Customer Reviews for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV

The 70C8470 is part of our large screen premium AQUOS® QUATTRON™ LED Smart TV line. This 70” class (69 1/2” diagonal) model with brushed black aluminum bezel features our Quattron 1080p 3D edge lit LED panel, delivering the most natural, vibrant picture quality with enhanced yellows, blues, and golds. And with built-in Wi-Fi and our intuitive SmartCentral user interface, you can access and download today’s most popular apps or browse the Internet – all without disrupting what you’re watching. Features: 70” Class (69 1/2” diagonal) (62% more screen area than a 55” Class)   Quattron 3D technology   Full HD 1080p   AquoMotion 480   Edge lit LED backlighting   Built-in Wi-Fi   Full SmartCentral user interface with access to Netflix, Vudu, CinemaNow,YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, and Internet browsing Specifications: Screen Size Class: 70" (69.5” Diagonal)   Aspect Ratio: 16:9   Pixel Resolution: Full 1920 x 1080 HD Resolution   Backlight System: Edge lit LED   Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 10,000,000:1   Response Time: 4ms   Panel Type: X-Gen LCD Panel   Viewing Angles: 176º H / 176º V   Tuning System: ATSC / QAM / NTSC   Power Source: 120 V, 240 Hz   Power Consumption AC (watts): 200W   Cabinet Color: Black   Weight: 90.4 lbs. (w/ stand), 83.8 lbs. w/o stand   Dimensions (WxHxD): 62-49/64" x 39-11/32" x 14-7/32" (w/ stand), 32-49/64" x 38" x 2-13/64" (w/o stand)   ENERGY STAR Qualified    Audio: Audio System: 10W + 10W + 15W Input / Output: HDMI®: 4   HD Component: 1   Composite Video: 1   Audio Inputs (L/R): RCA X 2   RS-232C: 1   USB: 2   PC: 1   Ethernet Input: 1 Includes: 2 Pairs of Active Rechargeable 3-D Glasses Model: LC70C8470U
Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
21 of 28(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Review 1 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Dimas CA
Date:May 29, 2013

Don't Buy Sharp

"I bought the 3d version in December and in about 90 days or so I started seeing red and blue lines. I first thought it was a problem with netflix. When I realized it was the tv it was too late to return and I called costco concierge first. They tried some trouble shooting with no success. They got me in contact with sharp. Sharp also tried trouble shooting and again no success. At this time I realized that every time I slightly moved the TV to get to the HDMI the lines would go away. I told sharp and emailed them the video of it happening. They said the would forward it to their engineering department. After reviewing all my correspondents Sharp decided to send a TV repair person who in one second of moving the TV and seeing the lines disappear told me that he could not fix it and Sharp has to send me a new one. After a few days Sharp contacted me and told me they would send me an upgraded one with bluetooth glasses. I told them that I had already purchased extra third party glasses and they would not work with the new TV to which they pretty much said too bad for you. Now I have spent money for useless glasses. Thanks Sharp. So the new TV arrives and out of the box after their own people set it up and connected to my DVR there was no signal so turned on and off both TV and DVR and there it was working. So fine. However that night when I came home while watching TV the new one would loose signal every 2 second to 5 minutes. Ughhhhh!!!!!!! Since I work early and only have mondays off I have not been able to stay home to call Costco concierge or Sharp yet and have been too frustrated to watch TV in my living room for three weeks now. All this after paying over three thousand for a TV!!!!!!! I just want my money back. No more Sharp anything for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:February 20, 2013

A pleasure to watch.

Pros: big screen and clarity!
Cons: too heavy for us to move by ourselves
Model Number: LC70C847OU
"The HD quality and the Smart TV internet connection makes watching our new TV a pleasure. Fairly simple set up and easy to read menus. Though as seniors, we found the 3D caused too much eyestrain. Nevertheless, we're enjoying our new Sharp Aquos TV"
Review 3 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Helena. MT
Date:January 25, 2013
Model Number: LC-70C8470C
"Set up instructions are difficult for a layman to follow when trying to connect to the Wi-Fi."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baden, PA
Date:November 19, 2012

Great Product at a Great Price

Pros: picture quality price 3d brand reliability
Cons: none
Model Number: LC-70C847OU
"I bought this TV last week. I have three other Sharp Aquos models and have never had a lick of a problem so I thought I'd go with another Sharp. After shopping around buying at Costco was a no-brainer as they had by far the best price and you can't beat their warrantee and return policy.
Setup was a breeze. Note: I would recommend not messing around with the video settings and keep the factory defaults, although I did set the viewing mode to movie. Colors are clear and crisp and the 3D is awesome. Much better than I had expected. Others have commented elsewhere that there is a lip-synch problem with these sets. I run the audio through my Onkyo receiver and don't see any issues whatsoever. Because of the 70" size (I upgraded from a 52" Sharp Aquos with I was also very happy with for the past 5 years) I had expected some degradation in picture sharpness. Again, the TV exceeded my expectations. The difference is very hard to tell between the old 52" and the 70". Even the 720p cable signal looks great, although I also run that through my Onkyo which upconverts it to 1080p. Blu Ray playback is spectacular.
WiFi setup was a bit tricky - I had to do it manually because the auto detect didn't work - but once I got to the correct setup screen it was a piece of cake. The firmware update was fast and painless. The firmware update also included a browser, which other reviews I read listed as missing. So if you already own one, get the latest update and you'll have a browser.
There is an identical Sharp model that costs the same but does not come with the two pairs of 3D glasses, which I believe cost around $100 or $125 each. The difference between the two models is that the model with the free glasses has the letters OU after the model number (LC-70C847OU). The one without the free glasses just has a U at the end. So make sure to order the correct model number.
I picked up the set myself to save on shipping charges. One of the things I had read was that you are not supposed to lay these TVs flat. I have a pickup with a hard lid, so flat was the only way I could transport it and I was a bit hesitant to do it. So I asked several people at multiple stores if it was ok to do this and all told me that the newer TVs are fine now, even the plasma ones."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:November 12, 2012

Excellent large screen

Pros: excellent clarity: like looking through a window, 3d is stunning., can get extra glasses for about $50, 2d->3d conversion is quite impressive as well.
Cons: can't think of any ..
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"Got delivery within the week. Although this set is very large it is easy to set up and get started. I run the 3D BlueRay player and Tivo through an Onkyo TX-NR 818 amp that also does video processing. The result is a picture that is like looking through a window even for TV programs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SAN DIEGO
Date:November 11, 2012

FANTASTIC TV, PICTURE, FEATURES & PRICE!

Cons: havent dscovered any yet...except not enough time
Model Number: Sharp 70" Aquos Quattron 8470U
"We have had this tv about a week. Shopped all makes and modesl and brands side by side at several stores. Alsways decided on the sharp 70" after those comparisons. Costco had best value and price for lates model with the most features. NO Brainer! We had it up the same day within an hours or so and fall in love with it every time we use it :)
There is no down side here. Anyone complaining about anything on this tv can be attributed to "USER error"??
There are multiple settings you can use and it is subjective to the indvidual user. We ound Dynamic Fixed setting to offer us the best overall picture fr all circumstances except 3D of course. We recommend you do the same research and comparisons we did. Remember...opinions are subjective and like belly buttons...EVERYONE HAS ONE :)
Get what you like going in and you cant fail. We just found this tv to be the best offered with the features and resolution and picture and price offered today!
Costco doubles your warranty from the factory and gives you 90 day return policy? Who could ask for anything more?
HAVE FUN...Life is too short NOT to !!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:November 8, 2012

TV Stopped working in 6 months

Pros: good picture quality and size does matter
Cons: stopped working in 6 months
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"This unit has great picture, but the TV stopped working in 6 months."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 30, 2012

Great size and picture

Pros: great size and picture
Cons: audio video lip sync, wifi problems - not connecting to access point
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"Bought this unit at costco. I am a little dissapointed with the audio video lip sync and wireless connection doesnt work. Signal drops out really easy. Sharp has to update and correct firmware ASAP!. Please costco contact manufacturer to fix issue.
This would be a great TV if sharp fixed those issues."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:October 29, 2012

Defective

Cons: broken product
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"At delivery at 7am with no light in the room everything appeared alright but by the end of the day red and green lines appeared on the screen about every centimeter. I looked up online about the problem it appeared to be a defective part within the TV. The only good thing about the entire situation was the customer service at the local Costco store. They made it easy to return and get another TV from another manufacturer instead."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laguna Beach, CA
Date:October 2, 2012

Hoped for a great TV...maybe next time

Pros: price and picture
Cons: audio sync and audio quitting issues
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"The only reason I am not more frustrated is that I bought the TV from COSTCO and a good friend is helping me return and deliver the TV for a second time...It appears that SHARP LED TV's have a known audio and lip-sync problem...in two days of owning the TV,,,the audio has stopped completely twice and watching NETFLIX was a very poor experience...the audio would not sync while watching 3 different movies...after reviewing the internet and calling SHARP for solutions, I am sadly returning the TV...loved the size, picture and price but the audio problems (sync and drop -off ) appears to be quite common with SHARP LED TVs.
My only insight is that the Quattron models may be more susceptable due to possible timing issues and video and audio processing timing errors...I am not a technician so only an educated guess here...ATTENTION SHARP MGNT!!!- get the issues fixed with this set so I can enjoy a sharp product in the future-
Best Regards-"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Miami,FL
Date:September 21, 2012

Good Value

Pros: 70", value
Cons: matte screen, not best design
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"I wouldn't compare to Samsung since Samsung is way better.
It's good for price I paid $2699 but still I took it back in 10 days and got Samsung 65".
Previously someone shared settings-DON'T use-it makes picture worse(person might just made a mistake).
I found Dynamic Fixed the best picture.
Still it's not enough of picture day time since it's matte screen
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:September 1, 2012

Great set and apps

Pros: amazing image quality, great internal audio system, easy wifi setup, easy access to all ports
Cons: scary that this set is so great. just can't be.
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"You'll be amazed. Nothing compares. I spent over 3 months looking at different sets at various retail stores. LG, Samsung, Vizio, Sony, Panasonic and of course Sharp. Costco has the best price and warranty. Delivery to my area was sketchy but the people who delivered the set took their time and did a great job. As for the comments about image quality just keep in mind that not all incoming video is the same from different sources. In other words each cable provider, ISP, and free over the air HDTV all broadcast with different image settings. It use to be that most followed NTSC standards but that all changed over the years. It can be frustrating but it is by no means the fault of any LCD manufacturer. I've connected several items to the set and everything has worked great. The only item I found a bit confusing is the digital audio setting. You'll find the setting for bitstream under the terminal settings menu. If you choose not to use an external audio system don't worry because the internal audio system and speakers work great. So far I've only had one firmware update downloaded to the set but no problems at all. Overall a great set."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Canyon Country, CA
Date:September 1, 2012

Sharp is an Awesome TV, WOW this is perfect

Pros: nice black levels, pop picture color, perfect color saturation, very bright color, audio is awesome, the quad2 plus pixels sure pop in the yellow color, true 100% perfect color gamut, 3d works very well, perfect color retention, the best menu ever to use and program
Model Number: LC-70LE8470U
"I am a researcher and I have researched TV for 12 months before I bought this unit. WOW is all I can say. This color is better than I expected and does very well in bright or dark rooms. This TV sure does pop on all colors once you make some settings to the set, which I did and found on the TV forums called AVS. I am all over every forum. This 70 inch TV sure exceeded my expectations by far regarding all the Pro's that I have listed. I am very happy with this TV. I have had this TV for 5 months now and nothing is wrong with it at all. I even like the control that a user has to change settings. Sports never looked better and Blu-ray DVD's will BLOW your min away. I will totally buy another one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:August 7, 2012

This Is A Big Hutha!

Pros: superb color & picture!
Cons: none
"We have had this TV for just a week and we are in love! The picture is remarkable, Set-up was a breez, and we are really enjoying the olympics!
This TV is a real Keeper so Far, 3d Movie ordered and we will see it this weekend... Let's see if it's as good as we hope it will be!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale AZ
Date:July 23, 2012

Awesome picture, 3D works well!

Pros: value, picture quality, 3d performance
Cons: wifi antenna
Model Number: AQUOS Quattron 70" 3D
"Upgraded from a 42" Pioneer Elite plasma set. Installation went smoothly. Picture set to 'standard' works well in my environment. Giving it a slight ding because Wifi antenna seems poor, other devices adjacent to the TV get 4 bars of wifi strength (BluRay player, cell phones, iPad) but TV only sees 1 bar, so watching YouTube or other internet content is slowed by buffering.
TV itself has a great picture. 3D with glasses provided works very realistically. I'm very satisfied with the set overall and would recommend it.
"
Review 16 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 15, 2012

Great colors and 70 Inch is nice.

Pros: brilliant colors and good sound quality
Cons: access to usb port
Model Number: LC70C8470U
"This set has fantastic colors and with a little adjustment it can easily be tuned to your preference.The menu system is very easy to navigate and make setting changes. We were torn between the Samsung and this Sharp. I feel the picture is more brilliant on the Samsung but they do not make a seventy inch tv. We watched Avatar in blue ray today and it was beautiful. You seem to get a picture that really pops from blue ray dvd's, but regular tv programs are not as brilliant on the Sharp versus the Samsung. This set came with 3D glasses that have to be charged by plugging into a USB port on the back of the set. This is very hard to access with the tv mounted on the wall. I was surprised at how good the sound is on this set, most flat screens have poor sound quality. Over all we are very pleased with our purchase. It does take time and effort to mount this unit on the wall, after all it's a seventy incher. When you turn it on it really gets your attention."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Luis OBispo
Date:July 9, 2012

Great Value

Pros: cost, size, picture clarity
Cons: clouding effect, factory picture settings, wobbly when attached to base
Model Number: 70C8470
"Make sure you have a truck or large enough van. I had to measure twice to make sure it would fit in my Honda Odyssey. DO NOT LAY FLAT!!!
Box Dimensions 68.5"x43.25"x9.25".
After doing some research on some forums most of the issues I've read has to do with a clouding effect on a black screen in a pitch dark room. If your lucky like most you will not experience the clouding effect. My set has some form of clouding but it doesn't bother me.
I made some custom adjustment to all my viewing modes and everything is looking as they should. If you are experiences excessive clouding I recommend you return your set or wait for the 945 model.
The 3D is awesome!! The glasses come with a carrying pouch and cleaning cloth.
If you are waiting to make this purchase just pull the trigger already...
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2012

not too pleased

"not too keen on the picture quality. Went with tv because of previous reviews and there is no way the picture can even compete with a Samsung Tv. The guy that stated all the values to change i thought made the picture worse. Dont take his advice in my opinion. I thought his setting were way off."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valencia, CA
Date:May 29, 2012

WOW, Size does matter!

Pros: size and picture quality
Cons: usb port location
Model Number: Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz
"I am not a pro and I do not like to mess with all the settings much. I do like to plug and play. This TV allowed me to do that for the most part with minimal changes. The 3D is amazing but going in and out of 3D is a bit confusing and seems to be a bit quirky. Nothing a simple on/off wdoesn't fix. I have this TV is a VERY large game room and it is the PERFECTY addition and great for watching sports as well as playing PS3 games.
Only one thing that really bothers me and that is the USB ports that are designed to be used mostly for charging the 3D glasses. Theese ports are not next to each other and are places in terrible spots that make connecting the glasses difficult even with a top of the line articulating wall mount. Plan to charg these somewhere else.
All and all I would make this purchase over again if I needed another Giant TV.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sharp AQUOS Quattron 70" Class 3D 1080p 240Hz AquoMotion 480 LED Smart 3D TV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

Firmware malfunctions

Model Number: Sharp Aquos 70" 3D 240hz 847OU
"I just purchased and installed this TV, and it does not function properly, Netflix and other Smart Aps ask for a firmware update to the TV in order to launch the programs; however the automatic/over-the-internet firmware update program included in the Sharp TV says the firmware is the latest release. You can download a firmware program onto a USB stick, and update it manually, but that sw is for a lesser quality version of Sharp's 70" TV. I would avoid."
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>