me having to pick it up. I love Costco for EVERYTHING!! "
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2015

Sturdy mixer

Pros: higher bowl so flour does not fly out., love the red color.
Cons: tall. almost does not fit under counter.
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" I bought this product to replace a 20 year old kitchen Aid stand mixer. This product is sturdier and more powerful than my previous stand mixer. It does what I need easily and efficiently. It is also taller which means it barely fits under the cabinets. "
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2015

very poor quality

Pros: low price, light weight bowl. good for pouring when pouring.
Cons: poor quality hardware, noisy, heats up. takes time to cool off, seems to struggle for a 1 hp motor, should have been built with a 7 qt bowl
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" OK so my wife and I run a small wedding cake business from our home. I will help my wife from time to time doing the the batter, icing, etc so she can focus on decorating the cakes. As our business has grown a bit we saw the need for a second medium - large size mixer. Since we are loyal Costco customers and get most of our stuff there, we saw no reason for getting this mixer at Costco.
When I was at the store prior to buying the first thing I noticed that the construction or build of this mixer was not as high quality as other mixers we have owned. But seeing the price was soooooo good I thought "maybe I can get two of these'. They kinda put lower quality hardware on it to probably bring down the price. That was even more evident when we opened the box at home and the finish on the attachments like the dough hook and the beater blade were chipped and cracking. The second thing we encountered was the motor heating up. The good thing is that it has a safety shutoff that prevents it from over heating but in a business where time is money we could not wait around for the motor to cool off. It is not a long time but it still takes time. The next thing we started to notice was a clicking noise and as the load got heavier and heavier it would click even more. It got very loud to the point where we would have to shut it off to talk to each other. So after a couple of hours of use we put that mixer in the box and went a got another one at Costco thinking it maybe we had gotten a lemon with this mixer or that the box had been dropped.
So now we got the exact same mixer and we had the same issues with it. We started reading different reviews and folks were saying the same thing and having the same issues. We later found out that this particular model is a Costco only model and things made sense then. Not to say that Costco products are of less quality. Even Kitchenaid says that the noise is normal in this model but we have never had these issues with other mixers. PLEASE don't get me wrong. I LOVE COSTCO!!! but I think someone dropped the quality ball on this one.
So after having returned it twice to the store we went to another store and got another Kitchenaid mixer and all the previously encountered problems are not present within this model. Now, I do have to say that by doing this we had to drop an additional $250.00 USD to get the better quality product but so far it has been worth it.
So in summary if you do not mind the noise and/or eating a piece of enamel coating and/or waiting around for this thing to cool off if your are going to put it through the paces and you want to save some $$$ then this is the machine for you. Otherwise, be prepared to dish out the extra $$$ on a better machine. "
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:April 25, 2015

kind of kicking myself for this "investment"

Pros: strong motor
Cons: no tilt head is a bigger issue than i'd thought
" I'd never had a professional mixer, and decided that maybe it was time I had one. I love Costco, so thought no reason not to get it there. I was torn between the smaller, less powerful tilt head mixer and this one. I thought bigger and stronger would be better. The motor is awesome.. I've not had an issue with it powering through anything. That's about all I have in the positives.. Maybe I'm just not "getting it", but I've yet figured out how to 1) remove the bowl from the mixer without removing the beater (and then leaving the beater in the bowl) This is because there is no tilt head. 2) I also struggle when making batters (and I double checked to make sure I was using the right beater head), that a bunch of the dough doesn't get globbed only the beater and then isn't mixing. I have to manually scrap off the batter (which isn't a big deal EXCEPT for yeah.. there's no tilted head) Clearly this was not the right professional mixer for me.. "
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:April 14, 2015

Not good for small quantities

" Very powerful capable mixer with one caution. Beater does not reach bottom of bowl so it is not suited for small quantities. It will not beat one egg white or one egg. When mixing thicker ingredients, again doesn't get to the bottom. With the beater installed, hard to get a spatula in to manually mix in the ingredients at the bottom of the bowl. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Marietta GA
Date:April 13, 2015

Great...but

Model Number: KSM6573CER
" Fits nicely for counter-top use under cabinet... But limited on accessories such as additional bowls and beaters that fit this model. "
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 10, 2015

Great Purchase

" Love this mixer. The only problem is it is too tall can't leave it out on the counter so I have to put it in a closet. "
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:March 25, 2015

Not Compatable

Pros: pretty
Cons: cannot use any other attachments with, nothing fits
" I bought this model because my other one had broke at the spring on the attachment. Anyway super excited to get this one since it was so pretty but be advised. This model you CANNOT use any normal kitchenaid attachments with. I have a 5 quart bowl that I used to use on my 6 qt and that doesn't fit, my ice cream bowl doesn't fit, and all my attachments that I used such as my beater blade DOESN'T fit. This is a bad model if you are wanting to maximize it's use. Notice how it says "narrow" bowl. "
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 19, 2015

KitchenAid Dream of mine

Pros: everything to help who is using it
" Amazing design, the best for doing all my goodies, impeccable, precisely hard work done. Incredible support in the kitchen, why not to say my best friend now. "
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St George, UT
Date:February 7, 2015

What the heck?

Pros: good price, 1 hp motor
Cons: cannot buy a flex edge beater for this unit, attachments are difficult to get on and off
" Found that the machine did not work bread dough at the bottom of the bowl.
OK, so tried to order a flex edge beater and found KitchenAid does not make that attachment for Costco mixers. Somehow the configuration of the bowl is different from the standard 6qt mixer.
The attachments that are included in the Costco package are hard to install and remove. The beater and hook are plastic, vs the standard KitchenAid package are metal.
Bottom line we were disappointed in the Costco version and took it back. We then bought a standard KitchenAid
6qt mixer, which we are quite happy with.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:January 26, 2015

Disappointed with this model

Cons: exclusive model, attachments not available
Model Number: KSM6573CCU
" I like this appliance EXCEPT this model is exclusive to Costo and doesn't have any attachments. After receiving this as a gift I was VERY DISAPPOINTED that I cannot buy additional attachments that will fit my machine. I was gifted this machine for the sole purpose of adding attachments and I am very upset I am not able to. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Marion, Iowa
Date:January 20, 2015

NOT the standard 6 Qt product

Model Number: KSM6573ccu2
" I bought this product in December of 2013 and I didn't realize it wasn't the standard 6 Qt. product. The design for Costco must have been different. My model is KSM6573ccu2 Kitchenaid doesn't make a lid, pour shield or flex edge beater for my model. I am extremely disappointed. I had my standard mixer for 7 years and now I am regretting my switch to this model. I should have done better research. I hope my mistake can save you. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:January 4, 2015

Good Unit: Its a 6000 series not a Pro 600

Pros: good motor, quieter than 600 series
Cons: proprietary costco model, not compatible will many accessories, difficult to get accessories
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" Check model numbers before purchase. The one currently listed (and one I bought) is the KSM6573CER which is Not the Pro 600 series its a costo specific 6000 series. But you will see tons of reviews under this product stating that its a Pro 600.
Not sure if reviews are under wrong product, or product for sale has changed, but because of this a lot of reviews on here with wrong information. Thought I would try to clear some of it up based on what I have learned after purchase.
The I purchased (and one shown online at the moment) is a KSM6573CER NOT a Pro 600 series unit. This is part of the 6000 series which are special made for large stores. And is different than the Pro 600. Go to kitchenaid website and lookup the manual and part lists if you don't believe me.
This makes a difference on bowls and mixing blades. You see tons of reviews on here talking about this unit as if its a Pro 600 series which its not. Which is good and bad.
Differences between this model and Pro 600 series:
#1 Does not take standard 6qt bowls. This takes a higher/taller bowl that is impossible to find. Can't get glass bowl for it. Only 6qt bowl that works in the one that comes with it that's the W10177650. Currently impossible to get a second bowl as its backordered through kitchen aid. They might have more bowls available in future, but this unit has been out for a while and still no bowls.
#2 Has a 1Hp DC motor and puts out .4HP to bowl. This is a good thing as DC motor in this unit is more efficient than the AC motor in the Pro 600 series. So although the 6000 series (this one# list less watts than the pro 600 its because of motor efficiency not less power. So in general this is a better motor #and quieter) than the Pro 600 series.
#3 Not all beaters work with the 6QT narrow bowls. The ones that come with it works, but its difficult to find aftermarket beaters that work with the narrow bowls. And are limited to a small set of kitchen aid beaters that are only compatible with the narrow 6qt bowls.
#4 No splash guard. Kitchen aid doesn't make a splash guard for this 6qt narrow bowls. When I called kitchen aid they said they had no idea if/when a splashguard might be available.
Now this unit does come with the coated beaters, so they are dishwasher safe. The Pro 600 beaters are not unless you buy coated ones.
Overall its a good unit if you are just going to use it with what comes in the box or use things that attach to attachment port. But if you wish to get other beaters, extra bowls, splash guard, icecream attachment, etc then you might want to do your research before purchase. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2014

Excellent product

Pros: works great never breaks down
Cons: none
" I was looking for a good heavy duty machine which would be dependable. I wasn't disappointed with this one. If your a serious cook, this is the machine for you. It gets the job done and never breaks down. I make cookies, bread, frosting, cakes so many things. It is definitely the best purchase I've made for a mixer. The attachments are great as well. "
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:December 13, 2014

Not what it claims

Cons: only 350 watts
Model Number: KSM6573CCU
" Bought this due to price and strong 1hp motor. After a couple weeks of use we noticed the sticker underneath reads "350 watts max". 350 watts is less than 1/2 hp. Disregard the asterisk that says you only get 1/4 hp at mixer( am only concerned with power of motor) Will be returning and purchasing the pro 600 somewhere else that has a 575 watt motor. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomfield, MI
Date:December 12, 2014

Love, Love

Pros: quiet no strain on motor
Cons: none so far
Model Number: KSM6573CCU
" I was apprehensive about purchasing because of some of the reviews. However, I knew I could return to Costco if I had an issue. Purchased yesterday and made whole wheat bread this morning. I am so glad I purchased the more powerful motor because it was quiet and did a wonderful job. Have wanted one forever and so glad I made the purchase. Thanks Costco. "
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ocean NJ
Date:November 28, 2014

Returned it today

Pros: easy returns at costco
Cons: bad machine
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" Costco has its own model of the 6 qt kitchen aid. The narrow bowl does not work, since the contents on the bottom do not incorporate into the mixture. The handle does not have the comfortable rubber cover. The highest setting is not high enough to whip egg whites like my old Kitchen aid. Not even close. Furthermore, the machine started making a clicking noise. That was it for me "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fallbrook CA
Date:November 26, 2014

I like the old one better

Model Number: Pro 6000
" I've had a classic white tilt head 5 qt for years and it still works fine. I kept thinking about getting a colorful one and donating my old one. Well, I bought the pro 6000 on sale and honestly, it sat in the box unopened for 6 mo. I finally opened it today and frankly, didn't realize this wasn't a tilt head ( totally my mistake) I used it once, it was ok - but it is several inches taller than the classic which makes it a challenge for storage in my cabinet and I realize, I like the tilt head feature. I'm going to return this - not because there is anything wrong, I just want a tilt head model so I'll stick with my classic until it burns out. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:November 2, 2014

Still loving it!

Pros: easy to use, powerful, great value
Cons: heavy
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" I have had this mixer for a year, and I have baked just about everything, from souffles to heavy bread and this mixer has done it all without a problem. Yes it a bit louder that the tilt-head but it is a bigger motor and it is able to handle bigger jobs. And even when some may complain about the flare-top bowl, I like it, it makes it easier to pour ingredients while the mixer is on...yes the shield won't fit, but I don't like it I rather use a clean dishtowel (it saves a lot in space and does the same job, for a cost of almost nothing). I am in love with the mixer, I has even been able to do small batches of cookies and muffins to making about 6 cups of stiff buttercream, all with ease. For me this was a huge win. Can't wait for this year fall/xmas baking :) "
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Katy, TX
Date:October 30, 2014

Powerful, Beautiful and Versatile Product

Pros: powerful
Cons: none
Model Number: KSM6573CER2
" I read many reviews on various websites. I also price compared and found COSTCO to be the best value. I also got a $60 SAVINGS on top of the COSTCO featured price!! I have used this mixer to make some great bread! It is easy to use and is not loud at all compared to my previous mixer which was a handheld sunbeam mixer. I also bought the meat grinder/shredder/puree attachments and love them as well. WELL WORTH THE WAIT and cannot find any faults! "
1 2 3 4 next>>