Customer Reviews for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26

Specifications: Screen Size: 42" Diagonal Viewable: 42" Backlight Type: Full HD LED Backlit LCD Resolution: 1080p Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 50,000:1 Refresh rate: 60Hz Response Time: 6.5ms Viewable Angle: 178 (horizontal / vertical) Wall Mount Compatibility: 400mm x 400mm Weight: 40.6 lbs. (w/ stand), 35.3 lbs. (w/ out stand) Dimensions (WxHxD): 39.1" x 26.9" x 9.8" (w/ stand); 39.1" x 24.2" x 1.5" (w/ out stand) ENERGY STAR Qualified Audio: Channels / Speaker Output: 2 x 8w Inputs / Output: RF Input: 1 RCA Composite Video Input: 1 L/R  Audio Input for Composite: 1 RCA Component Video Input: 1 L/R Audio Input for Component: 1 VGA Input: 1 Audio Input for VGA: 1 HDMI Input: 3 Digital Audio Output: 1 Coaxial Earphone Jack: 1 Model: 42K26
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
(out of 91 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
80 of 91(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Review 1 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:December 24, 2012

It's a great TV for the price

Pros: price screen size sound
Cons: factory settings
Model Number: 42K26
"I really like it. It's not the best TV ever, but for that price, you can't find better. Beside the price, the screen is great. it works on HD, 1080...
I pluged all my devices and everything works great.
The sound is perfect. Don't leave it on the factory settings, explore the other sounds options.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:December 6, 2012

Cannot display at 1080P

Pros: 3 hdmi ports
Cons: none of the hdmi ports actually suport 1080p
Model Number: 42K26
"The TV clams to support 1080P over hdmi.
Tried with two computers, Intel and NVIDIA, iterated over all the settings to no avail: at 1080P the screen/text is blurry or jumpy.
One other reviewer noted this issue here as well."
Review 3 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Melrose, Ma.
Date:November 29, 2012

Great Television

Pros: price, picture quality, sound
Cons: rf rgb and ntsc inputs horizontally positioned
Model Number: 42K26
"This is a very good television for the price point. Just retired my 40" Toshiba LCD and replaced with this one. Picture quality is better. For those concerned with the sound quality based on others' reviews, don't fret, you can adjust the sound with the on-screen equalizer. I suspect that the reviewers that were not pleased with the sound did not know that there was an EQ setting. If I had a need for another one of these I'd buy a second."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:November 28, 2012

What A Steal

Pros: - it worked like a charm right out of the box, - i haven't needed to make any adjustments
Cons: - i had to pay shipping & all the calif junk fees, - the shiping carton was flimsy (and beat up)
Model Number: Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
"This TV s/b rated a MINIMUM of 4.5 and it is definitely closer to a 5 than a 4 so I gave it a 5. The picture quality is great and the audio isn't too bad. I'll probably wind up putting it in my bedroom so I probably won't hook it up to a surround system. I don't buy TVs for the audio but this TV is FAR better than most of the reviews indicate. I was pleasantly surprised & I already recommended it to my brother & my son. Go for it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:McLean, VA
Date:November 28, 2012

Wow!!! Nice TV!

Pros: picture quality was excellent!, elegant, compatible to many external devices
Cons: not thin enough, relatively heavy
Model Number: Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
"I haven't been using Hisense for a while. I heard they were not good as good as other major brands. But based on this purchase and other reviews, it's not unsafe to say that they have made some discernible and exciting improvements on their products. With such an attractive price, I would highly recommend!"
Review 6 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:November 26, 2012

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: picture quality, value, placement of connectors, viewing angle, durable shipping packaging
Cons: ?x768 native resolution via pc hdmi --> 1080i
Model Number: 42K26
"I am pleasantly surprised by this TV. No apps/widgets or wi-fi/interwebs, but it has a very nice picture quality, very good color, wide viewing angle (both sides and up/down), adequate sound, plenty of HDMI and other hookups that are well-positioned (don't stick straight out the back, so helpful for wall mounting), it swivels/rotates, isn't too heavy... Not quite a "pro", but the build is sturdy and does not feel cheap. It was shipped very fast, sooner than I expected. The box was beat up pretty bad, but there was plenty of padding and it was protected. I have had no issues like the couple "sound failed" instances others have had since plugging it in and running some video and sound non-stop for 5 straight days. One oddity: plugging it into my PC it seems the native/detected resolution is ?x768. I can up the resolution to 1920x1080, which is the manual's purported resolution, but the picture looks grainy and the "display" remote button says 1080i. So it may very well be 1080p for cable, dish, DVD players (I don't know because I don't have those right now) but my Win7 PC thinks it's only x768 through HDMI. This is the only reason I'm doing 4 stars instead of 5; Still a great deal considering all you get for so cheap with Costco's 90 day return policy. Also, it initially would not display "Cars" due to some kind of error with codecs, but I fixed that by updating my PC's video card driver and now there seems to be no problem. So if you get that error, the TV is a factor, but seems to be easily fixed by updating video driver."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2012

Great tv! Great price!

Pros: great picture
Cons: none
"I bought 2 of these Tv's and couldn't be happier. I have had these for over 2 months with no sound problems."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:madison, wi
Date:October 15, 2012

No sound after switching channels

Pros: price picture quality
Cons: sound issues
"i was pretty excited about it and got it all hooked up. the menu and features were very very basic which i had expected. nice picture quality.
however after watching for about 30 minutes or so there would be no sound after changing channels on the cable box. it's connected thru hdmi. the picture would come up fine, just no sound. the only way to fix it was to turn off/on the tv again. it works for a while then the same thing.
i've had the tv for almost a week now and happens every single time guaranteed. i'm planning to return it and look at another tv brand/model"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:October 13, 2012

Good price bad sound

Pros: price
Cons: sound, picture quality is not what i expect for 1080p
Model Number: 42k26
"For some reason the sound levels change from channel to channel, and sometimes during commercials. No adjusting with my fios set top seemed to make it work. Others describe similar problem too. Emails to hisense got no response. It's going back.
If you get one and the sound is fine, maybe it's worth keeping."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:October 12, 2012

Big Problem with Sound

Pros: nice picture
Cons: big problems with sound - unuseable
"I bought 2 of these TVs and both had the same problem. If they were left on for any period of time (>1 hour or so), they would lose sound when coming out of a commercial. The sound will intermittently go in and out after commercials. It is really a shame because the picture was really nice for this price point. I had to take them both back to the store (I bouth one returned thinking I had a bad unit, but the replacement behaved the same."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SFO BAY AREA
Date:October 12, 2012

Poor Picture-Poor Service

Cons: see above
Model Number: Hisense 42" 1080p LED HDTV 42K26
"i purchased this TV on-line. The screen had green snow. It took me 24 hours of jumping through hoops to get the manufacturer to determine it was their problem. But then, even with Costco's "Consierge Service" intervention, and despite the fact I had the TV professionally installed at my cost, Hisense refused to send a technician out. They wanted me to take the TV back to Costco to ship it to Hisense which was a hassle given I drive a compact car. it seems "saving money came ahead of customer service."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:October 11, 2012

Excellent purchase

Pros: picture is outstanding
Cons: none for me
Model Number: 42k26
"After wasting countless hours trying to adjust multiple Samsung TVs (including high end models such as UN40ES6580F) to a satisfactory picture, it was a huge surprise to find that Hisense simply has better picture right out of the box. It is bright, and natural and requires no adjustment at all (IMHO)."
Review 13 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:October 9, 2012

Great value

Pros: great picture
Cons: no negatives
Model Number: 42 inch 42k26
"One of the best purchases I have ever made. It was easy to install and performs flawlessly."
Review 14 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 27, 2012

Excellent Purchase

Pros: great price picture quality finish
Cons: none
Model Number: 42K26
"This is one of the best TV's you can buy for the price. Arrived in 3 days after ordering. Picture quality is excellent. Sound is also good if you are on viewing HD Chanels."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2012

Very good TV for the money

"As others have mentioned, this is a good LED TV at a great price. I'm not sure why it's left out in the tech specs, but this TV does come with an ATSC tuner, at least the one I received does."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver Metro Area
Date:September 11, 2012

Exceptional Value for HDTV

Pros: exceptional picture quality, exceptionally good price
Cons: no rca audio output, you must balance the ge to get best sound quality
Model Number: 42K26
"I am really pleasantly surprised at the quality of picture that the Hisense HDTV provides; for the price this is an exceptional TV. Using the HDMI input, I attached a 10" laptop and I can stream videos and internet pages to the big screen. There are TWO DRAWBACKS, there is no RCA audio output so attaching an external speaker system must be done via the digital audio output. And you have to use the Graphic Equalizer panel to adjust to HDTV audio based on the room size and distance from the screen. Other then that this is a very good price for someone who wants a 42" LED HDTV at an exceptionally good price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

Great value

"For the economical price, very happy with this purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas,TX
Date:September 10, 2012

Not native 1080P as computer monitor

Pros: good value for price
Cons: not native 1080p resolution in windows.
"This TV works really well. Great picture for TV/movies, and I have not had the sound issues that others have reported.
Wondering if I should purchase a second as a primary computer monitor, I plugged this into the HDMI out on a relatively new video card (high-end, 1.5 years old) and windows reported the "recommended resolution" (native) to be less than 1080p, with a max resolution of 1080p.
I set the resolution to 1080p manually, and there was not much of degradation of image quality except when reading small text.
For the price, I am not surprised that the resolution is lower than 1080p... However, assuming it is not a bug in the firmware, Costco should had been more forthcoming with the display's native resolution because now I feel I cannot fully trust their product specs for electronics.
On a side note, there is also a firmware bug where periodically the TV will skip full initialization, and a part of the screen becomes dark along with no menu overlay. Rebooting the TV fixes this."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 9, 2012

Correcting sound problem

Pros: great value
Cons: sound problem with tv and my cable provider
Model Number: 42K26
"I purchased the TV from Costco on July 17, 2012 and it was delivered on July 19, 2012, which is 5 star service.
I find the picture fine for me, especially at the price.
My only problem was with the sound.
When switching channels the sound would turn off and I would have to turn off the TV or recycle though the inputs to get the sound back, i.e. HDMI 1 back to HDMI 1.
I contacted Hisense and they emailed me a firmware update to download to a clean flash drive and then upload to the TV by way of the USB port on the TV, which I was able to do.
This did not totally eliminate the problem so Hisense sent a technician to my home to install some new boards they shipped to me.
After the parts were installed I still had the same original problem so the technician uploaded the prior firmware fix and I was back to where I was before his visit.
I contacted my cable service company (who I cannot name because of Costco's review rules) and was advised that the problem is that the TV and cable company firmware needs to be made compatible.
If I had known this I could have eliminated the service call which was at no cost to me.
The cable company indicated they were working on making it's service fully compatible with this Hisense TV and advised me it only happens with the HDMI connection and not component connections and the cable company shipped me the appropriate cables at no charge.
My cable company said the picture would be no different and Hisense advised me the HDMI connection would provide a better picture.
I elected to stay with the HDMI connection and wait and see if a future cable company firmware update solves the problem.
Currently the sound goes of randomly, but not that often.
It also seems that the sound volume varies between channels, but not that big a factor for me.
I gave it 4 stars based on the value.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, N.Y.
Date:September 4, 2012

Great Picture, Good Price

Model Number: HDTV 42K26
"Picture quality is excellent, but gave it only 4 stars cause the sound even after custom adjustment was not as good as the picture quality. For my taste, the sound was slightly tinny and slightly weak in the deeper ranges."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>