Customer Reviews for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco Wholesale for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Product details have been supplied by the Manufacturer, and are hosted by a third party. Model: BD-EM57C
Average Customer Rating:
3.768 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
(out of 155 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (155 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
43
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
23
99 of 138(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Review 1 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:September 29, 2012

Netflix Completely Dysfunctional

Pros: none
Cons: netflix streaming unreliable unusable
Model Number: BD-EM57C
"It plays Blu Rays fine, but one of the big reasons we purchased this unit was for the Netflix streaming. This service only works about 1 time in 8 that we try to use it. It constantly fails to connect, or forgets our password and requires us to laboriously re-enter it. The device also frequently freezes and has to be restarted.
If you do a bit of googling you'll discover that many Samsung Blu Ray and TV models have issues connecting to Netflix. Costco should stop selling these defective pieces of junk to their customers until this is fixed."
Review 2 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Big Island, HI
Date:September 23, 2012

Upgrade Crashed the Unit!!

Pros: connected to vizio home theater bar fine, clear play, warranty/samsung customer service good
Cons: internet software upgrades cause failures, hard to recognize belkin router system, too many apps you won't use at all
Model Number: Samsung BD-EM57C/ZA
"Luckily I registered this right away online with Samsung when I got it 5/22/12 because software upgrade by internet via router on 9/19/12 crashed the system and I called Samsung about it. They will repair free and ship free back and forth. It was beyond 90 days to take back to Costco. This is a fussy machine when setting up router connection. Would not recommend it, would recommend Vizio or Panasonic to go with Vizio HDTV's."
Review 3 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gresham, Oregon
Date:August 15, 2012

Buggy, poor performance.

Pros: video output good.
Cons: difficult to use, wifi performance poor, buggy, extra features never did work.
Model Number: BD-EM57C
"I bought this because I was wanting to use Netflix and perhaps watch a movie or two. It took me some time to get the WiFi connected and some of the other programming done. When it came time to actually play Netflix things got very tricky. After inserting my first DVD and removing it I found that the player got stuck in a routine where it could not find the DVD even though there was no DVD in the player. This meant that I was not able to watch Netflix while the disk search bug was going on.
After putting a disk back in and stopping it from playing I could use Netflix again but I could also see the "footage" meter running which meant it was probably also playing the DVD.
I don't think I have seen a device more annoying in a very long time. Tonight I could not play Netflix because this device could not see it. I fired up my old Roku box and viola, Netflix was up and running in no time.
I also do not like the Netflix menu offered by this device. IT is far more limited and harder to find movies than the Roku or my internet is.
I am going to be returning this to Costco right away. It has been some time since I paid this money for so much aggravation. I would not recommend it unless all that is desired is just and only just watching movies via Blu-Ray or DVD."
Review 4 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:oregon
Date:July 21, 2012

remote needs some work

Pros: price comes with hdmi cable
Cons: remote freezes and tray won't open
Model Number: BD-EM57C
"Hook up was easy, bought it primarily for netflix, good price, nice small machine. watched netflix for a while turned it off and when I tried it again the remote was froze up. Finally started working only to have it happen a few minutes later while searching through the movie list. Tried to open disc tray, after several tries it did open. When you stop watching a dvd you have too start over no memory where it stopped. Returned and bought a different brand .If they get the bugs out it would be a nice player."
Review 5 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NE NJ
Date:July 8, 2012

media hub download nightmare

Pros: good up conversion
Cons: defective firmware updates, nearly everything else about the machine
Model Number: Samsung BD-EM57C
"This machine spends more of my time downloading firmware and media hub upgrades than it does actually playing disks or streaming video. In fact, the last firmware download rendered the machine's ability to process Blu-ray disks inoperative! Media Hub downloads take forever and are as frequent as two or three times a day. The machine is painfully slow in executing commands from its remote control (which, by the way, is very poorly designed in terms of both logic and ergonomics.) The player's one saving grace is that it up-converts regular DVDs nicely.. This is my third and last purchase of a Samsung DVD player. They all have been cursed by very slow WiFi, defective firmware and bad design. This one is going back to Costco right away!"
Review 6 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:pollock pines, ca.
Date:June 26, 2012

Samsung Player

Pros: works sometimes
Cons: usually doesnt
"This product is very poor quality. I am on my second one thanks to Costco letting me return the first for a new one. I have had nothing but problems with this device and would not recommend it to anyone. It constantly has issues connecting to my wireless internet (which works great) and some days it will not connect to the smart hub at all. I recommend trying another brand."
Review 7 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:June 23, 2012

Too slow and connectivity issues

Pros: priced to please.
Cons: slow
Model Number: BDEM57C
"I bought this item couple of weeks back with high expectations as it had almost everything. I was disappointed with its performance as it was slow in almost all aspect,
1) Lag between remote actions and screen movements, due to this browsing in hub and overall was slow and irritating.
2) All the internet apps during startup had issues with internet connectivity. I had to recheck the network status each time before re-try. Sometimes (2 to 3 out of 5 times) even restart player and modem to make it work. Internet connection was always up and running as all other devices were running fine.
3) Have faced issues only a couple of times while streaming from Netflix. But the initial start-up experience to the point of starting Netflix app is never the same, sometime it takes more time to start and sometimes it just will not start even after trying for like 20 mins because of connectivity issues.
I have returned this unit.
To summarize,
Streaming has no issues or occasional issues once it STARTS.
BUT To reach to the point where it actually can start streaming is horrible experience.
"
Review 8 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:June 17, 2012

Worked for two weeks until killed by update

Pros: nice selection of streaming services, very compact
Cons: fragile construction, lots of updates, stopped functioning after a few weeks
"The unit was nice enough while it worked (albeit a bit slow and flimsy), but after the last update, it will no longer allow me to access any streaming services and stopped sending DVD video to my TV (and I know it isn't a HDMI connection problem as the splash screen still appears). Luckily Costco has a great return policy - I'll definitely be taking advantage of that..."
Review 9 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:June 6, 2012

Disappointed

Model Number: BD-EM57C
"Bought this primarily for the Blu-Ray feature, and to upgrade from an old DVD player, but it will NOT function with my JVC tuner/amp NOR with my Bose 5.1 SURROUND. I can only get sound by choosing "Video" input on my amp; however, sound does come out of all six speakers and the bass. I have plugged in about every wire-optical reader-jack-input that I can see, to no avail. This unit is too hi-tech not to be compatible with "old" 5.1 surround. Very disappointed and we will take it back."
Review 10 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

Perfectly good player and Wi-Fi

Model Number: Samsung BD-EM57C WiFi Blu-ray Player
"I read several reviews that said the Wi-Fi was a problem, but I had no problem at all with the player or the Wi-Fi. The Setup was easy and worked fine. The Blu-ray player worked fine. The Wi-Fi (Netflix) worked fine. I'm very happy with this device and it was $30 cheaper than any other Wi-Fi Blu-Ray player I could find."
Review 11 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Anderson, CA
Date:May 18, 2012

A disappointing first blu-ray experience...

Pros: excellent concepts with built-in wi-fi and smarthu
Cons: terrible implementation
Model Number: BD-EM57C
"After following setup instructions, I downloaded and installed smart hub, then watched a show on Netflix. The next day, when trying to use Netflix again, it kept saying it was installing, and it never finished. I'm taking it back tonight."
Review 12 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:May 15, 2012

worthless

Model Number: BDEM57C
"This product is worthless. Streaming worked fine the first day, then after a firmware update it began "downloading" and "installing" without end. It never streamed again. I called the manufacturer and got the run around . I was told to call ISP: that is was a firewall issue. I did and found the information given to me by manufacturer was not true. After doing online research I found this product consistently does this to people."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fremont , CA
Date:May 9, 2012

Smart TV/hub is not working and wireless week

Pros: smart tv/hub, wireless
Cons: smart tv.hub not working, wireless is week
Model Number: BD-EM57-ZA
"Bought this mainly for Smart tv/hub to see Yupptv . Worked for a month and later when I select the Smart tv/hub it shows as installing, never come back. It is a known issue . Wireless streaming like netflix is slow better to be connected in wire. The remote response is very slow."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung WiFi Blu-ray Player BD-EM57C
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:April 28, 2012

Wireless Streaming not so good

Model Number: samsung BD EM57C
"Got this unit the other day primarlily for streaming. Noticed some mediocre reviews about it's wireless streaming capabilities on the net. Particularly Netflix. I had the same problems. Slow boot ups, Dropouts and rebuffering with a very fast connection (12mps) and only 20 feet from the router. Once I hard wired the LAN port with cat 6 cable to the router it worked fine...but hey, if it's wireless you are using...good luck."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.