Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator

Features: Stainless Steel   Total Capacity: 25.1 cubic feet (15.2 CuFtrefrigerator/9.9 CuFtfreezer)   Resource Saver™ Refrigerator   PuR® Water Filtration System   Electronic Ice & Water Dispenser with Standard Push Button Controls   Dial Interior Temperature Controls   Full-Width Adjustable Slide-Out SpillGuard™ Glass Shelves   Adjustable Clear Gallon Door Bins   Clear Crisper   Clear Meat Pan   Clear Snack Pan   Interior Lighting   Dispenser Control Lockout   Water Filter "Change" Indicator Light   Adaptive Defrost System (ADS)   Factory-Installed Automatic Ice Maker   Full-Width Wire Freezer Shelves   Fixed Freezer Door Storage   Opaque Freezer Bins   Classic Flat Door Styling   Smooth Door Finish   Specifications: ENERGY STAR® Qualified Energy Guide Electrical requirements: 115VAC, 60 Hz, 15 or 20 amp fused electrical supply is required. Grounded circuit is required. Time-delay fuse or circuit breaker and separate circuit is recommended   Dimensions:   Maximum door height (including hinge cap): 69 3/4"   Cabinet height: 68 7/8”   Depth, door open 90 degrees: 49 7/8"   Depth, including handles: 33 3/4"   Cabinet width: 35 1/2"   Delivery, Installation & Haul Away Installation Accessories: Water tubing for refrigerator- Included   Power cord for refrigerator- Included Delivery is made to the member's home; Quality Express will uncrate the unit and install it. The dimensions of the installation location must be appropriate for the new appliance. If damage is found, the member is to refuse delivery of the unit . Whirlpool Quality Express will arrange to redeliver a new unit. Packaging materials will be removed and hauled away. Location of new appliance must be within reach of existing electrical outlets, venting outlets, water lines and / or drains. Quality Express cannot upgrade electrical outlets, wiring and / or plumbing to accommodate installation. All necessary installation accessories are provided to members free of charge. Example: water tubing for refrigerators, venting for electric dryers, power cords for electric dryers. Item will be connected to: venting outlets, electrical outlets and water shutoff valves. For safety reasons, old accessory items cannot be reused, they will remain on / in the old appliance that is moved or hauled away. Proper functionality will be tested and confirmed on all installed appliances. At the member's direction, old like product will be moved to another location on the premises or hauled away and disposed of. REMOVAL AND HAUL AWAY IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR BUILT-IN OR COMMERCIAL GRADE APPLIANCES. INSTALLATION IS NOT AVAILABLE FOR ANY DISHWASHERS, ICE MAKERS, BUILT-IN OR GAS APPLIANCES. Model: ED5FVGXWS
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
4 of 9(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Review 1 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:May 2, 2012

Great refrigerator

"After many problems with two Samsung refrigerators. I ordered a whirlpool refrigerator and although the design is simple and not as modern as other brands the refrigerator is working beautifully."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:May 4, 2012

The doors are steel the sides are black

Pros: nice fridge, cheap
Cons: black base
"Trouble with online purchases you can walk around the product to get a good look. Also strange you cant find any pics of the sides."
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tehachapi, CA
Date:May 8, 2012

Great Deal

Model Number: ed5fvgxws07
"I bought the Whirlpool side-by-side to replace a 10-year-old profile side-by-side by another maker that didn’t hold up. I was concerned that the frig might be too large for our smaller kitchen. Our new Refrigerator fits great, same height and width and only 2 inches more than the profile and $1500.00 less than a profile model frig. The controls are more basic that is great, we love in the country and have power surges, which was the downfall of the more expensive, digital profile model. This frig has much more usable interior space. The through the door ice and water works great and the finish is true stainless steel and not aluminum like the profile. Great product at a great price, deliver was quick and the deliverymen were courteous, fast and hauled of the old frig."
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:orange, va
Date:June 22, 2012

very pleased

Pros: black sides
Cons: haven't found one yet
"After 32 years of faithful service. My old gold colored side-by-side refrigerator was limping on its last leg. I reviewed many refrigerators and had to return to whirlpool. I am very pleased with costco delivery, haul away, and installation. The delivery team were very courteous and efficient. I especially like the black sides and stainless front. It was delivered yesterday and all is going well. My grandson was napping while the refrigerator was brought in and he woke up anxious to see the new refrigerator. Alot of uhs and ahs. I guess he approves."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:July 16, 2012

Worst refrigerator ever

Pros: pur water filter - clean good tasting water
Cons: ice dispenser
Model Number: ED5PVEXWS
"Ice maker dispenser hangs constantly. Augur replaced at cost of $150 after 13 months (conveniently out of warranty). Now it is hanging again. Ice crush feature has never worked."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 1, 2012

Buyer Beware

"I'm not sure if we just got a "lemon" but i wanted to warn others about a few flaws we have with this fridge.
1. This unit has wheels on it-which at first glance seems like a great idea-but they have NO locking mechanism. Even with food filled in the fridge, every time we open the doors, the fridge slides out several inches out of its space. I'm not talking a tiny bit, but like 4 inches so that we have to constantly physically push it back into place. Very annoying!
2. The door handle will occasionally lift completely off when we go to open the fridge. Nothing like having a huge long handle fly back at you when all you wanted to do was get a drink.
3. The doors spring mechanism is such that even when you give the fridge door a good push to close, the doors will spring open! On my old fridge you barely have to use any force to close the door, but with this one you have to slam it shut to get it to close all the way. Another very annoying feature.
Whirlpool was not helpful in resolving these issues and there is no way I will live with a fridge with these flaws. So...it's back to Costco I'll go to work on an exchange or refund.
I almost never write reviews, but I felt like I had to warn people about the troubles we've had. Pros are that the fridge is very nice looking and it does a good job keeping everything cold."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 17, 2012
"While this refrigerator looks nice enough, I have never seen any appliance that shows so many fingerprints and smears, just from barely touching it, just by opening the door, getting ice or water."
Review 8 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno CA
Date:September 4, 2012

Outstanding experience

Model Number: 654724
"Promptly delivered, about 10 days ahead of schedule.
Gently handled by polite, knowledgeable people who took time to demonstrate the features.
This beautiful appliance easily met our expectations for appearance and usability.
"
Review 9 for Whirlpool® 25.1CuFt Side by Side Refrigerator
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:September 25, 2012

Returned in Less Than 1 Week

Pros: keeps food cold
Cons: poor delivery/service, fingerprints galore
"The "fingerprint" comment made by another reviewer is very accurate but didn't dissuade me from purchasing. Neither did the ice-maker problems reported.
The problems I had were more due to the delivery company chosen by Whirlpool than the actual unit. A comedy of errors left me without an ice-maker (although I had an ice-maker previously) and in a sour mood.
I called Whirlpool and they told me to call Costco and I did -- to return it.
(I LOVE Costco but this transaction didn't go well.)"