Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Limit 5 per household/membership This new KitchenAid 6 quart stand mixer is powerful, quiet, and built to last. Assembled with pride in Greenville, Ohio.  This mixer can effectively mix up to 14 cups of all-purpose flour per recipe and whip up to 9 pounds of mashed potatoes. The powerful 1 horse power DC motor churns through heavy mixtures and double batches of cookie dough with ease. The professional bowl lift design makes adding ingredients a breeze. This stand mixer comes with a dishwasher safe flat beater and dough hook to make clean up fast and easy.  Recommended hand wash only for the wire whip. Attachments (Included):   White Coated Beater   White Coated Dough Hook   Stainless Steel  6 - Wire Whip Features:   Colors available: Contour Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   6 Quart Narrow Bowl with Easy Pour Wide Top   14 Cup Flour Capacity   Plastic Knobs    Residential Attachment Hub   Embossed Trim Band   1.0 HP   High Performance Motor   High Performance Control   Polished Stainless Steel Bowl   Comfort Bowl Handle   Lift Lever Handle   Dimensions: 11.3" L x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 - Year Hassle Free Warranty   1 - Coat Finish   Made in the USA Model: KSM6573CER For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390.
Average Customer Rating:
3.366 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
7
22 of 41(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bend,OR
Date:February 13, 2014

What a disapointment

Pros: beautiful colors
Cons: everything else
Model Number: Professional 6500 HD 6Qrt Stand Mixer
"I have had a kitchen aid classic mixer for almost 20 years and love it. I wanted something that could handle a little bigger project with a little more power, although my old mixer could handle just about anything I dished out.
The new mixer, professional 6000HD, I received for Christmas. The first time I used it I noticed the bowl wobbles, it's noisy, and forget trying to remove or change an attachment without taking the bowl off (not easy) and disengaging the attachment (cumbersome and messy with food on it).
I made cookie dough only to have this touted "powerful mixer" stop completely and start smelling like hot wires.
I really, really wanted it to work at least well as my old one, but with that aside the difficulty getting the bowl in and out as well as not being able to remove attachment without disconnecting bowl and tilting it just right to remove it, was almost a deal breaker, and the issues with the motor and lack of power just sealed the deal. Sorry Costco, this one is coming back!
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marana, AZ
Date:March 6, 2014

Amazing Machine

Model Number: KSM6573COB
"I've been searching for a quality stand mixer for quite awhile. Looking at all the various models and options as well as the best pricing. I decided on the KitchenAid line because they make a high quality product I can rely on. I chose this model because it has both the larger capacity and higher power I was looking for in a stand mixer. And Costco offers these at such an amazing price. I've made wonderful breads, cookies and pizza doughs without any issues. I am elated with my purchase and highly recommend it to those of you looking for a stand mixer. A few things worth noting are the bowl must be attached correctly or it will wobble. Once attached correctly that is eliminated. When using the dough hook you must not go above speed 2. If after attaching the hook, whip or flat beater you find they are hitting the bottom of the bowl there is a simple adjustment that must be made. Please check your manual for the complete instructions. You can also purchase some wonderful attachments from KitchenAid to further your Mixers capabilities."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Marcos, CA
Date:January 27, 2014

Fabulous mixer, no accessories

Pros: powerful great tool, quiet motor, large bowl capacity
Cons: no accessories included, special order bowl size not compatible, no pouring shield included
Model Number: 600 pro Costco Special Edition
"It is such a shame that Costco chose to offer a special edition of an actually fabulous mixer. In general Costco specials are great and come as complete as they get. In this case Costco made the costly mistake to equip this powerful appliance (745 watts!) with a bowl that is a special item and cannot accommodate any pouring shield available on the market. I read the reviews after the fact and was unaware of that issue. The pouring shield is a must for everyone. I could just not see myself downgrading to a smaller size bowl and investing an additional $100 for bowl and pouring shield (that includes tax and shipping). At $400 final price ticket I opted to return this item to Costco and upgraded to the 7 quart, 970 watt pro model on the Chefs website for merely an additional $64. Costco' s idea to offer a superb product at $335 was great and would have been impeccable if accessories had been included or at least were available."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fort Wayne,IN
Date:November 18, 2013

Seems like a stand-alone Costco model

Pros: a lot of mixer for the money
Cons: costco proprietary design, only a 5 quart bowl is available to fit this, there is no pouring shield for this 6qt bowl
Model Number: 593241 / 11754601 Professional 6qt mixer
"I wanted to confirm some previous posts concerning this model, so I went to the Kitchenaid site and did the live assistance.
1)they do NOT make a pour shield that fits the flared bowl that comes with this model
2) They do NOT make a 6 qt bowl that will fit this model that can use a pouring shield- this is the response I got:
You may purchase a 5 qt bowl with the part number KN25PBH for $59.99. The part number to the pouring shield that will fit the 5 qt bowl is KN1PS and the current price is $24.99.
I can't even find where you can buy another 6 quart flared bowl for this mixer. People that would buy this mixer
would usually need the accessories to go with it. This is a pretty serious mixer, and it's unfortunate for some reason the Costco model has it's own proprietary 6qt bowl
"
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:March 20, 2014

Do NOT listen to bad reviews! Great buy and mixer!

Pros: quiet, powerful, love the nickel color, does not hop around when in use, free ice cream maker rebate, great kitchenaid customer service, all kitchenaid attachments fit, 5qt bowl & pour shield can be purchased
Cons: no pour shield for 6qt bowl
Model Number: KSM6573
"I purchased this mixer yesterday (3/19/14) and after I purchased it I got on my phone to look at reviews (my hubsters suggestion) and I was hightly dissapointed to read all the negative feedback,where I almost took it back before getting it home. Thank goodness I decided to wait until I could call Kitchenaid cutomer service...I point blank asked if I made a mistake in purchasing the Costco version of this mixer? I was reassured that this is one of their best mixers with regards to the motor and being six quart. It is true that you can not purchase a pour shield for the 6qt bowl that comes with the mixer. However, you can purchase the 5qt bowl and pour shield for this mixer..which I did ($91.74 total) and still spent less than I would have anywhere else for this machine. All other Kitchenaid attachments will fit this mixer, with the exception of the flex beater attachment which they do not make for this mixer yet.
As for the ice cream maker that is the free rebate offered...It will work with this mixer!!! You have to be sure to indicate which model you purchased when filling out the rebate form. There is a drive adapter that should come with the ice cream maker, if it doesn't you call customer service and they will send it to you at no additional cost.
Customer service was extremely helpful and made me feel at ease with my purchase.
I have made a double batch of stiff Royal Icing with my mixer and it worked like a dream!!! This stuff is like paste and the machine didn't resist a bit on speed 1 or 2. I absolutely love it. Some have said they noticed a smell, there is a bright green card as soon as you open the box telling you expect a smell with the first couple of uses (it is normal) and the card also tells you to adjust the height of your beater if it is hitting the bottom of the bowl (another complaint I saw mentioned). My frosting was snow white and there werer no pieces of black metal or rubber in my frosting. Of course there is always the rare chance you get a lemon and all things are possible when there are moving parts involved...exchange it if this happens.
Trust me...you WILL NOT BE SORRY you purchased this mixer!!!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CHICAGO
Date:March 21, 2014

RETURN THIS PRODUCT TO COSTCO

"HIGH PITCH NOISE AT SPEED # 6
UNIT DIRTY WITH BLACK LUBLICANT OIL
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2014

a dud

Pros: name
Cons: durability
Model Number: Professional 5 6 quart
"Motor burns out. Doesn't hold up. Noisy, wobbly and doesn;t mix thoroughly. VERY disappointed....going back"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mooresville, NC
Date:November 14, 2013

They sure don't make them like they used to.

Pros: good mixer for the money.
Cons: not the quality of previous models.
Model Number: HD6000
"Let me start by saying this is a good, solid mixer and for the price it's not a bad decision. Having said that, when compared to the 550HD I previously purchased at Costco it falls short. I purchased this mixer hoping it would indeed have a more powerful motor as well as appreciating the additional .5 quart bowl. When preparing a challenging cookie batter recipe that caused my 550HD to shut down (thermal override) this mixer faired no better, actually worse. While both mixers eventually stopped, as the batter became more dense the 6000HD failed to show any increase in speed after selection 3, a problem not exhibited by the 550's AC motor.
Without a doubt I'd have to say the biggest example of cutting production costs is the redesigned gearbox. My 550HD came with literature espousing the merits of the tried and true gearbox that had remained unchanged during all the years of Kitchenaid production. I must say being somewhat mechanically inclined once the access cover is off it is quite impressive. The gearbox on the 550HD would be at home in an industrial application, unfortunately all that has changed with the 6000HD. Is it good enough? Probably. Is it as good? No.
I do like the deeper bowl but don't be fooled by the flared top, it's actually 1/4" narrower than my 5.5 quart bowl. Keep this in mind especially since I've read many reviews complaining no pour shield is available for the new bowl shape. The enamel coating doesn't extend up the underside of the metal base as it does on the 550 HD. A minor point certainly but it is yet another example of cutting corners.
I'd have to say the best thing about this purchase is Costco's exceptional return policy."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:January 25, 2014

poor dough kneading

Pros: price
Cons: dough hook is poor
Model Number: 6000 professional
"I use mixers for bread. That's the toughest thing you can do in a mixer because it's so thick. I had purchased the kitchenaid 550 from Costco about a year ago. It had a great design except for the gearbox. It basically grenaded and the blades stopped. As opposed to calling up kitchen aid - I simply took it back to Costco. Love the return policy... I decide to get another one and cross my fingers - but it's now the improved model! So, I bought it.
First off: It's seriously half as loud as the previous model. The fit and finish appears to be great. The narrow flared bowl seems to hold the flour in better because it's taller.
The bad: the spiral dough hook design simply isn't nearly as good as the previous design and fails to knead the dough worth a darn. I played with different recipes, moisture content, and finally gave up after 6 weeks and returned it to Costco.
I then picked up the "everywhere else" model the 600 professional. It's pretty close to the original 550 - at a more substantial price point though. Happy with that unit.
So, if you're simply mixing mashed potatoes, cake batter and cookie dough - this mixer works great. My only complaint is the dough hook design."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2014

Std KA Ice Cream Attachment Doesnt Fit This Model

Model Number: KSM6573CER2
"I am mostly happy with this mixer, however, when I tried to make ice cream and purchased the seemingly adaptive KA ice cream attachment, it doesn't fit this specific model and none of the product literature indicates this. They have to send you an additional attachment (7-10 days) in order to use this so call them first."
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Juneau, Alaska
Date:October 19, 2013

Kitchenaid blew up

Pros: pretty colors and top hinge doesn't work loose
Cons: no spring hard to find right size accessories, extremely noisy hot to touch harder to clean, poor quality motor
Model Number: 6 Qt. Mixer
"I had my white standard KitchenAid for 21 years and it has always been a workhorse. No problems!
Darling husband bought me a 6 qt. red one from Costco for Christmas. I tried to talk him into returning but he insisted....
10 months later...the noisy, wiggly new KitchenAid blew while I was kneading bread (8 cups flour). So very very sad that I passed my old one onto someone else.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:September 5, 2012

Love it!!

Pros: deep bowl, quiet
"Bought this to replace my existing 5 qt commercial KA mixer purchased from a restaurant supplier. Looked at the 6 qt from BB&B, but chose this one and couldn't be happier. This is the same size as my 5 Qt, but with a taller bowl! Now my old bowl fits, so I have a spare and the old whisk and paddle work on this new mixer. The last time I upgraded ( I am a baker) none of my accessories fit the new machine, so this is a BIG deal. I much prefer a deeper and taller bowl to the wider 6 qt bowls found elsewhere - less splash out, better for small quantities. New mixer is very quiet, stir speed is very gentle. Love it!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:September 30, 2013

Upgraded mixer

"I'm not sure why people are saying this has a smaller motor than the 6 quart kitchenaid mixers sold elsewhere. It has a larger motor, it has a 1hp motor =766 watts, which is more than the typical 575 watt. Our older smaller kitchenaid motor burnt out (5.5 quart & .75 hp motor), so we recently upgraded. So far so good. It is quiet to. Best thing about costco, if it breaks you can return!"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Durango, CO
Date:November 18, 2013

Great mixer

Pros: great color, wide rage of speeds, not to loud, easy to clean
Cons: hard to add ingredients while mixer is running
"I'm surprised at all the negative reviews about this mixer. I've had mine for 2 years and I LOVE it! I'm not a professional cook, but I'd say I use it about twice a month, more around the holidays and it does just fine for me. I've had no issues with the machine getting hot or motor burning out. I've never made bread in it though. Overall I love my Kitchenaid and I would recommend it to anyone who likes to cook! I did a lot of research and you can't beat the price either."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cranberry Township, PA
Date:February 22, 2014

Many attachments do not fit

Pros: it is a kitchen-aid and is solidly built
Cons: cost (including other items necessary to buy), lack of disclosure regarding limitations
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"Worst Costco purchase I have ever made. Many standard attachments do not fit this model. Flared bowl causes many issues. Had to buy $100 worth of new stuff (new bowl, primarily) to match this. Not worth the money. Should have bought it on sale elsewhere. Costco does a good job of providing somewhat unique items, but this product will cost you more in the long run."
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MILitary everywhere is home
Date:June 6, 2012

Love it

Model Number: KSM6573ccu1
"I read the reviews and after buying the product i had a problem trying to find out what accessories would work with it (Not Attachment there mostly universal to all) but bowls and lids beaters ECT but the model number is not referenced so i found through kitchen aid if you purchase the bowl KN25PBH then all the KG25 model number items work with that bowl and this mixer with is a huge help if you want the extras currently I'm told the accessories in the box is all you can use with the mixer as is out of the box hope this is helpful I was also told if regular customer service won't help to use ext 20526 to get help. I love the mixer itself and can't wait to explore it full potentual"
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:July 18, 2012

Great mixer

Pros: what can't it do
Cons: no pouring shield
Model Number: Professional 6000hd
"This is a great mixer but it doesn't have a puoring shield. Got the regular 6 qt. shield and it doesn't fit. the lip of this bowl flares out . Called Kitchenaid and they said that they don't have a shield yet, that this is a new model."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pullman, WA
Date:May 6, 2012

Powerful and Quiet

Pros: quiet, powerful, sturdy, beautiful
Cons: too deep of a bowl
"I love this mixer. The silver is gorgeous. It is very powerful and surprisingly quiet! I have kneaded bread dough multiple times with no problem. It is very well-made and sturdy, and it does not crawl on my counter. The bowl seems to be a little too deep, but it is not a deal breaker :)"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:January 7, 2014

Great value, but lacks available accessories

Cons: accessories are expensive especially a new bowl
"Love this mixer! But after reviewing and researching (needless to say several returns of accessories) found that the bowl is a "custom flare" for Costco only. THERE ARE NO POURING SHEILD NOR RUBBER EDGE BLENDER available for this bowl. You HAVE TO buy another bowl (which is another $60) to even get those extra accessories to fit. Called Kitchenaid and they do not plan on making either of these items for this bowl. Was also informed that they would not offer any discounts or help on solving this matter. Basically customer service is NON EXISTENT! For the price, I feel that they should offer the consumer another bowl at a reduced rate especially after paying $$$ for this machine and all the other fun gadgets."
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 6 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 23, 2014

Depends on what you "knead" it for . . .

Pros: its pretty
Cons: not built for making bread :-(
Model Number: KSM6573CER
"If you're into making bread, I think you need to look further. I just got this for Christmas and the third time I made my 8 cup whole wheat bread recipe, it stopped working. I have only used it 5 times total!! The other times I made dough, I noticed it warm up, but it seemed fine.
I'm sure it's awesome for cakes and cookies and lighter mixing.
Kitchen Aid has offered to replace it with a refurbished unit, so "yay!" for their customer service. But I'm sure it's just going to happen again. Their agent told me it should only knead for two to three minutes!? I'm thinking I just need a Bosch."
1 2 3 next>>