Customer Reviews for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26

Specifications: Screen Size: 42" Diagonal Viewable: 42" Backlight Type: Full HD LED Backlit LCD Resolution: 1080p Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 50,000:1 Refresh rate: 60Hz Response Time: 6.5ms Viewable Angle: 178 (horizontal / vertical) Wall Mount Compatibility: 400mm x 400mm Weight: 40.6 lbs. (w/ stand), 35.3 lbs. (w/ out stand) Dimensions (WxHxD): 39.1" x 26.9" x 9.8" (w/ stand); 39.1" x 24.2" x 1.5" (w/ out stand) ENERGY STAR Qualified Audio: Channels / Speaker Output: 2 x 8w Inputs / Output: RF Input: 1 RCA Composite Video Input: 1 L/R  Audio Input for Composite: 1 RCA Component Video Input: 1 L/R Audio Input for Component: 1 VGA Input: 1 Audio Input for VGA: 1 HDMI Input: 3 Digital Audio Output: 1 Coaxial Earphone Jack: 1 Model: 42K26
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
(out of 91 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
80 of 91(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Review 1 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 9, 2012

Correcting sound problem

Pros: great value
Cons: sound problem with tv and my cable provider
Model Number: 42K26
"I purchased the TV from Costco on July 17, 2012 and it was delivered on July 19, 2012, which is 5 star service.
I find the picture fine for me, especially at the price.
My only problem was with the sound.
When switching channels the sound would turn off and I would have to turn off the TV or recycle though the inputs to get the sound back, i.e. HDMI 1 back to HDMI 1.
I contacted Hisense and they emailed me a firmware update to download to a clean flash drive and then upload to the TV by way of the USB port on the TV, which I was able to do.
This did not totally eliminate the problem so Hisense sent a technician to my home to install some new boards they shipped to me.
After the parts were installed I still had the same original problem so the technician uploaded the prior firmware fix and I was back to where I was before his visit.
I contacted my cable service company (who I cannot name because of Costco's review rules) and was advised that the problem is that the TV and cable company firmware needs to be made compatible.
If I had known this I could have eliminated the service call which was at no cost to me.
The cable company indicated they were working on making it's service fully compatible with this Hisense TV and advised me it only happens with the HDMI connection and not component connections and the cable company shipped me the appropriate cables at no charge.
My cable company said the picture would be no different and Hisense advised me the HDMI connection would provide a better picture.
I elected to stay with the HDMI connection and wait and see if a future cable company firmware update solves the problem.
Currently the sound goes of randomly, but not that often.
It also seems that the sound volume varies between channels, but not that big a factor for me.
I gave it 4 stars based on the value.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 26, 2012

Excellent value

Pros: excellent picture, decent sound, 1 click on remote to change picture mode, 1 click on remote to change sound mode, energy save features, tv looks great and finish is excellent
Cons: tv start up from power down is slow, channel changes are relatively slow
Model Number: Hisense 42K26
"For the price, you can't go wrong with this TV. It is not the best out there in terms of picture quality and audio if you are a videophile looking for perfection.
For the rest of us ordinary folks the picture is excellent and the Audio good. There are menu options to change the sound and video to suit your taste so I really don't understand the complaints on the Audio by some reviewers. Perhaps their requirements are different than mine or perhaps I know no better. I received this TV last week and after 1 week of testing I can say this TV gives me amazing picture and good audio. I cannot tell the difference between this TV and the $1000 TVs sold at stores. Perhaps if you keep them next to each other and compare the images frame by frame you might be able to tell a difference. I have no plans to test this TV in a sound and video lab - all I need is a TV I can sit back and enjoy. And this TV rocks!
This is a basic TV with a great Picture and sound. It has no internet connection and has none of the bells and whistles on smart TVs. But then I don't need those options as I have all I need on my DVD player and PS3. All I needed was a good high resolution screen and this is an excellent TV and amazing value at current market prices.
For some people the following might be a concern:-
- There is no HDMI passthrough for channeling audio back to your receiver from TV programs. You can use a digital out for 5.1 compressed audio.
- There is no RCA audio out for old receivers and no external speaker connections. However you could still use the head phone out to drive powered external speakers.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tracy, CA
Date:November 26, 2012

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: picture quality, value, placement of connectors, viewing angle, durable shipping packaging
Cons: ?x768 native resolution via pc hdmi --> 1080i
Model Number: 42K26
"I am pleasantly surprised by this TV. No apps/widgets or wi-fi/interwebs, but it has a very nice picture quality, very good color, wide viewing angle (both sides and up/down), adequate sound, plenty of HDMI and other hookups that are well-positioned (don't stick straight out the back, so helpful for wall mounting), it swivels/rotates, isn't too heavy... Not quite a "pro", but the build is sturdy and does not feel cheap. It was shipped very fast, sooner than I expected. The box was beat up pretty bad, but there was plenty of padding and it was protected. I have had no issues like the couple "sound failed" instances others have had since plugging it in and running some video and sound non-stop for 5 straight days. One oddity: plugging it into my PC it seems the native/detected resolution is ?x768. I can up the resolution to 1920x1080, which is the manual's purported resolution, but the picture looks grainy and the "display" remote button says 1080i. So it may very well be 1080p for cable, dish, DVD players (I don't know because I don't have those right now) but my Win7 PC thinks it's only x768 through HDMI. This is the only reason I'm doing 4 stars instead of 5; Still a great deal considering all you get for so cheap with Costco's 90 day return policy. Also, it initially would not display "Cars" due to some kind of error with codecs, but I fixed that by updating my PC's video card driver and now there seems to be no problem. So if you get that error, the TV is a factor, but seems to be easily fixed by updating video driver."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 23, 2012

ASTOUNDING!!!

Pros: great picture! great sound!
Cons: no cons.
"I bought this television to add to our new home which has two living rooms and it is now being used as our main TV in the main living room. Why? Because out of the 3 HDTV's in our household, THIS one has the best picture, is clearer and shaper than my Philips and Olevia HDTV's and I paid 3 times more for each of them.
I wasn't expecting the quality to be as incredible as it is! It's an unknown brand to me so I was reluctant, but made the purchase anyway, figuring it would be the extra TV for the extra living room. WOW!!! Was I ever surprised! As I mentioned, I immediately moved all the TV's around to the other rooms and made my Hisense TV the main television.
I would definitely, without a doubt, recommend this TV to anyone wanting a high quality clear sharp picture, fantastic color, and great sound. Speaking of sound, I read several reviews complaining of poor audio with this TV, but let me tell you, I'm guessing these people weren't aware of all the audio settings in the menu. I tweaked my picture and sound to perfection.
For what it's worth, I work in the television news business, so I know quality picture and sound. This Hisense is the bomb!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas,TX
Date:September 10, 2012

Not native 1080P as computer monitor

Pros: good value for price
Cons: not native 1080p resolution in windows.
"This TV works really well. Great picture for TV/movies, and I have not had the sound issues that others have reported.
Wondering if I should purchase a second as a primary computer monitor, I plugged this into the HDMI out on a relatively new video card (high-end, 1.5 years old) and windows reported the "recommended resolution" (native) to be less than 1080p, with a max resolution of 1080p.
I set the resolution to 1080p manually, and there was not much of degradation of image quality except when reading small text.
For the price, I am not surprised that the resolution is lower than 1080p... However, assuming it is not a bug in the firmware, Costco should had been more forthcoming with the display's native resolution because now I feel I cannot fully trust their product specs for electronics.
On a side note, there is also a firmware bug where periodically the TV will skip full initialization, and a part of the screen becomes dark along with no menu overlay. Rebooting the TV fixes this."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Home Theater Afficianado
Date:July 8, 2012

Callibration Settings to make your TV look better

Pros: colors seem accurate, headphone jack, sound is better than expected, speech mode helps with dialogue
Cons: could use some white balance adjustments but at, this price i ain't complaining
"After receiving this TV and being a Home Theater nut, the first thing I did was to take it out into the Cave and callibrate it using my Spears and Munsill High Def Benchmark bluray. I'm glad I did because none of the factory settings even came close to a proper callibration.
Using the "user" settings in the video menu, the results were as follows;
Brightness; 50
Contrast; 43
Saturation; 42
Sharpness; 1
Color Temp; Standard
Energy Saving; On
DNR; Off
Adaptive Luma; On
Flesh Tone; Off
My TV is in the bedroom which is medium lit and is dark at night.
As of this writing Costco had sold out of this model. Considering how fast these things flew out the door, I'm hoping that Costco will get more in stock as I have a few friends that are also interested.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2012

Great Deal

Pros: great picture, 3 hdmi ports
Cons: picture lag, weak speakers
"This TV has a stunning picture for the price. most name brand 1080p 42" flat screens are twice the price and this is an LED screen. I love my Panasonic Viera plasma, and I can tell small differences, such as the refresh rate on the Panasonic is up to 600 hz, compared with 60 hz on the Hisense. Occasionally in a fast "action" seen you can see a little "lag" or "pixelation" of the picture, but it is very subtle and you have to look carefully to see. The Panasonic was a much more expensive set. Although Hisense does not have much presence in the US apparently they have a solid reputation in Asia. It has 3 HDMI outputs which is a plus for this price point. Sound is only fair, but plugged into my surround sound receiver it's great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:July 1, 2012

Great value For Hisense "mid" range TV

Pros: hisense makes good quality mid range tvs, excellent value for good quality, well packaged for ups delivery
Cons: none
Model Number: Hisense 42" LED
"I have had this TV for a month now. This is a great value for what I consider to be a mid range quality tv. For all the comments about bad sound: Sound is fully adjustable on the user setting mode : adjust it and it is just fine the way you like it. Sound volumes differences while channel surfing is NOT the tv but the cable or satellite provider !! The tuner is superb - VERY FAST - no delays - Guide info without cable box is fantastic. LED color modes - again, I prefer my personal custom user setting mode and the picture is VERY GOOD! If you are at all worried, add the Square Trade Warranty for 3 more years of in house service - another great value."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cerritos, CA
Date:June 25, 2012

Great Purchase!

Pros: great picture quality, price for the quality, quick delivery
Model Number: Hisense 42K26
"I did a lot of research on-line and in stores to look for new led/lcd tv for my family room. I was looking for name brands such as Sharp, Samasung, Sony, etc....but saw this Hisense at Costco.com.
The price is excellent for a 42" led/lcd. I just need a regular lcd tv and don't need all the bells/whistles. This tv meets all my expectations. It arrived 3 days after ordered. Setup was easy and quick. I'm able to get all the local free HD channels and the picture & sound quality are great.
If you're looking for a value led/lcd tv, it's hard to beat this Hisense 42". Plus, Costco's 2 yr warranty also gives me a peace of mind
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver Metro Area
Date:September 11, 2012

Exceptional Value for HDTV

Pros: exceptional picture quality, exceptionally good price
Cons: no rca audio output, you must balance the ge to get best sound quality
Model Number: 42K26
"I am really pleasantly surprised at the quality of picture that the Hisense HDTV provides; for the price this is an exceptional TV. Using the HDMI input, I attached a 10" laptop and I can stream videos and internet pages to the big screen. There are TWO DRAWBACKS, there is no RCA audio output so attaching an external speaker system must be done via the digital audio output. And you have to use the Graphic Equalizer panel to adjust to HDTV audio based on the room size and distance from the screen. Other then that this is a very good price for someone who wants a 42" LED HDTV at an exceptionally good price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:madison, wi
Date:October 15, 2012

No sound after switching channels

Pros: price picture quality
Cons: sound issues
"i was pretty excited about it and got it all hooked up. the menu and features were very very basic which i had expected. nice picture quality.
however after watching for about 30 minutes or so there would be no sound after changing channels on the cable box. it's connected thru hdmi. the picture would come up fine, just no sound. the only way to fix it was to turn off/on the tv again. it works for a while then the same thing.
i've had the tv for almost a week now and happens every single time guaranteed. i'm planning to return it and look at another tv brand/model"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario, CA
Date:August 10, 2012

Excellent Deal!

Pros: thin and nice picture, easy install
Cons: have to plug and unplug earphone jack
"We purchased this TV to gain space in our small condo and get rid of the huge entertainment center and 10yr old CRT TV. I did a pretty thorough search and other then this TV I could not find a 42" LED flat screen TV for under $500. The TV works great and hugs the wall so we now have a lot of room. My only complaint is that I have wireless earphones and to use them I have to plug the jack into the earphone jack on the side. My other TV had options so I could switch it with the remote, but even with that inconvenience I love the TV!"
Review 13 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:June 28, 2012

Price beater

Pros: good quality/great price
Cons: picture good not best
Model Number: Hisense 42 inch
"We needed a 2nd tv with numerous HDMI ports as well as a VGA port for our security cameras...and this TV was it. Additionally this tv has an earphone jack which many of the newer tv's no longer have as an option.
The picture quality is pretty good, and it takes a few minutes of channel usage to get the sound just right but as a second tv it's just right and you can't beat the price. All in all it really is priced well and quality is better than most you'd need to spend nearly twice as much to get a better picture.
"
Review 14 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SFO BAY AREA
Date:October 12, 2012

Poor Picture-Poor Service

Cons: see above
Model Number: Hisense 42" 1080p LED HDTV 42K26
"i purchased this TV on-line. The screen had green snow. It took me 24 hours of jumping through hoops to get the manufacturer to determine it was their problem. But then, even with Costco's "Consierge Service" intervention, and despite the fact I had the TV professionally installed at my cost, Hisense refused to send a technician out. They wanted me to take the TV back to Costco to ship it to Hisense which was a hassle given I drive a compact car. it seems "saving money came ahead of customer service."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2012

Great Value

Pros: great value, good features
Model Number: 42K26
"I bought this 42" Hisense TV for my parents to replace a 42" bulkier, hotter, more power-hungry TV. It uses 1/3rd the power the old one did, so with the low Costco price it will pay for itself in less than 4 years. Picture is great, and the tuner pulls in the stations with no breakup. (All of the stations are 40+ miles away, with 2 in a slightly different direction. These 2 always broke up on the old TV.) Also has an Electronic Program Guide that is easy to use (some other TVs don't offer that)."
Review 16 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palm Coast
Date:August 1, 2012

Great tv...great price

Pros: picture, price, digital channel search, sound
Cons: lower refresh rate
Model Number: 42K26
"I am very happy with this tv. Great pic and has the capability to search for digital channels. The advantage of that is it will pick up channels broadcasting in HD without having to pay for the service. You obviously get a better picture in HD and I was able to view the olympics in HD because of NBC digital channel broadcast. All around a great TV.This TV also has a sound equalizer so you can raise up the max sound base.Great for me because I am hard of hearing. This is a great price for an LED."
Review 17 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:July 5, 2012

Costco comes thru again

"Costco's buyers expect the best so they can ensure their customers have the best shopping experience. This 42" LED TV is no different. I was a bit hesitant in making a purchase of a TV that was way below market price, especially for an LED TV. I couldn't be happier, the quality of this TV is amazing! The value of the TV can't be compared with any other store, be it a brick and mortar or online. Thanks Costco for hooking us up with this amazing deal! You guys know what we want and expect."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beverly Hills, CA
Date:June 22, 2012

Just AMAZING.......

Pros: price quality great picture & 2 years warranty
Cons: none so far
Model Number: 42K26
"Just purchased this TV couple day ago and it arrived today. The picture is amazing. It is connected to HTPC (computer) and cable (without the cable box) as well. It found all HD and regular channels that I am subscribed to, which eliminates the rental fees from the cable box company. The picture is great on both settings. The speakers are very well done. I installed it in our kitchen 20' X 20' on one corner on the ceiling and you can hear it well on the other side."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2012

Amazing TV

"I received this TV as a father's day present and I could not be happier. As other reviews, I was hesitant to buying an off brand TV, but the quality rivals that of brand name TV’s. It’s been about a month having this TV and HD is amazingly clear. I also use my PS3 on this TV and picture quality is astounding for gaming and Blueray. The only problem I have is that my universal cable remote does not recognize the TV. I would definitely recommend this TV to anyone!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hisense 42" 1080p Full HD LED HDTV 42K26
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington< DC
Date:July 30, 2012

Great product

Model Number: 42K26
"When I saw the price of the TV, I read up on all the reviews made by other owners and bought the unit immediately. TV was very light and easy to install. I attached a plain TV antenna to the unit and was amazed at the quality of the reception. I use the TV frequently to view dance lessons I record on my digital camera. Pictures and sound quality were excellent. I told my brother-in-law to buy the TV when I determined it was great value for what I paid."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>