Customer Reviews for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Warehouse for immediate purchase at the same price. Product details have been supplied by the Manufacturer, and are hosted by a third party. Match your Samsung HDTV with this handsome AirTrack AudioBar. Match your favorite shows and movies to a home theater that truly fits in: the Samsung HW-E450C. It's the perfect match for your 40" or larger Samsung HDTV. Hang both together using the included wall-mount and see for yourself the clean, modern look it lends to any room. A wireless subwoofer rounds out the sonic profile, for booming bass along with crystal-clear trebles. 3D Sound Plus: 3D sound for your 3D viewing environment, Samsung’s sound processing technology, combines its latest advancements in sound 3D-depth sound, Vertical Surround and Horizontal Surround,-to deliver a more realistic 3D experience for a truly heart-pounding, immersive adventure. Bluetooth®: Connect to other Bluetooth® devices. Audio Return Channel: Eliminates the need to use two cable connections. Instead, all you need is one HDMI® connection between your AudioBar bar and TV. TV audio will be sent to the AudioBar and AudioBar audio (from connected external devices) will be sent to the TV using the same HDMI® cable. Features: 280 Watts, 2.1 channel   Wireless subwoofer   3-way 2 speaker system   3D Sound Plus   Bluetooth®   HMDI® Audio Return Channel   Connections: 1 HDMI® input; 1 HDMI® output; 1 optical input; 1 audio input; USB HDMI® cable (included)   Optical audio cable (included)   Dimensions: 35.7" W x 1.8" H x 2.8" D; Weight: 4.3 lbs. Model: HW-E450C
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
(out of 68 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
6
47 of 61(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Review 1 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:May 3, 2012

Not Compatible with Sharp TV

Pros: works with bluetooth devices
Cons: doesn't integrate well with sharp tv
Model Number: HW-E450C
"I bought the HW-E450C for its abilty to act as a sound bar for my 32" Sharp TV and via BlueTooth with my Apple devices. I tested the BT with my iPhone in the store and liked the sound but when I got it home and tried connecting it to the TV I found that the optical audio link didn't work. Testing the sound bar with another Toslink device worked so the problem is an incompatibility problem between Sharp TV > Sound bar.
The wired RCA audio worked OK but the Auto ON feature of the sound bar only works with the digital optical audlo connection, a bit of a Catch-22. Also there was occasional static with that connection which required cycling the TV on/off to remedy. Again likely a compatibility problem not the fault of the sound bar.
So while its a nice product and would probably work flawlessly with a Samsung TV, it just didn't integrate well with the Sharp TV and it's going back.
A suggestion to Costo would be to carry sound bars by Sharp and all the other TV brands you sell to avoid this problem. I bought a Pansonic blueray DVD / audio system for my larger Sharp TV which works OK but not seamlessly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:January 15, 2013

Good Value

Pros: good value and sound for everyday use, easy hook up- use optical sound cable direct to tv
"Great for everyday use for flat screen TV's. This is not a substitute for a full surround sound 5 speaker theater system. This is a soundbar with a subwoofer that is great for everyday use. Use the optical cable for sound to plug directly into your TV so the unit turns on and off with the TV automatically. Easy to install. Works great. Sound is good and sub woofer is good for watching TV and sports. If you are going to watch a movie and want theater sound, then you need to get a 5.1 home theater sound system with a receiver. But for an easy hook up for better sound for everyday use, this is a good system at a good value. I bought 2 of these for two Sharp LED TV's."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2012

Sounds Great

Pros: great for apartments or smaller homes.
Model Number: Samsung HW-E450C
"From the moment I turned it on I was impressed. The sound is super. In music mode I can hear licks from the guitars I never heard before. You can close your eyes and it sounds like you're there. The Cinema feature provides plenty of bass. I did have a little problem getting the sub woofer to work but once I read the instructions and followed them it worked fine. The sports mode, in 3D sound, makes you feel like you're at the ball park. I am very happy I bought it and would recommend it to anyone thinking about buying one. It is far better than any I've heard at twice the price and very easy to set up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prescott, AZ
Date:July 31, 2012

Change to sound bar

Cons: still need a separate remote for the sound bar
Model Number: HW-E450C
"This samsung system is giving 100% better audio for my TV and setup, that my Bose system never did. The voices are clearer, movies and shows are terrific, and the sub woofer can be out of sight, but very powerful and rich sounding. This was a great move."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:May 22, 2012

Samsung Sound Bar

Pros: great improvement over tv sound, requires tweaks to sound mode, easy hookup, surround sound from a bar type unit, economical solution to better tv sound, good looking bar and sub-woofer, good price for a good system
Cons: could have stronger sub woofer, poor manual and faint printing
Model Number: HW-E450C
"Strong mid-range and high frequency; adequate base. Great improvement over TV sound. Poor manual with very light printing. Easy interconnect after figuring out that optical cable needed to have coverings removed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Draper, UT
Date:January 26, 2013

Plan on using two remotes

Pros: richer more encompasing sound than tv alone
Cons: on-off and adjustment connectivity poorly designed
Model Number: Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
"Sound is much improved over the stock sound produced by the Samsung LED LCD 55" Smart TV bought with this product. While sound is not superb it does provide a richer more encompasing effect. The logic of simplicity however is lost with this product. Considering both products are Samsung you would think compatibility would be effortless. Plan on using two remotes (sound bar remote & TV or TV service remote) to either turn on or off sound bar or make tonal adjustments depending on your connection configuration (Optical/HDMI/Anynet), or the sequence in which you fire up your system. I am considering a return."
Review 7 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, MN
Date:September 25, 2012

Muddy at best

Pros: filled out bottom end even though it was muddy.
Cons: no high end., mids were muddy and muffled (cotton tube)., required constant switching w/remote btwn modes., simply a constant annoyance.
"I'm thinking the good review must be comparing to a worthlessly stock sound system. This bar was VERY muddy. There were very little highs, mids were muffled, and base was a hum vs. a thump. It was the worst at low volumes and a little better at high volumes, but you can't be blowing the windows out all the time just to get mediocre sound. I tried to justify it for three days before I took it back, but it was just too annoying to keep. Very lame product. I compared a music track on my M-Audio computer speakers to the sound bar and was shocked at how much better the M-Audios sounded. That's when I decided to pack up the soundbar and drive to Costco."
Review 8 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:December 4, 2012

2 remotes needed and other issues

Pros: i think sound is pretty good, price pretty good
Cons: 2 remotes, cannot auto-off, cannot switch from blu-ray to cablebox
Model Number: HW-E450C
"I am not happy with this product. Costco very rarely disappoints me so I ALWAYS buy my electronics there, if they have what I am looking for. I am not great at evaluating the sound since I really don't feel I have an ear for that, so the sound was okay. My problem with the product is this:
The auto-on only works when you use optical cable which is fine but then will not auto-off so you either have to use the remote or let it power off after 20 minutes of inactivity., Also, the first night we had it we watched a Blu-ray and then switched to back to cable, well the sound wouldn't work. After about an hour of checking cables and connections we determined that it will not allow you to switch from one platform to another withut restarting each platform! You have to turn your cable box off and on again. This is also the case if you turn the cable on FIRST(before turning on TV/sound), the sound will not work. So you have to remember to turn on sound BEFORE cable box! This is hard for my 88 year old mother to remember. Also, you can ONLY control the volume through the remote, I even went out and bought an expensive universal remote control to sync all my remotes, BUT again this device is not listed. Really irritating, thank goodness Costco has an excellent return policy, but I hope they read these reviews. Some people may not have a problem with multiple remotes, but my 88 year old mother cannot figure it out, and then add the fact that you have to go in a certain order for it to work...forget it. Sorry Samsung.
"
Review 9 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 7, 2012

Poor Sound. What are the other reviewers thinking?

Pros: compact bluetooth link to phone/computer, wireless subwoofer
Cons: terrible sound, slow interface, slow on/off, audio delay, echo when used with tv speakers, poor interface scrolling, poor subwoofer, proprietary remote
"The sound coming from this soundbar is no better than my LED LCD TV's internal speakers. How can anyone possibly think it sounds good? It has a cheap tinny artificial sound, and the subwoofer provides almost no effect.
Yes I have everything wired correctly, and I went through all the settings.
If you think this sounds good, I think you need to try real speakers. I've had better no-name discount computer speakers that cost $40.00."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Inland Empire, CA
Date:July 10, 2012

Excellent for a decent size family room.

Pros: clean look and sub-woofer is wireless, bluetooth capabilities to my android phone
Cons: none
Model Number: HW-E450C
"I was debating in getting a complete 5 speaker home theater system or a sound bar. And hands down I am glad I went with the sound bar. I don't know what other people are saying this thing is loud. I live in a tract home community and I don't see me cranking it until my windows rumble."
Review 11 for Samsung 280-Total-Watt 40" AirTrack Sound Bar and Wireless Subwoofer HW-E450C
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:around the world
Date:September 9, 2012

Great Product

Pros: wireless sub-w, bluetooth, hdmi in/out- put, remote control
Model Number: HW-E450C
"Bass is pretty awesome. I use the Bluetooth feature with my HTC EVO 3D and my Belkin Bluetooth PC adapter."