Customer Reviews for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. ** State law may require sales tax to be charged on the pre-discounted price if the product is subject to sales tax. Product details have been supplied by the Manufacturer, and are hosted by a third party. Model: BD-EM59C
Average Customer Rating:
3.87 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(230 Reviews) 230
(out of 230 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (230 reviews)
5 stars
106
4 stars
62
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
29
149 of 202(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tampa Bay, Fl
Date:June 10, 2012

Good BD player, falls down on other options

Pros: crisp bright image on bluray playback, hdmi cable and wifi included
Cons: allshare only seems to support windows dlna, remote does not have a keyboard for eg webbrowser, documentation lacking, tech support not very helpfull, optical audio output limited in channels
Model Number: BD-EM59C/ZA
"Purchased this AM. Spent several hours attempting to get the Allshare function working with my Unix DLNA Media Server without any luck. I have a Samsung HTC5500 with Allshare that works just fine and I bough this unit based on my experiences. Samsung phone support appears to be based in India, is hard to understand and appears clueless when problem presented does not fit into the script.
(Eg Unix DLNA media server)
Also the enclosed manual seems lacking. I tried for half an hour to find a way to enter a query in the Bing search field or the URL field but was not able to find how to get some kind of keyboard mode to come up. Also the browser is very limited without any JAVA (even though the box has the JAVA logo) and Flash support.
I will be returning this product as it falls far short of my expectations. It's fine as a BD player, but I desired the ability to access my media server and the ability for quick access to a web browser to access my home automation/security system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:July 16, 2012

Do Not BUY!

Pros: it does work., it does have hdmi cable
Cons: interface designed by a 5 year old., difficult navigation makes it not worth bother
Model Number: BD-EM59C
"It sets up fairly well, but with full bars, wifi stalls.
I would recomend to anyone that if they use a wifi for streaming devices of any type, Make sure your router is set to a fixed channel, if it is set to "AUTO", many devices will keep disconnecting.
That said, it is the most assanine interface I have ever seen. What normal thinking adult would put Exit and Reverse buttons right next to navigation buttons? It could only be a moron, Hence this unit was designed by a moron and should not be bought.
If you type in searches, or any lengthly title, and you fingers slightly taps either button, you must reptype it from start. With so many other devices that navigate so much better, it is a no-brainer for me, this is going back.
So not to dwell. slight freezes are not the problem, it is the interface. Get something decent for the money you pay! Mine is going back, I am not rewarding stupidity by beta testing products that I buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 19, 2012

NO ANALOG OUTPUTS WHATSOEVER!

Cons: no analog video or audio outputs
Model Number: BD-EM59C
"There seems to be a trend lately toward lower prices and reduced output flexibility. No exception here; not only does this model have no HD component outputs, it doesn't even have SD analog video or audio outputs. This means that you MUST use an HDTV with HDMI inputs, so you cannot record streaming content to a DVD recorder, record streaming music to an audio recorder, nor capture video/audio with a computer (unless you want to spend 300 bucks or more for an HDFury device). BOO!
The older models at least had standard stereo audio and SD analog outputs; I'd stay away from this unless all you need is digital output. [The only outputs are HDMI and coaxial DIGITAL audio (one RCA connector).
I have a WinTV computer-capture HD recording device that I bought a couple of years ago right here on costco.com, and it would be useless with this player. I guess I'll be sticking with my Sony BDP-BX58 that I bought a few months ago at my Costco warehouse; it DOES have full analog outputs (component, composite, and audio).
I wish Costco would start carrying better models with more flexibility, as these rock-bottom types are now becoming so stripped-down as to be of limited use."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:May 6, 2012

Doesn't acknowledge the newest 3d content

Cons: latest 3d content won't play
Model Number: bd-em59c
"Upgraded to a 55 inch 3d LED Samsung TV and this BD player, only to find some of the lastest 3d discs are not acknowledged by this player, yet. After checking some forums, and calling Samsung, I realized this player will not play some of the Disney 3d content (Cars 2 3D, Toy Story 3 3D, etc) until Samsung updates the firmware. I probably would not have purchased this had I known, and will probably not keep this. The blu rays that are non 3D look amazing. Apps are nice, etc but beware it may not play newest 3D content."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 3, 2012

Comarison Between Samsung and Sony

Cons: poor software lacking hardware features and, occasional lockup.
Model Number: BD-EM59C
"This comparison is between Samsung and Sony models available at Costco.
Samsung Model: BD-EM59C
Price @ Costco: $109.99
Sony Model: BDP-S590/BX59
Price @ Costco: $119.99
The Samsung unit locked up once in a while. It also did not play the 45th anniversary Sound of Music disc. It misled to believe that the disc has problems.
Hardware Issues:
For audio Samsung does not provide optical output and for video/audio RCA plugs were missing. Sony provides both Optical output and RCA plugs for video/audio output.
In Samsung, only one USB plug is available in front of the unit that is convenient to plug a USB memory stick with music or jpeg pictures. However, Sony provides one extra USB at the rear which helps to add permanent memory in the rear that helps to run BD-Live features that also helped to play the Sound of Music disc. Sony provides a front USB port similar to Samsung.
Software Issues:
In Samsung, user interface is not intuitive and key apps like Amazon Instant Video are missing.
Conclusion:
I returned the Samsung model for a Sony and for the extra $10, Sony is way better than Samsung.
"
Review 6 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Greenbelt, MD
Date:June 12, 2012

it's OK

Pros: easy setup, fast blu-ray startup
Cons: loud
"The player does what it is suppose to do. Updates work, smarthub works, and connected to my other samsung products without a problem. The only problem I have is that it is so loud when playing a blu-ray. I sit about 8-9 feet away from the the player and it drives me nuts. Anytime the volume get low, you can hear a constant clicking and buzzing. If you have an entertainment center where you can close the door on this thing, it will be fine. But if it is out in the open, get something else. I am taking this back and trying the LG."
Review 7 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northeast Ohio
Date:August 2, 2012

Froze on every DVD

Pros: price
Cons: didn't work
Model Number: BD-EM59C
"I purchased this to go with my Samsung 3D TV, didn't really need all the streaming and extra features, just the 3D Blu-Ray, but it was a good price. Well, we attempted to watch standard DVDs (which it is supposed to play) on three occasions and every time, about 1 hour into the movie, the unit froze up. I wasn't about to deal with finding out what was wrong with it, just took it back. I gave it 2 stars because I didn't try any other features and they may work just fine."
Review 8 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:October 10, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: none
Cons: does not work.
Model Number: BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
"The unit played 2 standard DVDs then proceed to lock up on DVDs 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9,& 10. Finally gave up and returned it to Costco after a long drive. I should have read a number of reviews prior to the purchase. Several mentioned this problem. The unit has a lot of features that are super, if only the basic purpose would work."
Review 9 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012

Love it

"we ordered one for our livingroom and now eveyone wants one for the bedrooms to so we just ordered 2 more. We love to watch netflix and this makes it so easy! also we like that is smaller so it does not take up alot of room."
Review 10 for Samsung BD-EM59C 3D WiFi Blu-ray Player
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2012

Web Browser Is Too Slow!

Cons: web browser
Model Number: BD-EM59C
"Returned before trying other functions - The Full Web Browser is really really slow, even with the wired network connection."