Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

Item may be available in your local warehouse for a lower, non delivered price. Limit 5 per household/membership. This KitchenAid 6 quart stand mixer is powerful, quiet, and built to last. Assembled with pride in Greenville, Ohio.  This mixer can effectively mix up to 14 cups of all-purpose flour per recipe and whip up to 9 pounds of mashed potatoes. The powerful 1 horse power DC motor churns through heavy mixtures and double batches of cookie dough with ease. The professional bowl lift design makes adding ingredients a breeze. This stand mixer comes with a dishwasher safe flat beater and dough hook to make clean up fast and easy.  Recommended hand wash only for the wire whip. Attachments (Included):   White Coated Beater   White Coated Dough Hook   Stainless Steel  6 - Wire Whip Features:   Colors available: Contour Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   6 Quart Narrow Bowl with Easy Pour Wide Top   14 Cup Flour Capacity   Plastic Knobs    Residential Attachment Hub   Embossed Trim Band   1.0 HP   High Performance Motor   High Performance Control   Polished Stainless Steel Bowl   Comfort Bowl Handle   Lift Lever Handle   Dimensions: 11.3" L x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 - Year Hassle Free Warranty   1 - Coat Finish   Model: KSM6573CER For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(545 Reviews) 545
(out of 545 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (545 reviews)
5 stars
424
4 stars
61
3 stars
21
2 stars
20
1 star
19
480 of 533(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:March 25, 2015

Not Compatable

Pros: pretty
Cons: cannot use any other attachments with, nothing fits
" I bought this model because my other one had broke at the spring on the attachment. Anyway super excited to get this one since it was so pretty but be advised. This model you CANNOT use any normal kitchenaid attachments with. I have a 5 quart bowl that I used to use on my 6 qt and that doesn't fit, my ice cream bowl doesn't fit, and all my attachments that I used such as my beater blade DOESN'T fit. This is a bad model if you are wanting to maximize it's use. Notice how it says "narrow" bowl. "
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 19, 2015

KitchenAid Dream of mine

Pros: everything to help who is using it
" Amazing design, the best for doing all my goodies, impeccable, precisely hard work done. Incredible support in the kitchen, why not to say my best friend now. "
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St George, UT
Date:February 7, 2015

What the heck?

Pros: good price, 1 hp motor
Cons: cannot buy a flex edge beater for this unit, attachments are difficult to get on and off
" Found that the machine did not work bread dough at the bottom of the bowl.
OK, so tried to order a flex edge beater and found KitchenAid does not make that attachment for Costco mixers. Somehow the configuration of the bowl is different from the standard 6qt mixer.
The attachments that are included in the Costco package are hard to install and remove. The beater and hook are plastic, vs the standard KitchenAid package are metal.
Bottom line we were disappointed in the Costco version and took it back. We then bought a standard KitchenAid
6qt mixer, which we are quite happy with.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:January 26, 2015

Disappointed with this model

Cons: exclusive model, attachments not available
Model Number: KSM6573CCU
" I like this appliance EXCEPT this model is exclusive to Costo and doesn't have any attachments. After receiving this as a gift I was VERY DISAPPOINTED that I cannot buy additional attachments that will fit my machine. I was gifted this machine for the sole purpose of adding attachments and I am very upset I am not able to. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Marion, Iowa
Date:January 20, 2015

NOT the standard 6 Qt product

Model Number: KSM6573ccu2
" I bought this product in December of 2013 and I didn't realize it wasn't the standard 6 Qt. product. The design for Costco must have been different. My model is KSM6573ccu2 Kitchenaid doesn't make a lid, pour shield or flex edge beater for my model. I am extremely disappointed. I had my standard mixer for 7 years and now I am regretting my switch to this model. I should have done better research. I hope my mistake can save you. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:January 4, 2015

Good Unit: Its a 6000 series not a Pro 600

Pros: good motor, quieter than 600 series
Cons: proprietary costco model, not compatible will many accessories, difficult to get accessories
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" Check model numbers before purchase. The one currently listed (and one I bought) is the KSM6573CER which is Not the Pro 600 series its a costo specific 6000 series. But you will see tons of reviews under this product stating that its a Pro 600.
Not sure if reviews are under wrong product, or product for sale has changed, but because of this a lot of reviews on here with wrong information. Thought I would try to clear some of it up based on what I have learned after purchase.
The I purchased (and one shown online at the moment) is a KSM6573CER NOT a Pro 600 series unit. This is part of the 6000 series which are special made for large stores. And is different than the Pro 600. Go to kitchenaid website and lookup the manual and part lists if you don't believe me.
This makes a difference on bowls and mixing blades. You see tons of reviews on here talking about this unit as if its a Pro 600 series which its not. Which is good and bad.
Differences between this model and Pro 600 series:
#1 Does not take standard 6qt bowls. This takes a higher/taller bowl that is impossible to find. Can't get glass bowl for it. Only 6qt bowl that works in the one that comes with it that's the W10177650. Currently impossible to get a second bowl as its backordered through kitchen aid. They might have more bowls available in future, but this unit has been out for a while and still no bowls.
#2 Has a 1Hp DC motor and puts out .4HP to bowl. This is a good thing as DC motor in this unit is more efficient than the AC motor in the Pro 600 series. So although the 6000 series (this one# list less watts than the pro 600 its because of motor efficiency not less power. So in general this is a better motor #and quieter) than the Pro 600 series.
#3 Not all beaters work with the 6QT narrow bowls. The ones that come with it works, but its difficult to find aftermarket beaters that work with the narrow bowls. And are limited to a small set of kitchen aid beaters that are only compatible with the narrow 6qt bowls.
#4 No splash guard. Kitchen aid doesn't make a splash guard for this 6qt narrow bowls. When I called kitchen aid they said they had no idea if/when a splashguard might be available.
Now this unit does come with the coated beaters, so they are dishwasher safe. The Pro 600 beaters are not unless you buy coated ones.
Overall its a good unit if you are just going to use it with what comes in the box or use things that attach to attachment port. But if you wish to get other beaters, extra bowls, splash guard, icecream attachment, etc then you might want to do your research before purchase. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2014

Excellent product

Pros: works great never breaks down
Cons: none
" I was looking for a good heavy duty machine which would be dependable. I wasn't disappointed with this one. If your a serious cook, this is the machine for you. It gets the job done and never breaks down. I make cookies, bread, frosting, cakes so many things. It is definitely the best purchase I've made for a mixer. The attachments are great as well. "
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:December 13, 2014

Not what it claims

Cons: only 350 watts
Model Number: KSM6573CCU
" Bought this due to price and strong 1hp motor. After a couple weeks of use we noticed the sticker underneath reads "350 watts max". 350 watts is less than 1/2 hp. Disregard the asterisk that says you only get 1/4 hp at mixer( am only concerned with power of motor) Will be returning and purchasing the pro 600 somewhere else that has a 575 watt motor. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomfield, MI
Date:December 12, 2014

Love, Love

Pros: quiet no strain on motor
Cons: none so far
Model Number: KSM6573CCU
" I was apprehensive about purchasing because of some of the reviews. However, I knew I could return to Costco if I had an issue. Purchased yesterday and made whole wheat bread this morning. I am so glad I purchased the more powerful motor because it was quiet and did a wonderful job. Have wanted one forever and so glad I made the purchase. Thanks Costco. "
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ocean NJ
Date:November 28, 2014

Returned it today

Pros: easy returns at costco
Cons: bad machine
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" Costco has its own model of the 6 qt kitchen aid. The narrow bowl does not work, since the contents on the bottom do not incorporate into the mixture. The handle does not have the comfortable rubber cover. The highest setting is not high enough to whip egg whites like my old Kitchen aid. Not even close. Furthermore, the machine started making a clicking noise. That was it for me "
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fallbrook CA
Date:November 26, 2014

I like the old one better

Model Number: Pro 6000
" I've had a classic white tilt head 5 qt for years and it still works fine. I kept thinking about getting a colorful one and donating my old one. Well, I bought the pro 6000 on sale and honestly, it sat in the box unopened for 6 mo. I finally opened it today and frankly, didn't realize this wasn't a tilt head ( totally my mistake) I used it once, it was ok - but it is several inches taller than the classic which makes it a challenge for storage in my cabinet and I realize, I like the tilt head feature. I'm going to return this - not because there is anything wrong, I just want a tilt head model so I'll stick with my classic until it burns out. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:November 2, 2014

Still loving it!

Pros: easy to use, powerful, great value
Cons: heavy
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" I have had this mixer for a year, and I have baked just about everything, from souffles to heavy bread and this mixer has done it all without a problem. Yes it a bit louder that the tilt-head but it is a bigger motor and it is able to handle bigger jobs. And even when some may complain about the flare-top bowl, I like it, it makes it easier to pour ingredients while the mixer is on...yes the shield won't fit, but I don't like it I rather use a clean dishtowel (it saves a lot in space and does the same job, for a cost of almost nothing). I am in love with the mixer, I has even been able to do small batches of cookies and muffins to making about 6 cups of stiff buttercream, all with ease. For me this was a huge win. Can't wait for this year fall/xmas baking :) "
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Katy, TX
Date:October 30, 2014

Powerful, Beautiful and Versatile Product

Pros: powerful
Cons: none
Model Number: KSM6573CER2
" I read many reviews on various websites. I also price compared and found COSTCO to be the best value. I also got a $60 SAVINGS on top of the COSTCO featured price!! I have used this mixer to make some great bread! It is easy to use and is not loud at all compared to my previous mixer which was a handheld sunbeam mixer. I also bought the meat grinder/shredder/puree attachments and love them as well. WELL WORTH THE WAIT and cannot find any faults! "
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nc
Date:September 20, 2014

Do research before you buy

Pros: large bowl
Cons: loud poor performance
Model Number: 550hd
" I bought this as an upgrade from my 20 year old classic mixer. I 've had it for a year or so and have decided to go back to the classic mixer. I found it didnt mix well and it didnt matter what I was mixing. There was always stuff in the bottom of the bowl which getting to this is difficult unless you remove the bowl from the mixer. The bowl would pop out of the holders and had to be aligned perfectly. The mixer is very loud and the bowl feels flimsy. I havent been happy with it even though I have tried hard to like it. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2014

Not a Standard KitchenAid--BEWARE

Pros: its a kitchenaid
Cons: won't fit other 6 qt accessories, had issues with the blades not fitting on properly
" Please do your research on this before you purchase it as this is a "special edition" manufactured for Costco and other stores like that. The bowl has a rounded edge and will not work with the pouring shield. I had a 6 qt professional before that wasn't working so my mother-in-law bought this for me as a Christmas gift. None of my bowl attachments work for this machines because the bowl is narrower and taller than the standard 6 qt. Seems to work ok, but I would have preferred getting another true KitchenAid and not one that was manufactured to be pretty. Luckily my husband was able to fix my old one so I still have that one...I'm a lucky girl with two KitchenAids now. :) "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:July 11, 2014

Great purchase, 746 watts!!!

Pros: great value, power
Cons: a few accessories won't work with this model
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" I love this mixer! So quick to make cookies now. Like many others, I wish I had bought it sooner! I bought the silver, which matches everything and doesn't show watermarks or dust.
THIS MIXER is one horsepower, which is equivalent to 746 WATTS. The person who said this is only 375 watts is wrong--that is the equivalent of 1/2 horsepower. So this has more power than the 575 watt, 6qt. mixers at most retail locations. And it's less expensive too! Love the value at Costco! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:May 30, 2014

Only amazing things to say so far!

Model Number: KSM6573CCU
" I was actually afraid to open the box due to poor reviews I had read! SO happy I finally did!
I also received an ice cream maker attachment rebate. I was aware of previous reviewers issue with receiving a model that did not fit. After a little research I was able to determine that I needed ice cream maker attachment Model KAICA. I clearly wrote this on my rebate form. Received correct model with no issues!
On my first day using this mixer I successfully kneaded dough for bread. It was as simple as finding a recipe, adding ingredients and the machine completed the first knead in 5 minutes! And the bowl was practically clean with all ingredients mixed into dough. I had never made bread before but already knew at that stage that I would be successful. Two loaves of fresh baked bread. Yum!
Next I made minted mango sherbert per the recipe that came with the ice cream attachment booklet. I followed directions to a T, and had the mix already chilled and ready for mixer try out day. I ran the mixer about 5 minutes longer than the recipe called and it was quite tasty. Excited to try more flavors!
So far this is all I have done, but I am in love. And although I am terrible at remembering to come back and write reviews for this product I just had to! Maybe I'm a novice, but this KitchenAid has me impressed!
I did notice a tiny bit of flour float out the bowl while mixing began, and recalled reviewers complaints about an attachment shield that would prevent this did not fit the Costco bowl. I personally did not find the amount of flour to be a big deal and would prefer to not have to clean an additional attachment than wipe a little flour off my counter.
On the same note, according to other reviewers, apparently the Flex Edge Beater Attachment does not fit the Costco bowl either. For me this was not a deal breaker because eventually I want a glass bowl and will be sure that attachment will fit that bowl should I decide I need it.
If you're still on the fence about this one I say go for it. We can always take it back to Costco! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:May 21, 2014

Enjoying this mixer

Pros: looks great handles heavy batter quiet when on!
Cons: pouring shield for this particular bowl.
Model Number: KSM6573
" I purchased his mixer after watching it for several years at several locations for a much higher price. I was on my way to a competitior to purchase a smaller KitchenAid mixer for more money but stopped to check Costco.com on my phone. I purchased this mixer for under $300 and had previously watched this and the comparable models list for $500 or more. Finally, what I wanted, without having to settle for a downgrade, at a price that I could afford.
I haven't encountered any of the problems everyone is speaking of. First things first, before you use a new appliance it should be throughly cleaned with hot, soapy water--the mixing bowl and all attachments. Also, wipe off the entire machine without getting water in the gear mechanisms. Seriously, it has been everywhere and it needs to be cleaned before using.
I bake cakes, pies, cupcakes, etc. several times per month. I have been through other mixers that could not handle the batter. This one powered through the batter with ease and no hesitation. There aren't any loud noises or other happenings that others are speaking about. As with anything manufactured, there is a chance for a bad apple or two. Just exchange if it happens to you. Great heavy duty mixer. I cannot not complain. I have ordered a few attachments from KitchenAid and plan to use them soon.
Also, I was able to purchase a mixing paddle that scrapes the sides while mixing that was completely compatible. I will continue to search online for other attachments, too. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sandy, UT
Date:May 19, 2014

Great Mixer, only 350 Watts

Pros: slow start
Cons: only 350 watts
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" I purchased this mixer without realizing that this mixer was only 350 Watts, I didn't realize that a 6 QT pro could be in this low motor size, my old one was 575, I took it back and went somewhere else to get a 6QT pro in the 575 W Size as I do a lot of large batches of bread, otherwise this would be a great mixer! "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:california
Date:May 2, 2014

this mixer is the bomb!

Pros: pretty colors powerful
Model Number: KSM6573CER
" I purchased this stand mixer to replace a handheld mixer that suddenly burnt out in middle of something I was making...the last words my husband said to me when I went out the door to buy a replacement were "don't buy a cheap piece of machinery...you should always buy the best tool you can afford, especially if you use it a lot" trust me- this is the best tool AND its pretty affordable! (win/win) :) I have made cookie batter, which it mixed flawlessly, and made a pretzel dough with the dough hook, which I have never done before, and this also was super easy! my concern that it was not a tilt up head turned out to be unfounded. the bowl lift takes the bowl out of your way and you are easily able to remove the beater and bowl then. another concern was that the lack of a "pour shield" would prove problematic. again, not so. I was able to pour the rest of the ingredients into the cookie batter no problem, and I briefly stopped the mixer to add the flour for the pretzel dough. the "soft start" and deep bowl design keeps all the ingredients where they should be, and the powerful motor has no trouble staying on task. if you're on the fence- buy this! I'm the most frugal person I know, and I'm so glad I sprung the extra money for this! I can tell, this will be something that will be around for decades, and used a lot! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>