Customer Reviews for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer

Print/Copy/Scan/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
8 of 11(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Palma, CA
Date:June 14, 2012

Great Color all-in-one

Pros: print/copy/scans all-in-one, great color prints, quiet, best color laser for the cost
Cons: not mac os compatible
"After looking around and doing some research of MFP's (all-in-ones) I decided to buy this Oki MC160 because it could do everything I needed.
The color is great, and the print speed is good for my small office (4ppmc, 20ppmb/w). To keep costs low, I especially like how I can use standard copy paper to print on (instead of a special laser paper), and everything prints great.
The nice and small compact size is also great, and takes up less space then the Brother that I previously had. It is also very nice and quiet, where I can even continue conducting phone calls as it is printing.
I also went for the black cartridge add-on for a $10 savings, since I do a lot of blk/wht printing.
I will probably be buyng another for my college bound student."
24 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:June 28, 2012

Good Value from a color Laser MFP

Pros: good quality color/bw prints, scanner quality good, great value for the price, scanner software seems decent
Cons: pain setting up, duplex is optional, usb stick limited to 4gb, no built in wifi support
Model Number: OKI MC160
"I went for this model purely for the value it offers as a color Laser MFP at this price point. Considering my usage is low, wanted to get a laser printer over a inkjet printer as many had expressed concerns in the ink catridges drying up.
The model looks good even though it is all white. Setup was a pain because the CD did not have relevant drivers. Plugging in the USB cable in to the PC installed the drivers from windows update but they don't seem right as specifically the scanner software did not work with it. As others mentioned, I explicitly downloaded the drivers from the OKI site after which things looked fine.
I could not scan to the USB stick as the USB stick was > 4GB capacity. If I scanned multiple documents continuously at the highest quality level, the PC looses connection with the scanner and then I have to reset the printer. Even at the lowest quality level, the scanned output is very good but the file size is still high.
I have not tried the fax/copy options yet. But overall this seems to be a good buy considering the value that Costco offers on this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:June 17, 2012

Good buy but depends on your needs

"This printer comes as a bundle and compact full of goodies with decent quality prints and scans and a convenient fax.
The printer does not come with a tray loading paper tray but rather it opens and sticks out about five inches.
The issue of noise is dependent on whether you leave the printer on all the time or only turn if on to print.
If you leave it on, it does have a high pitched and loud noise to it. The fan runs. It did not idle or go to stand by.
Overall a good buy but i returned it due the noise level."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, Virginia
Date:June 20, 2012

Very good color MFP

Pros: good b/w and color printing
Cons: duplex is optional, no cable is included
Model Number: Oki MC 160n
"I purchased this color MFP to replace my Sharp B/W MFP. The color this printer produced is very nice, and it is quieter than my old Sharp MFP. This printer has an option to go into standby/idle mode in 5, 15 or 30 minutes (the default is 30 minutes). This option is in the Utility section on the menu. Once it is in idle mode, it does not make any sound at all. Overall, I am quite happy with this purchase (especially with the price that Costco offered!)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NYS Baby Boomer
Date:July 4, 2012

PRELIMINARY opinion: GOOD value for home use

"I had gotten heartily sick of my old MFP inkjet: drying cartridges that frequently needed replacing (even though I have not used the machine), its smearing copies, and its problematic auto document feeder. I have an old laser 5P that just keeps on working flawlessly. I concluded that for my infrequent home printing, I needed another laser printer. This deal on the MC160n seemed irrestible since I realy wanted a color all-in-one. (I heard, but cannot verify that this MC160n model is soon to be discontinued by OKI, and I guess Costco got a remarkable deal on a bunch of the last of them.)
I have not yet tried the FAX, though I have concluded preliminarily that I will not be able to set it up to auto-answer WITH my answering machine also hooked up. (Not a big deal, since I guess I'd not leave the MC160n on when I'm out.)
After reading others' comments, I went to the OKI web site and downloaded the three drivers for Windows 7, 64 bit. I had absolutely no trouble getting the MC160n up and running on my wired network. I guess the trick is in NOT using the supplied disk UNLESS you are using one of the specified (on the disk) operating systems.
Someone else reported that the machine will not print on glossy photo paper. I have not checked this -- I'd rather get my my photos printed much more cheaply at the Costco kiosk.
I called OKI support to get a bit of guidance on how to most effectively print envelopes (see CONS, below). I found the response reasonably prompt and the gent who helped me was obviously a native English speaker who knew a fair amount about the machine, was not simply reading off a script, was candid, and seemed eager to help.
I read some comment from another user about what he felt to be excessive noise. I cannot agree. You can set the machine to sleep after various amounts of time, and when in sleep mode, it seems very quiet, and 'wakes up' reasonably quickly. Even when not asleep, I did not find it excessively noisy, though I could hear the fan.
If you get one, take the trouble to download and peruse the manual. Go into and explore the menus on the machine. Lots of good things there to try.
Pros:
The prints, both color (I rate them as a B-) and B&W (B+) are decent on 'multi-system' 22#, 8.5 x 11" paper. The ADF works well, the scanner works well (though I regret that the supplied software will not output PDF to the computer). The construction seems reasonably durable. The tech support I got was impressive relative to other brands I've tried.
Cons:
This is a LARGE machine, and not a light-weight, though it must be said it's not as heavy or large as other laser MFPs I looked at. I could manage it by myself without risking a heriia. Just make sure you've got the room and place to put it.
The machine's facilty with envelopes is not great. You must remove the paper from the all purpose tray (you could get an auxilliary tray as an option), and move the paper guides to fit the envelope. Using MS Word, I printed envelopes (I only tried one at a time, and had only 'cheapie' #10 envelopes to try) without problem, although they emerged somewhat creased/ wrinkled on the trailing end, especially on the back side of the envelope. The guy at Tech Support suggested trying some envelopes made for laser printing, and also recommended using the 'THICK 2' media setting in the menu options. In any case, I think that the wrinkling I encountered, though not wonderful, will not be a deal breaker, and may be improved by use of laser envelopes.
Bottom Line:
This looks (at least from my early days vantage point) to be a GOOD deal for my casual home color MFP needs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Smithtown, NY
Date:June 23, 2012

Quality Color Laser Printer

Pros: excellent print quality color and black and white, 1 year warranty
Cons: installation takes a good amount of time., the shipping weight is 57 lbs, unit is large
Model Number: OKI 160 mfc
"I first checked that there was a Windows 7 64 bit driver available from the manufacturer and there was. The OEM installation disk is for prior operating systems. The printer and scanner functions installed without a hitch. I still have not been able to install the fax driver. I have a stand alone fax machine so this really isn't an issue for me. If I should need it there is free tech support. The one year warranty including an overnight replacement unit is a real plus."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 20, 2012

Scanner isn't working

Pros: good print quality
Cons: installation
Model Number: MC-160n
"Just got this MFP... Great deal.. I am a long fan of Okidata product. I have Window 7 64 bit system.
Installation process is nightmare. Took me 30 min. to install printer driver. Still working with Okidata to install scanner driver last 45 min, not counting my own effort of 1 hr before calling Okidata. I am returning it to Costco tomorrow....
Print quality is great...at least
It is noisey no idle mode"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2012

Not what I had expected.

Cons: won't print glossy photos
"Installing this printer was very hard. Had to call tech support to download the driver for a 64 bit processor.
Will not print photos on glossy paper, or borderless paper. Will not print envelopes correctly.
Plain paper prints are very good, with excellent color, as are copies. It's good if all you print are office documents.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 23, 2012

Best Value/Price Laser MFC

Pros: highest value/price ratio.
Cons: no linux drivers, weight.
Model Number: OKI MC160
"I'm very pleased with it.
But scanner driver installation is a little tricky, This is not a "one click and works", if your computer skills are basic, you'll have hard time.
What worked for me on windows 7 was adding a new device directly from:
- Control Panel->Devices and Printers.
Instead using included software.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 21, 2012

Disappointed in setup

"I am very computer illiterate, yet I found this to be the most frustrating setup ever. It took forever to find a driver that was compatible with Windows 7 which I'm pretty sure most people are using now. I also did not receive a printer cable in the box, so had to use a spare we had laying around the house."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OKI MC160 Color Laser Multifunction Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:July 5, 2012

Great printer

Pros: fast printing
Cons: none yet
Model Number: MC 160
"Bought for home office but would not hesitate to use in our regular business office. Printing, copying and fax are all excellent. Cartridge cost seems reasonable. Cannot speak to toner usage. Have not used up original cartriges. So far, a solid performer. Much better than the HP ink jet it replaced."