Customer Reviews for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras

Remote Monitoring via iPhone, iPad Android, Blackberry and more
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
21 of 26(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Review 1 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Van Nuys
Date:June 18, 2012

Such a sense of security now!

"This product was easy to install, easy to get up and running, it's just easy for an old lady to fall in love with. Phone support is impeccable and pretty much always available, except apparently on the Sabbath. Which I can only respect, although that's usually my day to get everything done (lol!). I get emails and know when the mailman, the gardener, the homeless man, local dogs and cats and everybody else has paid me a visit. Good quality photography even in pitch dark. And it's taken some pretty good pictures of me too. Very happy with this product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012

Nice system.. but

Pros: power integrated wiring, iphone app
Cons: camera image distortion, no pan/zoom
"I bought this for monitoring our house. Overall it is a really good value especially if you look at the cost of a single pro-580 camera replacement. I like the fact that it is not wireless and that the cables include integrated DC power for the cameras. Running power out to wireless camera's is not something I wanted to do.
Don't buy this thinking you're going to get it setup in an hour or two. Depending on where you place the DVR and where your camera's are, the lion's share of the work is going to be running wires and mounting cameras. I have a very high roofline and ran my wires in the attic. If you live in a single level house with room to work in the attic or crawl space, your job will be much easier.. make sure to measure out how far your wire runs are. 60 feet of cable runs out quickly! You can order 100' footers but I'd think your video quality might deteriorate.
DVR setup was fairly easy. I did not use UPNP on the network because the Internet had a lot of evil people and you should setup port forwarding (which is not the best but better) on your Internet router. Look on utube for videos on how to do it if you need to.
Internet access especially via web browser can be problematic. The Swannview app for iphone works really good. I need to try some of their other fat client apps to avoid all the nightmarish browser related problems.
I am experiencing washout due to sunlight on one of my camera's. It is not pointed at the sun so I'm perplexed. I sent a note to Swann.. we'll see what they say."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco TX
Date:June 27, 2012

Best Surveillance Package for the $

Pros: customer service
Cons: none
Model Number: SWDVR-42550H
"This is my second system; got one last year for the house, this time around bought one for the business. Customer Service is great, had difficulty in setting up remote monitoring, lady @ CS used LogMeIn to set it up in no time, plus they are now offering their own Swann DNS Services to solve the Dynamic IP address situation. Since its sold by Costco, and for the price, I truly believe its a must-have, great deterrent at either places, every house owner should install one, think about it, you can monitor your home from work, on the road, on vacation, on your smart phone, that’s peace of mind. Thank You Swann & Costco for a great item!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:June 27, 2012

Poor Image Quality

Pros: easy basic set up. 2 stars, reachcd tech support quickly. 1 star, arrived quickly. 1 star
Cons: poor image quality. -1 star
"Easy to set up (though I haven't attempted the networking part).
I got this yesterday, plugged it in and was underwhelmed by the quality of the image. It was after hours so I didn't call Swann.
Now I just got off the phone with tech support which were easy to get in touch with... hence my rating.
They had me adjust the focus manually but even at it's sharpest I'd be hard pressed to pick any real details out of an image.
I'll be returning this and trying to find a set up that has a better camera with a clear image."
Review 5 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Castro Valley, CA
Date:June 29, 2012

Good value, works well

Pros: decent quality, easy to set up if you have 1/2 a brain
"Good basic system, could not beat the price. Like the ability to add more cameras. Installation was easy for me, and should be easy for anyone with any basic skills. Cameras provide adequate images. If you want better, pay up and add better cameras. DVR has plenty of horsepower for my needs."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Napa Valley, CA
Date:June 29, 2012

Great picture and excellent support

Pros: excellent value, easy to set up
Cons: no chrome support, does not work with kindle fire
Model Number: DVR4-2500 Alpha
"High quality remote DVR with top line features. Generally easy set up but issues in remote viewing setup. The good news is superb tech support from Swann resolved the problems quickly, Thanks Yves at Swann.
Be careful of supported remote viewing devices. Does not support all models of Blackberry and only works with Internet Explorer which is a problem for confirmed Chrome users. Overall, a great product.
"
Review 7 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2012

Best Security System

"Initial setup I have problem but with the Swann technical support and I get it running picture is clear"
Review 8 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 30, 2012

Good Simple Security System

"We just needed a simple security system for around our house. Picture quality is great during the day and night. Not too difficult to install and works well with iPhone, iPad, and iMac."
Review 9 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:July 2, 2012

Didn't work out

"Item was delivered within 5 days. Nicely package and easy to understand instructions.
Reading the instructions first I found out that the software is not Mac compatable and I would either have to hook it up to a TV or buy a computer monitor for it.
I returned it to my local Costco with no issues.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland Ohio
Date:July 2, 2012

Great Deal

Pros: great price
Cons: swann's tech supprt
Model Number: 654791
"You get the whole system for the price of the cameras. Sets up easily. Fairly intuitive software. Do your self a favor and spend some time to figure it out. Thats way faster than waiting on Swann support to read you a page from the poor manual.
I may buy a second system just for the add on cameras.
"
Review 11 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 3, 2012

Works Well For the Money

Pros: easy to use, works as advertised, complete system, low price
Cons: file format is non standard
"For the money it is good. The cameras are actually a higher resolution than most systems. It is nice that you can use Mac or PC because you can use a web browser to log in or hook it up to a TV. I am using the iPhone app for remote viewing and so far everything is working as advertised. My only complaint is that after downloading a video file it is in a container less .264 video file not to be confused with an h264 file. It come with software to convert that file to a .avi but that software is only PC compatible. It come with a video player for Mac but not a converter. for the money this system is a good buy."
Review 12 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:July 4, 2012

So so software, so so cameras

Pros: low cost, camera smaller than q-see 600 line camera
Cons: poor video search function, camera ir has center hot spot
Model Number: SWDVK-D14C21-US
"I really did not like the software on this DVR. There is no video timeline to search for an event. You have to know what time something happened and try to find it from there.
I only tried one camera at night and noticed the IR light is not evenly dispersed. The camera has a hot spot in the center. This can cause a face at night to be all white and washed out. I compared it to a Q-See 600 line camera and the Q-See camera did a better job at adjusting brightness and the IR LEDs put out an even light without a hot spot.
Between the clunky software and night image quality I decided to return this unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:July 4, 2012

Decent Hardware, Bad User Interface

Model Number: SWDVR-82550H
"Easy to connect, but the software is difficult to configure and even more difficult if you want to access camera views over the internet.
It should be as easy to set up as a TiVo but it's like using DOS. The menu interface is clunking and difficult to figure out. If you are not careful, you will have it set up to view but not record events, leaving you unprotected.
If you go away for 1 or 2 weeks and later want to back up the recorded events, there are only 2 ways to do it. Back up to a USB flash drive, 10 files at a time. For any day, there could be over 250 files! That's a lot of menus and transfers to click through. The other way is to transfer one file at a time directly to your computer over your network. There really should be a "copy entire day" and "copy entire week" option.
I called tech support twice. They were polite but not very knowledgable. Both people gave me incorrect information.
The support site doesn't have the latest information. Tech support said they have new firmware which supports the Mac, but no information online on how to connect your Mac.
There must be some product with a better user interface."
Review 14 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 6, 2012

swan security system

Pros: very clear resolution
Cons: need a couple longer cables
Model Number: 8ch h.26 dvr
"A very good system. cameras are hi res and work great a little time needed to truely understand the system and how it works. An improvement would be to give you 2- 65' cables and 2-100' cables.It would tend to be a better setup with a couple of longer cables.I currently am useing an old computer monitor ,which is good ,but I am replaceing my current monitor with a bigger one and the hdmi monitor has a much clearer picture, though the old monitor is yellowish it is very clear."
Review 15 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WASHINGTON STATE
Date:July 6, 2012

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

"I GOT THIS SECURITY SYSTEM FOR MY HOME .IT IS FAIRLY EASY TO SET UP AND A DECENT PRICE .I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A SECURITY SYSTEM"
Review 16 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fresno CA
Date:July 12, 2012
Pros: cheap on deal and easy set up
Cons: bad quality out of box poor customer service
Model Number: swann 8 channel
"This is plug and play and easy to set up but if you want to monitor the system on your Iphone then it gets a little more complicated. ended up paying my IT guy to do it and he took a while.
Main issue I have is that two cameras were faulty, they had a blue appearence to the screen and would just go to a white screen in the morning after night vision had been on. Swann Customer services asked my to connect direct to power supply, I did and they were the same. I then connected them to known good locations and wiring of the two good ones and they still failed so proved to be cameras. Now Swann want me to start sending cameras back for repair. I asked for new ones first but they would not do it so the whole thing is going back to Costco, they can deal with it. Today one camera keeps going to black lines every few minutes as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:July 14, 2012

No Comparison

Model Number: 8 Channel 264
"when I finally got it set up to my needs it seems to work fine. I had some problems understanding how to set up to record only on motion in certain portions of the video, but after to fiddeling I finally got it. Most of the cameras I already had in place, but the ones I used from the kit worked just fine.
The only thing I didn't think about was the spiders spinning webs infront of the cameras at night...they DO set of the recording with their movement, but I guess that's life...just like pulling weeds!
I didn't have anything to compare with so that's why I only gave it 4 stars, but I am happy with it so far. It's about a month old now. But the price was right!
GO get one - if your in need!
Terry"
Review 18 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:July 16, 2012
Pros: price easy setup
Cons: can't think of any
Model Number: DVR8 2550
"I contacted Swann support about a few settings I wanting to change and I must say, I received TOP NOTCH customer service. Setup was easy, unit performs above what my expectations were."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:July 16, 2012

Great Value

Pros: easily view my home on phone and recieve emails., good quality picture, excellent swann support
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Eight Channel H.264
"Works great on laptop and android phone. Had issue setting up DNS because my ATT 2wire router doesn't do Upnp so called swann support. They logged on to my laptop and set it up the hard way in 5 minutes. Excellent support! I had set up Dynamic DNS on SwannDVR site. Tip: you must log on to Internet Explorer as an administrator to manage and review recordings on DVR. (right click on explorer link)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Swann 8 Channel Security System with 500GB DVR and 4 High-Resolution All Weather Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Date:July 17, 2012

Buyer Beware, Quality in QUESTIONS

Pros: picture quality is good if it works
"Out of the box, one of the four cameras is bad. Got a replacement camera with a good turn around time; however, don't know if they send another "returned / refurbished" camera because after a while the screen would go dark. Have this unit for less than a month hooked up and feel like taken it down and returning it."
1 2 next>>