Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe

Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe

Meets or exceeds California Department of Justice requirements for an approved firearm safety device under CA Penal Code section 12087, et seq. This affordable space saving security safe made by SentrySafe the leading safe manufacturer in the industry. Provides needed protection at a great value.  With the Quick Access Pistol Safe have quick, reliable access to firearms when it matters most. Equipped with compression gas strut that allows for quick single-handed, whisper-quiet entry, the SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe empowers customers to defend their homes and families in any unfortunate circumstance. Safely secure your pistols, ammunition and other valuables. Don’t be vulnerable to theft or unauthorized access to your firearms. Security Features: Quick-entry backlit electronic lock, zero feedback   A compression gas strut opens the door silently and holds it open for single-handed access even in confined spaces   At-the-ready pistol presentation for convenient access to firearm   Pry resistant solid steel construction to help protect against unauthorized access to firearms   Override key for convenient back up access   Steel Construction   Weight: 12 lbs   Interior Features:   Carpeted interior to protect contents from scratching   Interior Dimensions:  2.2”H x 9.7”W x 6.6”L   Exterior Features: Black – durable powder coat finish   Exterior Dimensions:  3.2”H x 12”W x 9.9”L   0.08 cubic ft. Warranty: One year limited warranty Model: QAP1E / Gun Safe
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
24 of 31(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Review 1 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:September 23, 2014

Good gun safe with good price

Pros: nice looking right size easy to operate
Cons: not really
"This is a nice pistol safe I was looking for. Regarding entering the security code, I do make mistakes sometime so I cannot open it in one shot...however an instructor in the gun range told me that he and his wife frequently practice opening the safe in dark night, because under stress, people can become dumb! So you want to make sure you can still do what you supposed to do under extreme and the batteries are working as well."
Review 2 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2014

Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe

Model Number: Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
"Excellent product and functions exactly as advertised. Only downside is it takes one touch to activate the keypad so you can enter your code. If someone doesn't know that, they might not be able to open it."
Review 3 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 23, 2014

Unbelievably BAD battery life!

Pros: very well built
Cons: known battery life problem
Model Number: QAP1EF2000001040
"After 1-1/2 years I found our that the batteries were dead making the safe useless - had to retrieve the key from another safe — not a lot of use if being burglarized! I replaced the batteries and set a reminder to check them in 6 months. Unfortunately they were completely dead in 60 days!
I called Sentry support, and their recorded message said that I might need to check the batteries every 6 months. In other words they know they have a problem. My Sentry Fire are batteries last for YEARS.
When I got thru to customer service, they said the problem is usually in the battery pack and are sending me a new one. ( I tested my current battery pack with a digital ohm meter and could see no problems, so am doubtful this will fix the problem)"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:greater st. louis area, illinois
Date:March 16, 2014

Okay for certain situations

Pros: sturdy, inexpensive, nice full and powerful opening mechanism, seems to safely stow firearm
Cons: false negative input, doesn't allow quick opening
"I bought this for safe, quick and easy access to my gun in the urgent case where I might need it. In order for a great rating, it would need to (a) safely store gun away from children (b) allow for quick gun draw in the case of urgent need.
While it does safely store the gun, you have to "press any button" to wake the password pad up. So if your password is 1234 (the buttons aren't numbered, assume from left to right: 1, 2, 3, 4) then you might have to press 1 1 2 3 4. Not a big deal. However, it doesn't allow for quick button presses. You have to take your time and press each button. For instance, if you quickly type 1 1 2 3 4, it might understand 1 2 3 4; thus waking the product up after pressing 1 then it thinks your password begins with 2 3 4. I just cannot recommend this for my application."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:February 13, 2014

Most Excellent in All Aspects

Pros: heavy and well-built tho' still able to handle, quiet operation!, keeps little ones and big ones both from access!
Cons: tiny nearly obscure set button behind batteries
Model Number: QAP1E
"Well constructed of heavy-gauge steel, quiet operation and super-quick access. I have not had any problems with battery life . . . but I only use lithium batteries in my gun safes. Plenty room for 1911 and 9mm sub-compact."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014

Met My Needs

Pros: solidly built fits well under a bet or cabinet.
Cons: not intended to thwart professional thieves
Model Number: Sentry®Safe QAP1E
"I was looking for a safe to reliably protect things from curious little hands. This safe met my needs. It is very solidly built, yet it is quickly and easily opened... but only if you know how.
I'm very satisfied."
Review 7 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014

Terrible battery life!!!

Pros: it looks good and works when the batteries work
Cons: need to change 4 aa batteries every 60 days.
"Be prepared to change the 4 AA batteries this requires every 60 days -- yes, that's right, every 60 days. When the batteries die, you need to use a key to open it. Good luck when the bad guys show up around day 60 and you can't open it because your key is not nearby."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Celebration, Florida
Date:January 8, 2014

Excellent product

Model Number: QAP1E
"Some reviewers would say that a product is good for the price. This product is excellent regardless of the price. Very well made and operates smoothly. Safe is large enough to hold 1 .380 and 1 .25 along with a few magazines. Great product to make firearms unavailable to children and others."
Review 9 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2013

Great Product, Description fits the bill

Pros: quiet
"Overall, this is a great product, especially for the price. Some reviews state that the safe is not quiet when it opens but I found it was. For a quick access, quiet bedside safe, I don't think you can go wrong with this product."
Review 10 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:October 3, 2013

Awesome... until you want to open it 2 weeks later

"I loved this safe. It fit both my .22 and my 9mm with room to spare for other documents. I dont use my fire arms very often but I was happy to know I didnt have to have a key handy to open it when I needed. But the batteries drained very quickly and I would have to use the key every time I wanted to access the contents. Im hoping mine was just a fluke but it went back to Costco."
Review 11 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2013

Good for the price

Pros: good padded interior with lit buttons, programmable combination
Cons: no low battery indicator, it is possible to put combination in too fast, batteries go relatively fast
Model Number: QAP1E
"Good size, well padded interior. You will probably need to get different bolts/washers depending on your installation. (I put it on a closet shelf). It started taking several tries to open after about 6 months. I changed the batteries and that solved it. There is no low battery indicator so you need to be diligent about changing them. My regular safe has gone for years. If you hit the buttons too fast it won't open. Once you hit the start button the others light up and you get a flashing red if the combination entered is wrong. The pop open feature works great."
Review 12 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, CA
Date:August 24, 2013

Exactly What I Was Looking For!

Pros: very well built
Cons: none
Model Number: Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
"This is exactly what I was looking for to keep a weapon safely at bedside. It's very sturdy and easy to use."
Review 13 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 1, 2013

One of the best quick access safes.

Pros: solid construction buttons are lit transportable, backup key quick access self opening safe door, enough room for gun(s) ammo accessories etc.
Cons: keypad is confused if keys are pushed too quickly.
Model Number: Sentry®Safe QAP1E
"It is heavy and secure. You can take it with you while traveling. Buttons are lit and great for night time use. Door opens quickly with a soft swoosh sound from the strut. Fits my Glock 26 and up to three 17 round magazines plus a 10 round magazine loaded in the gun. First, wake the keypad up by pressing any key and then enter your code. Make sure you enter the code in a deliberate manner or it will not open. You have to make sure each key is depressed firmly and separately for each subsequent key code. Doing it too quickly will error out if you move to the press the next key without releasing the previous key first. Highly recommended!"
Review 14 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glock 23 for home defense, quick access.
Date:February 21, 2013

Great quality, Secure Gun Safe!

Pros: great quality thick steel., quiet nice cam-operated opening., padded interior.
Cons: they included lag bolts - way too long., simple remedy for drawer: use different screws.
Model Number: Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
"Simply a great gun safe. Very satisfied. One quick note: Remember, you have to press any button, as if to say to the safe, "Wake up! And get ready for my code!" In other words, press any button once to light up the buttons, THEN enter your code. It seems that other reviewers have a mental issue getting that little tip... LOL."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redmond, OR
Date:January 30, 2013

Great product

"I have three pistol safes and each functions flawlessly. Price was very reasonable and the protection offered is excellent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:January 20, 2013

Quality is the name!

Pros: 12 gauge steel - thickest out there in small safes, very well built, heavier than most small safes/doesn't slide around, illuminated keypad - very important in the dark!, one handed opening - added touch that counts, brand name item, back-up keys for manual operation, well padded - high density foam, extremely quiet operation, 4-6 digit combo
Cons: cable tether not available like competitive models
Model Number: QAP1E
"This is by far the best pistol safe out there for anyone who wants to secure a weapon from their family/kids while being available in a time of need for fast, easy access. This is how I use it...I keep the safe next to my bed with my pistol in it and the safe open while at home. (I do not have children) When I leave home, the safe is simply shut and my gun is secure. When I return home, the safe is quickly re-opened and the door pops up and my gun is again available in a time of need. The "one handed" operation of this safe can be very important at times. I have made a habit of having the safe and gun in one place so I would instinctively return to that spot in a time of need. The brain can play tricks on us when the adrenaline flows so the best approach is to make instinctive responses the easiest route for the brain to follow in duress.
For those who review this item with "keypad" problems....remember, you must first hit any button to illuminate the keypad AND THEN enter your combo of 4-6 digits. After all, this safe was built for the defender who will likely do most of their "defending" at night...very few safes have illuminated keypads folks. Take this into consideration!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 21, 2012

Good and Safe

Pros: solid security
"I am not a reviewer nor a previous safe-owner, but want to briefly note my recent experience. I am very pleased with this safe. It seems very sturdy, and securely holds my handgun. Programming the buttons was not difficult. Once programmed, opening the safe is simple. FIRST, press ANY button; SECOND, enter your code. THAT'S IT! There is a reason for this sequence: ALL of the buttons light up when any ONE button is pressed. So, if you need to rapidly access the safe - even in total darkness - all you need to do is feel for the safe and press ANY button to activate the safe and simultaneously light all the buttons. Then enter your code as fast as you can and the safe door pops open. This safe is very solid, functions perfectly, and has never failed to accept my code. It has a soft "clank" when it pops open. As someone who has hesitated to buy a safe, I cannot believe I waited so long to do so. The feeling of having protection very available if necessary, but otherwise absolutely safe when it is not, has made my home more secure while reducing the risk of inadvertant exposure to a handgun to ZERO! Personally, I finally tired of loading and unloading the weapon or locking and unlocking it in a closet each day. Sometimes it was unloaded, other times it would be locked, either way, the weapon was out of service. Having this safe has helped me strike the perfect balance between responsible gun ownership and security. Now my weapon is always in the same place, which allows me greater peace of mind. This safe works for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 6, 2012

Worked once....

Pros: price vs. competition
Cons: worked once then never again
Model Number: QAP1E
"I had done much research and selected this unit based on satisfaction with other Sentry products.
This unit's keypad unlock function worked once, then never again. I am returning this item to Costco today."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:December 1, 2012

Good if you don't mind button responsiveness

Pros: solid-heavy duty construction, backup key entry
Cons: inconsistent recognition of unlock code
"I will be returning this product today, but wanted to write a review to inform others of my experience. I was looking for something to keep in the bedroom that allowed quick access. The safe is very well built and heavy. I liked the overall design and it fit my pistol well. The keylock is a nice touch in case the batteries fail. The opening mechanism seems very solid and is quick. Now for the reason that I'm returning it. From the get go I had issues with the buttons registering my input. I had originally thought something was wrong as I couldn't open the safe using the default code the first few times. Trying to run through the code in any manner other than very slowly resulted in the safe missing a digit. I was thinking it was just me, but I had my wife try as well and the best we could get without going slow was about 50%. If you don't mind this issue and you don't necessarily need "quick" access to the safe, then I recommend the product as it seems very well designed. If you need consistent speedy access then I might look at something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sentry®Safe QAP1E Quick Access Pistol Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Orchard, WA
Date:September 22, 2012

As advertised

Pros: easy to open in the dark.
Cons: almost silent.
Model Number: QAP1E
"After having very good experiences with Sentry Safe, I expected nothing less. Very easy to open, even in the dark because the keys are lit, and secure. I wish that I had this when our children were living at home. I really feel safe with this device - in fact I bought two. It would have received 5 stars except that it isn't quite as quiet as advertised - its very close though. You can hear it opening, but not very loudly. It may seem to be so at 2am when all else is still. Still though, an outstanding product!!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>