Customer Reviews for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26

Specifications: Screen Size: 42" Diagonal Viewable: 42" Backlight Type: Full HD LED Backlit LCD Resolution: 1080p Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 50,000:1 Refresh rate: 60Hz Response Time: 6.5ms Viewable Angle: 178 (horizontal / vertical) Wall Mount Compatibility: 400mm x 400mm Weight: 40.6 lbs. (w/ stand), 35.3 lbs. (w/ out stand) Dimensions (WxHxD): 39.1" x 26.9" x 9.8" (w/ stand); 39.1" x 24.2" x 1.5" (w/ out stand) ENERGY STAR Qualified Audio: Channels / Speaker Output: 2 x 8w Inputs / Output: RF Input: 1 RCA Composite Video Input: 1 L/R  Audio Input for Composite: 1 RCA Component Video Input: 1 L/R Audio Input for Component: 1 VGA Input: 1 Audio Input for VGA: 1 HDMI Input: 3 Digital Audio Output: 1 Coaxial Earphone Jack: 1 Model: 42K26
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
(out of 91 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
80 of 91(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Review 1 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoran Desert
Date:June 20, 2012

Great Buy

Model Number: 42K26
"The TV arrived 2 days ago. Easy to set up. For the price (even without the sale), the picture quality is excellent. This brand is very popular in Asia Pacific but the first time I see this product selling here. The extended warranty provided by Costco makes me feel more confident to purchase this product"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 27, 2012

Excellent Purchase

Pros: great price picture quality finish
Cons: none
Model Number: 42K26
"This is one of the best TV's you can buy for the price. Arrived in 3 days after ordering. Picture quality is excellent. Sound is also good if you are on viewing HD Chanels."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver Metro Area
Date:September 11, 2012

Exceptional Value for HDTV

Pros: exceptional picture quality, exceptionally good price
Cons: no rca audio output, you must balance the ge to get best sound quality
Model Number: 42K26
"I am really pleasantly surprised at the quality of picture that the Hisense HDTV provides; for the price this is an exceptional TV. Using the HDMI input, I attached a 10" laptop and I can stream videos and internet pages to the big screen. There are TWO DRAWBACKS, there is no RCA audio output so attaching an external speaker system must be done via the digital audio output. And you have to use the Graphic Equalizer panel to adjust to HDTV audio based on the room size and distance from the screen. Other then that this is a very good price for someone who wants a 42" LED HDTV at an exceptionally good price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 26, 2012

Excellent value

Pros: excellent picture, decent sound, 1 click on remote to change picture mode, 1 click on remote to change sound mode, energy save features, tv looks great and finish is excellent
Cons: tv start up from power down is slow, channel changes are relatively slow
Model Number: Hisense 42K26
"For the price, you can't go wrong with this TV. It is not the best out there in terms of picture quality and audio if you are a videophile looking for perfection.
For the rest of us ordinary folks the picture is excellent and the Audio good. There are menu options to change the sound and video to suit your taste so I really don't understand the complaints on the Audio by some reviewers. Perhaps their requirements are different than mine or perhaps I know no better. I received this TV last week and after 1 week of testing I can say this TV gives me amazing picture and good audio. I cannot tell the difference between this TV and the $1000 TVs sold at stores. Perhaps if you keep them next to each other and compare the images frame by frame you might be able to tell a difference. I have no plans to test this TV in a sound and video lab - all I need is a TV I can sit back and enjoy. And this TV rocks!
This is a basic TV with a great Picture and sound. It has no internet connection and has none of the bells and whistles on smart TVs. But then I don't need those options as I have all I need on my DVD player and PS3. All I needed was a good high resolution screen and this is an excellent TV and amazing value at current market prices.
For some people the following might be a concern:-
- There is no HDMI passthrough for channeling audio back to your receiver from TV programs. You can use a digital out for 5.1 compressed audio.
- There is no RCA audio out for old receivers and no external speaker connections. However you could still use the head phone out to drive powered external speakers.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:kernville ca
Date:July 21, 2012

good value for the price

"good clear picture, good setting options, lightweight. easy to install stand, if you read instructions first. dont let your husband just start putting it together!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:June 22, 2012

Good buy!

Model Number: 42K26
"Good picture quality. Speaker sound is good, not the best, depending on your taste. Please note this product is available online only -- I tried in vain to see one in a warehouse before I placed the order. But with 90-day return policy, I figured I had little to lose. I have not had any regret thus far."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:November 26, 2012

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: picture quality, value, placement of connectors, viewing angle, durable shipping packaging
Cons: ?x768 native resolution via pc hdmi --> 1080i
Model Number: 42K26
"I am pleasantly surprised by this TV. No apps/widgets or wi-fi/interwebs, but it has a very nice picture quality, very good color, wide viewing angle (both sides and up/down), adequate sound, plenty of HDMI and other hookups that are well-positioned (don't stick straight out the back, so helpful for wall mounting), it swivels/rotates, isn't too heavy... Not quite a "pro", but the build is sturdy and does not feel cheap. It was shipped very fast, sooner than I expected. The box was beat up pretty bad, but there was plenty of padding and it was protected. I have had no issues like the couple "sound failed" instances others have had since plugging it in and running some video and sound non-stop for 5 straight days. One oddity: plugging it into my PC it seems the native/detected resolution is ?x768. I can up the resolution to 1920x1080, which is the manual's purported resolution, but the picture looks grainy and the "display" remote button says 1080i. So it may very well be 1080p for cable, dish, DVD players (I don't know because I don't have those right now) but my Win7 PC thinks it's only x768 through HDMI. This is the only reason I'm doing 4 stars instead of 5; Still a great deal considering all you get for so cheap with Costco's 90 day return policy. Also, it initially would not display "Cars" due to some kind of error with codecs, but I fixed that by updating my PC's video card driver and now there seems to be no problem. So if you get that error, the TV is a factor, but seems to be easily fixed by updating video driver."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2012

Great tv! Great price!

Pros: great picture
Cons: none
"I bought 2 of these Tv's and couldn't be happier. I have had these for over 2 months with no sound problems."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:October 12, 2012

Big Problem with Sound

Pros: nice picture
Cons: big problems with sound - unuseable
"I bought 2 of these TVs and both had the same problem. If they were left on for any period of time (>1 hour or so), they would lose sound when coming out of a commercial. The sound will intermittently go in and out after commercials. It is really a shame because the picture was really nice for this price point. I had to take them both back to the store (I bouth one returned thinking I had a bad unit, but the replacement behaved the same."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:July 1, 2012

Great value For Hisense "mid" range TV

Pros: hisense makes good quality mid range tvs, excellent value for good quality, well packaged for ups delivery
Cons: none
Model Number: Hisense 42" LED
"I have had this TV for a month now. This is a great value for what I consider to be a mid range quality tv. For all the comments about bad sound: Sound is fully adjustable on the user setting mode : adjust it and it is just fine the way you like it. Sound volumes differences while channel surfing is NOT the tv but the cable or satellite provider !! The tuner is superb - VERY FAST - no delays - Guide info without cable box is fantastic. LED color modes - again, I prefer my personal custom user setting mode and the picture is VERY GOOD! If you are at all worried, add the Square Trade Warranty for 3 more years of in house service - another great value."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, IL
Date:June 23, 2012

Great TV

Pros: picture quality, sound, price
"Quick delivery--just a few days. We took our time setting the TV up this afternoon and then checked Comcast online for the remote entry code. Pretty simple, overall. Best of all, the picture is awesome--clear and sharp. The sound quality is good, too. Very satisfied with our purchase--and its price!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Melrose, Ma.
Date:November 29, 2012

Great Television

Pros: price, picture quality, sound
Cons: rf rgb and ntsc inputs horizontally positioned
Model Number: 42K26
"This is a very good television for the price point. Just retired my 40" Toshiba LCD and replaced with this one. Picture quality is better. For those concerned with the sound quality based on others' reviews, don't fret, you can adjust the sound with the on-screen equalizer. I suspect that the reviewers that were not pleased with the sound did not know that there was an EQ setting. If I had a need for another one of these I'd buy a second."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:madison, wi
Date:October 15, 2012

No sound after switching channels

Pros: price picture quality
Cons: sound issues
"i was pretty excited about it and got it all hooked up. the menu and features were very very basic which i had expected. nice picture quality.
however after watching for about 30 minutes or so there would be no sound after changing channels on the cable box. it's connected thru hdmi. the picture would come up fine, just no sound. the only way to fix it was to turn off/on the tv again. it works for a while then the same thing.
i've had the tv for almost a week now and happens every single time guaranteed. i'm planning to return it and look at another tv brand/model"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Herndon, VA
Date:October 13, 2012

Good price bad sound

Pros: price
Cons: sound, picture quality is not what i expect for 1080p
Model Number: 42k26
"For some reason the sound levels change from channel to channel, and sometimes during commercials. No adjusting with my fios set top seemed to make it work. Others describe similar problem too. Emails to hisense got no response. It's going back.
If you get one and the sound is fine, maybe it's worth keeping."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2012

Very good TV for the money

"As others have mentioned, this is a good LED TV at a great price. I'm not sure why it's left out in the tech specs, but this TV does come with an ATSC tuner, at least the one I received does."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

Great value

"For the economical price, very happy with this purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington DC
Date:August 27, 2012

Sound issues

Pros: good picture quality
Cons: sound problems
Model Number: Hisense 42" 1080p LED HDTV
"I bought this for my son that is going away to college and the first one that we bought randomly had problems with the sound. We tried to take care of the problem on the phone but that did not work. So we returned the one we bought and bought another one just like it online and guess what! Same problems. I am returning this one too.
We looked at the reviews and there was only one other that had similar problems. What's the odds of getting two?
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV 89134
Date:August 17, 2012

Best Purchase for the Price

Pros: price
Cons: none at this time
Model Number: 42K26
"I also own a 52" Samsung and the picture on the Hisense 42" is very close to the Samsung."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2012

Hisense 42" tv

Pros: picture quality is good
Cons: sound is lousy
"So far so good.I set up the tv a week ago and everything was a snap.Overall the quality of the picture is good with the exception of the sound which is not very good"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ashburn, VA
Date:July 17, 2012

It looses sound randomly when switching channels

Pros: nice picture quality
Cons: looses sound when switching channels, software menu could use more flexibility
Model Number: Hisense 42" 1080p LED HDTV
"I was looking forward to getting this TV after the reviews I saw about it. However, I have been using it for about a week and whenever I change channels, it losses the sound through multiple channels randomly. If I switch input and go back to HDMI, the sound comes back.
I am planning on returning the TV back unless for some miracle it is just a setup problem, which I doubt because I have tried just about every sound setup combination I can imagine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>