Customer Reviews for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle

Approach S1 is unlike any other golf GPS! Combining a high-sensitivity GPS receiver with a lightweight, flexible black golf watch, S1 gives you distance information to the front, back and middle of greens for 18,000+ preloaded U.S. and Canadian courses. You can measure individual shot distances, track how far you walk on the course, and then use the alarm to get you up in the morning. Approach S1 is golfs first full-featured sports watch and golf GPS in one. Lock In Yardages & Measure Distances Approach S1 will have you dialed in like a pro by providing yardages to the front, back and middle of the green. The sunlight viewable screen features large numbering for at-a-glance visibility. S1 also measures precise yardages for shots played from anywhere on the course. And for those that like to walk, theres the S1 odometer to tell you how far you traveled on the course, or off. No Downloads, No Subscriptions Unlike many golf GPS devices on the market, S1 comes preloaded with more than 18,000+ U.S. and Canadian courses and were adding more all the time. There's no need for subscriptions, downloads or additional set up as the S1 is ready to tee off out of the box. Sleek Everyday Watch S1s cool look belies the tough, rugged, waterproof design. Fitted for course playability, S1 also functions as an everyday watch. There's an alarm, rechargeable lithium ion battery and S1 sets it's time and time zone Zippered Case No more sifting through the contents of a gym bag or backpack looking for your Garmin Approach S1 watch. It features a mesh top for ventilation and end loop for attachment options. Great for keeping it all together when you travel.   High Sensitivity GPS Receiver Provides precise yardage to front, back & middle of green w/1 quick glance   Calculates precise yardage for shots played from anywhere on the course   Packed with 18,000 courses   Ready to use out of the box   Odometer tells the user how far they traveled on the course or off   Designed for use as an every day watch w/alarm, rechargeable li-ion battery & automatic time zone recognition   Rugged waterproof design up to 1 M (Ipx7)   USB interface   Conforms to USGA/R&A Rules   Rechargeable Li-Ion Battery: Up to 3 weeks watch mode, up to 8 hrs GPS mode   Zippered case holds Approach S1   Mesh top for ventilation   End Loop for attachment options Model: GRM0093200KIT
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Review 1 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Neck of Virginia
Date:July 12, 2012

Worked great out of the box!

Pros: easier to use than stand alone units.
"This gem worked perfectly. Found my course at once and started giving me my distances. Then it tracks progress with no further adjustment. Large print makes reading it on the course easy. My only problem is/was it will not hit the ball for me!"
Review 2 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:August 1, 2012

GPS Watch

"Product is exactly as advertised. Gives relatively accurate distances to back, middle and front of green. Very convenient. Just look at the distance shown on wrist. No wasted time."
Review 3 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:August 9, 2012

If you're serious about the game . . .

"then you definitely need to pick up this golf watch. Instead of lugging around the sky caddies that are the size of a smart phone . . . this watch is the ultimate in convience in putting yourself in the right position by selecting the right clubs on any position on the golf course....
this watch automatically saved me 6 to 9 strokes each round.
The only bad thing about this watch is the battery life... probably last a total of 7 hour so don't rely on it for a full 36 rounds!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Basking Ridge, NJ
Date:August 30, 2013

Happy with my purchase!

Pros: very easy to learn and use.
Cons: have to click on gps at times to show current hole
"I caddy at Plainfield Country Club in NJ and for the first time invested in a tool that can quickly help me provide critical yardage information to the folks that I caddy for.
This GPS tool provided by Garmin has really helped me do my job more effectively and quicker than just referring to fairway markers, etc."
Review 5 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:March 22, 2012

Love this GPS/Watch!!!!

Model Number: S1
"I've been using the Approach S1 for three months and love it!!! It's simple to use, provides the basic features I need, doesn't require any course downloads, and doesn't have any annual fees!!!
Just take it out of the box, head for a golf course and it's ready to use!!! And it's a Garmin!!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redding, CT
Date:June 23, 2012

Fantastic

"When I purchased this unit I had my reservations about how well it would work and if the courses I play would be loaded. After the first time out I was hooked. We played a little 9 hole course that I didn't know exsisted. This thing had it loaded. Just turn it, wait for satilites to get aquired and that's it. It updates every hole. Fantastic"
Review 7 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas , Texas
Date:March 30, 2012

Best golf watch ever

Pros: great bracelet
Cons: need charging after 8 hours of use on the course, if u play 36 holes
"My friend uses a scope and every time I've stood beside him my watch is usually same or 1 yard difference it is super at how practical this watch is. Would not be without it,works anywhere you stand on the course. The best thing to happen to golf"
Review 8 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:August 7, 2012

Worked like a charm

Model Number: S1
"The Garmin GPS Watch arrived one day before a major golf outing to a course never seen by me. It worked right out of the box and delivered accurate and helpful info re. distances to front, back, and middle. It is much more convenient than a hand-held device and doubles as a watch when not on the course."
Review 9 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:July 24, 2012

Accurate, easy to use

Pros: accurate easy to read
Model Number: S! Golf GPS
"Bold print and easy to use menu. Odometer is used for walking, biking, and hiking as well as golf. Quick charge, but need to be careful that the 4 charging terminals are properly connected. Used twice for golf, and have compared watch distances to golf course marked distances--right on. Very quick GPS connect."
Review 10 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 13, 2013

Love my Garmin S1!

Pros: huge course selection built in
Cons: once you start using it you can't go back!
"The Garmin S1 has taken several strokes off my game and made me more confident in my club selection. It is really unnecessary when I am over 200 yards from the pin, as long as there are no lateral hazards between me and the pin. Laser range finders have an advantage there since they allow for better estimation for lay-ups and other course management. However, inside 150 yards, this tool is magic! I have good control over my short clubs and the difference between 72 and 65 is a different club, for example. I love my Garmin S1 for the confidence it gives me with my short game. It only gives straight-line distance from you to the green, so you get no help with dog legs and hazards. This tool is like golf crack--once you start using it, you NEED it. I keep it in my car at all times, with the auto charger, just in case I might play."
Review 11 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:D.C. Maryland area
Date:September 15, 2013

Easy to Use

"Must remember to turn off after using. Not a lot of battery life, but that is ok."
Review 12 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2012

Very helpful, easy to use

Pros: easy to use, easy to read
Cons: limited battery life, charger connection
"I have been using one of these since Christmas. It is easy to use, easy to read, lightweight, and the band really stays put on my wrist (the buckle is very secure). It is simple enough that you don't have to mess around with an instruction manual, and because it is with you, you don't forget it and leave it in your bag. My only gripes are that the battery life is a bit short, and the charging attachment is a bit tricky to get an electrical charging connection--it's like a clothespin and you have to line up 4 little pins just so or it won't charge. I have a different Garmin GPS watch that snaps into a foolproof charger, and wonder why they came up with this fiddly design."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Haven , Ct
Date:May 7, 2012

Good Golf GPS

Pros: simple
Cons: watch band looks weak
Model Number: Garmin Approach S1
"Good golf GPS and pedometer, works great on the three courses that I played."
Review 14 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:August 7, 2012

Golf GPS

Model Number: Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch
"Works fine. It is fairly intuitive. Some times I have a little difficulty aligning the contacts with the contacts on the charger, but it is not a big deal. I really like it."
Review 15 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:March 27, 2012

It's the best Golf GPS...

"I have been using 2 different kinds of golf GPSs, SkyCaddie and monocular type golf GPS but it's the best. It's so simple to use and no need to download or fee at all. Just go to the course and turn it on after 1st tee shot. It will configure everything. Just walk to the ball and look at it on your wrist. That simple. However, it doesn't tell you exact distance to the pin but only center, back and front so it's perfect for some experienced golfer. I bet you will love it."
Review 16 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tracy, Ca
Date:February 19, 2013

GPS for the golfer, awsome

Pros: wear it like a watch great for measure distance
Cons: just improve ease of switching menu button and, multiple functions
Model Number: Approach S1
"Nice feature on the course to determine distance of the tee, but difficulty with distance of shot measured and odometer, you have to push the menu button several time to get it to work, and then it continues to count. Otherwise very nice to have."
Review 17 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:seattle, wash.
Date:September 30, 2013

great purchase...kinda!

Pros: ability to use as watch and then gps for golf.
Cons: one piece design
Model Number: s1
"great gps/watch and is really accurate. only complaint is the one piece design. you can't detach the band from the gps/watch. as a result, the band begins to break down over time and ultimately breaks so that you cannot wear the watch nor replace it. that kind defeats the purpose of wearing a range finding watch. fortunately, costco simply has the best return policy ever so i was able to return it without questions. had it been one of the other retail sports stores i would have been sol!"
Review 18 for Garmin Approach S1 Golf GPS Watch Bundle
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA.
Date:June 3, 2013

work great, but poor quality.

Pros: accurate fast and comfortable.
Cons: quality?
Model Number: Approach S1
"there's no doubt that it perform exceptionally on the golf course. It improved pace of plays by taking the yardage guessing game out of play.
I thought wearing a watch would interfere during your swing but I find it wasn't a problem and sometime i didn't know I was wearing it.
I would recommended only if Garmin improves the quality. It only been two weeks since i bought it but already there's condensation in the display. Sadly i has to returned. i didn't shower with it or submerged it underwater for a long period of time.
beside from the water issue I think it do what it suppose to do."